Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ Salary Thread

• 11-11-2011 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭

http://t.co/RxncbB0b

rte just released figures for 2009 do they know its 2011 now

Pat Kenny was the highest paid RTÉ presenter in 2009, with earnings of €729,604, according to new figures released by the broadcaster.
    The late Gerry Ryan was second-highest earner, with earnings of €585,944, and Late Late Show presenter Ryan Tubridy was third-highest on €519,667.
    The total of earnings of the top ten presenters in 2009 was €3.95m, a reduction of 11.2% on the 2008 total of €4.45m.
    Of the ten presenters listed in the 2009 table, eight are contractors providing services to RTÉ and two are staff employees.
    The staff presenters are Derek Mooney, who was seventh-highest-paid on €268,985, and Sean O'Rourke, ninth-highest on €214,084.
    Figures for staff include employer pension contributions and are not salary only, RTÉ said. Figures for contractors represent fees payable, not salaries; pension provision is a matter for the individual contractor.
    The others on the list are: Marian Finucane, fourth highest with earnings of €513,270; Liveline presenter Joe Duffy, fifth highest on €389,314; Miriam O'Callaghan, sixth highest on €290,625; Eamon Dunphy; eighth highest with earnings of €225,485; and Colm Caffrey (Hayes), tenth highest with earnings of €213,954.
    In a statement, RTÉ said the release of the information maintained the process of voluntary disclosure of these earnings, and that, "as normal and for reasons of commercial confidentiality, the figures are released two years in arrears."
    The total of the earnings listed represents just over 1% of RTÉ's operating costs (€389.4m) in 2009 and approximately 2% of personnel-related operating costs.
    During the same year of 2009 the total cost of RTÉ staff wages and salaries reduced from €150.17m to €137.24m, a reduction of 8.6%.
    The company said it had reduced its overall operating costs by €71m or approximately 15% over the period 2008-2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

2009? Talk about out of date. Why haven't they released last year's figures? Tubs is surely the highest now considering he now hosts the LLS? And PK hosted the LLS for most of 09 so this doesn't reflect his salary since leaving and going to the Frontline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

This contractor malarkey really should brought to a close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I had a real warm, cuddly feeling after watching President Ml D & then these figures appear on the news & my blood pressure is gone off the scale again ... rte urgently need a tough negotiator

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Some money to be earned any tips on getting a job with RTE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

SB-08 wrote: »
    2009? Talk about out of date. Why haven't they released last year's figures? Tubs is surely the highest now considering he now hosts the LLS? And PK hosted the LLS for most of 09 so this doesn't reflect his salary since leaving and going to the Frontline.

Yeah why just show that years figures?
    Something to hide i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,190 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Callan57 wrote: »
    I had a real warm, cuddly feeling after watching President Ml D & then these figures appear on the news & my blood pressure is gone off the scale again ... rte urgently need a tough negotiator

No they don't.

Next time they are negotiating wages, just say to these overpaid folk, "Listen the most we can offer you is €150k max. Take it or leave it".

If they want to try their luck elsewhere, let them. Its not as if any of them are indespensible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

SB-08 wrote: »
    2009? Talk about out of date. Why haven't they released last year's figures?

They dont release current salaries because the information is "commercially sensitive"...

Just wondering was that the year that Pat last hosted The Late Late Show and Tubridy took it over in that September?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Just wondering was that the year that Pat last hosted The Late Late Show and Tubridy took it over in that September?

Tubridy took over the LLS gig in September of 2009 so Pat's salary that year included payment for presenting the LLS from January to May 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Pat Kenny is still top of RTE pay league despite a €250,000 drop in his pay

Pat Kenny is still top of RTE pay league -- despite loss of €250,000

By Allison Bray

Saturday November 12 2011

RTE star Pat Kenny's pay dropped by almost €250,000 from his annual pay packet when he left 'The Late Late Show' in 2009, according to the latest salary figures released by RTE last night.

But despite this, the 63-year-old host of 'Today With Pat Kenny' on RTE Radio One and the TV current-affairs show 'Frontline' was still the state broadcaster's top earner that year, taking in €729,604, the 2009 earnings figures for RTE's top 10 presenters reveal.

