Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭24yearslater

Lads we all know Galway hurling is nothing without Canning at the moment. Although it's only the League I am obviously worried about the Championship. Cunningham has the attitude of "shur don't mind the aul League" but yesterday was the awakening of the crisis.

Skehill's worth his weight in gold I guess now because he threw Ryan in at the deep end and he drowned against the best side in the country by a mile. Should have started more than one game just in the scenario of having a bit of experience prior to yesterday.

The fullback line was atrocious despite Collins having a decent spell for 10 minutes there. How O'Halloran hasn't been dropped is actually embarrassing. He doesn't play well at senior. Thanks and all but he should be gone.

Halfbacks are useless without Moore to lead them on a good day. He had a nightmare though and the backs were destroyed.

Midfield. Why? Barry Daly doesn't cut it, Davy Burke doesn't cut it, Smith doesn't start there enough so he doesn't cut it. The rotation of midfield to half-forward is shocking and genuinely the main problem in this side. I don't rate Regan at all but he was thrown in there and moved up because the poor lad was dead in the water.

Half-forward line. Didn't do great but at least did some work. No midfield = no half-forward line. Niall Burke has spells of class but he had a wide there that an U-10 would have cooly slotted over the bar with his eyes closed.

Full-forwards just die a death because it's a two man full-forward line. How is Damien Hayes going to create anything in a 2 man full-forward line? He's still a great player but he's being shutdown tactically.

We wanted to change the game yesterday. Aidan Harte was our answer. We must have misheard the question I guess. But the subs are a great indicator of a team's ability. This team can't rely on the subs because they're all average at best if we're being honest.

That said I'm not going to be over-dramatic and claim they don't deserve to wear the jersey because they do have good days (Cork, Clare) but I think a lot of anger comes from the false notion that we're on the same level as Waterford come championship time. At the moment we're Offaly-level IMO. But I will give Cunningham his due. It's his first year and he had Dessie Dolan issues on his mind.

Worst case scenario Dublin beat us. Relegation. It could be what this team needs. I think the footballers will benefit from the drop-down this year.

Not too sure about being nothing without Canning at the moment - they were nothing with him last year, while he had his hurl slung over his shoulder and his other hand on his hip with about 20 mins to go last year in thurles v waterford. He's another example of the malaise that's there, the pack-it-in-after-20-minutes-when-things-are-going-wrong mentality. I don't hold any false notions about being at any level, be it Cork, Wat, Tipp, KK, etc; the only misconceived notion I held was that they'd make an effort for 70 mins when they pull on the shirt. How wrong was I.

I've no doubt that that team that started yesterday wouldn't keep it pucked out to Offaly, if we met them in the c'ship. As for Cunningham & his Dolan issues - sure doesn't that just reiterate what I mentioned earlier, that he had no business doing the 2 jobs. That's a problem with leadership at the top thou. We'll never learn, as bad and all as Phelim was, he wouldn't have tolerated that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Lads we all know Galway hurling is nothing without Canning at the moment. Although it's only the League I am obviously worried about the Championship. Cunningham has the attitude of "shur don't mind the aul League" but yesterday was the awakening of the crisis.

Skehill's worth his weight in gold I guess now because he threw Ryan in at the deep end and he drowned against the best side in the country by a mile. Should have started more than one game just in the scenario of having a bit of experience prior to yesterday.

The fullback line was atrocious despite Collins having a decent spell for 10 minutes there. How O'Halloran hasn't been dropped is actually embarrassing. He doesn't play well at senior. Thanks and all but he should be gone.

Halfbacks are useless without Moore to lead them on a good day. He had a nightmare though and the backs were destroyed.

Midfield. Why? Barry Daly doesn't cut it, Davy Burke doesn't cut it, Smith doesn't start there enough so he doesn't cut it. The rotation of midfield to half-forward is shocking and genuinely the main problem in this side. I don't rate Regan at all but he was thrown in there and moved up because the poor lad was dead in the water.

