RTÉ Salary Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

Oh - you're an expert? You can tell us how much it costs the run a National broadcaster? You can tell us how much revenue is generated from advertsing? You can tell us how many of the 1.5 million dwellings actually have a TV licence?
    Do you know the BBC collect nearly £3.5 billion in Tv licence fees? (http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/annualreport/pdf/bbc_ar_online_2009_10.pdf)
    fair city makes roughly 20 million a year for RTE in advertising, and costs about 13 million to make (about E60k an ep), so thats 7 million profit for what should be the most expensive show they make, it runs all year long and uses to the most amount of people,

http://www.independent.ie/lifestyle/independent-woman/celebrity-news-gossip/star-actors-in-topearning-soap-on-432-a-day-48342.html

almost all other shows on RTE are done in small studios that "should" bebought and paid for long ago, they bought a new news studio stage there a year or two ago for E1.3 million,

im no finance wizz and never claimed to but money is being hemorrhaged somehwere,

there making E20mill a year from there top national tv show thats only on for half an hour, never mind the figures there pulling in for shows like greys anatomy and glee, which more than likely attract more viewers, plus sports games like champions league and international football/rugby games which can pull in 50% upwards more than fair city do,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

jimmynokia wrote: »

<SNIP>,shall i continue?

Stop that Jimmy. You're sounding slightly creepy/threatening now...no need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

telekon wrote: »

Stop that Jimmy. You're sounding slightly creepy/threatening now...no need for it.

why? not only is mr hbb upsetting folk here but on many other site
    plus ive found out who he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭crushproof

Marion Finucane is on air for 4 hours every Sunday.
    While slightly out of date, the latest figure of her salary is a whopping €570,000.

So that's over €10 per MINUTE she earns while on air on RTE Radio every Sunday.

I'm sorry, but am I missing something here???

why? not only is mr hbb upsetting folk here but on many other site
    plus ive found out who he is

I think there's only one person getting upset here to be fair...

crushproof wrote: »
    Marion Finucane is on air for 4 hours every Sunday.
    While slightly out of date, the latest figure of her salary is a whopping €570,000.

So that's over €10 per MINUTE she earns while on air on RTE Radio every Sunday.

I'm sorry, but am I missing something here???

Yea, its probably even more considering all the holidays she takes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Mr.Success

I think there's only one person getting upset here to be fair...

it aint me im actually enjoying hugos constructive jargon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,314 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Think only of Graham Norton, the Doyle brothers, Dara O Briain, the lad who was 'made' here with Scrap Saturday, Dermot Morgan, Henry Kelly, Anthony Clare, Olivia, Orla Guerin : Montrose is a fountainhead of talent, seeping out all the time.

Much as BBC Radio 4 fears for its best ideas and talent being taken up by the inferior medium, RTE fears the loss across the water.

Are you certain that all of the people listed actually started out with RTE?

Who are the "Doyle Brothers"?

These are the only ones that I can see:
    John Doyle (35) of no fixed abode and Christopher Doyle (29) formerly of Fatima Mansions Dublin whose last address was St Fintan’s Grove, Lucan Co Dublin, had denied murder but pleaded guilty to the manslaughter of Paddy Logan

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/2002/0719/ireland/brothers-jailed-for-27-years-for-the-murder-of-elderly-man-60422.html#ixzz1dbQTCKD2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Beside the point, it's the fact Irish TV personalties DO have somewhere else to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Yea, its probably even more considering all the holidays she takes...

lol... :D

I often think that upbeat intro music of hers must have been commissioned for The National Lottery, but RTE thought it more appropriate to use it for Finucane..

Beside the point, it's the fact Irish TV personalties DO have somewhere else to go.

It's not beside the point at all. This thread relates to the "talent" of RTE personalities, and it seems to me that most of the people on the "Hugo" list didn't work for RTE before they became famous in the UK.

It is beside the point that he was making. If RTE don't pay the big bucks, then they can feck off elsewhere. Not as was suggested - that they have nowhere to go. Please, pay attention.

