Should\Will Mancini be sacked after spending squillions and winning nowt this season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Why are you so obsessed about city?

I don't know Adolf. I really don't know. I just have this urge to post constantly about Mancini! It's a bit strange alright, i admit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

monkey9 wrote: »
    So would people reckon that what Mancini is saying in front of the cameras is different to what he's saying in private to the squad??

Would you not reckon that yourself since its what you think Dalglish does?

I should of course point out that obviously I also believe that managers sometimes say one thing to the press and another to their players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Blatter wrote: »
    It's a poor attempt at mind games tbh.

He wants United to think the league is over so that they become complacent. All too obvious really.

Yet soon as he said it was over, Utd lost is what is traditionally one of their banker fixtures. If roles were reversed, I assure a large portion of Utd fans would be salivating over the genius of Ferguson's mind games in heaping the pressure on City & it obviously working.

kryogen wrote: »
    Would you not reckon that yourself since its what you think Dalglish does?

I should of course point out that obviously I also believe that managers sometimes say one thing to the press and another to their players.

I am also one hundred percent behind this theory!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭Adolf Hipster

Mr Alan wrote: »
    It's a poor attempt at mind games tbh.

He wants United to think the league is over so that they become complacent. All too obvious really.

Yet soon as he said it was over, Utd lost is what is traditionally one of their banker fixtures. If roles were reversed, I assure a large portion of Utd fans would be salivating over the genius of Ferguson's mind games in heaping the pressure on City & it obviously working.
    Mind games are ridiculously over hyped, pure sky BS imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Mind games are ridiculously over hyped imo, pure sky BS imo.

I agree 100%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Eh, dude, I kinda made this point already with Guardiola instead of Fergie to stop it becoming one of "those threads"

Little help!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

No Alan, Mancini said it was over in his post match press conference after the WBA game which was also AFTER the Wigan game.

After the Arsenal game he was asked if it was over and he said no, not until it's mathematically impossible and the team would keep on fighting.

He made himself look like a tit by coming out and saying it was over on Tuesday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Stick a few quid on it if your so confident. Good vlue on him being there next season.

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/football-specials/man-city-specials/mancini-in-charge-1st-day-of-season

hmmm, 5/4 is a bit tasty. I'd have thought he would be, they are there or there abouts, would be pretty pointless to start over.

What is the feeling amongst city fans?

Stick a few quid on it if your so confident. Good vlue on him being there next season.

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/football-specials/man-city-specials/mancini-in-charge-1st-day-of-season

hmmm, 5/4 is a bit tasty. I'd have thought he would be, they are there or there abouts, would be pretty pointless to start over.

Few of my mates are city fans and are happy with his progress this season and are confident he will be there next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Yup definitely good value alright. I'd have had the odds the other way around myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,200 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

He made himself look like a tit by coming out and saying it was over on Tuesday night.

To be honest I find his "we are but tiny insects compared to great and powerful Manchester United, we have absolutely no hope. That five point gap is insurmountable" approach to be quite amusing.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

It's over, Utd have won, deal with it!

As for Mancini, he's brought the club on alright, but I don't think he has what it takes to turn them into a League winning side, a bit like how he didn't have what it takes to do well in the CL with Inter.

Rule number one of football management is you never fall out with one of your best players (Tevez).

Mancini is a maverick, and mavericks rarely win league titles.

Man City, fair play, are still in contention for the title and whilst also being Man U's city rivals!! This thread should get so bloated that a new one will need to be made!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,116 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Mancini's been great with the press.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Mancini's been great with the press.

He's been fantastic!! The way he has taken the p!ss out of them by his comments has been amazing!!!!

hmmmm!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Man City, fair play, are still in contention for the title and whilst also being Man U's city rivals!! This thread should get so bloated that a new one will need to be made!!
    When City have a load of titles under their belt and built up a massive fan base in this country and their manager whoever it may be at the time is seen to be out of their depth as they drift into midtable mediocrity,maybe then a thread like this will get so bloated that a new one has to be made.
    At the moment they're on course to finish higher than last year and still in with a shout of winning the league which is hardly regression.
    Pointless thread.

cambo2008 wrote: »
    When City have a load of titles under their belt and built up a massive fan base in this country and their manager whoever it may be at the time is seen to be out of their depth as they drift into midtable mediocrity,maybe then a thread like this will get so bloated that a new one has to be made.
    At the moment they're on course to finish higher than last year and still in with a shout of winning the league which is hardly regression.
    Pointless thread.

