Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 11/12 (End of March 2012 onwards)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Kess73 wrote: »
    Bollocks. As long as the team gets supported when and where it counts, when they are on the pitch, then criticism on some web forum or in a pub with mates is fair game.

I think many of our current players are not good enough, but once I am in the ground I will roar them on because on matchday they are the ones that decide how my team does. But away from the ground I am not going to try and bs myself that I think they are all great or going to come good just because they were lucky enough to find themselves at my club.

Come next weekend I will be praying to the gods for a win over fricking Norwich, and I will be hoping we smash them to little pieces and make Delia cry.

Come the cup final I will be hoping for more silverware to be coming back to L4, and for Kenny to get another notch onto his record.

Come the league game against Chelsea I will be hoping that we beat them for the second time in a week and give the home support a win for the last home game.

Come the last game of the season I hope we play Swansea off the pitch and make Sigurdsson want to join us.

But inbetween those games and after them, I will stick to my own convictions with regards to the team, to individual players, the manager, the owners, the club and what not. Some of those convictions will be strengthened by what I see, some will be challenged, some I hope to be proven wrong on, but no way will I feel that I cannot have an opinion on my club that does not fall into one camp or another and I sure as hell hope that every other supporter feels the same way about their personal opinions.

Quite simply, the post of the thread in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭Daemonic

Lies, damn lies and statistics. Interesting read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,636 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

This time last year we were banging in the goals. WTF like! Why did we bother signing anyone apart from a left back. We would of been fine then.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Bollocks. As long as the team gets supported when and where it counts, when they are on the pitch, then criticism on some web forum or in a pub with mates is fair game.

Nobody is saying its not fair comment to give the team/manager stick thats part and parcel of the game.But I have seen and heard lads call for Kenny's head now,to be doing something like that in the run up to a cup final is not on in my book.

Analyze all you want but 4th is gone months,serious questions have to be asked in the summer when its right but its foolish to think this kind of open descent is not getting back to the players and staff.This has to have an effect on them.

We are not Chelsea or R Madrid,we do things our way and give managers time some would say to much time but fcuk them we do it our way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,931 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

amiable wrote: »
    Luciano Narsingh of Heerenveen is being talked up by Jen Chang.

Approaching Ruud Gullit's 83/84 record of 22 assists in a single Eredivisie season.
    Chang reckons £10 mill will get him and he's only 21.

That Heerenveen scouting department is incredible! Never fail to unearth talent for half nothing, especially in attacking areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

Dotsey wrote: »
    Masch did join West Ham though!!

True, but iirc that deal was a bit dodgy no? Tevez went as well I believe.
    Alonso joined us after a bad spell under Houllier aswell when we were playing atrocious football and only for Owen's form we would've been midtable. Do you think any of them players would have joined us had Rafa Benitez not being here though?

It's irrelevant how we were playing, we were still consistently getting a CL spot (with the exception of 2002-03 I believe). Alonso joined us knowing he would be playing in the CL for at least one season.
    People forget we're Liverpool. Players don't and won't forget us after a couple of bad years, it's the instability that makes us unattractive.

I hear this a lot, and I struggle to think of a player who picked us over a club in a better position just because of our history (I'm open to correction on this). Of course they won't forget us, but they will look at us and see we haven't qualified for the CL in 2 years, and haven't even mounted a serious challenge to do so. More than likely they will go to a club who can offer CL football.

When was the last time you heard a player joining a club to win the FA Cup or Carling cup? Compare that to the amount of players who move to play CL football.
    Do people think Juventus are a small club after their 5 years on the edge?

I think this is a different discussion entirely, how do you define a small club? I certainly wouldn't say Juventus are a small club (nor are Liverpool). They are becoming a mid-table club however. In my eyes that doesn't make them a small club (Newcastle are not a small club, nor were they when they were in the Championship). (Thanks to Gbear, I am now aware they are doing pretty ok this year :pac: )

Simply put, it's easier to get quality players when you can offer them CL football. Winning the FA Cup or Carling Cup isn't a big attraction to top european players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

I do like the other two.

Untitled-1-copy.jpg

Untitled-2-copy.jpg

Opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    This time last year we were banging in the goals. WTF like! Why did we bother signing anyone apart from a left back. We would of been fine then.

The bid difference was how effectively we were using the squad and varying our tactics per match. There was some poor matches last season too - they too were as a result of midfielders not supporting the strikers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Benzino wrote: »
    True, but iirc that deal was a bit dodgy no? Tevez went as well I believe.

It's irrelevant how we were playing, we were still consistently getting a CL spot (with the exception of 2002-03 I believe). Alonso joined us knowing he would be playing in the CL for at least one season.

