How much do you drink before you go out?

• 17-02-2003 01:25PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭

Prompted form someone else who said they drink a shoulder of vodka before they go out, I'm curious.

With today's ridiculous dirnk prices, how much do you drink before a night on the town?

I personally do the shoulder of vodka thing. Gets you nicely toasted, to the point where you only need 4 more drinks. :)

How much do you have in de gaf 168 votes

2/3 Cans
    0% 0 votes
    6 Cans
    17% 29 votes
    > 6 Cans
    14% 25 votes
    Naggin of spirits
    4% 8 votes
    Shoulder (half bottle) of spirits
    5% 10 votes
    Bottle or more of spirits
    4% 7 votes
    Just enough to get me nicely locked
    1% 2 votes
    I don't drink before I go out. I'm loaded
    7% 13 votes
    I don't drink/I don't go out/Atari Jaguar
    44% 74 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

Usually about 4 of the finest dutch that is gold. not that much tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭parasite

dutch mould (and so forth)
    yeah i never really drink beforehand, must start, drink is way too expensive, hrmmmm
    it would be vodka
    or bailey's
    mmmm bailey's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

What's a shoulder of Vodka?

I don't usually drink before I go out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Typedef

Neither do I.

Somehow I find the idea of getting obfusticated 'in my house' before going out, akin to having an 'adult' go to the off licence for me, and then drinking Bulmers in some random field to avoid the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,775 ✭✭✭JohnK

I don't drink before going out. Just start and finish in the pub :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

to expensive doing it that way ive found johnk.

Usually i have a bit thats good enough to get me tipsy/chatty but going over and above often means you dont get into a lot of places.

So yeh, nicely locked :)

(8 tinnies = €20 )

(round of beer for 4 ppl = €16-€18)

i like going out so if i did it your way johnk i would only go out like twice/three in a month so think ill stick to my way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭Gerry

Originally posted by Typedef
    Neither do I.

Somehow I find the idea of getting obfusticated 'in my house' before going out, akin to having an 'adult' go to the off licence for me, and then drinking Bulmers in some random field to avoid the Gardaí.

Strange really, that you think drinking legally in the comfort of your own home is akin to drinking illegally in a cold, wet field. I'm sure you love handing over a fiver for a pint in the pub then yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,775 ✭✭✭JohnK

Originally posted by Big Chief
    to expensive doing it that way ive found johnk.

i like going out so if i did it your way johnk i would only go out like twice/three in a month so think ill stick to my way :)

Actually it's ment that I havent been out drinking since Christmas... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭Panda

normally have about 6 cans before i go out on a thursday night, sometimes 8....

get a crowd in the sitting room and play some ISS on the PS2 or darts or some sort of drinking games and your're sorted, sometimes better than the pub, but then you cant beat the pub atmosphere. :)

Originally posted by JohnK
    Actually it's ment that I havent been out drinking since Christmas... :(

its no wonder if you start and finish in the pub with those prices :p

Originally posted by Gerry
    Strange really, that you think drinking legally in the comfort of your own home is akin to drinking illegally in a cold, wet field. I'm sure you love handing over a fiver for a pint in the pub then yeah?

Was thinking the exact same thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Gerry

I know I don't...

which is why I go to my local and hand over €3 for a pint.

- oh and I don't drink -before- I go out either. Sometimes I don't even drink -when- I go out (depends on whether I have to drive or not).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

i just drink enough to get me merry b4 i go out!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

I don't get very drunk on a night out (including club ticket) for less than 40 euro. Most of the time I don't care but the odd time when I'm stressed out cans of linden village in the house are essential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭MiCr0

it seems to depend on why you drink

do the ppl who drink before they go out, go out to get locked???

i never drink before i go out and i'm happy not to get wasted when i'm out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

do the ppl who drink before they go out, go out to get locked???

i drink before i go out because i cant really afford to drink when im out. simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

As previously asked how much is a shoulder of vodka?
    As for if I drink before I go out yes.Would often drink about a quarter litre of raw vodka(I`m not a massive fan of drinking till I collapse and get sick the next morning-I just drink so I can talk a bit of sh1te and get off effortlessly with a girl :) )
    I dont drink beer often.Just dont particularly like it.

But I seldom drink so much that I am puking all next day and feeling like sh1t.The buzz the night before isnt worth paying for the next day.

So anyway how much is a shoulder?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

whats this malarchy about going out and drinking??

dont drink before I go out.

shoulder of vodka a naggin?

E8.50 if so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I have a silver flash which is filled with vodka, and I just buy a glass of 7-up in the pub.

It all happened after I paid 15 euro for a double vodka and coke, and I got slightly pissed off about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Shoulder is 350mls, half a bottle. Don't really drink before I go out but on did on holiday mmmm bottle of french wine only €4....

Probably start pre-drinking next year when I don't have leaving cert looming over me, actually you're right I should be studying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

not enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

enough before i go out. maybe 6 cans or so. the pub is going further out of my price range every month :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭strat

Originally posted by Gordon
    What's a shoulder of Vodka?

rofl

i remember asking for a shoulder of vodka in some dodgy off licence in limerick once, yer man looked at me like i had two heads and wanted to know if i wanted some bacon or half a pig etc

eventually i pointed to the 'big naggin' as he put it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭davelerave

speaking from experience drtinking before you go out may indicate a problem

It's likely to cause you problems as well as you're less likely to get into most places if you're already skuttered drunk.

Originally posted by Bard
    It's likely to cause you problems as well as you're less likely to get into most places if you're already skuttered drunk.

thats why you dont get completely legless before you go out.. Its good just to have a few beers in you imo, and if you add the prices up it saves you alot of money to do it this way. Maybe if i was on like €30k a year i would be more reluctant to do this but im not and so i'll continue to have a few beers before i head out for the evening.

Besides it depends aswell, if im going out for a few beers after work then yes i will just head straight to the pub, but im more basing this on friday/saturday nights etc

Well in work, we used to have a few cans on a Friday evening in the office (if we'd had an especially good week) - in the web dev company I worked in, and then we'd all wander to a pub together (usually was Cusacks of North Strand Road, the Life bar or the White Horse).

It's disappointing that drink - and more so - GETTING DRUNK - is such an integral part of so many people's nights out. Not everyone needs drink to have fun, you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Thats very true bard.
    But perhaps you could consider that some people have an awful lot of pressure that they can't take and sometimes people resort to alcohol to lossen up everyonce in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,468 ✭✭✭Tazz T

I'd usually have a bottle of wine with dinner before I go out on a Saturday night. But then I have a half bottle of wine with my dinner most nights.

BTW, who on earth polled 'a bottle of spirits or more'.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I tend to go the the pub (when I do) to socialise more than anything else. If I went out deliberately to get legless I'd get a bit concerned about myself. I think I had a bottle of beer before going to the pub some night before Christmas.

Few drinks @ home = grand, few drinks to get tanked up faster when going to the pub later != good, imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Typedef

Originally posted by Bard
    I know I don't...

which is why I go to my local and hand over €3 for a pint.

- oh and I don't drink -before- I go out either. Sometimes I don't even drink -when- I go out (depends on whether I have to drive or not).

Yeah, I pretty much agree with Bard.

When I go out, I go out, to socalise, the drink is an ammendum, which is why I wouldn't contemplate getting pissed before going out.

Basically I don't go out to get pissed, but to have a good time, mostly I have a few beers, sometimes I don't.

Never during the weekdays (unless I'm meeting a girl), which means no beers with the lads, unless it's a Friday or a Saturday night.

The girlfriend, well that's a totally different story.
    she has root*.

*nerd reference alert!