Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scratch Cups

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 jonrambo

tee boxes were good, greens were pretty god, thought fairways and round the greens were let go a bit.....and de slowness of play was chronic...not theyre fault tho...maybe i didnt enjoy it cos i played rubbish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,458 ✭✭✭big_drive

soundsham wrote: »
    Muskerry Ford Junior Scratch Matchplay qualifier this fri and sat
    Blarney junior scratch Monday of may weekend

What condition is muskerry at moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭bailey99

jonrambo wrote: »
    played the intermediate scratch in ballybunion today, anyone else who played there think the course was in ****...
    tee boxes were good, greens were pretty god, thought fairways and round the greens were let go a bit.....and de slowness of play was chronic...not theyre fault tho...maybe i didnt enjoy it cos i played rubbish :)

so it was the slowness of play that was chronic??? Not the fault of ballybunion. We had some dope lose his ball on the 2nd hole and come running back down the fairway to rehit. Didn't call anyone through as a result there was two groups on the 2nd fairway waiting to hit, another group on the tee waiting to hit off and another group coming off the 1st green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 padywhack

played the intermediate scratch in ballybunion today, anyone else who played there think the course was in ****...

Course was fantastic, greens in excellent condition as were the tee boxes and fairways. Some resodding work being done here and there, but that's an annual event on all links courses. Was playing generous enough and just as well as play was slow.

I'm not sure what you were expecting, but in golfing terms it more than delivered for me and the lads I was with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Scratch cups in Lucan look fairly full, hopefully the course is in as good condition, best of anywhere last year.

And a bit less wind please:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

AGC wrote: »
    Scratch cups in Lucan look fairly full, hopefully the course is in as good condition, best of anywhere last year.

Course is in very good nick at the moment. Greens are really really true and very fast. Rain the last few days will sdo them the world of good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭madds

AGC wrote: »

+1 to that AGC.

The sheet for the JSC is full and a waiting list is in operation. There are still some times left for the Senior, if anyone is interested please click here.....http://www.brsgolf.com/lucan/opens_home.php and scroll to bottom of the page for senior scratch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭golferAC

madds wrote: »
    +1 to that AGC.

The sheet for the JSC is full and a waiting list is in operation. There are still some times left for the Senior, if anyone is interested please click here.....http://www.brsgolf.com/lucan/opens_home.php and scroll to bottom of the page for senior scratch.

Do they not have a intermediate scratch could have sworn i saw it on the gui website?

golferAC wrote: »
    Do they not have a intermediate scratch could have sworn i saw it on the gui website?

Yes, ISC takes place on Sunday Aug 5th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

big_drive wrote: »
    What condition is muskerry at moment?

Don't know would expect it to be good after last years shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭golferAC

madds wrote: »
    Yes, ISC takes place on Sunday Aug 5th.

Sound any idea what its like?does the time sheet fill up quickly?Any decent prizes?

Not sure on prizes and the timesheet generally does not fill up too quickly. It won't open until early July I'd expect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Jasonw

Don't know would expect it to be good after last years shambles

I imagine that's why it's on so late this year. Has anyone played it in the last couple of weeks? Really looking forward to it this year, it's a great competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,630 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Tullamore Junior Scratch Cup 18 06/05/2012 €20

Anyone heading over to this ? :) I will be

Muskerry Ford Junior Scratch Matchplay qualifier this fri and sat
    Blarney junior scratch Monday of may weekend

Anyone play in muskerry today. How was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

Anyone play in muskerry today. How was it?