I hear this a lot, and I struggle to think of a player who picked us over a club in a better position just because of our history (I'm open to correction on this). Of course they won't forget us, but they will look at us and see we haven't qualified for the CL in 2 years, and haven't even mounted a serious challenge to do so. More than likely they will go to a club who can offer CL football.

When was the last time you heard a player joining a club to win the FA Cup or Carling cup? Compare that to the amount of players who move to play CL football.

I think this is a different discussion entirely, how do you define a small club? I certainly wouldn't say Juventus are a small club (nor are Liverpool). They are becoming a mid-table club however. In my eyes that doesn't make them a small club (Newcastle are not a small club, nor were they when they were in the Championship).

Simply put, it's easier to get quality players when you can offer them CL football. Winning the FA Cup or Carling Cup isn't a big attraction to top european players.

Juventus are possibly about to win Serie A. Mid-table indeed. They have lost 0 games this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

Gbear wrote: »
    Juventus are possibly about to win Serie A. Mid-table indeed. They have lost 0 games this season.

Ha! My bad, shows how much I watch Serie A. Was pretty sure they have been around 6th place for the last few years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Closer you stand harder it is to see
    Somebody seriously needs to step the fcuk back and look at this Liverpool side,

A vast aray of great players who are good on the ball and can finish are out there, So easy to build a decent side with 100m

I can see summer go by and none of our problems addressed,
    We need a quality midfield player, Sell adam, sell spearing, Spearing deserves a career,He will get no where near team when everyone fit, Sell the lil prick lol, worth 5m all day long,, Proved it this season,

Sell Adam,

I know what Benitez would do!!!!!!!

So needs to come back and build us up again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,025 ✭✭✭kingshankly

I think many of our current players are not good enough, but once I am in the ground I will roar them on because on matchday they are the ones that decide how my team does. But away from the ground I am not going to try and bs myself that I think they are all great or going to come good just because they were lucky enough to find themselves at my club.

Come next weekend I will be praying to the gods for a win over fricking Norwich, and I will be hoping we smash them to little pieces and make Delia cry.

Come the cup final I will be hoping for more silverware to be coming back to L4, and for Kenny to get another notch onto his record.

Come the league game against Chelsea I will be hoping that we beat them for the second time in a week and give the home support a win for the last home game.

Come the last game of the season I hope we play Swansea off the pitch and make Sigurdsson want to join us.

But inbetween those games and after them, I will stick to my own convictions with regards to the team, to individual players, the manager, the owners, the club and what not. Some of those convictions will be strengthened by what I see, some will be challenged, some I hope to be proven wrong on, but no way will I feel that I cannot have an opinion on my club that does not fall into one camp or another and I sure as hell hope that every other supporter feels the same way about their personal opinions.

Excellent post kess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Dub13 wrote: »

We are not Chelsea or R Madrid,we do things our way and give managers time some would say to much time but fcuk them we do it our way.

Poor old Woy would facepalm this post. Probably a double facepalm actually...and then he would rub his face a bit. :p

roy-hodgson-facerub-o.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

Gazzetta reporting that Milan may not play Aqui again this season(hasn't reached 25 yet). Probably signing Montolivo in the summer so he would be surplus to requirements.

Injuries were again the ruination of his season after a very solid start. Could be good news for you guys though he can stay fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

So lettin Aqua go home was pointless and we were left with Charlie Adam.. great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Like I said if he doesn't make the points quota ( and clearly Juve were intent on not allowing that to happen) just cancel his contract if he won't play for Liverpool. Someone needs to be made an example of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I have to say that the Aqua dealings with Milan and Juve has really soured my attitude towards both teams. It's as much our own fault though for agreeing to such retarded deals for a player we could have done with keeping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,636 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Both clubs have taken us for a ride, but can you blame them? They are perfectly entitled to do what is best for themselves. In both cases, they pounced on the opportunity to increase their squad depth for minimal outplay on their part, with options to buy for a knock down price if he proved indispensible. And after Christmas in both cases, as better options have materialised they have cut him loose.

Great business on their part, very silly stuff from us. The terms of the Aqualaini deal can't have helped Commoli's case by the way, I'd be fairly certain of that.

mike65 wrote: »
    Like I said if he doesn't make the points quota ( and clearly Juve were intent on not allowing that to happen) just cancel his contract if he won't play for Liverpool. Someone needs to be made an example of.

I agree with this. Aqualaini would solve a problem for us - a creative presence in the middle:

Lucas
    Aqualaini

Gerrard

Would be very strong, and the times either Gerrard or Aqua are unavailable you would have Henderson / Adam / Spearing to come in. That's not a bad six man rotation, and would offer a fair deal of tactical flexibility. If he comes back in the summer, he should be told he's staying for the season. If he rebels, **** him.

To be honest, the last two seasons have demonstrated that he doesn't have much in the way of onsale value. There hasn't been much of a horse race to get him, and the Italian clubs being able to cut the deals they have in both cases indicated that there isn't much demand out there.