Half-forward line. Didn't do great but at least did some work. No midfield = no half-forward line. Niall Burke has spells of class but he had a wide there that an U-10 would have cooly slotted over the bar with his eyes closed.

Full-forwards just die a death because it's a two man full-forward line. How is Damien Hayes going to create anything in a 2 man full-forward line? He's still a great player but he's being shutdown tactically.

We wanted to change the game yesterday. Aidan Harte was our answer. We must have misheard the question I guess. But the subs are a great indicator of a team's ability. This team can't rely on the subs because they're all average at best if we're being honest.

That said I'm not going to be over-dramatic and claim they don't deserve to wear the jersey because they do have good days (Cork, Clare) but I think a lot of anger comes from the false notion that we're on the same level as Waterford come championship time. At the moment we're Offaly-level IMO. But I will give Cunningham his due. It's his first year and he had Dessie Dolan issues on his mind.

Worst case scenario Dublin beat us. Relegation. It could be what this team needs. I think the footballers will benefit from the drop-down this year.

Gee I thought David Burke actually had a very good league was out injured yest. Daly started ok however while I think that mid is his only spot, he's still not good enough for county senior. Regan didn't play mid at all he was thrown in the corner all game and saw no action.

Too many lads not up to it, the majority being under 21's. Will Richie Cummins ever get fit cos imo he'll make a difference along with the return of JC. I'm hoping that sun was a once-off and that we'll bounce back v Dublin.

Agree about O'Halloran, while I don't like criticising young lads he just seems way out of his depth at this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Starie1975

Poster for the Galway v Kildare match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭MfMan

David Burke in fairness was perhaps our best performer during the league, not saying that he's quite the finished article or anything. I'd also persist with Barry Daly, he'd be much better in a better team, and James Regan (for a little while longer anyway) even though he's very one-sided. Don't rate Harte either. Ryan and O Halloran need to show more at club level if they can step up to county IMHO - don't know why but I don't trust Craughwell players anyway, absolutely nothing against the club or anything. Conor Cooney will probably need to get more time in the HF line, neither brilliant yet nor actually too bad there.

It's hard to know what the most galling thing about Sunday's defeat is. Is it the complete lack of pride and fade out when even a small amount of pressure comes on, is it the lack of power, physicality and willingness to get stuck in and give a rattle, the extreme poverty of the first touch? Or is it the fact that the management have basically to start all over again with the team's structure, that they have to find a decent CHB, and that they have to figure out how to tactically set out a team to play whatever opposition they come up against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭redlead

Galway have three big problems in my opinion:

1. The media. For some reason or other hype Galway every year which creates unrealistic expectations within the county. Galway at the moment are third favourites to win the All Ireland ahead of Cork. Any good hurling man including genuine Galway fans know that at this moment in time, Cork are streets ahead of Galway.

2. Underage success also leads to unrealistic expectations. There is no denying it that Galway have produced some fantastic underage talent over the years and I wish my own county could do it but there is also no denying that not having to play extremely tough provincial championships has led to Galway winning more championships than they otherwise would have. This leads to youngfellas going into the senior team thinking that they are the next Tommy Walsh when infact they still have it all to prove. Underage success also doesn't necessarily lead to senior success. Limericks triple under 21 winning teams prove this.

3. Mental frailties - Nobody knows why, but Galway heads just drop very fast when things don't go their way. All counties take serious beatings but Galway seem to get more than most. There was no excuse for Galways display against Dublin and Waterford last year. I would have had both teams as marginal favourites but Galway gave no reflection of their actual talent.

The above three have led to sheer disillusionment. We are constantly hearing that Galway should be winning All Irelands due to all their talent but who exactly are these talented players. There are a handful of excellent players on the team but a lot of mediocrity too.

The only team of note which Galway have beaten since 2005 is a poorly prepared Cork team in development. Not one All Ireland semi final has been reached since then, yet I hear Cunningham talk about Galway needing to prove that they are a top 4 team. The sooner Galway see themselves where they are, a top 6 or 7 team the sooner that you can make genuine improvements. Expectations of the team simply need to change.

