We haven't had a good Public Sector bashing thread in ages

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭true

K-9 wrote: »
    The banks are the main reason taxes don't cover PS pay and welfare?

The bill for public service pay and pensions is now double what it was ten years ago - that is one good reason why taxes do not cover it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

woodoo wrote: »
    A message to all public servants lets all take tomorrow off sick.... ye haaaa

I really wanted to pull a sickie this morning, haven't pulled one in about two years. Always feel to guilty lying to my boss. Obviously others don't have the same problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

I don't really pull sickies, i am up for employee of the year at our Public Service Greatness Awards next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

I don't really pull sickies, i am up for employee of the year at our Public Service Greatness Awards next week.

Sponsored by the Indo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

You have not seen backward systems until you've dealt with the Dept of Agriculture

Revenue are super and they have modern systems like PAYE Anytime and ROS
    And the crowd who handle archives and put the old census reports online are great people too imo

Dept of Agriculture don't accept stock numbers online, they don't accept Excel files.
    No, you get your forms and your biro, fill them up with hundreds of lines, post them off and some poor CO is going to type them all

It's called inventing work to keep people in jobs.....
    People talk about farmers and "the cheque in the post" but if that cheque ever disappeared it would be civil servants who would be in trouble, loads of them involved in administration and they are pretty inefficent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 NiThigim

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/finance/2012/0406/1224314431650.html

Wonder do these count as public servants since they are state owned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭Monife

true wrote: »
    The bill for public service pay and pensions is now double what it was ten years ago - that is one good reason why taxes do not cover it.

And so is the social welfare bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Monife wrote: »
    And so is the social welfare bill.

Indeed, unemployment trebling does that and it's hard to tackle. IIRC they stabilised last year or it might even have reduced slightly.

The other side is the tax cuts and increases in tax credits given out under McCreevey and Cowen. Not too many complained about them when they were given out.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

My wife used to work for Bord na Mona before she took redundancy.
    Being semi-state they were legally obliged to vote on the pension contribution & pay reduction.
    The turkeys refused Christmas by a higher percentage than Saddam Hussain used give himself.

Amazingly they had adopted all the pay increases & benchmarking agreed the previous decade.

Semi-state employees have felt zero pain so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭mbiking123

micropig wrote: »
    Some departments seem to be worse offenders than others

03/05/2012
    SICK leave has increased in five government departments -- including the Taoiseach's -- despite a promise in the Croke Park deal to cut it by 10pc.

An investigation by the Irish Independent shows that staff at the Department of Social Protection took more sick leave than any of the other 15 government departments.

They took a total of 13-and-a-half sick days each last year, compared with just over 12 days the previous year -- at an estimated cost of over €9m to the taxpayer.

The number of days lost to illness also increased in the Department of Health, Department of Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation, Department of Education and Skills, and Department of the Taoiseach last year.

The survey showed the average number of days taken by staff at the Department of Health was just under 12 each, up from 10 days in 2010.

Average sick leave rose slightly from 11.4 to 11-and-a-half days in the Department of Jobs, and from six days to eight in the Taoiseach's department.

This compares with an average 7.7 days taken by workers in comparable private sector businesses with over 500 employees, according to employer group IBEC.

Overall, the average number of days taken in all 16 government departments dropped by around 5pc, from nine to eight-and-a-half days. But this does not meet the Croke Park target.

The Department of Social Protection, where sick leave is highest, said long-term absences pushed up the number of working days lost. It said 17,439 days, or 24pc, of all working days lost were due to 103 absences of six months or more.

IBEC - they have their own agenda

If your sick your sick, thats the doctors job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭micropig

Was it a short Ceremony?
    mbiking123 wrote: »
    IBEC - they have their own agenda

If your sick your sick, thats the doctors job

No uncertified sick leave should be allowed so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

What is allowed in the Private Sector? Is it a cert after the third day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭Vizzy

hondasam wrote: »
    What is allowed in the Private Sector? Is it a cert after the third day?