Played it today, thought the course was in great condition (never played it before). Greens were very good, downhill putts were treachorous, but overall our group thought they were very fair. Based on today I'll definitely be booking in for the JSC later on in the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

How was the scoring there, any luck? Can't remember what was the cut last year to make the play offs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭cackhanded

I was +4 for the front nine, took a breather on the 10th tee after the climb, and then forgot how to swing a club :mad:. Finished +12. Fella we were playing with said the cut-off is usually around +8 so I wont be booking the couch in my sisters place in Cork for the bank holiday weekend.

i'm playing tomorrow. Glad to hear course in good nick. Hoping for decent weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Played Castle JSC yesterday. Course in great condition, great day and only one shower of rain. Gorfield might be able to give us a good insight into Muskerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭mag

thegen wrote: »
    Played Castle JSC yesterday. Course in great condition, great day and only one shower of rain. Gorfield might be able to give us a good insight into Muskerry.

greens were class, some iffy pin positions (like 4!). any luck?

aster99 wrote: »
    i'm playing tomorrow. Glad to hear course in good nick. Hoping for decent weather

I played also today. Had an 84

Heard the standard scratch was 73 yesterday for away players, so playing tricky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

mag wrote: »
    greens were class, some iffy pin positions (like 4!). any luck?

Managed to par 4 from the back bunker. A bit back from winner. Top 10 finish!!!

I played also today. Had an 84

Heard the standard scratch was 73 yesterday for away players, so playing tricky

From an unofficial source, Some 83's got in on Friday. I imagine that some 82's will qualify today.

Had an 81 myself with a good back 9 so I'm pretty hopeful. Terrible run of holes from 3 to 7, couldn't get used to the speed of the greens. Took a 7 on the 7th. but went on a run of pars from 8 to 15. I reckon 17 ruined many peoples cards. nearly did for me but I holed from 10 foot for a 6. guy I played with was 20 foot from the hole putting for birdie and walked off with a 6 too. :eek:

Jasonw wrote: »
    From an unofficial source, Some 83's got in on Friday. I imagine that some 82's will qualify today.

Had an 81 myself with a good back 9 so I'm pretty hopeful. Terrible run of holes from 3 to 7, couldn't get used to the speed of the greens. Took a 7 on the 7th. but went on a run of pars from 8 to 15. I reckon 17 ruined many peoples cards. nearly did for me but I holed from 10 foot for a 6. guy I played with was 20 foot from the hole putting for birdie and walked off with a 6 too. :eek:

I started with a 9 (ball out of bounds) and took 7 on 17. Other than that played okish. But those 2 holes were a disappointment & probably cost me a spot.
    Thought the greens were great, few of the downhill putts were murder though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

Apologies guys only seen the muskerry comments now! The place is in great nick, munster youths is on next week so expect it to be very good for the matchplay. I usually play some holes in the evenings during the week so if any of ye who qualified wants to join me ye are more than welcome or if ye require any advice or help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 seanom78

played on friday - weather was tough, cold windy with heavy showers. course was playing tough off the blues. i struggled with my driver and muskerry is a punishing course if you're not straight. (there must be 13 holes with Out of bounds) I managed to band aid up my swing enough to struggle past the cut with an 81.

Tee boxes, fairways were quite nice. I hate the greens in muskerry. they trick you into thinking they are quick but the only reason they were quick is because they are built on severe slopes for example no 1, no 2. i was above the hole on both holes and had lighteningly fast putts. any flat or uphill putt was slow and i struggled with the pace. some of the pin positions were crazy esp no 2, no 7, no 14.

at the end of the day it was the same for all of us and i live to fight another day.

Have you heard what the cut was?

How does it work? is it top 64 in total fom the 2 days or top 32 each day that qualify?

aster99 wrote: »
    Have you heard what the cut was?

How does it work? is it top 64 in total fom the 2 days or top 32 each day that qualify?
    As far as I know it's split between the two days to make it fair in case of different weather conditions. If you ring they will tell you if you made it. I heard that one 84 made it on Saturday and some 83s on Friday. But that is just hearsay. Don't take it as fact. I'm in with my 81 and playing a local guy. Looking forward to it.

I had an 84 on Saturday but a poor back nine (+7) so probably missed out. Its a great competition, must keep an eye on the Muskerry website over the next couple days to see the draw.