I stress that I do not want to cause any offence with my above comments, it's just how I see it as an outsider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

redlead wrote: »
    Galway have three big problems in my opinion:

1. The media. For some reason or other hype Galway every year which creates unrealistic expectations within the county. Galway at the moment are third favourites to win the All Ireland ahead of Cork. Any good hurling man including genuine Galway fans know that at this moment in time, Cork are streets ahead of Galway.

2. Underage success also leads to unrealistic expectations. There is no denying it that Galway have produced some fantastic underage talent over the years and I wish my own county could do it but there is also no denying that not having to play extremely tough provincial championships has led to Galway winning more championships than they otherwise would have. This leads to youngfellas going into the senior team thinking that they are the next Tommy Walsh when infact they still have it all to prove. Underage success also doesn't necessarily lead to senior success. Limericks triple under 21 winning teams prove this.

3. Mental frailties - Nobody knows why, but Galway heads just drop very fast when things don't go their way. All counties take serious beatings but Galway seem to get more than most. There was no excuse for Galways display against Dublin and Waterford last year. I would have had both teams as marginal favourites but Galway gave no reflection of their actual talent.

The above three have led to sheer disillusionment. We are constantly hearing that Galway should be winning All Irelands due to all their talent but who exactly are these talented players. There are a handful of excellent players on the team but a lot of mediocrity too.

The only team of note which Galway have beaten since 2005 is a poorly prepared Cork team in development. Not one All Ireland semi final has been reached since then, yet I hear Cunningham talk about Galway needing to prove that they are a top 4 team. The sooner Galway see themselves where they are, a top 6 or 7 team the sooner that you can make genuine improvements. Expectations of the team simply need to change.

I stress that I do not want to cause any offence with my above comments, it's just how I see it as an outsider.

None taken. Can't really disagree with anything that you've said, and you're right about the underage thing too. Having an easier route to semis and finals has probably contributed to us winning more underage titles than we ought to have, even though some of those underage teams were pretty good in fairness.

But it's telling that we've struggled to reach semis and finals at senior level since the championship structure was changed. Over-rated would not be an unfair way to describe Galway hurling right now. For all the talent that we're supposed to have, there's been little evidence of it at senior level over the last few years, especially in the big championship games (with one or two rare exceptions, like the Tipp game in 2010).

If Cunningham and his team were to be given a season mid-term report at this point it would surely read 'must do better'. Some of the new players he's brought in have been no improvement whatsoever on what was there before them, and possibly even worse. New manager, new team, same old failings.

A great day will be in store on Easter Sunday in Pearse Stadium, Salthill. The senior match takes place at half two and also at 12:15 Galway's elite squad take on Kildare's elite team. These lads train just as hard as the senior team and deserve our support. Get down early to Salthill to cheer the lads on. #turnpearsemaroon

1.Bernard Power, Corofin
    2.Cathal Silke, Corofin
    3.Aonghus Tierney, Tuam Stars
    4.Colm McDonnacha, Leitir Mor
    5.Conor Costello, Claregalway
    6.Gearoid Canavan, Salthill
    7.Conor Halloran, Salthill
    8.Robert Hughes, Menlough
    9.Ferdia Breathnach, Leitir Mor
    10.Padraig Cunningham, Ballinasloe
    11.Jonathan Ryan, Kilkerrin/Clonberne
    12.Alan Molloy, Corofin
    13. Peadar Og O Griofa, Ml Breathnachs
    14. Justin Burke, Corofin
    15. Adrain Varley, Cortoon Shamrocks
    Subs:
    16. Tom Healy, Corofin
    17. Philip Ezerligis, Moycullen
    18. Chris O Toole, Outhergard
    19. Cathal Mulryan, Cortoon Shamrocks
    20. Anthony Griffin, Leitir Mor
    21. Conor Rabbitte, Kilkerrin/Clonberne
    22. Niall Walsh, Killanin
    23. Stephen Boyle, Mountbellew/Moylough
    24. James Shaughnessy, Ballinasloe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭InchicoreDude

What is an elite squad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

What is an elite squad?

