Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yes Kenny Dalglish and Liverpool are done. MOD POST #425 *ALL READ*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,991 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

mixednuts wrote: »
    No not really .

YNWA

Look forward to seeing at the end of every post so, I'll be keeping an eye out.

Maybe it can become Kenny's slogan - You'll Never Work Again

• Subscribers Posts: 32,868 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Leftist wrote: »
    if by us you mean liverpool supporters then I am not surprised.

As Perch has twittered:
    To all Liverpool fans giving me stick, what did Carroll do at the other end #AlwaysTheVictimsItsNeverYourFault

Carroll got punished for his dive, Perch didn't, although he got booked for the kick out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Look forward to seeing at the end of every post so, I'll be keeping an eye out.

Maybe it can become Kenny's slogan - You'll Never Work Again

Oh come on, you are better than that :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

5starpool wrote: »
    Carroll got punished for his dive, Perch didn't, although he got booked for the kick out.

not defending it, but at least there was contact for the perch incident

perhaps carroll shouldve been sent off? after all, had the ref fallen for it krul wouldve gotten the line and liverpool wouldve had a peno

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Dotsey wrote: »
    Put it into context:
    Liverpool won the UEFA Cup in 2001
    European Super Cup in 2001
    Champions League in 2005
    European Super Cup in 2005
    World Club Cup Runners Up in 2005
    Champions League Runners Up in 2007
    Champions League Semi finals in 2008
    Champions League Quarter finals in 2009
    UEFA Cup semi finals in 2010

Man United apart can any other English team boast that record in Europe over the last 10/11 years? We have had 3 bad domestic seasons simple as that. What have Everton, Spurs, Arsenal, Man City done the last few years? F-all is the answer.

Liverpool are still one of the big clubs the world over with Man United, Juventus, AC Milan, Barcelona, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich etc nothing has changed because of three bad seasons

In the main that's a ridiculous post, firstly for isolating European success over domestic record and secondly meaningless Super Cups have no place on the list.

Arsenals record over a similar period:

League Titles: 2002, 2004
    FA Cup: 2002, 2003, 2005
    Champions League Finalists: 2006
    Champions League Semi-Finalists 2009
    Champions League Quarter-Finalists (multiple)

Chelsea:

League Titles: 2005, 2006, 2010
    FA Cup: 2007, 2009, 2010
    Champions League Finalists: 2008
    Champions League Quarter Finals: multiple

Liverpool since 2001 League Positions:

2001: 3rd - 11 points from top
    2002: 2nd - 7 points from top
    2003: 5th - 19 points from top
    2004: 4th - 30 points from top
    2005: 5th - 37 points from top
    2006: 3rd - 9 points from top
    2007: 3rd - 21 points from top
    2008: 4th - 11 points from top
    2009: 2nd - 4 points from top
    2010: 7th - 23 points from top
    2011: 6th - 22 points from top

Is that really good enough for a club the "stature" of Liverpool? in 8 of those 11 seasons they finished over 10 points from top and on average over 11 seasons they have finished 17 points off top spot.

You can point to the Champions League title and a few solid european campaigns, but it's been a long, long time since Liverpool have posed any realistic threat domestically.

Some people need to wake up to that fact. I want nothing more than liverpool challenging for domestic honours but it hasn't happened in such a long time and, yet, every year the same noises come out of the liverpool camp, fans and otherwise, about a title bid.

Personally speaking if we are taking the period you mention, i'd infinitely rather Arsenal, Chelsea or Man United record over the period. Spurs and Man City are recently emerging, but of the classic "big 4" it's a no-brainer who has been successful over the period and 1 champions League title will not deflect from that.

Football is very cyclical for whatever reason. The city of liverpool dominated in the 1980s - everton and liverpool swept all before them. the 1990s saw the return of Manchester with United the dominant force. The 2000s saw a re-emergence of London to compete, chelsea and arsenal with half the decades titles. As things stand the balance of power in football still remains between Manchester and London; it'll be at least another decade until the balance shifts back to Liverpool on current evidence from Liverpool and Everton.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭happyman81

Football is very cyclical for whatever reason. The city of liverpool dominated in the 1980s - everton and liverpool swept all before them. the 1990s saw the return of Manchester with United the dominant force. The 2000s saw a re-emergence of London to compete, chelsea and arsenal with half the decades titles. As things stand the balance of power in football still remains between Manchester and London; it'll be at least another decade until the balance shifts back to Liverpool on current evidence from Liverpool and Everton.

