Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Did Kildare supporters outnumber Galway?
    Yes we did 3-1 id say so was delighted for the travelling support when we got the result. Good galway team and can see them giving Mayo a run for their money. We were good in the first half Alan smith in particular causing problems for Galway. Think we just took the foot of the gas and we just werent at the races at all when we came back after the break. In saying that Kildare showed great heart and character to get the result.
    Think Galway will have no complaints about the penalty. Bolton was dragged down and the referee made the right call.
    Tough match for kildare and just really delighted we came away with the result

Yes Smith had a great first half, yes it was a penalty. Kildare outnumbering Galway not a chance. There was 5,000 at the match, maybe 1,700 to 1,900 at the most from Kildare.

Don't get ahead of your self now buddy. Look at how many soft free's Kildare got in the second half. #haveyouevermetsam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I've been very harsh towards Conroy in the last 2 years but he had a good League campaign at full-forward. He's clinical when he gets free from his marker. I thought Bergin really improved after the Louth match which even then he still released the ball to perfection for the likes of Sice and Bradshaw who would run at the opposition.

Keeping Donie Shine at bay will be a challenge though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

If not for McGraths rush of blood to the head (we'll forgive him) we could be looking at division 1 football.

In fairness to McGrath, he didnt have many options. The Kildare guy was storming through and could well have got a goal.
    In terms of the backs, we definitely have things to work on. The FB line wasn't great (McGrath aside). Maybe a switch between Forde and Hanley might be an idea. Also we have Duane who can come in somewhere. Whether that is corner or centre back remains to be seen. My preference would be at CB with Blake as an option on the bench. He is limited but I guess he has that bit of steel and passion that gets the most out of the players around him. A decent player to be able to call on, for the physicality.

Not a bad idea trying Hanley at 4 and Forde at 3. Could be worth looking at in a challenge match. But I think people are being hard on the backs. If good ball is put into the full forward line, the backs can do little about it. In the first half yesterday, Smith was played in very intelligently each time. I think the problem from a Galway perspective was further out the field (And Flynn coming on as esentially a 3rd midfielder may have curtailed that).
    The thing with midfield is I'm unsure we'll have a 100% settled midfield, but that could suit us. We have different midfielders with different attributes, that can all have an impact come championship. I also look forward to O'Curraoin returning from injury too. Higgins has been very solid, fair play to him. Bergin had a good game y'day and he is definitely an option, even if not necessarily for 70 minutes.

How can you say that? Bergin / Higgins have to be the starting midfield now. They have proved over this league campaign that they are the best options. If either have a bad day, then bring on Flynn or O'Curraoin.

In terms of the forwards, Sice has really grown into the 10 position. He's looking more and more comfortable in the forwards and is more than capable of taking a score. Burke is doing a job at centre forward and is certainly a good option there, and probably will start there come championship.

Sice is looking fantastic at the moment. He could really take people by surprise this summer if he keeps up this form. Same with Conroy really
    Yes Smith had a great first half, yes it was a penalty. Kildare outnumbering Galway not a chance. There was 5,000 at the match, maybe 1,700 to 1,900 at the most from Kildare.

Thats still a poor ratio from a Galway viewpoint :-(
    Look at how many soft free's Kildare got in the second half

Not many from what I saw on TV:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

In fairness to McGrath, he didnt have many options. The Kildare guy was storming through and could well have got a goal.

I don't agree. Had he done nothing, there was no guarantee Bolton would have scored with at least 4 backs between him and the goal. If he didn't panic we might have seen it through. Wouldn't necessarily have stopped it but I think we had a better chance in doing that, then by trying to save a John Doyle penalty. It no biggy at this stage, he'll learn from such experiences.
    Not a bad idea trying Hanley at 4 and Forde at 3. Could be worth looking at in a challenge match. But I think people are being hard on the backs. If good ball is put into the full forward line, the backs can do little about it. In the first half yesterday, Smith was played in very intelligently each time. I think the problem from a Galway perspective was further out the field (And Flynn coming on as esentially a 3rd midfielder may have curtailed that).

There not much point in saying everything was perfect when it wasn't. Having said that, I'm sure Mullholland will point any flaws out and iron them out if needs be. The introduction of Flynn was a stroke and stemmed the flow of ball on top of the defenders. That definitely has to be said. It eased the pressure.

How can you say that? Bergin / Higgins have to be the starting midfield now. They have proved over this league campaign that they are the best options. If either have a bad day, then bring on Flynn or O'Curraoin.

To be honest I'm not doubting that they should be starting midfield, based on recent performances. I may not have made my point that clearly, but what I meant is,they're midfielders who'll have their moments but we do have options to bring on, should a game not be going for them. I'm just casting doubts on their ability (especially Bergin) to play a whole game. But lets see what happens, Bergin looked reasonably comfortable for the entire game. He tended to do a good 10 minutes in the past and then tire. But sure we'll see.