Looks to me like some kind of development squad. Some players in there who we might see in the maroon and white in coming years.

What is an elite squad?

Its the second team or development squad - counties around the country are calling team elite squads so Galway is following suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Good to see Ferdia Breathnach is on the books in some form.

Starie1975 wrote: »
    A great day will be in store on Easter Sunday in Pearse Stadium, Salthill. The senior match takes place at half two and also at 12:15 Galway's elite squad take on Kildare's elite team. These lads train just as hard as the senior team and deserve our support. Get down early to Salthill to cheer the lads on. #turnpearsemaroon

1.Bernard Power, Corofin
    2.Cathal Silke, Corofin
    3.Aonghus Tierney, Tuam Stars
    4.Colm McDonnacha, Leitir Mor
    5.Conor Costello, Claregalway
    6.Gearoid Canavan, Salthill
    7.Conor Halloran, Salthill
    8.Robert Hughes, Menlough
    9.Ferdia Breathnach, Leitir Mor
    10.Padraig Cunningham, Ballinasloe
    11.Jonathan Ryan, Kilkerrin/Clonberne
    12.Alan Molloy, Corofin
    13. Peadar Og O Griofa, Ml Breathnachs
    14. Justin Burke, Corofin
    15. Adrain Varley, Cortoon Shamrocks
    Subs:
    16. Tom Healy, Corofin
    17. Philip Ezerligis, Moycullen
    18. Chris O Toole, Outhergard
    19. Cathal Mulryan, Cortoon Shamrocks
    20. Anthony Griffin, Leitir Mor
    21. Conor Rabbitte, Kilkerrin/Clonberne
    22. Niall Walsh, Killanin
    23. Stephen Boyle, Mountbellew/Moylough
    24. James Shaughnessy, Ballinasloe

Awful random team tbh don't know how they picked half of them. Plenty of the under 21 lads in that are nowhere near good enough to ever play for Galway in all honesty

Its the second team or development squad - counties around the country are calling team elite squads so Galway is following suit.

Very strange term to use. Why not just call it a development squad? The word "Elite" suggests a higher level than the actual Galway squad. I could understand it being used for an over 40's or something, but for this kind of squad, just seems totally inappropriate....

Its a good idea to have this kind of curtain raiser though.

The team will line out as follows:

1. Adrian Faherty - Baile Clár na Gaillimhe
    2. Kieran McGrath - Corafinne
    3. Finian Hanley - Br. na Trá/Cn. na Cathrach
    4. Colin Forde - Cill Fhir Iarainn
    5. Garreth Bradshaw - Maigh Cuilinn
    6. Johnny Duane - Naomh Séamus
    7. Gary O’Donnell - Realta Thuama
    8. Joe Bergin - An Creagán/Magh Locha
    9. Greg Higgins - Corafinne
    10. Gary Sice - Corafinne
    11. Damien Burke - Corafinne
    12. Thomas Flynn - Baile Átha’n Rí
    13. Michael Martin - Baile Mhuilinn
    14. Paul Conroy - Naomh Séamus
    15. Mark Hehir - Baile Mhuilinn

Very interesting selection. Numbers 1-9 pretty much picked themselves after the Monaghan game. I am glad Higgins is starting. His latest displays warrant a starting position.

The forwards are interesting though. No P. Joyce. Given his performance against Monaghan, it suggests he is not fit enough for a full match. One wonders if Hehir will start at 15 and Flynn at 12.Perhaps Hehir will be at 12 and Flynn further out at midfield leaving a two man full forward line. Cummins can consider himself very very unlucky not to get a start also. But then, Martin was extremely unlucky to be taken off in the Monaghan game. Burke & Hehir are somewhat fortunate to retain their places.

