Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What made you smile/frown/mad/sad/cry today-thread for all your emotional needs! V4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Acoshla wrote: »
    Why oh why can't I ever stop eating chocolate. I have problem.

Because its awesome?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Just watched the Digital Rights Forum discussion on the copyright issue.

I have an intense desire to punch someone in the face :mad: Must be because I'm an angry keyboard warrior.

DeVore was brilliant though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ilyana

Acoshla wrote: »
    Why oh why can't I ever stop eating chocolate. I have problem.

Probably shouldn't remind you what next weekend is...

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

krudler wrote: »
    Because its awesome?

My insides won't agree when I die of diabetes.
    EmilyO wrote: »
    Probably shouldn't remind you what next weekend is...

:P

Pretty sure egg won't last til then, and I'll be working with sweet foods all weekend so will be craving savoury things :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

Jane_LS_88 wrote: »
    Nutella on toast is amazing. Oh yes. :D

for mothers day my daughter made me french toast with nutella for breakfast. Egg with a dash of cinnamon and icing sugar beaten, dip nutella toasted sandwich in and fry. dust with icing sugar. ridiculously sickeningly sweet but tasty. (and everyone can have a bite, that way you don't have to eat it all :))

into 48 hours of fast and it's not right to be even talking about that kind of thing.
    *slurps tea.

edit:ooh and bananas, don't forget the bananas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

This is just amazing. I cried watching this! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

Finally got a working tracking number for my dress! It was shipped from Shanghai on Sunday so should have it sometime next week :D

In other news I think I'll be asleep by 10 tonight, bloody knackered I am!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    Omg...theres romanians on my bus and theyre staring and laughing at a girl in a wheelchair...

Something similar happened on a bus a few weeks ago I was on.

A young teenage Chinese lad got on and the group of teenagers down the back started to shout up "Hello, Can I have a fried rice with that" in Chinese accents.

Many people turned around and looked at them but they carried on. I had enough and stood up and roared at them all to STFU and cop themselves on. Told them they were clueless and big lads in a group but ultimately they were a**holes. The whole bus was staring at me but I was so annoyed and far gone in my rant that I didn't care:eek:

Feck it, that's the problem with society today and these types of teenagers, people are afraid to stand up and tell them to cop on.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,247 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Ah lads...I just bought a PS3 out of boredom.

I should not be allowed to be bored or allowed near the money I have earned.

Applied for a job at Twitter. Sure, why not?

Mars Bar wrote: »

I wish I could do that! As of today I have €43 in my purse and it's to do until this day next week. Boo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

didnt realise they had offices here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

Just watched the Digital Rights Forum discussion on the copyright issue.

I have an intense desire to punch someone in the face :mad: Must be because I'm an angry keyboard warrior.

DeVore was brilliant though.

It was class, DeVore completely outclassed Sherlock! My god he's a spanner. Finally feel like he's being exposed for how clueless he is.

Anyone interested in watching you can see it here:
    http://www.thejournal.ie/live-sean-sherlock-participates-in-debate-on-digital-rights-405553-Apr2012/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,595 ✭✭✭The Lovely Muffin

Feeling really down the past few days so decided to ring a local hospital that has a Psychology section to find out about prices, €180 for 'around an hour'. :(

Had a dream last night that I won money in the lotto, but I had to carry it home in a shopping bag so got a taxi to bring me from the local shop to my house (two minutes walk) and when the taxi was driving up my road the driver didn't stop at me house, he kept going and crashed into my neighbours car and then started shouting "everyone get out in case it explodes", but there was only myself and driver in the car, no one else. :confused: Very, very weird dream to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,247 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I wish I could do that! As of today I have €43 in my purse and it's to do until this day next week. Boo.

Aw that is really crap. I haven't had time to spend the money I have been earning and I've been better off like that!

People cancelling on me with no consideration for my time or work REALLY p*ss me off :mad::mad::mad:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Don't get excited. I applied for one on Jan 1st. Job is still being advertised. I'm sure half the country has applied for that one by now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

10,000 words down and my work experience diary is submitted and no more. :)

I feel happy and also very, very tired. Stayed up 'til 2am doing it and then friend snored all night long. Well, 'til 7am that is, when we got up and continued working. I actually feel like I wasn't asleep, 'cause I kept dreaming about doing the diary!