However, I know its almost guaranteed that one bad game and people will be calling for Bergins head. He's frustratingly inconsistent and its not inconceivable that others will be getting a look in. Its the way the modern game is going. Thats what I mean when I don't think midfield is 100% settled yet. Its far from the finished article.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭MickySticks

Starie1975 wrote: »

Don't get ahead of your self now buddy. Look at how many soft free's Kildare got in the second half. #haveyouevermetsam
    What are you on about, we outnumbered Galway fans by at least 2-1!

As for you're second comment, this lad ---->>> :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

PATHETIC last sniping statement. haveyouevermetsam myarse try yourabitterlittledivision2fan.com :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

PATHETIC last sniping statement. haveyouevermetsam myarse try yourabitterlittledivision2fan.com :D

Lads I was only having a laugh. In fairness the Kildare supporters I met in Galway over the weekend were good criac. Best of luck in the final and in division 1, may the best team win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

What are you on about, we outnumbered Galway fans by at least 2-1!

No chance. Just because we're not all kids who bring flags to league games. Maybe ye were louder too cos half of ye were still locked from the night before

Lads I was only having a laugh. In fairness the Kildare supporters I met in Galway over the weekend were good criac. Best of luck in the final and in division 1, may the best team win.

Sorry 98 still haunts me lol!!

Thanks btw and of course I don't mean anything nasty btw I already commended your lads and said mayo will have trouble with them so I hope you play like you did in 2nd half if you do Connaught championship is within your grasp.

Can I just say Joyce was brilliant for you Jesus that man can kick points from anywhere
    He is EPIC!!

Good luck in championship btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭To Alcohol

Was at the match myself. Some great football at times from both sides. Kildare 1st half and Galway 2nd half. When Bradshaw and Sice ran at us we'd no answer to them. Bradshaw in particular is a tremendous footballer. Smith kicked some great points in the 1st half but the supply was cut out in the 2nd half. Kildare were cleaned out in midfield due to very poor kickouts from the goalkeeper. Bergin had a field day. He caught 4 balls right in the middle of the field with no Kildare man within 5 yards of him. We need to address that area pronto as it puts huge pressure on our defence. Hadn't seen much of Galway for the last few years but based on the last few championships I wasn't expecting that performance in the 2nd half. Augurs very well for the ye for the rest of the year. Mulholland obviously doing a good solid job there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭24yearslater

Terrific match - one of the best league games I've been at in years. Kildare played some smashing football in the first half, we were lucky to be only 4 down at ht. However, we really were a transformed side in the 2nd, and it was a sickener to concede the last second penalty. There are lessons to be learned from how we tried to protect the lead - funnelling all 15 players back inside the 45 is only asking for trouble, as is rugby tackling lads in possession, instead of attempting to force them to drive the ball in accurately from open play when being marked closely. Bergin was fantastic in the 2nd half - I'd argue he never played a better 35 in a Galway jersey. We just need him to do it for 70 mins now. I've been one of his biggest critics for years, but if he continues to deliver like that I'll gladly eat my words. It should be remembered though that Kildare are extremely weak in midfield, hence the reason for bringing out Johnny Doyle from the corner over the last few years.
    Another season in Div2 won't do much harm I reckon - tbh this years 2nd tier was probably the toughest in years, with both Tyrone & Kildare in it. Both of them could arguably be rated as top 6 counties, whilst Derry & Monaghan (they were definitely distracted by the whole neutral ground issue) wouldn't be considered gimme matches either. Meath were also rated as contenders at the start, I still can't figure out how they've gotten so bad in the latter stages. Louth showed up well too, we were lucky to get a draw in the end against them earlier. Westmeath were a big surprise - I had them down as certainties for the drop. There's no way Div2 will be as tough next year - I've every confidence that we'll make it up @ the 2nd time of asking.
    Well done to all the Galway players who have restored some bit of pride back in Galway football again after the debacles of recent seasons. The merits or otherwise of certain players have been discussed previously, but from what I've witnessed this year it seems all are putting in a huge effort, and all really want to do well again. There have been setbacks (most notably v Westmeath), but I've no doubt we'll make a Connacht final this year, and we'll have a serious cut off Mayo in it as well. Anything after that will be a bonus for '12 - I certainly hadn't any such expectations after the abysmal efforts last year. Big shout out too to AM & his management team - there seems to be a clear direction & focus coming from them.

Finally, well done to Kildare on achieving promotion, despite losing there 1st 2 games. They've had their fair share of hard luck over the last few years, so I'm certainly not going begrudge them any breaks (if any) they got on Sunday. Well done especially to Johnny Doyle for the way he took responsibility for the penalty, he's been a class act on & off the pitch over the last 10 or more years. For all he has put into the game he certainly deserves an AI medal, or Leinster at least.