I'd have a lot of faith in the backs in the team. Less faith in the forwards. But what are the odds that come championship time, we will hear the experts say Galway have lovely forwards but are suspect at the back.

Is Nicky on the bench or is he off the panel again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

One wonders if Hehir will start at 15 and Flynn at 12.Perhaps Hehir will be at 12 and Flynn further out at midfield leaving a two man full forward line.

That's how it would appear, as Flynn is no forward, and Hehir not really a corner forward either. Serious lack of scoring power in that forward line, and I'd say the sooner we can get PJ on the pitch the better. Cummins could have been a better option than Hehir too who hasn't really impressed in this league campaign imo (I agree with you that he might be a bit fortunate to keep his place, but it seems AM has gone for quite a defensive selection overall).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

aidan24326 wrote: »
    That's how it would appear, as Flynn is no forward,

When did you figure that? He only started playing midfield in the last couple of years and is usually used as a forward for his club. He wasn't always tall, not long ago he was fairly small and as a former sprinter, neither pace or football ability will find him out in the forwards. At his age the half forward line is the best place for him at senior level. If the midfield is tanking they can bring him out.
    1. Adrian Faherty - Baile Clár na Gaillimhe
    2. Kieran McGrath - Corafinne
    3. Finian Hanley - Br. na Trá/Cn. na Cathrach
    4. Colin Forde - Cill Fhir Iarainn
    5. Garreth Bradshaw - Maigh Cuilinn
    6. Johnny Duane - Naomh Séamus
    7. Gary O’Donnell - Realta Thuama
    8. Joe Bergin - An Creagán/Magh Locha
    9. Greg Higgins - Corafinne
    10. Gary Sice - Corafinne
    11. Damien Burke - Corafinne
    12. Thomas Flynn - Baile Átha’n Rí
    13. Michael Martin - Baile Mhuilinn
    14. Paul Conroy - Naomh Séamus
    15. Mark Hehir - Baile Mhuilinn

I'm fairly optimistic about the team. 1-7 looks very solid and should be our line up for the rest of the year barring injuries. Fair play to Gary O'Donnell who has taken a lot of criticism, some of it unfair as in reality he has been decent for the past 2 years. He looks to be comfortable now at this level. Finian is a gem and this should really be the year that Bradshaw shows the rest of the country that he's one of the best around.

Midfield is still a little unsettled. On a going day Bergin is still good, however Mulholland really can't not be afraid to cart him off if the signs aren't good early on. O'Currain (if back to fitness) and Flynn are both very promising at 19 and should both be thereabouts. I'd be happy enough having both in with Bergin, with one prehaps starting in the forwards. Higgins may just fall short I fear, although he has certainly done well so far. Niall Coleman is a good option to have.

In the forwards, Sice has made the no.10 his own and rightly so. Two excellent league campaigns in a row. Other than that, the pipe dream is still there that the ultra talented combo of Joyce (x2), Meehan and Armstrong can team up. For varying reasons however, it's very unlikely. We should aim to get as many of them on the pitch as possible as we need matchwinners. Only Nicky has no excuse and hopefully things get sorted. Other than that, Conroy has had a good league and is a shoe in so far for a championship spot. The rest are all up for grabs. I'd worry slightly about scoring power for Sunday, as there doesn't look to be many natural score takers there. If we can't have any of those 4 mentioned above, maybe someone like Bane, who is flawed but can score, should be there. Anyway, Mulholland seems to have done little wrong so far, so i'm willing to trust him. Hehir needs time to get used to this level, and the league is perfect for that. He's still on a steep upward curve and has a lot of potential.

I'm ever the eternal optimist on this thread, but I do think there are reasons to be positive. Looking forward to Sunday, hopefully the crowd turns out. Starie (or CoC??), great work on the fb page and twitter campaign (if a lil corny :pac:).

