Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off-Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

lads, when it says in monitor discription: LED display and LED-backlit Display, is that the same thing?

really damn annoying when you look for 24inch monitor they sai 24inch, but when you read in to discription it says 23.6inch ffs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

lads, when it says in monitor discription: LED display and LED-backlit Display, is that the same thing?

really damn annoying when you look for 24inch monitor they sai 24inch, but when you read in to discription it says 23.6inch ffs...

I thinkLED backlight means that the screens backlight is LED instead of a Cold Cathode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Tea_Bag wrote: »
    great :rolleyes:

I'll be buying one once I shift my current monitor (http://adverts.ie/1470978) and spare mechanical keyboard. Feel free to go first, though :p

NTMK wrote: »
    I thinkLED backlight means that the screens backlight is LED instead of a Cold Cathode.

does not answer my question and makes me more confused :o

feck, one of the most hardest parts to look in to. so many stuff need consider when buying one! jesus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭Monotype

does not answer my question and makes me more confused :o

feck, one of the most hardest parts to look in to. so many stuff need consider when buying one! jesus!

There you go. ;)

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=77419821

NTMK wrote: »
    Sorry im not really knowledgeable about monitors but

LCD monitors dont produce their own and need a backlight (LED/Cold cathode)
    LED Screens do produce their own light and i believe don't need a backlight

by the sound of that it sounds like its a lcd with a led backlight can you link to the monitor

i cant pin point now, i just check all monitors out there. a lot of them got that LCD with LED backlit.

problem is manufacturers being really damn sneaky with monitor discriptions :(. you need to go anal to find out what sort of technology they use!

anyway i just checked that 7970 and 680 can be very damn good at 1440p and multi monitor too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,531 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

well if you where running a 3 way 1440 monitor setup youd definitely want 2 or 3 7970's or 680's :D pocket change sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Where is the best place to buy kettle leads? I'm in Limerick so I don't have all the electronic shops Dublin has, except for maplin, but I'm gonna take an educated guess and assume you'd pay through the roof over there. anywhere online? I need 3 for the near future, but more couldn't hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

Where is the best place to buy kettle leads? I'm in Limerick so I don't have all the electronic shops Dublin has, except for maplin, but I'm gonna take an educated guess and assume you'd pay through the roof over there. anywhere online? I need 3 for the near future, but more couldn't hurt.
    Tesco, €8 or €12, was looking at all their electric stuff so can't remember which.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

You can usually find them for ~€2 in pound shops and the like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I'd be weary of using electronics from pound shops. Have u had good experiences with it? Lidl or aldi might do some. Picked up a wireless keyboard and mouse recently at lidl works a treat

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭deconduo

jaykhunter wrote: »
    I'd be weary of using electronics from pound shops. Have u had good experiences with it? Lidl or aldi might do some. Picked up a wireless keyboard and mouse recently at lidl works a treat

You can't exactly go wrong with a power cord :pac: I'm still using one thats about 10 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Markd250

I picked mine up in power city for a fiver each.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭FlyingIrishMan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Try Shannon Wholesale Electrical on Roches Street or Jack Fitz electrical near Howleys Quay if you're in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Finalising my order, and my new computer will not have much use of a DVD drive, so I'm thinking of grabbing an enclosure for it and keeping it external.
    Problem is, I can't find an enclosure for a full sized DVD drive anywhere. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭Serephucus

Dunno if you can get enclosures for bull-on drive. Maybe this instead?

http://www.dabs.ie/products/liteon-8x-ext-slimline-dvd-rom-black-64YR.html?refs=4294959458&src=3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Serephucus wrote: »

http://www.dabs.ie/products/liteon-8x-ext-slimline-dvd-rom-black-64YR.html?refs=4294959458&src=3

Yeah I use something similar, my current PC doesn't have a DVD drive as I never used it, only use the external one the odd time. it spends most of its time gathering dust!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

Good idea. I'd be spending like €15-20 anyway.
    This one can write too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Might just sell my HP touchpad as well. Basically never use it. That'd make the Catleap purchase a profit ;D

current monitor + spare mech kbd + touchpad - catleap ≈ €50!

although there's always customs

still no answer in to myemail from dabs.ie... :rolleyes: they know how to do business... somehow i dont want to place an order there...

lads, is there any difference of GPUs from different companies but with same reference design?

is it just a thing of putting on sticker or they fiddle a bit more then that?

The only things different about reference cards is the sticker, and the warranty. That's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,647 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

****ing hell lads im really fed up of my sweaty hands. It doesnt help that my room gets awfully warm. Im thinking of a small fan that can go on my gaming table, any advice on what to get ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭deejer

Headshot wrote: »
    ****ing hell lads im really fed up of my sweaty hands. It doesnt help that my room gets awfully warm. Im thinking of a small fan that can go on my gaming table, any advice on what to get ?

remember seeing this recently and thinking it was a handy little thing

Then there's always this yoke. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,647 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Then there's always this yoke. :)

lol

good idea from therma but Its my mouse hand that gets very sweaty

You can move the fan to the other side. I think you even get two with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

lads has YouTube gone to **** for anyone else?

all 4PCs in the house get this green over lay thing when going to full screen and its only fixed by exiting full screen and going back in. damn annoying though. all 4 PCs are running AMD GPUs on latest drivers so I'm not sure where the problem is. 2 of the PCs have a spanking clean OS install.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

lads has YouTube gone to **** for anyone else?

all 4PCs in the house get this green over lay thing when going to full screen and its only fixed by exiting full screen and going back in. damn annoying though. all 4 PCs are running AMD GPUs on latest drivers so I'm not sure where the problem is. 2 of the PCs have a spanking clean OS install.

Yeah been happening to me for a while too, also on amd but not the drivers released on Wednesday, the lot before that.