If I don't agree with your point of view, I'm not paying attention?

Fair enough.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 547 ✭✭✭HugoBradyBrown

Who are the "Doyle Brothers"?

These are the only ones that I can see:

I was referring to Keith and Craig, but I see now that Craig has in fact come in this direction, rather than the reverse. I apologise to all for the misunderstanding. :o

However, it clearly does not undermine my main thrust. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,479 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Never heared of Kieth Doyle

If I don't agree with your point of view, I'm not paying attention?
    That's not what I said, nor implied. Hugo was referring to Irish personalities who we have lost to other (foreign) broadcasters, not Irish personalities who were formerly on RTÉ's bank roll (though some of them may have been).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Hootanany wrote: »
    And no TAX payers money well I never

They actually do receive a portion of the tv licence but don't let that spoil your post. Also have you seen the quality of their home grown output? Imagine that across all Irish tv channels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 547 ✭✭✭HugoBradyBrown

Hootanany wrote: »
    Never heared of Kieth Doyle

No, the spelling is "Keith", so you may have missed him in your search.

If you oogle him you will find much material of interest and value, but I copy below just one item. He was the star of the Travel strand No Frontiers.

You can view some of the content online, in fact, though, of course, for the Travel material, it will be out of date, though nonetheless crafted to the highest production standards and aesthetically pleasing for that alone. Keith was another one we lost to the mailboat.

http://www.rte.ie/travel/nofrontiers/20050526.html

If you oogle him you will find much material of interest and value, but I copy below just one item. He was the star of the Travel strand No Frontiers

Its spelt google...:D

If you oogle him you will find much material of interest and value, but I copy below just one item. He was the star of the Travel strand No Frontiers.

You can view some of the content online, in fact, though, of course, for the Travel material, it will be out of date, though nonetheless crafted to the highest production standards and aesthetically pleasing for that alone. Keith was another one we lost to the mailboat.

http://www.rte.ie/travel/nofrontiers/20050526.html

Must have the same spellchecker as yiu Hugo

That's not what I said, nor implied. Hugo was referring to Irish personalities who we have lost to other (foreign) broadcasters, not Irish personalities who were formerly on RTÉ's bank roll (though some of them may have been).

As an uncle of mine usually says, you'll all come round to my way of thinking in the end.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I just wish that RTE would actually TAKE some serious action and stop with all their public statements relating to pay.. If they want people to believe that they are serious about cuts, then Marian Finucace should be let go... no question.. she works four hours a week, for about half the year... Her contract should not be renewed..

And they need to seriously reconsider the contracts of Tubridy, Joe Duffy and all the other mediocre presenters that they are prepared to keep showering in gold... Most of the top earners are CONTRACTORS, that means you can let them go, so do it and prove to the Irish people that you are gonna get value for money...

Who is Keith Doyle.

The Irish Daily Star reports that last year the State broadcaster spent a massive €275,000 on getting celebrities to appear alongside Tubs on the Late Late Show. Yes, it turns out that us mere mortals are not the only ones who don’t exactly enjoy the thoughts of having a conversation with Ryan Tubridy. Can you blame us though, really?

But while most of us would give in and allow Tubs to throw some questions our way for a few euro, some celebrities demanded a much higher payment. Unfortunately RTE has flat-out refused to name the celebrities who cost the most (boo!). Although, we can reveal that last September, the Oscar-winning actor Cuba Gooding Jnr was flown all the way to Ireland just so he could talk to Tubs. However, RTE would not say how much the Gooding cost because of “commercial sensitivity.”

Basically, Irish people are up to their eyes in austerity measures, so RTE are afraid of some severe backlash if people find out just how much money the Gooding was paid in order to sit in a comfy seat and answer a few questions for twenty minutes.

According to reports, RTE, which is partly funded by licence fees, spent a grand total of €146,322 on guest appearances last year alone (that’s €3,851 per episode). A further €129,227 was spent on flights, accommodation and travel expenses.