Looking at that, we haven't completed a cycle once, hence, football is not cyclical. As if Liverpool is destined to be great again. You can't be serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,864 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

Liverpool since 2001 League Positions:

2009: 2nd - 4 points from top

but it's been a long, long time since Liverpool have posed any realistic threat domestically.

orly.gif

• Subscribers Posts: 32,868 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

it's stuff like seeing people post YNWA, blathering on about league titles won 20 odd years ago as if they mean something today, slagging chelsea for having 'plastic fans' and saying things like 'Hodgson didn't ''get'' the club' is what makes people detest Liverpool football club and they wonder why they're such an easy target then things go tits up for them.

Is that why you are seemingly obsessed with Liverpool and post more about Liverpool than about Chelsea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭firemansam4

A few posters on here talking about Liverpool not being a big club... use can say we haven't been a top club for a few years fair enough, but forget about all your stats of where Liverpool have finished the last few years and what cups have been won, the plain simple fact is that what defines a club as big would be far more the size of its fan base rather than how well they have done over the last few years.

Some fans also here talk about there hate towards Liverpool and its fans yet seem to always take a keen interest in posts about liverpool, Kinda mind bogling to me :rolleyes:

happyman81 wrote: »
    Looking at that, we haven't completed a cycle once, hence, football is not cyclical. As if Liverpool is destined to be great again. You can't be serious?

Don't think you read it right.....by saying i cant see liverpool being a force as a city for a decade, its meant to be read as in "within a decade, if ever" .....i cant personally see liverpool being the force they once were in the next 20 years.

i didnt want to go back that far but London dominated 1930s, Manchester 1950s/1960s liverpool 70s/80s, manchester 90s onwards, London 2000 onwards.

It tends to be cyclical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

A few posters on here talking about Liverpool not being a big club... use can say we haven't been a top club for a few years fair enough, but forget about all your stats of where Liverpool have finished the last few years and what cups have been won, the plain simple fact is that what defines a club as big would be far more the size of its fan base rather than how well they have done over the last few years.

Some fans also here talk about there hate towards Liverpool and its fans yet seem to always take a keen interest in posts about liverpool, Kinda mind bogling to me

Well this is a discussion board, you don't have to love/not hate something to talk about it. If that was the case this place wouldn't be half as interesting.

Yes this is a discussion board and within the rules you can say what you want, but my point is if use hate Liverpool so much why do use have such interest in us?? to some of use its almost an obsession!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,801 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Don't think you read it right.....by saying i cant see liverpool being a force as a city for a decade, its meant to be read as in "within a decade, if ever" .....i cant personally see liverpool being the force they once were in the next 20 years.

i didnt want to go back that far but London dominated 1930s, Manchester 1950s/1960s liverpool 70s/80s, manchester 90s onwards, London 2000 onwards.

It tends to be cyclical.

Looking so far ahead is pretty ****ing stupid really. See Man City situation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

As Perch has twittered:
    To all Liverpool fans giving me stick, what did Carroll do at the other end #AlwaysTheVictimsItsNeverYourFault

Did Perch really tweet that? I'm surprised, there are a lot of people associated with Liverpool who take that phrase very seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Yes this is a discussion board and within the rules you can say what you want, but my point is if use hate Liverpool so much why do use have such interest in us?? to some of use its almost an obsession!

Well in this thread its cause the sacking of a manager of a top club is being discussed, it would be the same if it was Fergie, other fans would come in to say what they want. Its a interesting topic, and one which everyone will have a opinion on, if not just to get a rise out of Liverpool fans.

Other fans go into ye're superthread as well to post about the club, but in a decent manner.