Prior to leaving 'The Late Late Show' in the summer of 2009, Mr Kenny earned €950,976 in 2008 -- a difference of €221,372. His reduced salary also reflected voluntary pay cuts agreed among freelance contractors of up to 12.5pc.

Pundit and broadcaster Eamon Dunphy also suffered a massive drop in his salary that year when he left RTE Radio One's 'Conversations With Eamon Dunphy.'

He went from the number six spot in 2008, earning €328,051, to number eight a year later, earning €225,485 -- a difference of €102,566.

But the late Gerry Ryan, who died in April 2010, retained his position as the second most highly paid broadcaster in Ireland despite seeing his salary cut by €43,921 from €629,865 in 2008 to €585,944 in 2009.

Ryan Tubridy unseated Marian Finucane at number three, earning €519,667 in 2009 when he took over 'The Late Late Show' in September 2009.

His fee compared with Ms Finucane's €513,270 salary in 2009 as the fourth-highest-paid broadcaster that year.

'Liveline' presenter Joe Duffy retained his position as the fifth highest paid on €389,314 -- a drop of €19,575 over 2008.

Pensions

Miriam O'Callaghan moved into sixth spot from seventh the previous year, earning €290,625 in 2009 as the presenter of 'Prime Time' and 'Miriam Meets'. This compares with €301,667 in 2008.

Derek Mooney moved up to seventh spot from eighth, despite suffering a 10pc staff pay cut. He took in €268,985 in 2009, compared with €286,809 the previous year.

News and current affairs presenter Sean O'Rourke came in at ninth with €214,084. His pay was also subject to a 10pc pay cut as a staff employee.

Meanwhile, radio host Colm Hayes was in 10th spot on an salary of €213,954.

The salaries, which were released two years in arrears each year for contractual reasons, reflect an overall reduction in salaries of 11.2pc, from €4.45m in 2008 to €3.95m in 2009.

Pension provisions are included in the pay packet for the two staff presenters. The eight others, who are contractors are not entitled to employer pension benefits, according to RTE.

Despite the six-figure salaries, RTE last night insisted that the salaries represented just a fraction -- slightly more than 1pc -- of the broadcaster's overall operating costs.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/pat-kenny-is-still-top-of-rte-pay-league-despite-loss-of-euro250000-2932958.html

RTE salaries/payments seem ridiculously over the top, it is mad that the Taoiseach of the country earns less than Joe Duffy and Marian Finucane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Surprise, surprise? I think not.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Next time they are negotiating wages, just say to these overpaid folk, "Listen the most we can offer you is €150k max. Take it or leave it".

If they want to try their luck elsewhere, let them. Its not as if any of them are indespensible.

The way the negotiation of saleries works, is supposedly based on a presenters "pulling power" in terms of viewership.
    For example, Pat Kenny's shows pull in a big audience and RTE generate more revenue from advertisers. Pat Kenny could be paid millions so long as it was justified by the revenue he adds to RTE. They would also take onto account the loss of revenue from advertising should he decide to move to a different broadcaster, which could be very dramatic.

On that basis, I don't care what any of the big stars are earning at RTE as long as they are generating more cash than they would without them. People should atop whingeing about what they are being paid, without advertising thw TV licence would be higher and it's PK and Co's job to keep the viewship numbers high, to keep the advertisers paying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

If the presenters can justify these salaries with comparable advertising revenue from their time slots, it's ok, but otherwise they are no different from Frank Daily and other overpaid civil servants.

Sure cut them loose and let some young faces develop their presenting talents,
    you could replace Joe Duffy with a senile auldone attending mass at knock.
    replace Pat Kenny with a canvas shoe snob attending a dunlaoghire organic market.
    replace Derek Mooney with a shell script (a short one)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭eco2live

Its no different then FAS, HSE, ESB, DAA, Banks, senior Civil service, unions, consultants and judges and every other state institution in Ireland. When are people going to realize that Ireland IS a bigger version of FAS. Incompetent and overpaid and bleeding us dry. The very institutions and regulators that failed us are the ones retiring on fat pensions while the private sector loses theirs.

I am not talking about the guards, nurses and public sector workers. I am talking about the institutions themselves. Tired, incompetent and bureaucratic. A job for life is crazy and sets no incentive for performance.

Austerity should not the issue. Croke park agreement my arse.

