Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

***Motors Chat Thread*** Round 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

I hate bank holiday weekends, I work in a pub :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

dar83 wrote: »
    If you prefer the looks then there's no helping you, plain and simple. You're a lost cause. :P

You could probably get close to 240bhp from an ST with only a K&N air filter fitted. They regularly clock in the mid 230's stock on a dyno test. I've not tried that theory out myself so I cannot confirm (and I'd only 100% believe it when I see it), but apparently it's true.

The less that a Euro a day saving on tax? Meh. If you're worried about paying the tax at all, Thelma fun car is not for you. Stick to a Daysul tractor engine. :P

ofc it sounds lovely " less then an euro extra ". this way we can say 740 is only " more then a euro a day then ST ", but in the end of the day you pay tax every 3 months ( i am poor, i cant afford to pay all in one ), so paying 186eu is way easyer on your finances, then paying 283eu.

i havent dismissed it yet. to be honest i am at the stage where there are so many options and i did not decided that is going to be best bed. When you got money in pocket suddenly all the best choices you had in your mind are getting same minuses and there are good few new ones...
    feck, buying car can be fun and very damn annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Anyone know of anyone that will do call out wheel aligning?
    And if they will, any idea on pricing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

CianRyan wrote: »

Not a clue mate, but did you google it? You might get something.

Had a google but didn't see anything.
    Square Fit only charge €40 but AFAIK they don't do call out.
    If I had insurance it'd be so handy, they're literally about a 5 minute drive away.

Had a google but didn't see anything.
    Square Fit only charge €40 but AFAIK they don't do call out.
    If I had insurance it'd be so handy, they're literally about a 5 minute drive away.

Do you know anyone with comprehsive insurence, that would be cover to drive some one else car? That might work.

Both my parents but the car has to be insured under someone elses name AFAIK. No tax either and they'd have to drive past Tallaght Garda Station. Justa bit dodgy. :p

Tis a conumdrum alright mate.

You could ring a recovery lorrie?

Would probably cost more than it's worth.
    I'm half considering having a go myself, sure it's already out so if I don't do it right I'm in the same position as when I started... I think.

Would probably cost more than it's worth.
    I'm half considering having a go myself, sure it's already out so if I don't do it right I'm in the same position as when I started... I think.

Ya, sure try it and see how it goes. I wish you luck.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Still insurance shopping and I saw this in the AA policy details.
    To check if this cover applies to your policy, review your Insurance Certificate. When this cover does apply the
    cover is on a Third Party only basis and provided the car is not owned by the insured. Where applicable to the
    policy, this extension applies only to cars taxed and insured for private use
    and excludes motorcycles, car van
    etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

BDJW wrote: »
    I'm surprised that I'm awake so early.....now do I go to C&C or stay on bed and be lazy?!

Well I ended up getting up and going to C&C and it was definitely worth it as there wasn't just one, but 2 Nissan GTRs there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

Wheel alignment, generally, is not something that can be done outside a workshop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Good news - the new M5 has dropped in price by 10k over the past week or so
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201210207258796
    now its only 139k!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

TheBazman wrote: »
    now its only 139k!!

Its second hand. I'd be expecting it for a lot less tbh.

TheBazman wrote: »
    now its only 139k!!

Bargain, i'll take 2 :pac:

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Its second hand. I'd be expecting it for a lot less tbh.

Not from Joe Duffy's I wouldn't:rolleyes:

Lads, is it me or there is a flood of uk reg cars on donedeal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Not from Joe Duffy's I wouldn't:rolleyes:

Can't complain with JDs - the mailed me a few months ago asking me did I want to go and have a look (and a testdrive). It would have been rude not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,706 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Wheel alignment, generally, is not something that can be done outside a workshop.

Why?

Good thing I didn't try then.
    I just scrubbed the seats and carpets instead.

I have the itch for a new car again.....

BDJW wrote: »
    I have the itch for a new car again.....

I have that itch now, but more car I check on donedeal more confused and upset I get.

I went from wrx/evo and now I am checking on Audi a6 tfsi .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,157 ✭✭✭Compton

me too :(

Quazzie wrote: »
    Why?

Because proper wheel alignment requires very expensive equipment, computer gear, swivel plates for front and rear wheels etc. Also, on many cars, it would be very difficult to reach the alignment adjustments with the car on the ground.

Alignment also has to be carried out on perfectly flat ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,706 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Because proper wheel alignment requires very expensive equipment, computer gear, swivel plates for front and rear wheels etc. Also, on many cars, it would be very difficult to reach the alignment adjustments with the car on the ground.

Alignment also has to be carried out on perfectly flat ground.

Thats BS to be honest. Flat ground is obviously a muct but any competent mechanic with the proper equipment can do wheel alignment outside a workshop.

Quazzie wrote: »
    Thats BS to be honest. Flat ground is obviously a muct but any competent mechanic with the proper equipment can do wheel alignment outside a workshop.

I try not to do BS.

Its common practice in motorsport to do wheel alignment on location but isn't practical to operate as a mobile service to the general public.

You could do basic front wheel toe adjustment with simple laser gauges on the ground handy enough, which might do the trick for some basic cars or older cars, but this is far from the full wheel alignment that most modern cars need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I try not to do BS.

Its common practice in motorsport to do wheel alignment on location but isn't practical to operate as a mobile service to the general public.

You could do basic front wheel toe adjustment with simple laser gauges on the ground handy enough, which might do the trick for some basic cars or older cars, but this is far from the full wheel alignment that most modern cars need.

My local tyre shop is a very good one, they have great prices and service. The first time I got the wheels aligned on my current car, they didn't have the file on their system for it as it's 4 wheel drive. I haven't check it out in the manual but I suppose it could be in there! Any ideas?

Wheel alignment settings wouldn't be in the owners manual. You could try to get them off Mazda(you have a 6 MPS right?) or the interweb. They should be able to manually input custom settings into their computer if they are fully up to speed with it.

I'd be surprised that they don't have the settings for your car though as its out a few years so they must not calibrate or update very often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,919 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Wheel alignment settings wouldn't be in the owners manual. You could try to get them off Mazda(you have a 6 MPS right?) or the interweb. They should be able to manually input custom settings into their computer if they are fully up to speed with it.

I'd be surprised that they don't have the settings for your car though as its out a few years so they must not calibrate or update very often.

The guy went through a list of quite a few different 6's but couldn't get the $WD one! I'll be contacting Mazda about this soon :)