Despite these figures being leaked into the public domain, a spokesperson for RTE would not say which guests the total of €275,000 was spent on.

“I am not under any obligation to provide that information,” said Tara O’Brien.

“Logistically it would not be possible because you’re talking about a list of over 1,000 guests,” she added.

In 2011, RTE spent a further €8,622 on food, alcohol and “hospitality disposables” (eh…paper plates and plastic cutlery…) to make sure that Late Late guests were kept happy before they had to join Tubridy on air.

Seriously though, if you have a bill coming up and could do with some extra cash just tell RTE that you’re willing to chat to Ryan for a few hundred – they’ll think it’s a bargain and you’ll get some cash and some free booze. Score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

So we pay for them to appear so they can flog a movie, tv series or book to us and Tubs is prevented from asking sensitive questions by the "stars" PR people. Sounds a bargain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

I just wish that RTE would actually TAKE some serious action and stop with all their public statements relating to pay.. If they want people to believe that they are serious about cuts, then Marian Finucace should be let go... no question.. she works four hours a week, for about half the year... Her contract should not be renewed..

And they need to seriously reconsider the contracts of Tubridy, Joe Duffy and all the other mediocre presenters that they are prepared to keep showering in gold... Most of the top earners are CONTRACTORS, that means you can let them go, so do it and prove to the Irish people that you are gonna get value for money...

Agreed and because they are contractors, no strikes if they are let go.

From now on, there should be a cap on all new contracts in RTE of 200,000 euro. If people don't like it, they know where the door is.

I wonder how many other stations would take the likes of Kenny, Duffy, Finucane, etc on wages over 200k? Very few imo.

The licence fee should not be used to pay or subsidize higher wages for RTE presenters but that is exactly what it has been doing for years.

200k max salary for RTE presenters from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Although, we can reveal that last September, the Oscar-winning actor Cuba Gooding Jnr was flown all the way to Ireland just so he could talk to Tubs.

Yeah they flew him ALL the way from London. He did Graham Norton the day before so it's not like they paid his airfare from the States or anything.

It costs money to get good guests on unless they're here plugging a product. Some of the bigger names I'd imagine get paid on top of the plugs.

Now week in week out we have people on here giving out about the show, they want Tubs out, they want better guests etc. The same people then complain when the cost of these guests come out.

Could you imagine how much it would cost them to get top tier guests all the time if that's how much it cost to get some lads from the canteen and a handful of genuine stars? Unfortunately it costs money for quality guests so you can't have it both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭plasmaguy

Yeah they flew him ALL the way from London. He did Graham Norton the day before so it's not like they paid his airfare from the States or anything.

It costs money to get good guests on unless they're here plugging a product. Some of the bigger names I'd imagine get paid on top of the plugs.

Now week in week out we have people on here giving out about the show, they want Tubs out, they want better guests etc. The same people then complain when the cost of these guests come out.

Could you imagine how much it would cost them to get top tier guests all the time if that's how much it cost to get some lads from the canteen and a handful of genuine stars? Unfortunately it costs money for quality guests so you can't have it both ways.

I don't think many people would complain about paying for guests. It's the nature of the business these days, quality guests are in high demand everywhere, with limited time. I wouldn't complain.

It's hard to fill a 2 hour show with quality guests these days without paying the bigger names, which is another reason the LLS is probably doomed. With a limited budget, RTE end up bringing on their own people as guests either for free or a very small fee.

I doubt if in Gaybo's time they were paying all the guests, given the number of well known names they would have on the average show. But again different era, an era before pr advisors and all that for the most part.

The LLS is doomed anyways. Next year it will be the same as this year. Limited budget, poor guest list, guests plugging books and sh*tty albums and so on, with nothing of interest to say.

It's the same guests every year and it's like watching an athlete doing lap after lap after lap of honour. Its boring after the first time.

Watch one series of the LLS these days, and you've pretty much seen every series for the next 10 years.