We could balance the books overnight if somebody would just take on the vested interests. Our media and political system will never allow that to happen. Maybe we might have an internet revolution when things get really bad in Ireland.

I have met people in working in the local shop with more charisma then these overpaid snobby muppets in RTE. Pat Kenny is the embodiment of what I am walking about. You could not meet a ruder can of piss. Look at George Lee and the lazy self entitled way he squandered his opportunity to make a change and now its back to work in cushy RTE.

Private and public should pay into the same pensions and health service and everyone should demand service and performance. Its by splitting the people that we are weakened.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,010 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

On that basis, I don't care what any of the big stars are earning at RTE as long as they are generating more cash than they would without them. People should atop whingeing about what they are being paid, without advertising thw TV licence would be higher and it's PK and Co's job to keep the viewship numbers high, to keep the advertisers paying.
    But they could still pull in those figures on a lower salary perhaps. Or maybe somebody else, on a far lower salary, would see viewer figures just as high. It's arrogant for them to assume that the only reason people watch the Late Late is to see Pat Kenny or Ryan Tubridy and I'd love to see that put to the test and bring in a fresh new talent at a much lower cost.

ixoy wrote: »
    But they could still pull in those figures on a lower salary perhaps. Or maybe somebody else, on a far lower salary, would see viewer figures just as high. It's arrogant for them to assume that the only reason people watch the Late Late is to see Pat Kenny or Ryan Tubridy and I'd love to see that put to the test and bring in a fresh new talent at a much lower cost.
    Aye, that would be the dream. If we knew the figure for advertising revenue for presenters' time slots it would be more clear. For all we know, PK's salery is a small fraction of the advertising he pulls in.
    There is nothing to stop a new guy demanding a high pay check in order to keep them at the station if they did replace the big stars and they were just as successful. Then there is the risk of RTE losing viewership to another station should one of their presenters take on a similar show with the same time slot. It's not so black and white.

scaled.php?tn=0&server=620&filename=gwjyju.jpg&xsize=640&ysize=640

And from this image he is laughing all the way to the bank.
    He also uses a company name tuttle productions.

How can rte justify this its simply outrageous for a man with no talent

This is the current figure available but im sure its not much different to todays wage he commands which is simple silly.
    i would do his job ten times better for half that,even less.
    Look at the radio show its shedding listeners same goes for the late late

Do you think he deserves this kind of money? Share your thoughts please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That was two years ago in fairness, I doubt he's on that now.

Not worth half it mind you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Get over it. You seem to have an obsession with the man.

You think its right for licence payers to fund this man??

fyp:mad:

That was two years ago in fairness, I doubt he's on that now.

Not worth half it mind you.

there would be a minuscule in the difference regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

jimmynokia wrote: »
    there would be a minuscule in the difference regardless.

Actually he's on 30% less

Tubs is no Paxman but he does some of the lighter stuff well but I think he's mainly hindered by the poor quality guests on the Late Late

To suggest he's got no talent is laughable, it takes a lot of composure to broadcast to a whole country

He's not great but get over it, tv personalities always get big salaries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I don't like him at all but fair play to him. If he's offered it he's obviously going to take it, you'd be batshít crazy not to.

What annoys me about it is that he's not particularly special. I mean he's not particularly funny nor is he so intelligent that he justifies such a wage (he is intelligent don't get me wrong, but he's an interviewer not a Stephen Fry type presenter and even if he were that I don't think he is that intelligent). There are people who could do just as well as him, and some probably better, for a fraction of the cost. It just doesn't make sense to me to pay someone who isn't anything out of the ordinary such an extraordinary wage. I am of the opinion that he is replaceable and someone else would do just as well for a 10th of what is quoted above (don't know what he is on atm).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I don't think anyone's wage should be at this level, especially someone who has to empathise with the common folk,

A business man can accumulate wealth and pay taxes but the thing that bothers me is that I'm paying €160 which is impacting my quality of life as its such a large chunk of my finances but I pay it as I have no friends and family here, but ah Tubs he could live on 90k a year or less and others could employed with the savings, if he wanted to leave then fine I don't see the irreplaceable qualities of any of these RTE "stars"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Yet another thread on RTE salaries

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Yet another thread on RTE salaries

ten out of ten for observation:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Colmo52

ten out of ten for observation:)

Ten out of ten for obsession :)

Colmo52 wrote: »
    Ten out of ten for obsession :)

ten out of ten for been a t@t

conversation is about tubridys wages

Which you seem to be obsessed with.