On the upside, my course coordinator gave me such a nice reference today. I probably wasn't supposed to read it but it was oh so lovely. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Mars Bar wrote: »

Swish swhoo........rich kid:D

Only joking......Enjoy:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

Feeling really down the past few days so decided to ring a local hospital that has a Psychology section to find out about prices, €180 for 'around an hour'. :(

Muffin, there are counsellors and psychologists who work on a 'what the client can afford' basis or at least for far less than €180 an hour. I know because one of my relations is a counsellor and operates in this manner.

I can't remember the exact term for them but it's worth checking if there are any in your area.

Muffin, there are counsellors and psychologists who work on a 'what the client can afford' basis or at least for far less than €180 an hour. I know because one of my relations is a counsellor and operates in this manner.

I can't remember the exact term for them but it's worth checking if there are any in your area.
    I have looked and looked and asked my doctor and the only other therapists I can find are right beside my doctor's surgery and I've been in to see them and to be honest, I wasn't impressed by the lady I spoke to, they use holistic therapies, I don't know if they are medically qualified or not.

They charge between €20 and €50, which to me seems very low for medically qualified therapists. I would have thought around €100 would be the norm, but maybe I am wrong.

In my opinion €180 is hugely expensive. I don't know how anyone could afford that.

I have looked and looked and asked my doctor and the only other therapists I can find are right beside my doctor's surgery and I've been in to see them and to be honest, I wasn't impressed by the lady I spoke to, they use holistic therapies, I don't know if they are medically qualified or not.

They charge between €20 and €50, which to me seems very low for medically qualified therapists. I would have thought around €100 would be the norm, but maybe I am wrong.

In my opinion €180 is hugely expensive. I don't know how anyone could afford that.

A quick Google there just threw up Accord Couselling Service, of which there is a branch in Mullingar. (I think that's where you're from?) Is that the one you spoke to? 'Cause it says all of their counsellors are trained to the highest professional standard. And they work on a sliding scale basis so you only pay what you can afford. I'd give them a go, personally, even just for one session to see what I thought.

Hope you're not feeling too terrible x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Cherry Blossom Girl

Fair enough, just trying to help. Like I said though there are some genuine, trained professionals (not holistic) out there who are willing to work out payment options with you. Maybe there's none near you. I don't think they're very common.

Novella wrote: »
    A quick Google there just threw up Accord Couselling Service, of which there is a branch in Mullingar. (I think that's where you're from?) Is that the one you spoke to? 'Cause it says all of their counsellors are trained to the highest professional standard. And they work on a sliding scale basis so you only pay what you can afford. I'd give them a go, personally, even just for one session to see what I thought.

Hope you're not feeling too terrible x
    Thank you, I didn't know about Accord in Mullingar, I'll look them up and ring them.

It wasn't accord I went to before, it was a different place. I will PM you the name of the place I went to.
    Fair enough, just trying to help. Like I said though there are some genuine, trained professionals (not holistic) out there who are willing to work out payment options with you. Maybe there's none near you. I don't think they're very common.
    I apologise if I came across as snappy or ungrateful, I genuinely didn't meant to.

EDIT: I looked up Accord and they don't do therapy/counselling for depression, they help with marriages. http://www.accord.ie/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,772 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I love the way so much is coming out this year on Titanic. I'm stocking up on every book I can find ATM!

Indeed, I do believe I'll be tuned into the History Channel at some point next weekend:cool:
    awec wrote: »
    Why tone it down? Nothing nerdy about it, it's a fascinating subject!

Because I've had more conversations about overhead bulkhead compartments and colour schemes than I think is healthy :D

Thank you, I didn't know about Accord in Mullingar, I'll look them up and ring them.

It wasn't accord I went to before, it was a different place. I will PM you the name of the place I went to.

I apologise if I came across as snappy or ungrateful, I genuinely didn't meant to.

EDIT: I looked up Accord and they don't do therapy/counselling for depression, they help with marriages. http://www.accord.ie/

Oh! Hmm! I found them here - http://www.counsellingdirectory.ie/cdirectory/member.php?id=143&county=0&services=&p=4 - and they had loads of things listed so I figured they'd do all kinds of therapy. Maybe worth ringing to confirm!

Touch and Unforgettable are on tonight! :D

I don't know what either of those are! :o Hairy Biker's Bakeation and Supersize vs Superskinny are on tonight \o/

Touch is about a little autistic boy and his father. The premise is hard to describe so I'm not going to try tbh.. I'll put up a link later when I'm on my laptop.

Unforgettable is about a detective that can remember everything except the day her sister was killed. It's really good. Bit like CSI/Criminal Minds type thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

I like touch, however im going kickboxing so i have it on sky + for when i get back. My 12 year old daughter is coming with me..... :eek: :o