Ok!! So anyway, Mancini, yay or nay! Pointless or relevant?? Disgrace or a joke? 200 posts or 2000 posts?? Deluded or non deluded??

I also notice, Cambo, that is your first post on this thread!!

Hmmmmm!!!

plasmaguy wrote: »

As for Mancini, he's brought the club on alright, but I don't think he has what it takes to turn them into a League winning side.
    What does it take to be a league winning side? Getting more points than the other teams. They're on course to get between 85 and 90 points this year. That would be enough to win the league quite a few years, therefore it's probably unfair to say he doesn't have what it takes to be able to win a league. He may win a league, he may not, but simply discounting him without a rational explanation doesn't make much sense.
    What, pray tell, does this mean?

As for Mancini, he's brought the club on alright, but I don't think he has what it takes to turn them into a League winning side, a bit like how he didn't have what it takes to do well in the CL with Inter.

Rule number one of football management is you never fall out with one of your best players (Tevez).

The **** are you on about?

do you actually watch football?

What does it take to be a league winning side? Getting more points than the other teams. They're on course to get between 85 and 90 points this year. That would be enough to win the league quite a few years, therefore it's probably unfair to say he doesn't have what it takes to be able to win a league. He may win a league, he may not, but simply discounting him without a rational explanation doesn't make much sense.

I remember the good old days when Liverpool fans were arguing this case while Rafa was manager, without the Arab millions!!

Exactly why I'm already well practiced at this argument ;)

This thread has nothing to do with rafa/liverpool, you whinge and whine about people being obsessed with liverpool and then you bring them up in a completely unrelated thread??

I think the normal complaint is that fans of other clubs are always bringing up Liverpool. What you're complaining about now is a Liverpool fan bringing up Liverpool. Of course he's obsessed with Liverpool, he's a Liverpool fan!

it just happened to be a somewhat funny comparison that I (also a liverpool fan) was using exactly the same argument to defend Mancini which was once used to back up Rafa at Liverpool.

Your post count in this thread?? Your post count in the Kenny thread? The second Kenny tread, may i add! The first one closed because it got too big!!!

My arguement isn't even against you. There's plenty more posters who shall we say, share the same viewpoint as yourself.

My point being, your obsessivness is obvious. So where are all the arguements against Mancini! The manager, may i add, who is challenging Utd for the title.

Instead, Utd fans are going on about a 'mid table team'!!!

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    I think the normal complaint is that fans of other clubs are always bringing up Liverpool. What you're complaining about now is a Liverpool fan bringing up Liverpool. Of course he's obsessed with Liverpool, he's a Liverpool fan!

it just happened to be a somewhat funny comparison that I (also a liverpool fan) was using exactly the same argument to defend Mancini which was once used to back up Rafa at Liverpool.

I just find it funny that since he has a problem with people discussing Liverpool in Liverpool threads, that he would drag them into this one.

This is not true!

The **** are you on about?

do you actually watch football?

For the 1 millionth time, city are not going to win the league this year...like I said, deal with it...

I feel sorry for those city fans who still cling to the belief they might win it.

City imploded in the last few months.

Watch and know more about football than you, afraid to say.

For the 1 millionth time, city are not going to win the league this year...like I said, deal with it...

I feel sorry for those city fans who still cling to the belief they might win it.

City imploded in the last few months.

Watch and know more about football than you, afraid to say.

The really important thing you always leave out is "I think", ideally followed up by some solid reasoning.

~Rebel~ wrote: »

What, pray tell, does this mean?

What do you think it means? Look up the word in the dictionary.

Since you might struggle to read the dictionary, I'll help you out.

He says he doesn't trust Balloteli, even though he knew him from Inter and paid 24 milliion for him...why buy him so?

The amount of crap Mancini has said in the media all season is unbelieveable.

He said Tevez would never play for him again. Come the end of the season and they find they are missing someone who can score against the likes of Stoke and Swansea, he drags Tevez back into the fold.

He's a bit of a clown to be honest. Touch of the Kevin Keegan's about him.

Ferguson must love having somoene like Mancini around as a fellow manager, makes his job so much easier.

I said a few weeks ago when City were still in with a shout that they wouldn't win the league and city fans were saying yeh right.

I was proven right once more...

Any city fan who thinks they will win the league this season is simply deluded and basically knows feck all about football.