Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The guy went through a list of quite a few different 6's but couldn't get the $WD one! I'll be contacting Mazda about this soon :)

I'll get them for you on Tuesday if you like...we've done a couple of MPS's before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I'll get them for you on Tuesday if you like...we've done a couple of MPS's before.

Lovely! Cheers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Where would I get the seal that runs around the doors in a 01 Saab 9-5. There is a bit of a whistle coming in the passenger side and the drivers side looks a bit perished.
    Anyone ever replaced one? It looks simple when Ed China does it :D

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Where would I get the seal that runs around the doors in a 01 Saab 9-5. There is a bit of a whistle coming in the passenger side and the drivers side looks a bit perished.
    Anyone ever replaced one? It looks simple when Ed China does it :D

If they aren't totally perished, you can get stuff to replenish the rubber. I have these pads that rejuvenate wiper blade rubber so I presume they would work on all rubber.

HERE

If they aren't totally perished, you can get stuff to replenish the rubber. I have these pads that rejuvenate wiper blade rubber so I presume they would work on all rubber.

HERE

Thanks MM. They are pretty perished. The drivers side has a couple of small holes frayed. I don't mind doing it if I can get the seals cheap enough. I presume you buy a length of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭shanec1928

anybody ever use autoglym hi foam interior shampoo? and if so was it any good?

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Thanks MM. They are pretty perished. The drivers side has a couple of small holes frayed. I don't mind doing it if I can get the seals cheap enough. I presume you buy a length of it.

No, I think you buy them ready made for the car. From what I can see, they're a pretty easy install. Just go slow removing the old ones and watch what you're doing to see if there's clips or anything like that.

They shouldn't be too costly either.

No, I think you buy them ready made for the car. From what I can see, they're a pretty easy install. Just go slow removing the old ones and watch what you're doing to see if there's clips or anything like that.

They shouldn't be too costly either.

Yeah, it certainly looks easy. Finding them could well be the hard bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Oh man

Down 4 drivers tonight and it's the busiest of busiest right now.

Last guy in a colt losing all power, foot down and nothing (good luck with that one doc) he's ditching it in the atlas car park cos he don't want to drive it and he's getting a lift home !

This is gonna get crazy !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

bought a 06 avensis t4 today good solid well serviced car fingers crossed its lucky, 2l d4d

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Washed the mothers car while i had the bucket out.

i bought her new wheels last December and they're wrecked already :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

You think you have it bad? I've to respray nearly every panel on my Mother's car before the month is out :D

Look after the Mammies lads :)

robbie_998 wrote: »
    Oh man

Last guy in a colt losing all power, foot down and nothing (good luck with that one doc) he's ditching it in the atlas car park cos he don't want to drive it and he's getting a lift home !

If its the colt I'm thinking of I'm surprised its still going at all.

Owen wrote: »
    You think you have it bad? I've to respray nearly every panel on my Mother's car before the month is out :D

infairness, bar two tiny dinges the rest of the car is mint, and she's made mind it servicing wise so the wheels are of little concern. They still clean up well.
    RoverJames wrote: »
    Look after the Mammies lads :)

She makes the dinner :pac:

i was going to treat her leather too, but it dawned on me that i paid 15 quid for the bottle, lol.

Also, the sheer amount of polish and waxes, clay bars, cleaners etc. etc. etc. that i have hidden away in the shed from previous cars is beyond me!

My Petes 50/50 wax seems to have dried up. i softened out a bit and threw a bit on my rear quarter, such a nice wax with an unreal smell.

Anyone know of any ways to "undry" it?

Oh man

If its the colt I'm thinking of I'm surprised its still going at all.

He was in with you before with it I think but was nothing wrong with it at the time

99 silver.

Saying it was losing power and what have ye.

Who knows :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

since this is motors chat can i ask is there anything in diesel that is a bit like the Focus ST or RS...
    I know they are 2.5l which means i need a petrol tanker behind me If i was to drive to work everyday

since this is motors chat can i ask is there anything in diesel that is a bit like the Focus ST or RS...
    I know they are 2.5l which means i need a petrol tanker behind me If i was to drive to work everyday

Skoda Octavia/Fabia vRS, Seat Leon FR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

A Volvo C30 or S40 D5 would be the closest relation I suppose. Very rare on these sures. I'd imagine there would be a better choice across the pond.

There was a white Focus for sale a few months back, full ST replica with all genuine ST interior and exterior, wheels, brakes etc......but with the 1.6 diesel under the bonnet.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭JamesBond2010

grand tnx lads my head is wrecked trying to think of a new car since some ****er wrote off my other car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

A Volvo C30 or S40 D5 would be the closest relation I suppose. Very rare on these sures. I'd imagine there would be a better choice across the pond.

A 123d would be nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Dannyboy1987

Guys looking for advice i have a 06 Ford focus 1.6TD Great car but i'm looking at getting a 05-06 Audi A4 1.9TDI. How good are the Audi A4's or should i stick with the focus

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Skoda Octavia/Fabia vRS, Seat Leon FR

My vote would go for vrs too. 170hp and good mpg. Then ofc famous boot.

Guys looking for advice i have a 06 Ford focus 1.6TD Great car but i'm looking at getting a 05-06 Audi A4 1.9TDI. How good are the Audi A4's or should i stick with the focus

thanks

No better/worse than you're Focus.

One of t other drivers just reversed into my car while parking .... I was walking out of the shop as it was happening. She was ****ing it.

Hopefully I can get the repairs done through Domineos rather than her personal insurance as we all have third party but I would be the third party in this case.

Hmmm.....

One of t other drivers just reversed into my car while parking .... I was walking out of the shop as it was happening. She was ****ing it.

Hopefully I can get the repairs done through Domineos rather than her personal insurance as we all have third party but I would be the third party in this case.

Hmmm.....

How in the name of jaysis can one car get hit so many times when parked!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

How in the name of jaysis can one car get hit so many times when parked!!:eek:

Robbie obviously has a lot of enemies in this world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Also, the sheer amount of polish and waxes, clay bars, cleaners etc. etc. etc. that i have hidden away in the shed from previous cars is beyond me!

My Petes 50/50 wax seems to have dried up. i softened out a bit and threw a bit on my rear quarter, such a nice wax with an unreal smell.

Anyone know of any ways to "undry" it?

huh huh