What's a tatt by the way?

ten out of ten for been a t@t

conversation is about tubridys wages

I'll take that as a compliment.

Which you seem to be obsessed with.

What's a tatt by the way?

its not tat its a nice way of saying something else figure it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

You think its right for licence payers to fund this man??

fyp:mad:

fyp :confused:

What have you fixed here Jimmy?

amdublin wrote: »
    fyp :confused:

What have you fixed here Jimmy?

Somebody that thinks somebody deserves the incredulous wage they are on.

Hold on....

You started a thread on this yesterday

http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056448544

Yeah but have you changed anything in their original post?

Like why did you say "fyp" :confused:
    Unless I'm blind and have missed something....going back to check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭checkcheek

it would be so nice to be getting that sum of money

Hold on....

You started a thread on this yesterday

http://m.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056448544

you hold on whats the thread title yesterday?
    whats todays story about?

now unless your blind they are two different people...

Yeah but have you changed anything in their original post?

Like why did you say "fyp" :confused:
    Unless I'm blind and have missed something....going back to check.

eeehhhh yeah yesterday pat kenny
    today ryan tubridy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,083 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Anybody that is a TV license payer has every right to comment on RTE presenters salaries. Where do people think the money comes from to fund RTE?

today ryan tubridy

Noooooo!

I'm talking about where you quoted someone and said "fyp". But you hadn't "fixed" their post at all as far as I could see.

I'm wondering what you meant :confused:

today ryan tubridy

Tomorrow.....the world!

By the way, I think the thinly veiled insult you're rather foolishly throwing about should be 'tw@'. T@t just makes you look silly and you don't need anymore of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Read my post again jimmy. Where does it say I think he deserves it?

you hold on whats the thread title yesterday?
    whats todays story about?

now unless your blind they are two different people...

Same story though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭eco2live

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

pat kenny earned more:confused::confused:,

so why did you put tubridy on the thread :confused::confused:

there all overpaid and underworked, and if RTE got rid of them theyd starve, nobody wants these people, so how exactly did they manage to negotiate these idiotic wages,

all presenters should wages should be capped at E200,000 max, which still seems like a lot but i think its fair, and if someone else wants them then there more than welcome to leave, and then just get another person in,

don ramo wrote: »
    there all overpaid and underworked, and if RTE got rid of them theyd starve, nobody wants these people
    Actually, the fact of the matter is that they host the most watched TV programmes in the country. I've made an attempt to argue that getting rid of them could/would see RTÉ lose money. You're all just a bunch of whingers. Pointless thread is pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Where would they go though? Newstalk? Local radio?

Chris Moyles has a daily listenership of 9 million people on bbc radio 1. What does he earn? £250,000 a year.

There is no justification for these massive wages. None whatsoever. Its a joke. A really expensive joke. :mad:

Same story though.

FAIL

Noooooo!

I'm talking about where you quoted someone and said "fyp". But you hadn't "fixed" their post at all as far as I could see.

I'm wondering what you meant :confused:

FIXED WHAT will you read the post again please from my view and the people that thanked the post the poster thinks its ok to have tubridy on this massive wage funded by the licence payer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Duke Fame

Im with telekon

Offer them half of what they are on now. If they dont
    like the offer they can move on. No other station in
    this country would pay them that money. Can you see
    Pat Kenny on the BBC, ITV or even Sky. Not a chance.
    Hes a bad Alan Partridge

telekon wrote: »
    There is no justification for these massive wages. None whatsoever. Its a joke. A really expensive joke. :mad:

Well to be fair, the TV licence in the UK is enough to cover their broadcasting without advertising. All I'm saying is that if revenue from advertising is proportional to the audience (which it is), then RTÉ probably can't afford to cut their wages for fear that they'll move to, say, TV3 and as a result suffer a loss in viewers.

FIXED WHAT will you read the post again please from my view and the people that thanked the post the poster thinks its ok to have tubridy on this massive wage funded by the licence payer.

Why did YOU say "fyp"?

You know what that means right :confused: