Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Enda Says is Best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Because Iceland is trotted out to show that default doesn't have to be a total disaster without taking note that its situation was massively ameliorated by the ability to devalue the currency.

A bit of intellectual honesty is necessary when discussing this stuff, it's pretty serious. Point-scoring is fine on the soccer forum or whatever, but it's important that people know the full story before they start agitating for a default that would be very messy indeed (in the short to medium term).

Again, I would say that I get there are differences, but surely 'trotting' out Iceland as a positive example is just as dishonest as trotting out Argentina as a negative example? Ireland's theoretical default would be a completely unique event even if we had control over our own currency. Our situation within the EU makes it even more so.
    That's exactly what I thought, but this guy disagrees:

Mind you, you'd never know that they were in power - nothing there seems to have changed (aside from the fact that SF are in power).

Yeah, the blinkers regarding SF politics is interesting. I've said this numerous times, but it always seems to just be ignored. SF in the Republic have positioned themselves as the champions of anti-austerity politics and yet nobody seems to notice that in Northern Ireland they're quite happy to implement those very same policies. Why people think they'd be any different in power down here is beyond me.

Of course what they don't tell you is that they will be paid for out of higher income tax, which I suppose isn't the worst thing in the world because at least income tax is progressive.

The ULA have never made a secret about increasing income tax and their opposition to the household tax is in no way contradictory. As far as I can tell, it's because a property tax like the one the government has introduced hits poorer people harder, so it's a no-brainer for a socialist party to adopt this stance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

Again, I would say that I get there are differences, but surely 'trotting' out Iceland as a positive example is just as dishonest as trotting out Argentina as a negative example? Ireland's theoretical default would be a completely unique event even if we had control over our own currency. Our situation within the EU makes it even more so.

Yeah, the blinkers regarding SF politics is interesting. I've said this numerous times, but it always seems to just be ignored. SF in the Republic have positioned themselves as the champions of anti-austerity politics and yet nobody seems to notice that in Northern Ireland they're quite happy to implement those very same policies. Why people think they'd be any different in power down here is beyond me.

Because they are not the national government in the North, which is a region.

They cannot

1. Set tax rates
    2. Borrow money on the bonds markets.
    3. Agree to or reject international treaties
    4. Hold referenda
    5. Apply to the IMF for funding

They can do very little except take the money that the British government give them and decide how best to spend it.

These five points clearly demonstrate the constraints on their power in the North without even getting into the fact that they are in coalition with traditionally right-wing conservative unionists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

forfuxsake wrote: »

They cannot

1. Set tax rates
    4. Hold referenda

They can do very little except take the money that the British government give them and decide how best to spend it.

These five points clearly demonstrate the constraints on their power in the North without even getting into the fact that they are in coalition with traditionally right-wing conservative unionists.
    Why do they want to be in government at all if they can't change anything? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

They are cowards:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

Bababa2012 wrote: »
    Gay Mitchell....is that you?

no, but it could be mcdowell - y'know the one that looked like he was going to have a heart attack everytime SF was mentioned. Better than comedy that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Pataman

Hrmm, who do I listen to:
    Our elected leader, who is receiving information and advice from experts here and in Europe, or the leader of a terrorism backing political organisation who are only supported by the most uneducated, ignorant and outright moronic in Irish society?

I think I'll stick with Enda, thanks.

These same experts that saw the recession coming as a soft landing.
    No Thanks

forfuxsake wrote: »

They cannot

1. Set tax rates
    4. Hold referenda

Fair enough. However nothing in their policy actions indicate that they would do anything different with the power that they do hold. If your only option is to 'accept what the British government give you' and that necessarily means cuts in public spending and services, would that indicate that portraying yourself as a party with an ideology rather than a party that wants to be in government is merely playing to the crowd? Also, if you allow for the fact that a party is restrained by the ideology of their coalition partners, could you not then apply the same reasoning for Labour, the Green Party or the PDs?