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    When did you figure that? He only started playing midfield in the last couple of years and is usually used as a forward for his club. He wasn't always tall, not long ago he was fairly small and as a former sprinter, neither pace or football ability will find him out in the forwards. At his age the half forward line is the best place for him at senior level. If the midfield is tanking they can bring him out.

I'm fairly optimistic about the team. 1-7 looks very solid and should be our line up for the rest of the year barring injuries. Fair play to Gary O'Donnell who has taken a lot of criticism, some of it unfair as in reality he has been decent for the past 2 years. He looks to be comfortable now at this level. Finian is a gem and this should really be the year that Bradshaw shows the rest of the country that he's one of the best around.

Midfield is still a little unsettled. On a going day Bergin is still good, however Mulholland really can't not be afraid to cart him off if the signs aren't good early on. O'Currain (if back to fitness) and Flynn are both very promising at 19 and should both be thereabouts. I'd be happy enough having both in with Bergin, with one prehaps starting in the forwards. Higgins may just fall short I fear, although he has certainly done well so far. Niall Coleman is a good option to have.

In the forwards, Sice has made the no.10 his own and rightly so. Two excellent league campaigns in a row. Other than that, the pipe dream is still there that the ultra talented combo of Joyce (x2), Meehan and Armstrong can team up. For varying reasons however, it's very unlikely. We should aim to get as many of them on the pitch as possible as we need matchwinners. Only Nicky has no excuse and hopefully things get sorted. Other than that, Conroy has had a good league and is a shoe in so far for a championship spot. The rest are all up for grabs. I'd worry slightly about scoring power for Sunday, as there doesn't look to be many natural score takers there. If we can't have any of those 4 mentioned above, maybe someone like Bane, who is flawed but can score, should be there. Anyway, Mulholland seems to have done little wrong so far, so i'm willing to trust him. Hehir needs time to get used to this level, and the league is perfect for that. He's still on a steep upward curve and has a lot of potential.

I'm ever the eternal optimist on this thread, but I do think there are reasons to be positive. Looking forward to Sunday, hopefully the crowd turns out. Starie (or CoC??), great work on the fb page and twitter campaign (if a lil corny :pac:).
    Flynn has been always very tall for his age as long as I can remember and I've been playing against him all the way up for a long time. I'd agree with the above poster that he is better in mid than in the forwards, an incredible athlete, fielder and distributor of the ball he has all the qualities to be a top midfielder. But he has never been small

Galway hurlers- Richie Cummins (Gort), Johnny Glynn (Ardrahan), Padraig Breheny and Shane Maloney (both TAD) have been called up to the Galway hurling panel with Mark Lydon, Aidan Harte and Jason Grealish making way. All 4 are eligible for under 21 this year and if Cummins can find fitness he'd be a great asset. The two TAD boys are probably a bit young yet, no harm though having them in the environment to learn off older lads. Two real players for the future.

Great match but if only we took one of those goal chances. McGrath was brilliant in that second half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,024 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Sickener to draw that with the last kick of the game. Galway were about 3 seconds away from promotion. Deserved to win that game really. I guess it's something to build on though.

Just finished watching it there.
    Why in Gods name would you just blatantly pull someone when you have 4 players goal side of the ball with about a metre of space in front to hit it.
    Chances of them scoring that shot were pretty slim.

Do players not think in their heads ''A penalty is far more dangerous than him hitting it in this crowded box''..... :confused:
    I wouldn't mind an accidental foul trying to block but it was just a silly, obvious pull. :mad:

Should have buried them before that, think they had scored, 3 points in the second half?(penalty aside)..... and weren't they all in the last 10mins?.
    Disappointing.

But like the hurlers, going up or down doesn't make the slightest difference, anything can happen in the KO All Ireland.

If they take a long hard look in the mirror after this they'll have to think they threw it away in all honesty. It wasn't as if the penalty was Kildare's only goal chance. That said there are many positives to today's showing. I thought McGrath was great till the penalty but hopefully he isn't the new Mullahy.

