Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pronunciations that drive you mad

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Heard column pronounces colyoum by a lecturer

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shenshen

Genu-eye-n instead of genuine... bloody awful.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

YURsterday instead of yesterday - wtf, I knew an English teacher that used to pronounce it like this!

Also everyone I know pronounces calm wrong- its CAWLM not CAM! Cam dowen - everytime I hear it I get a little closer to that murder spree! Ironically it'll be someone trying to get me to calm down that will send me over the edge!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

commm - a - teeeeeee instead of committee.

Im so glad that aine lawler one is gone from Morning Ireland. Remember, the one that couldn't read the time. She put me in a bad mood every morning. Thank goodness we are not subjected to that anymore.

although there is a new one on it that I think is going to wet herself every morning when she is giving out tidbits of absolute rubbish, and raving about it as if its the best news ever.

doesn't work. Sounds like an idiot.

rant over. :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭SNORBEAST

Tony Fenton Toon= Tune
    Michael McMullen- Every thing that comes out of his mouth
    Matt Cooper- Saherday= Saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

bnt wrote: »
    No sh!t, Sherlock. That explains everything. See previous thread on the topic, here.

So it's scone as in cone then, thanks for that!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Supprise. :mad: Surprise

Aneg. It's An Egg; two separate words

Murrrr - Mirror

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Rastapitts

your man on the carlsberg saying "the fields of Athenry"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭Solair

Com-it-TeeeeEEEE - (The Cork pronunciation of committee)

Sangwich (The Limerick/North Cork way of saying Sandwich)

The Garda / West of Ireland pronunciation of vehicle "Vee-heee-heee-ikle" or "Veh - hickle"

RTE artificial forced pronunciations:

Gardaí - Gowhr-Dee.
    Portlaoise - Pohrt-Laoisha (Nobody says this except RTE)
    Dun Laoghaire - Normally = "Dun-Leary" RTE = "Dun Laoraighah"

It's a bit insulting to correct how people pronounce their own home places. In my opinion, that's just arrogance and it's RTE who are incorrect.

English people correcting how Irish names are pronounced e.g. splitting the "G-H" in Gallagher etc. Or, when they find these correct pronunciations amusing.
    They get very cranky when someone from the US pronounces Worcestershire as "Wor-cester-shire" rather than "Wooostahshahh"
    Double standards apply! Lots of English surnames, place names etc do not follow rules of standard phonetics.

The most extreme example being the surname Featherstone which is pronounced as "Fanshaw" !!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

Ive noticed since living here that most people pronounce the word safety as safe-ety,not that it annoys me i find it slightly amusing and quirky :-)

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    Ive noticed since living here that most people pronounce the word safety as safe-ety,not that it annoys me i find it slightly amusing and quirky :-)

That's US/Hiberno-English vs UK-English.

Irish and US speakers tend to put more equal emphasis on all syllables.
    Where as UK speakers tend to use specific stress patterns and use them very absolutely/extremely.

E.g. Sectretary - Sec-re-tary in the US/Ireland (usually).
    Secret-ry - Always in the UK.

Irish dialects of English are *FAR* closer to North American (particularly Eastern US/Canada) English than Southern English dialects in England itself.

Also, for some reason teenage/20 something females tend to speak like Californians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

why do black people pronounce the word "asked" as "axed"

as in I axed him a question?

also why do brits in cambridge say "I brought a pack of cigarettes from the shop" instead of "i bought a pack of cigarettes from the shop"

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Athlete when said as ath-ah-lete or a-hah-lete.

• Registered Users Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

Pew-joe for Peugeot.

why do black people pronounce the work "asked" as "axed"

as in I axed him a question?

The asked / axed pronunciation is a throw-back to old English oddly enough.

It possibly came into dialects via the US deep south.
    African-Americans have a different migration patterns i.e. fleeing slavery and oppression in the South.
    So, their accents / dialects would have a different origin than the dialects in the Northern US cities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

wren old is a brand of car

Typewriter wrote: »
    Lis-bon

What's the correct way so :confused:

dpe wrote: »
    Pew-joe for Peugeot.

I wouldn't worry about it too much. Peugeot is difficult to pronounce in English!

The UK common pronunciation of it is totally incorrect too!

"Pair-jo"

If anything, the Irish attempt at it is slightly better than the British mispronunciation of it :D

Neither are accurate, but it's a French word!

The Germans would just pronounce every letter of it, same with the Spanish.
    Renault in Spain is R-E-N-A-U-L-T vs "Rehnn-Oh!"
    If anything, someone from Drogheda would have a better chance of getting it right, with the French-style uvular-R

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

Solair wrote: »
    I wouldn't worry about it too much. Peugeot is difficult to pronounce in English!

The UK common pronunciation of it is totally incorrect too!

"Pair-jo"

If anything, the Irish attempt at it is slightly better than the Britishisation of it :D

WTF? never heard anyone say that in England. it's Puhh-zho

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

omahaid wrote: »
    Hate to break this to you, we're not in Scotland

we're not in England either

Opel, I hear it pronounced as Vauxhall ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

People saying me instead of my e.g. I need to get me haircut. Can't stand it!

I know it's scone, but I always say scon just to p!ss people off :)

Mom instead of mam. We're in Ireland not the states!!!

And I think I'm the only Irish person that pronounces it yog-urt instead of yo-gurt, but why do Irish people pronounce it the american way?

summerskin wrote: »
    WTF? never heard anyone say that in England. it's Puhh-zho

Have a listen to how Top Gear make a hash of it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNBPQe4dFxk

To a French speaker, it's a bad a pronunciation as "l'oueeek-endh" is in English :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

we're not in England either

Your point?

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    People saying me instead of my e.g. I need to get me haircut. Can't stand it!

I know it's scone, but I always say scon just to p!ss people off :)

Mom instead of mam. We're in Ireland not the states!!!

And I think I'm the only Irish person that pronounces it yog-urt instead of yo-gurt, but why do Irish people pronounce it the american way?

Because the sound fits Irish phonetics better than the English version.
    The English also insist on calling perfectly good 'scallions' salad-onions!
    Scallions works fine in the US and Ireland :D

I mean, you might as well start calling satsumas "baby oranges".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

people who say Saaaab, its Sarrb!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

When people pronounce Westminster as "westminister"

Where are they getting this extra I from?

mike65 wrote: »
    people who say Saaaab, its Sarrb!

Check with a Swedish speaker. It's probably neither :D

• Registered Users Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

Can you be a bit more pacific...(instead of specific. :mad::mad:).

Ahhhhhh!!!!

hostapal

Mary is gone to the hostapal for an operation