Well in this thread its cause the sacking of a manager of a top club is being discussed, it would be the same if it was Fergie, other fans would come in to say what they want. Its a interesting topic, and one which everyone will have a opinion on, if not just to get a rise out of Liverpool fans.

Other fans go into ye're superthread as well to post about the club, but in a decent manner.

Strange ive never once bothered going into uniteds super thread :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Some quotes from Liverpool fans I have encountered over the years:

"Cisse is every bit as good as Henry (at his peak), only faster"

"Danny Murphy on his day is as good as Luis Figo"

"We deserved to win" (following a 3-0 loss to Chelsea)

and the classic...

"We will win the league next season"

Gotta love em.

Quotes from unknown unnamed unsubstantiated sources that you have met down the years that no one gives a bollox about, that's what we are down to at this stage?

You should be deeply embarrassed of your posts here. Even someone on the wind up should aspire to much much higher standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Did Perch really tweet that? I'm surprised, there are a lot of people associated with Liverpool who take that phrase very seriously.

It's a fake account

Some fans also here talk about there hate towards Liverpool and its fans yet seem to always take a keen interest in posts about liverpool, Kinda mind bogling to me :rolleyes:

nobody on the planet cares about whether a club is "a big club" apart from that club's supporters

it's all about being a top club, as i said a few pages back. that's all that matters in the here and now. everything else is living on past glories that are ultimately irrelevant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Morricone

As Perch has twittered:

If the always the victims quote was a subtle reference to Hillsborough then he ought to be utterly ashamed of himself and sent away for a long while.

Morricone wrote: »
    If the always the victims quote was a subtle reference to Hillsborough then he ought to be utterly ashamed of himself and sent away for a long while.

it's not a subtle reference to hillaborough, it's a blatant reference to liverpool's continual blaming of everyone else for everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Helix.

The expert on Liverpool fans.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Helix.

The expert on Liverpool fans.

^

see, now it's my fault

Do you have the ability to read tubs?

Where did I say anything was your fault?

I just pointed out you've very strong opinions on all things Liverpool, it's something of a specialist subject of yours it seems.

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Do you have the ability to read tubs?

Where did I say anything was your fault?

I just pointed out you've very strong opinions on all things Liverpool, it's something of a specialist subject.

i read very well, and you're about 3 years too late with the tubs bit ;)

actually, that's the last time liverpool were relevant too isnt it :p

strong opinions indeed, next year is your year alan. keep the faith!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Morricone

Helix wrote: »
    it's not a subtle reference to hillaborough, it's a blatant reference to liverpool's continual blaming of everyone else for everything

That exact reference has very strong links to Hillsborough. And when did Liverpool fans continually blame everyone else for everything?

Maybe they should adopt a scapegoat figure in a similar manner to the way in which you've decided that Martin O'Neill is the Devil incarnate himself.

Helix wrote: »
    actually, that's the last time liverpool were relevant too isnt it :p

Are you, an Aston Villa fan, giving Liverpool FC stick about being 'irrelevant'? Really?

You understand that if Villa were to emulate the season Liverpool are having (a horror season for us), itd be considered an excellent season for yous?
    Helix wrote:
    strong opinions indeed, next year is your year alan. keep the faith!

I don't believe next year is going our year, I don't believe any Liverpool fans do, that's something people like yourself who are genuinely obsessed with us have invented in an effort to justify just how pathetic your views on the club & it's fans are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Hmm. I'm the one playing cards here. Right...

Best to assume that Perch is a callous sociopath. It makes sense. After all, he got Reina sent off. Right? Right?
    As has already been said, the account was a fake one so im not calling Perch anything.

Reina got himself sent off for moving he head in the direction of another player, Perch's reaction just drew the Refs attention, no complaints here.

What im saying is, be careful when using statements like that, due to the touchy nature of the subject. If you said anything like that in Liverpool where the majority of people know what the statement stands for, then ignorance wouldn't be much of an excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

kenny as premiership football manager, great to see, he is an inspiration to all simpletons and chimps everywhere who thought their brain capacity would prevent them managing the premier league :p oh god im funnnny