Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Close, I once built a computer without connecting the motherboard to the PSU...

Or you forget to connect the 6 pin thats always located at the very top of the motherboard, and have some giant cooler.god damn nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

My personal worst and most hated: front panel connection!!!

omfg, i just had a nerdrage! :mad:

just got an email from scan.co.uk, that there was a **** up and they dont have in stock gtx 680 anymore! it was marked as in stock ffs. i already got a buyer for my current gpu, who is coming on friday to pick it up! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭deejer

omfg, i just had a nerdrage! :mad:

just got an email from scan.co.uk, that there was a **** up and they dont have in stock gtx 680 anymore! it was marked as in stock ffs. i already got a buyer for my current gpu, who is coming on friday to pick it up! :mad:

I actually doubted you could get Eur200 for that card but fair play, sold in a few hours. :)

Is it maybe the universes way of telling you that you shouldn't be changing your card. Same thing happened to me last year when I bought a 6970 and I never bought it in the end!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

I'm trying very hard not to want a 680, but damn...

Only thing that's holding me back from one is rumours of the 780. NVIDIA of course claims there's nothing but also "does not comment on unreleased products" so that means nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Well, just took the new rig for a test drive.
    It puts out half the noise of the last case.
    And, get this. It runs BF3 at the temperature it used to idle!
    50°C!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

And, get this. It runs BF3 at the temperature it used to idle!
    50°C!

wat

I can't run BF3 without it pushing 70C and sounding like an airplane hangar.

Well. It's not on ultra or anything, I'm still bottlenecked by a HD4870.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

I don't know how I do it, but I barely push 50 whilst playing BF3 and I have a Bitfenix Marc case and no fans other than the ones that came in the case and the three on the Gigabyte graphics card.

Gonna throw this out there again, but anyone else with a 6950 having problems after the latest driver?
    Downloaded it two nights ago, and after about two BF3 games my fps drops to about 10. Happens in all games though, after about 20mins of playing fps just drops and I have to restart the game to get them back up to the usual levels.

deejer wrote: »
    I actually doubted you could get Eur200 for that card but fair play, sold in a few hours. :)

Is it maybe the universes way of telling you that you shouldn't be changing your card. Same thing happened to me last year when I bought a 6970 and I never bought it in the end!

Why? 200eu is very fair price for that model. You can get gtx 570 for 250eu, but not this version. In fact there are 2 more people waiting on it, if the first buyer fails, which I doubt as fella sounds very nice and has good history.
    Problem is scan.co.uk ****ed me, I might get stuck with no gpu on long weekend. They did not even specified when it's going to be in stock and even to be more dickish about it, they offered me to take other 680, which was 30pounds extra. Cheeky feckers. I will have to butcher my dell so and stick my 6870 in to my 2500k rig untill I get my 680 delivered. :(

Well I suggested yesterday to swap PNY card to palit, because it showed it was in stock. Got email today that they did that now so I should expect an update and shoping today. Looks like if no more feck ups I should get it here by Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭..Brian..

..Brian.. wrote: »
    Does this MOBO have USB3.0 headers? I don't think so but would like to verify.

Alas the mobo I'm getting seems to NOT have USB3 headers and I can't justify another €60 just for that!

See the way this case connects the front USB3.0 ports to the USB3 on the mobo I/O panel? What's that cable called?

600045650-5_gr.jpg

Can these be used on any case with USB3? What if USB3 comes with USB 3 mobo headers? Is there an adapter the mobo header back into a USB type A connection to plug it into the mobo I/O panel?

Do you reckon this is just the wrong picture for this case as it specifies USB3 but has 4 USB 2 ports on the front? Can't find anything on the BitFenix website about it. And if it does come with USB3 ports on the front are they connected with mobo headers or like the above Cooltek case above?

Sorry to be bombarding the off topic thread with such on topic material!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭deejer

Why? 200eu is very fair price for that model. You can get gtx 570 for 250eu, but not this version. In fact there are 2 more people waiting on it, if the first buyer fails, which I doubt as fella sounds very nice and has good history.

Ya I have dealt with him before i think. Decent bloke. Im just wondering what my GTX 480 is worth then.

Edit: i guess it should be worth about the same
    Well I suggested yesterday to swap PNY card to palit, because it showed it was in stock. Got email today that they did that now so I should expect an update and shoping today. Looks like if no more feck ups I should get it here by Friday.

Good to see you got it nearly sorted

deejer wrote: »
    Ya I have dealt with him before i think. Decent bloke. Im just wondering what my GTX 480 is worth then.

Edit: i guess it should be worth about the same

Good to see you got it nearly sorted

Gtx 480 is prety much 570, but needs more power, so I think it should be prety much same then, if it's non reference design.

Just got email: it was dispatched 12:50! If anything to go by with my last order, then 99% it will be here on Friday. It will be a long Friday as I promised to keep my old gpu inside, so fella can see it working :) .

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

..Brian.. wrote: »
    Alas the mobo I'm getting seems to NOT have USB3 headers and I can't justify another €60 just for that!

See the way this case connects the front USB3.0 ports to the USB3 on the mobo I/O panel? What's that cable called?

600045650-5_gr.jpg

Can these be used on any case with USB3? What if USB3 comes with USB 3 mobo headers? Is there an adapter the mobo header back into a USB type A connection to plug it into the mobo I/O panel?

Do you reckon this is just the wrong picture for this case as it specifies USB3 but has 4 USB 2 ports on the front? Can't find anything on the BitFenix website about it. And if it does come with USB3 ports on the front are they connected with mobo headers or like the above Cooltek case above?

Sorry to be bombarding the off topic thread with such on topic material!