How would he know ?
    He's a teacher or so he says.

Was it a short Ceremony?

No its a black tie affair. Lots of long speeches, back slapping, glad handing etc etc.

And of course a free 5 course meal and drinks at the states expense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Did you forget to mention the free hotel for the night with spa treatments of your choice and room service.
    Vizzy wrote: »
    He's a teacher or so he says.

So he says, I don't think so.

No its a black tie affair. Lots of long speeches, back slapping, glad handing etc etc.

Did all the beards show up?:pac:

Its on next week, i'm sure they will be there. Jack O'Connor always makes a powerful speech.

I believe Daniel McConnell from the Sunday Independent will be presenting the - 'Most deserved increment award'. Marc Coleman from the Sunday Indo/Newstalk is presenting the - 'Barely deserves an increment but getting it anyway award'. ;)

Was it a short Ceremony?

I referred to 11 days sick leave statement, nobody has that amount of u/c leave or maybe you know somebody who does have

Why jumping from certified sick leave to uncertified sick leave

If its certified whats the problem ? take it up with doctors

For u/c please see my point for our US counterparts

Its on next week, i'm sure they will be there. Jack O'Connor always makes a powerful speech.

I believe Daniel McConnell from the Sunday Independent will be presenting the - 'Most deserved increment award'. Marc Coleman from the Sunday Indo/Newstalk is presenting the - 'Barely deserves an increment but getting it anyway award'. ;)

Woodoo,who do you think will present the award for 'best supporting role during banking time,in a short week' ?:)

Vizzy wrote: »
    Woodoo,who do you think will present the award for 'best supporting role during banking time,in a short week' ?:)

David Begg always takes that one.

LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭IrishAm

Is tomorrow not a privilege day?

4 weeks left for me & then 3 months off:D

Who will be looking after the farm? Have you scored yourself a few slaves off the job bridge scam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭BornToKill

Now it seems there may have been too many cuts:

THE NEW secretary general of the Department of Finance, John Moran, has warned that staff cuts and reduced resources in recent years have made it impossible to achieve goals set by Government. Link to more.

What about the private sector, overpaid etc etc

We all know about excessive charges for services insurance etc, even groceries in Tesco, Lidl and Aldi more expensive in this country than UK etc

Oh latest is that the government is trying to negiotate a cheaper deal for drugs so the drugs companies are restricitng the supply of drugs to chemists. Check it out elderly people finding it very hard to get their prescriptions in any chemist at this moment, having to take different amounts and then slipt their tablets to get correct amount. Just private sector ripping us off again. Am sure this will be disputed despite people chasing around Galway going from chemist to chemist

Rip off Ireland, might as well blame Civil Servants, nurses, etc etc

IrishAm wrote: »
    Who will be looking after the farm? Have you scored yourself a few slaves off the job bridge scam?

Don't you worry about that;) I have systems in place to make it look busy when the EU satellites pass over calculating the grants. I suppose you could compare looking busy when the manager is in the room, something I'm sure a lot of civil servants would know all about.

So seen as the Gardai will not be present in rural areas any more, how about this allowance for farmers for 'rooting in the rushes' and noticing suspicious activities, leading to crime being solved?:D
    What about the private sector, overpaid etc etc
    We all know about excessive charges for services insurance etc, even groceries in Tesco, Lidl and Aldi more expensive in this country than UK etc

Oh latest is that the government is trying to negiotate a cheaper deal for drugs so the drugs companies are restricitng the supply of drugs to chemists. Check it out elderly people finding it very hard to get their prescriptions in any chemist at this moment, having to take different amounts and then slipt their tablets to get correct amount. Just private sector ripping us off again. Am sure this will be disputed despite people chasing around Galway going from chemist to chemist

Rip off Ireland, might as well blame Civil Servants, nurses, etc etc

Private companies (Tesco etc) can only charge what people are prepared to pay or they go out of business, shop around and all that

Drug companies will see the government coming a mile off
    Who regulates these drug companies, what penalties have been given out?

Are they other drug companies we could source them from?
    Lots of drugs are available generically, but most of the the time the doctor prescribes certain brands, so they can charge the government more.

How about the fiasco it the medical card office?

Once upon a time, everyone in the country contributed to Rip off Ireland by overpaying for a lot of things, but that a different era now, things have changed. We can't afford to pay the massive wage bill, while front line services and resources are cut.

Private companies (Tesco etc) can only charge what people are prepared to pay or they go out of business, shop around and all that

Drug companies will see the government coming a mile off
    Who regulates these drug companies, what penalties have been given out?

Are they other drug companies we could source them from?
    Lots of drugs are available generically, but most of the the time the doctor prescribes certain brands, so they can charge the government more.

How about the fiasco it the medical card office?

Once upon a time, everyone in the country contributed to Rip off Ireland by overpaying for a lot of things, but that a different era now, things have changed. We can't afford to pay the massive wage bill, while front line services and resources are cut.

If they all charge or over charge for groceries not much people can do

GP - private sector - more of the private sector

Lots in public sector looked at the workers in private making huge wages, hence the high turnover. Cut the wage bill loose the resources

Private sector needs to cut their prices and wages

banks when private paid huge salaries to bosses and bonuses hence the problem we got into - private sector caused the problem thats a fact even economists saying it

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elections/labour-to-seek-pay-freeze-in-private-sector-as-well-2525239.html

Mr Gilmore also promised to seek to negotiate an agreement for a pay freeze in the private sector for three years -- to match the existing pay freeze in the public sector. If particular sectors of the economy started to move ahead and grant workers pay rises, it would place pressure on other sectors of the economy, he said.

too much easy money in private sector, no accountability hence why we are were we are

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 42,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/elections/labour-to-seek-pay-freeze-in-private-sector-as-well-2525239.html

Mr Gilmore also promised to seek to negotiate an agreement for a pay freeze in the private sector for three years -- to match the existing pay freeze in the public sector. If particular sectors of the economy started to move ahead and grant workers pay rises, it would place pressure on other sectors of the economy, he said.

too much easy money in private sector, no accountability hence why we are were we are
    Friday February 04 2011
    Need we say more.

kceire wrote: »
    Need we say more.

Sure seen as we're on the subject of 2011

The public sector pay bill in 2010 was €15.1bn, and new figures released last week showed that state employees earn one-third more than their private sector counterparts.

According to a new Central Statistics Office report on wages, weekly earnings in the public sector rose from a three-year low of €882 a week in the first quarter of 2010 to €913 in the final quarter. In contrast, in the final quarter of 2010, weekly earnings in the private sector were almost a third lower at €625.

Ireland's public sector pay structure is substantially higher than most other European countries and, on average, one-third higher than public sector workers in Britain. Latest comparable figures show that average British public service weekly earnings were €634 compared with the €913 paid to State employees here.

Some civil servants at the top of their respective pay scales are getting wage rises of €2,400 for long service. The previous government shied away from further angering public sector workers already reeling from pension and income levy increases.

Sure seen as we're on the subject of 2011

The public sector pay bill in 2010 was €15.1bn, and new figures released last week showed that state employees earn one-third more than their private sector counterparts.

According to a new Central Statistics Office report on wages, weekly earnings in the public sector rose from a three-year low of €882 a week in the first quarter of 2010 to €913 in the final quarter. In contrast, in the final quarter of 2010, weekly earnings in the private sector were almost a third lower at €625.

Ireland's public sector pay structure is substantially higher than most other European countries and, on average, one-third higher than public sector workers in Britain. Latest comparable figures show that average British public service weekly earnings were €634 compared with the €913 paid to State employees here.

Some civil servants at the top of their respective pay scales are getting wage rises of €2,400 for long service. The previous government shied away from further angering public sector workers already reeling from pension and income levy increases.

Spin... don't believe the half of it.