Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pronunciations that drive you mad

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

I blame the parents!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Yer one on RTE who says fin-ance instead of fy-nance.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭Paz-CCFC

Wibbs wrote: »
    Many of the examples so far just sound like Hiberno English to me and that's cool. The pronunciations that would grind my gears are those that the user thinks makes them sound "posh". Riiindabite for roundabout, adding aitches where they don't exist out of a fear of dropping them where they do. HeightH a good example, throatH instead of throat another. TBH I'd rather hear someone say tirty tree and a tird than those examples.

Is that not another effect of Hiberno-English, to some degree at least? In Irish, when Ts are next to a broad vowel, it's not pronounced as a hard T. It's sounds somewhat like a TH - maybe halfway between a hard T and a TH, if that makes any sense?

I wouldn't know how to write this phonetically, but for words like "Tá", "Taoiseach", "Tóg" etc., when you say the T part, the tip of your tongue should be hitting off the bottom inside of your teeth. It creates a sort of a TH sound, but not as strong as what it's like in English (here, the flat top part of your tongue seems to hit off the very bottom, narrow/sharp part of the teeth).

A similar "process" is done when Ds and Ns are next to broad vowels. That's why, when RTÉ say "na Gardaí Síochána", it sounds more like "Gore-thee" (the Ns in the first and third words are also affected), rather than "gore-dee".

Not sure if that makes sense to you!

• Registered Users Posts: 479 ✭✭Dub Ste

Why can't people on the radio/tv pronounce the rather simple word OFF.

OFF is spelt OFF,that's why it's OFF,not ORF,as in kick ORF is at three.

OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF !!!!!!

Shower of feckers :mad::mad:

• Site Banned Posts: 612 ✭✭✭Lionel Messy

Oym Moykull McMullen and oym going to get my head kicked in if i keep talking like that.

Car-pen-ter
    Cal-en-der
    Pass-en-ger

Electreeeeshan
    politeeeeeshan

Mote Cotrol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Curcle instead of Circle.
    Wan instead of One.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Forehead pronounced forit. Our your for it i.e your getting it pronounced for et.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Wibbs wrote: »
    The pronunciations that would grind my gears are those that the user thinks makes them sound "posh"... aitches

'dafuq's an aitch??
    Do you mean haich?:p:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

English pronunciations of Irish names especially football players. A lot of Irish people are starting to use the English pronunciation now ffs.

KAY-HILL instead of Cahill.

Dough-herty instead of Doherty.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

Oym Moykull McMullen and oym going to get my head kicked in if i keep talking like that.

I HATE his voice, accent and being!
    The worst is when he tries to say Aironi (rugby team) in his fake accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭damienirel

turty tree and a turd!!

Nearly all Irish people are guilty of pronouncing a three (3) as 'tree'
    Newstalk radio is worst for this.

Oh and the Marathon Sports ad. on newstalk - 'Mariton sports'

- why does the whole country speak like they've got stones in their mouths('moutts')

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Scone - when the cone part is pronounced like gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭ablelocks

Comm-i-tae instead of committee

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Chicargo... drives me bananas!

Also when Dubs say words with a short vowel where there should be a long one:

FÁS = "foss"
    Audit = "oddit"

I heard one particular journalist on RTE call the new president of France François "OllANday". :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 12,967 ✭✭✭✭bnt

omahaid wrote: »
    Hate to break this to you, but that is the correct pronunciation in Scotland, where Scones were invented. The "s-cone" pronunciation is an English affectation.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Ah here now. If you pronounce it your way then this joke doesnt work.

What's the fastest bun in the world?

Scone

• Registered Users Posts: 269 ✭✭silverwood

People who call the iPod Touch an iTouch. Drives me bonkers, but then that's not too difficult :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 81,309 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

Dub Ste wrote: »
    Why can't people on the radio/tv pronounce the rather simple word OFF.

OFF is spelt OFF,that's why it's OFF,not ORF,as in kick ORF is at three.

OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF !!!!!!

Shower of feckers :mad::mad:

how orkward

i'm off to drink some larger in chicargo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

bnt wrote: »
    Hate to break this to you, but that is the correct pronunciation in Scotland, where Scones were invented. The "s-cone" pronunciation is an English affectation.

Hate to break this to you, we're not in Scotland

• Registered Users Posts: 12,345 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Safe-a-ty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Politicians saying "millons and billons". Idiots. Or that annoying American accent on the "Liberdee insurance" ad.

• Registered Users Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

The fella on Guy's Big Bite and when he pronounces basil like bay-sil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭SNORBEAST

Sang- wiches, and DBOO- debut

• Registered Users Posts: 12,967 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Hate to break this to you, we're not in Scotland
    No sh!t, Sherlock. That explains everything. See previous thread on the topic, here.

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Hostable for hospital
    Crips for crisps
    Axed for asked
    Chimbley for chimney

Just a few small ones but annoying ones all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,555 ✭✭✭Sar_Bear

"onin" and "millinaire" instead of onion and millionaire. GRRRR ARRRGH!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

My cousinD ? WTF is a cousinD?

Showlder (shoulder)

Tay-Ohs (taytos) which by the way, is not the general name for all crisps!!!

I'm going on me holliers .... WHAT?!

Ten after three.. it's ten minutes past three. Or ten before four.

:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

My missus says arr-land for Ireland, they all pronounce it that way were she's from. It's like talking to pirates!:mad:
    I also have a cousin who says package of crips, for packet of crisps.:mad:
    I'm not sure which one is worse

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭dancingqueen

:mad:
    I also have a cousin who says package of crips, for packet of crisps.:mad:
    I'm not sure which one is worse

FACEPALM!!!