Pataman wrote: »
    These same experts that saw the recession coming as a soft landing.
    No Thanks
    Fair point about the geniuses in the DoF, but to be fair they are now dealing with people who do know what they are talking about. FFail and company just ignored the warnings from experts previously, only listening to those who told them what they wanted to hear. (remember Bertie Ahern telling Morgan Kelly to commit suicide?)

Also, if you allow for the fact that a party is restrained by the ideology of their coalition partners, could you not then apply the same reasoning for Labour, the Green Party or the PDs?
    Or FG? Presumably they would be in a position to tear up the ridiculous Croke Park agreement to help balance the budget but can't due to Labour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Bababa2012

If u privatise water..and force people to pay for the undrinkable rubbish that they currently supply.. Then they will be open to legal action should a problem arise. They get away with poisoning people at the moment because it's free!!

If we have to pay for local services directly.. Then do we get a say in how local services are managed? Can we weed out the pisstakers and make local services efficient? And cost effective?
    I think this is the idea of devolving these things to local councils, and then paying local councils for their use - to make them more accountable to local people. You wouldn't have to go as far as privatising them, but they have done in other countries.
    Where will the money from central funds go if people are forced to pay all these charges???.....straight to Brussels to pay off bank debt etc.. An absolute sham!! They are pissing on us with a smile on their faces.. And people like u.. "Gay Mitchell"..are trying to fool us into believing that it has to be done and that we must pay our way.
    Don't insult us any more..u really do think the Irish people are a bunch of fücking fools don't ya.. Shame on u!!!
    Ok, so you are opposed to the SF/ULA policies? You are in favour of the household charge (which goes to your local council) and water metering etc.? (Incidentally, I'm not Gay Mitchell)

Why do u keep obsessing about sf/ula. Haven't mentioned them at all ya mad yoke!! But I will now!
    Ur obviously a FG supporter(god love ya) and ur right to fear them(sf etc.),as even though their polices aren't finely tuned yet they could very well be one of the next parties in government when the Irish people wake up and vent their anger at the quagmire ur crowd has helped to and continues to create with ur spineless approach to ur mammies in Brussels. As I posted before..u keep going to Brussels with ur trocaire box and see where it leads us!

As for the Gay Mitchell bit..ur prob even more deluded than he is.. judging by the rubbish u seem to have rubber stamped into ur own head.

It's time for Ireland to stand on its own 2 feet and be an adult!! Not the child that u portray by running to ur mammy!

And no..I'm not in favour of the household charge..especially when it goes to pay off bank debt!!
    This whole situation is without doubt the sickest stunt that has ever been played on the Irish people. The EU has treated us even worse than the British did..and we ended up fighting them to get rid of them from most of our country!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭rgmmg

According to the Irish Times site:

Referring to Mr Ross’s remarks about Latin, Greek and Spanish, the Taoiseach told him: “Always remember the old Gaelic tongue in ancient times was one of the prime languages of Europe, and there’s an old saying in there that’s very important for everyone to remember - when negotiations are under way, is binn beal ina thost [you’re better off keeping silent].”

Good man Enda. What's the Irish for 'and take it up the rear?'

Why do u keep obsessing about sf/ula.
    Because SF/ULA are the only alternative to FG/LAB.
    Haven't mentioned them at all ya mad yoke!! But I will now!
    Ur obviously a FG supporter(god love ya) and ur right to fear them(sf etc.),as even though their polices aren't finely tuned yet they could very well be one of the next parties in government when the Irish people wake up and vent their anger at the quagmire ur crowd has helped to and continues to create with ur spineless approach to ur mammies in Brussels. As I posted before..u keep going to Brussels with ur trocaire box and see where it leads us!
    Actually I'm not an FG supporter at all. Apologies if this fouls up your point. Part of me would love to see SF/ULA in power because I'm convinced they would smash the economy into the mountainside and I'd be able to pick up a lovely house in Dublin for buttons. The downside would be seeing friends and family suffering and the damage that would be done to my fellow citizens, but hey, if they are dumb enough to seek the easy answers (like they did with FFail during the bubble) then there's nothing I can do about it.
    As for the Gay Mitchell bit..ur prob even more deluded than he is.. judging by the rubbish u seem to have rubber stamped into ur own head.
    Ok, I'll admit you've lost me here. Why are you talking about Gay Mitchell? This part of your argument is a bit weak really.
    It's time for Ireland to stand on its own 2 feet and be an adult!! Not the child that u portray by running to ur mammy!
    Again, I'm not really sure what you are getting at here. Can else anyone explain what he is trying to say? :confused:
    And no..I'm not in favour of the household charge..especially when it goes to pay off bank debt!!
    This whole situation is without doubt the sickest stunt that has ever been played on the Irish people. The EU has treated us even worse than the British did..and we ended up fighting them to get rid of them from most of our country!!
    I'd disagree with this bit - I think it was Ahern, Cowen and Lenihan who got us into this mess with the bubble and then the bank guarantee, but it is quite disappointing that the EU seem determined to hold us to promises made by those idiots on our behalf. Although, as I've said before, if you elect monkeys who promise easy answers to represent you, then you have to be prepared to live with the consequences when it turns out the easy answers were just a pack of lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Why do u keep obsessing about sf/ula. Haven't mentioned them at all ya mad yoke!! But I will now!