Terrific match - one of the best league games I've been at in years. Kildare played some smashing football in the first half, we were lucky to be only 4 down at ht. However, we really were a transformed side in the 2nd, and it was a sickener to concede the last second penalty. There are lessons to be learned from how we tried to protect the lead - funnelling all 15 players back inside the 45 is only asking for trouble, as is rugby tackling lads in possession, instead of attempting to force them to drive the ball in accurately from open play when being marked closely. Bergin was fantastic in the 2nd half - I'd argue he never played a better 35 in a Galway jersey. We just need him to do it for 70 mins now. I've been one of his biggest critics for years, but if he continues to deliver like that I'll gladly eat my words. It should be remembered though that Kildare are extremely weak in midfield, hence the reason for bringing out Johnny Doyle from the corner over the last few years.
    Another season in Div2 won't do much harm I reckon - tbh this years 2nd tier was probably the toughest in years, with both Tyrone & Kildare in it. Both of them could arguably be rated as top 6 counties, whilst Derry & Monaghan (they were definitely distracted by the whole neutral ground issue) wouldn't be considered gimme matches either. Meath were also rated as contenders at the start, I still can't figure out how they've gotten so bad in the latter stages. Louth showed up well too, we were lucky to get a draw in the end against them earlier. Westmeath were a big surprise - I had them down as certainties for the drop. There's no way Div2 will be as tough next year - I've every confidence that we'll make it up @ the 2nd time of asking.
    Well done to all the Galway players who have restored some bit of pride back in Galway football again after the debacles of recent seasons. The merits or otherwise of certain players have been discussed previously, but from what I've witnessed this year it seems all are putting in a huge effort, and all really want to do well again. There have been setbacks (most notably v Westmeath), but I've no doubt we'll make a Connacht final this year, and we'll have a serious cut off Mayo in it as well. Anything after that will be a bonus for '12 - I certainly hadn't any such expectations after the abysmal efforts last year. Big shout out too to AM & his management team - there seems to be a clear direction & focus coming from them.

Finally, well done to Kildare on achieving promotion, despite losing there 1st 2 games. They've had their fair share of hard luck over the last few years, so I'm certainly not going begrudge them any breaks (if any) they got on Sunday. Well done especially to Johnny Doyle for the way he took responsibility for the penalty, he's been a class act on & off the pitch over the last 10 or more years. For all he has put into the game he certainly deserves an AI medal, or Leinster at least.
    If there was a prize for best comment in gaa thread this should get it IMO it is a fair and balanced one and knowledgable too I reckon Galway will skip straight up to div 1 next year they and Armagh will be the two strongest by far!!

Good luck in the championship your boys did you proud on sunday they did a fantastic job at fighting back at a good Kildare side. I bet mayo are feeling nervous watching that game lol

I know Roscommon are nothing special in the League but how are they shaping up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

I know Roscommon are nothing special in the League but how are they shaping up?

The league has been hampered by a raft of injuries and the Brigids lads being club tied and needing to be eased in even after Brigids' interest in the club championship ended, nevermind that Sigerson Cup (DCU, the winners, could field a Roscommon team of their own if they saw fit) and u21 games seriously effected the availability of a panel filled with college age guys.

We'll have one of our strongest panels in living memory when everyone is up to speed. It's all being feed by a very good underage set-up that's starting to filter through to senior, our team has alot more to draw on that just the 2006 minor All-Ireland winners.

We have the players to beat Galway, there's next to nothing in terms of skill or fitness and I'd hazard to say we have more top class forwards than Galway. It all boils down to midfield. We've had plenty of trouble there this year and don't have an answer yet, but likewise Galway have been far from dominant in the middle.

It's shaping up to be the most interesting match between the two in many a year. Don't discount how much we want to break the losing streak against Mayo and Galway.

It's hard to see past a Roscommon-Mayo final in my eyes but Mayo are a level above both ATM too. Dr Hyde Park is not a kind venue in recent years either after Eamonn O'Hara singlehandedly won Sligo the Connacht final that year 2007.

Arrah, this is the fabled day our forefathers promised us, Galway supporters playing the poor mouth against us!

But seriously, we haven't beat Galway at the Hyde in twenty years and if we do it it'll have been after a serious, serious war.

Here's hoping it's quality football instead of some of the awful Connacht matches seen in the last 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

It's hard to see past a Roscommon-Mayo final in my eyes...

And how do you make that out? Galway are well capable of beating Roscommon. A repeat of Sunday's performance would be more than good enough to take care of the Rossies. They didn't even manage promotion from division 3, they're a mediocre team and Galway should be fully confident of beating them.

All in all a good league campaign from Galway, the only blip being the defeat to Westmeath. Sice has been a revelation and Paul Conroy is really emerging as a leader aswell. And Gary O'Donnell is proving himself as a county footballer having taken a lot of stick in the past. A lot of positives to be taken from Sunday's performance. That's the best I've seen from a Galway team in the past few years.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    And how do you make that out? Galway are well capable of beating Roscommon. A repeat of Sunday's performance would be more than good enough to take care of the Rossies. They didn't even manage promotion from division 3, they're a mediocre team and Galway should be fully confident of beating them.

All in all a good league campaign from Galway, the only blip being the defeat to Westmeath. Sice has been a revelation and Paul Conroy is really emerging as a leader aswell. And Gary O'Donnell is proving himself as a county footballer having taken a lot of stick in the past. A lot of positives to be taken from Sunday's performance. That's the best I've seen from a Galway team in the past few years.

And over the last few years we have been anything but mediocre?

While I agree with the sentiment that we at this moment in time are more than capable of beating Roscommon, we need to be careful to not be putting this team on a pedestal. While we've had a good league campaign, its another thing to automatically assume the Championship will be more of the same. Did people think when we lost to Westmeath that we would beat Roscommon? Plenty would have been skeptical. Thats not all that long ago. It is a very good sign however, that we finished better than we started.

In terms of Roscommon they won Connacht in 2010, we haven't won it since 2008 (4 years) so although we should be confident we would want to be err on the side of caution in terms of expectation levels. The likes of Roscommon and specifically Sligo have had the upper hand against us in recent years. Both would be regarded as "mediocre".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

I haven't seen any football this year, don't like the league. But are Galway still relying on Joyce? It really is bad if they still are and the connacht championship quality of matches is awful. Hard to watch.

If Roscommon are mediocre what does that make Galway? You're basking in the hype of a good League campaign and that's fine but it wasn't a thoroughly good showing. Included in your blip on the radars should have been were a beating from Tyrone and a drab performance against Louth. As Syferus said Roscommon had players involved in St. Brigid's club semi-finals and they generally don't play well in the League anyways.

Samich wrote: »
    I haven't seen any football this year, don't like the league. But are Galway still relying on Joyce? It really is bad if they still are and the connacht championship quality of matches is awful. Hard to watch.

He isn't starting so it would be a significant stretch to say we are relying on Joyce. He's a good impact sub and sure why not use him when he still trains and makes himself available for selection?

As for the Connacht bashing, it is what it is.

It's a bit ridiculous for Galway supporters to be calling Roscommon mediocre when we've beat them many times at underage over the last few years and have preformed significantly better in the championship than them over more than a few years. There's plenty of reason for Galway to be coming to the Hyde with humility and not arrogance.

It's fair to say few Galway supporters here has actually seen us play in quite a long time. Roscommon supporters have been to their own matches and seen plenty of Galway on tv. I can tell you without a shadow of a doubt there's very little between the two teams and any Galway supporter who thinks differently will be in for a painful day come the 20th May.

Ah here, stop tarring us with the one brush. One poster called Roscommon mediocre. Nobody on the panel is going into that match thinking it will be an easy win, majority of the fans will go into hoping for a win.

Syferus wrote: »
    It's a bit ridiculous for Galway supporters to be calling Roscommon mediocre when we've beat them many times at underage over the last few years and have preformed significantly better in the championship than them over more than a few years. There's plenty of reason for Galway to be coming to the Hyde with humility and not arrogance.

That was exactly the point I was making. Most posters here realize that.

Syferus wrote: »
    It's fair to say few Galway supporters here has actually seen us play in quite a long time. Roscommon supporters have been to their own matches and seen plenty of Galway on tv. I can tell you without a shadow of a doubt there's very little between the two teams and any Galway supporter who thinks differently will be in for a painful day come the 20th May.

I agree. Roscommon have a lot going for them. I'm weary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

But Roscommon are mediocre :confused:

So are Galway....:confused:

Mediocre teams tend to play in division 2 & 3. Thats where Galway and Roscommon are at the moment!

Nail on the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Samich wrote: »

Similar to what Alex Ferguson said about Paul Scholes, if its a bad thing relying on the best forward in connacht for the last 40 years (and still one of the best), then we're glad to accept that.

Yup, they are both mediocre at the moment. I do think Galway have the potential to be better than that though. With respect to Roscommon, i'd be severely disappointed if we lost to them. Will be a battle though

Team to play Dublin in Tullamore on Sunday

1. Fergal Flannery
    2. Kevin Hynes
    3. David Collins
    4. Ger O’Halloran
    5. Niall Donohue
    6. Fergal Moore
    7. Tony Og Regan
    8. David Burke
    9. Andy Smyth