Speaking of Comolli when he got binned did every scout get cut loose with him? and did a bunch of (unknown) targets get away from the club?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    To be honest, the last two seasons have demonstrated that he doesn't have much in the way of onsale value. There hasn't been much of a horse race to get him, and the Italian clubs being able to cut the deals they have in both cases indicated that there isn't much demand out there.

Ya see, this is what pisses me off, I don't care if he doesn't have any onsale value. Wouldn't it have been great if instead of trying to get rid of him, that we kept him and got our moneys worth. So what if he wanted out, it doesn't mean he wouldn't have put in a shift for us. Ronaldo in his last season at Man U gave it everything even though it was clear he wanted out. Ditto in regards to Modric at Spurs this season.

If he didn't perform well it should have been tough ****, rot in the reserves. I'm so sick of the hysterical attitude of "OMG HE DOESN'T WANT TO STAY WE'LL HAVE TO BEND OVER BACKWARDS TO GET RID OF HIM!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

I agree with this. Aqualaini would solve a problem for us - a creative presence in the middle:

Lucas
    Aqualaini

Gerrard

Would be very strong, and the times either Gerrard or Aqua are unavailable you would have Henderson / Adam / Spearing to come in. That's not a bad six man rotation, and would offer a fair deal of tactical flexibility. If he comes back in the summer, he should be told he's staying for the season. If he rebels, **** him.

But why? Italian international, in his prime, apparently playing well from what a lot of people post here? Why are we so keen to let him go for peanuts? Why does no one want to pay the peanuts? Injuries? I thought the worst of that was over? What am I missing here?

Apparently John W Henry is a fan. He once said on Twitter: "One missing link last year: Aquilani. Put the ball near Ngog and the goal and it's going in. Too much talk of them somewhere else."

Quite funny and misguided the part about N'Gog!

I'd like to see what he can do here for a season anyway, it'd be hard for him to be much of a downgrade on Adam or Henderson

I suspect he'd actually be very good playing in the "ghost role" between the lines. with Lucas behind him and Suarez/Bellamy ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

I would rather a 28 game fit Aquilani than a 38 game fit Charlie Adam.

Morzadec wrote: »
    But why? Italian international, in his prime, apparently playing well from what a lot of people post here? Why are we so keen to let him go for peanuts? Why does no one want to pay the peanuts? Injuries? I thought the worst of that was over? What am I missing here?

Apparently John W Henry is a fan. He once said on Twitter: "One missing link last year: Aquilani. Put the ball near Ngog and the goal and it's going in. Too much talk of them somewhere else."

I'd like to see what he can do here for a season anyway, it'd be hard for him to be much of a downgrade on Adam or Henderson

Why does Arda Turan cost half of the price paid for Stuart Downing? Why does Torres cost over twice what Suarez costs? The market is far from being fully efficient.

Lucas
    Aqualaini

Gerrard

It's pretty obvious why. He's a complete sicknote and has been for the last ~5 year. Grand getting him on a fairly risk free loan but when it comes to committing to signing him long term you have consider how much game time you'll get from him. Milan aren't exactly rolling in it either.

His talent isn't a doubt and himself and Lucas could forge a very good CM partnership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I'd say it's largely down to wages. I don't know what he's on at Liverpool but I'd imagine it's around 90k/week. Teams are probably only willing to pay half that on a 2/3 year contract. Are Liverpool paying a % of his wages now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Why does Arda Turan cost half of the price paid for Stuart Downing? Why does Torres cost over twice what Suarez costs? The market is far from being fully efficient.

The problem is the market is very efficient outside of the English and top 2 Spainish(potential mention to PSG) clubs. You very rarely see many of other clubs regularly splash £15m+ on players. Unless one of these lads want your player then it will be difficult to get a good price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

But why? Italian international, in his prime, apparently playing well from what a lot of people post here? Why are we so keen to let him go for peanuts? Why does no one want to pay the peanuts? Injuries? I thought the worst of that was over? What am I missing here

I would think it's purely down to injuries in Aqua's case. He still has missed quite a large part of this season with an injury. I don't know the full details of the clause but I presume once it's invoked Milan along with paying us the £5m will also have to offer him a contract. I think he's currently on 80k-90k a week. Giving someone a four year contract on that kind of money who has never really been fit to play more than half a seasons worth of games is quite a risk when you have other good options who are available for free without injury problems.

Opr

Aquilani quotes this morning. Via @Milanello

"I was very motivated when I was at Liverpool, but as soon as I saw things changing I asked them to sell me to Italy. I like Liverpool but Milan is the highest, the top".

Doesn't sound like he'd be too keen on returning. Interesting to see how this pans out. It's only newspaper reports that say Milan won't be playing him again, nothing offical from Milan as of yet.