We need Joyce but I can't fault Mulholland for how he uses him. We seem to have a decent bunch of forwards. Greg Higgins has done very little wrong so far and it is encouraging that at times that he wins ball in midfield far more than Bergin. Bradshaw and Sice were standouts this campaign and Conroy is showing signs of the great player he was at underage level.

This year in the League was promising IMO. Another year won't do any harm until we can iron out the side to beat the teams we lose by a point or draw with. Losing to the Dublins and the Kerrys won't do any good really.

There's 6 weeks till the Roscommon match so here's hoping it's onwards and upwards for Galway football.

the

But like the hurlers, going up or down doesn't make the slightest difference, anything can happen in the KO All Ireland.
    We don't even know how they'll get on yet. IMO it's more beneficial to play teams we'll likely encounter in the qualifiers than Kerry, Cork, Dublin and Down who we could really only face in a Quarter Final which is too soon to expect from Mulholland in his first year.

I thought McGrath was great till the penalty but hopefully he isn't the new Mullahy.

In what way???:confused:
    Greg Higgins has done very little wrong so far and it is encouraging that at times that he wins ball in midfield far more than Bergin

Higgins greatest advantage is that he understands his strengths & weaknesses very well. He is well able to win ball, but he then usually plays a simple pass off to a team mate. Cullinane always seemed to think he was far better kick passer than he was [Consequently, we lost possession numerous times].
    Why in Gods name would you just blatantly pull someone when you have 4 players goal side of the ball with about a metre of space in front to hit it.
    Chances of them scoring that shot were pretty slim.

Difficult to think like that when there is a Kildare forward charging into the square in the heat of the moment. Probably a bit naive though.

It does make a difference. Regardless of what people say on here,players want to pit themselves against the best. I am certain if you ask any Galway player would they prefer to be playing division 1 or division 2 next year, every one of them would answer division 1. Galway should not feel inferior to the likes of Mayo, Laois, Armagh, Donegal (or indeed Tyrone / Kildare). They are well able to compete with any of those teams. And they should feel gutted that they did not get promotion today.

In saying that, Galway can be very proud of this league campaign. The team has evolved well. And I like the way Mulholland has approached it. He has successfully merged some experienced players with the younger guys and there is good competition for places throughout the team. Kelly/Forde vying for no. 4, Blake / Duane for 6. The forwards are a lot less settled, but Gary Sice had another stormer today and is looking great at no. 10. I do not understand the logic of N.Joyce at no. 12. In fairness to him, he tracked back a lot today. But his strengths lie close in to goal. He should have been playing in Martins position today.

I cannot see the championship team deviating too far from todays starting side. Definitely not 1 - 10. I suspect Burke will be retained at 11. And Conroy is a certainty at 14. Hehir improved today I think and could be starting too. Martin was somewhat unlucky to be taken off again.

On another note, I couldnt make the game today so I just saw the delayed coverage on TG4. What was the crowd like? Did Kildare supporters outnumber Galway?

In what way???:confused:
    Gets abducted by aliens after a good showing in the League to return to his home planet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭lilywhites28

Did Kildare supporters outnumber Galway?
    Yes we did 3-1 id say so was delighted for the travelling support when we got the result. Good galway team and can see them giving Mayo a run for their money. We were good in the first half Alan smith in particular causing problems for Galway. Think we just took the foot of the gas and we just werent at the races at all when we came back after the break. In saying that Kildare showed great heart and character to get the result.
    Think Galway will have no complaints about the penalty. Bolton was dragged down and the referee made the right call.
    Tough match for kildare and just really delighted we came away with the result

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,023 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

I'll come back and do a proper anaylsis again, but just one point. On a going day like Sunday, Joe Bergin is still a superb midfielder. He was outstanding in the second half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭MfMan

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    I'll come back and do a proper anaylsis again, but just one point. On a going day like Sunday, Joe Bergin is still a superb midfielder. He was outstanding in the second half