The first motherboard you linked DOES have USB3 headers by the way. Unless you plan to crossfire/SLI, that's probably the best choice.

Yes, HWVS just put up and old picture and didn't update the specs. It has 2xUSB2 and 2xUSB3 on the front panel. The USB3 is via mobo headers, not through the back panel like in the picture above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

What should my next GPU upgrade be?

thing is, I'm going to buy the PCB that allows me to OC my monitor to 100Hz, but I want the horsepower to get me there too. currently I get between 60 and 85fps in BF3.

should I get a 6970 to trifire with my 6990, or pick up another 6990 (second hand around €450) or should I sell and go 7000 series or Kepler? does 6990CF pose lots of problems?

6990 CF would be nice and powerful, but you've also got quadfire scaling to take into account (which probably isn't any better than NVIDIA's not-so-good quad-SLI scaling). It would also be pretty damn hot and power-hungry. If you're thinking of water as well, I'd say you'd be better with two 680s/7970s. The blocks are cheaper for both of these too, which would save you about €100 alone.

Serephucus wrote: »
    6990 CF would be nice and powerful, but you've also got quadfire scaling to take into account (which probably isn't any better than NVIDIA's not-so-good quad-SLI scaling). It would also be pretty damn hot and power-hungry. If you're thinking of water as well, I'd say you'd be better with two 680s/7970s. The blocks are cheaper for both of these too, which would save you about €100 alone.

+1 on that 7970x2 or 680x2 would look like better deal. 2 gpu is one thing, but when you get all 4, then it gets all over the place.

any of those 2 setups should be more then enough. there is a fella on youtube who showed his 3 monitor setup withh 120hz monitors ( 2x7970 ). it was 100fps++ all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

I just built a rig with 7970CF and I was pretty underwhelmed to be honest. it was 'only' 1080p that I tested it on, but it hovered around 110fps, which isn't much better than my 6990 cranks out at the same res. its also bloody expensive (to me :P)

how long before nvidia gives us this lucrative 780?

Nothing really around as of yet. I'd say you're looking at July/August at least.

Serephucus wrote: »
    Nothing really around as of yet. I'd say you're looking at July/August at least.

i would think even longer. ATI managed to pull out 7970 and nvidia droped 680 on its balls. Nvidia does not need anything new, they already making enough money on these suckers!!!!! ( :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Good ol' Quake, never fails to impress.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxNHxlX8cCw&hd=1

Have a HD4870 and she has served me well these last like... 4 years.
    Waiting for a card to appear for around the €200 mark. How long until nVidia start shipping their lower budget cards? Are all the HD7XXX cards out yet?

Have a HD4870 and she has served me well these last like... 4 years.
    Waiting for a card to appear for around the €200 mark. How long until nVidia start shipping their lower budget cards? Are all the HD7XXX cards out yet?

not much difference will be between cards, unless you want fresher numbers on card.

even now a lot of mid range stuff is a "rebrand" ( performance wise, not hardware wise ). If you need gpu now, buy now i say.

Thinking of holding on for nVidia to get the integrated PhysX.
    Then I'll have a nice flip-flop of card manufacturers going on.
    nV - AMD - nV

deconduo wrote: »
    The first motherboard you linked DOES have USB3 headers by the way. Unless you plan to crossfire/SLI, that's probably the best choice.

Hate to sound like a broken record but are you sure?

I can't see them anywhere and this newegg reviewer (second last review by Big Wes) says there isn't one.
    Pros: PCIe 3.0 support, will support ivy bridge and not be dumbed down, good layout, manual was more useful than some components, BIOS was easy to flash and to navigate, it is black! Fairly sturdy board. Future proof. Good for single GPU setup. The pcie 3.0 next gen nvidia cards will smoke SLI anyways.
    Cons: As stated SATA connectors suck and seem flimsy. After marked SATA chords dont snap in place well. I guess the one pcie slot would be a con if you wanted to SLI but I dont, No usb 3.0 header on board is my biggest complaint. I knew that though when i bought it so no eggs docked. Could have come with a few more SATA cables. It only has 2 so be prepared if you are connecting a lot of media. Also the sata cables have one end that is L shaped which is good sometimes but a PITA other times (like hooking into my ssd which is low in the case. Lots of junk if you install ASRock applications. I just installed drivers and it is great. Iphone phone charger super charge??? really? F-IOS anyways Andorid baby!
    Other Thoughts: Very good budged future proof board. This will probably last me 2-3 years. Visit EVGA's site and D/L the newest BIOS revision. Put on a flash disk and remember to unzip. Very simple and it may save you some time later. I just updated it first thing. Also remeber to set hard drives to AHCI if using SSD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

No USB3 header listed in the manual, unless I'm missing something.
    http://europe.asrock.com/downloadsite/manual/Z68%20Pro3%20Gen3.pdf

199054.PNG

Well I guess that answers that so!

Any ideas about the cables used in the Cooltek case above?

I really want USB3 but can't afford a mobo with the headers so need those cables with the USB type A connection to feed them around to the mobo I/O but I've only seen then on the Cooltek cases which, let's be honest, are plain ugly!

I'd love a Bitfenix Raider or Shinobi but don't know if I could use USB3 with them.

****ing awesome...

got confirmation that my order was dispatch, so i was happy and expecting it on friday, because it took less then 2 days for them to deliver my whole system! guess what! delivery time 10/4/12!!! FU! is it coming from fecking kazachstan?! last time i use scan.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Osmosae

Any of ye use f.lux on ye're computers for eye strain at night ? Link

Literally just after starting using it so dunno if i'll stick to it or not, definitely notice its easier on the eye .... but dunno do i want this orange hue :P ... i'll leave it a few days and see what its like