Yes, I was and am one of his sternest critics, but he was close to being Galway's MOTM yesterday, outstanding workrate and did what he always should do, win or break the ball and lay it off without taking too much out of it. Kildare rather lucky in the end but it was an easy penalty to call for a ref. and the lilywhites were due a win v Galway in a big game. Losers' defence a bit naive and bunched a bit too much in the last play, they got away with it in the preceding attack. Kildare looked world beaters in the first half with the Galway defence a mile off their opponents. (What were the management looking at? Blake was absolutely anonymous in the first 35 minutes with Hanley being little better; Forde got a doing from Smith, but should have been moved to no. 6 first with Blake making way for Kelly.) Some turnaround in the second half but I wudda taken off Damien Burke before Hehir, he cannot tackle without fouling and gave away that last free. That said, this was a terrific match and was probably Galway's best performance of the league, at least the second half anyway. How come the footballers never get criticised for being inconsistent, unlike the hurlers? Final word, PJ is a joy always and as ever, worth admission alone. What a pity he's not 10 years younger. :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭RealityCheck

Where to start.

Certainly an encouraging performance overall. The good thing is that unlike the hurlers, the footballers have finished quite strongly. Just what you want to see. I was pleased with the intensity shown, even if we screwed up at the death. It was different to the type of performance that saw us lose by a point. If not for McGraths rush of blood to the head (we'll forgive him) we could be looking at division 1 football.

Looks its no harm that we didn't get promoted. We'd all have taken it if we got it however. It will give us the opportunity to try out more players again come February if needs be. A luxury we could not afford were we in Division 1 next year.

In terms of the team. I'm really impressed with the fact that we now have a good squad of 20 players, who we can call on come championship. It was refreshing for us to be able to call on players early, when things needed changing. Kelly, Flynn, Joyce and Cummins all made a significant impact when introduced. Hopefully Joyces injury isn't too serious. It would be great if we could have Meehan or Armstrong in some shape or form.

In terms of the backs, we definitely have things to work on. The FB line wasn't great (McGrath aside). Maybe a switch between Forde and Hanley might be an idea. Also we have Duane who can come in somewhere. Whether that is corner or centre back remains to be seen. My preference would be at CB with Blake as an option on the bench. He is limited but I guess he has that bit of steel and passion that gets the most out of the players around him. A decent player to be able to call on, for the physicality.

The thing with midfield is I'm unsure we'll have a 100% settled midfield, but that could suit us. We have different midfielders with different attributes, that can all have an impact come championship. I also look forward to O'Curraoin returning from injury too. Higgins has been very solid, fair play to him. Bergin had a good game y'day and he is definitely an option, even if not necessarily for 70 minutes.

In terms of the forwards, Sice has really grown into the 10 position. He's looking more and more comfortable in the forwards and is more than capable of taking a score. Burke is doing a job at centre forward and is certainly a good option there, and probably will start there come championship.

I'm with other posters who reckon Nicky Joyce is a better inside forward than he is an outside forward. Conroy is looking good at 14. It certainly looks like he's found a position on the team. I was qiuetly impressed with Hehir yesterday. This year may not necessarily be his year and he may not start against Roscommon but I am seeing something there. We look to have a few options in the forwards which is a real positive. It must be a backs nightmare to see PJ rolling off the bench. He's still a torment for any back, even if only for 20 minutes.

Mullhollland is certainly getting the most he can out of the players. He seems to have the right blend of man management, motivation and tactics to progress this team.

Looking forward, its little over a month until we play Roscommon in the Hyde. Thats going to be a tricky assignment and will require the manager and players to be at their best. Decent Roscommon teams are never easily beat especially in front of their home crowd. The key to this year is taking one game at a time and focusing on performances. We certainly will have our work cut out to win Connacht with Sligo up after Roscommon should we win and likely Mayo in a final should we overcome Sligo. The Connacht Championship a weak Provence. I beg to differ!!