Electing a government without policies out of spite seems like a good idea to you?

Also maybe more people would be open to the idea of Sinn Fein in power and defaulting if they gave some hint as to what they would actually do about the immediate problems it would bring about.

Why do u keep obsessing about sf/ula.
    Because SF/ULA are the only alternative to FG/LAB.
    Haven't mentioned them at all ya mad yoke!! But I will now!
    Actually I'm not an FG supporter at all. Apologies if this fouls up your point. Part of me would love to see SF/ULA in power because I'm convinced they would smash the economy into the mountainside and I'd be able to pick up a lovely house in Dublin for buttons. The downside would be seeing friends and family suffering and the damage that would be done to my fellow citizens, but hey, if they are dumb enough to seek the easy answers (like they did with FFail during the bubble) then there's nothing I can do about it.
    Ok, I'll admit you've lost me here. Why are you talking about Gay Mitchell? This part of your argument is a bit weak really.
    Again, I'm not really sure what you are getting at here. Can else anyone explain what he is trying to say? :confused:
    I'd disagree with this bit - I think it was Ahern, Cowen and Lenihan who got us into this mess with the bubble and then the bank guarantee, but it is quite disappointing that the EU seem determined to hold us to promises made by those idiots on our behalf. Although, as I've said before, if you elect monkeys who promise easy answers to represent you, then you have to be prepared to live with the consequences when it turns out the easy answers were just a pack of lies.

Eh..in case u haven't noticed..the economy is crashing into a mountainside(as u so put it) and FG have done feck all to avert it.
    U are privileged if u haven't already seen family and friends hurt by this situation. But u will in time!!!
    Ur obviously deaf,blind and oblivious if u don't recognise ur fellow citizens pain!!

As far as the bit u didn't understand..it means being part of the EU for trade purposes and that alone. Not them dictating to us how we run our shop and bullying us for mistakes that they are fundamentally and unequivocally responsible for.
    If u lend money to muppets and they fail to repay it..then the lender and the muppets are responsible for it. Not the country as a whole.

The Gay Mitchell bit is in reference to ur attitude toward SF etc and ur rambling nonsense in support of a government that epitomises the dumb paddy image!!

And yes.. Our electorate have installed monkeys in power once again. May even have been better to leave FF there(perish the thought)

The whole political system needs to be changed. It's broken beyond repair..and a thing of the past.

mackg wrote: »

Electing a government without policies out of spite seems like a good idea to you?

Also maybe more people would be open to the idea of Sinn Fein in power and defaulting if they gave some hint as to what they would actually do about the immediate problems it would bring about.

Am not in SF so can't dictate their policies.
    As for what policies would need to be implemented? Well that would have to be discussed and thrashed out at length. Ya know..a bit of graft..something that the overpaid and lazy oul ones that are in the Dail etc at the moment are incapable of doing.

Eh..in case u haven't noticed..the economy is crashing into a mountainside(as u so put it) and FG have done feck all to avert it.
    U are privileged if u haven't already seen family and friends hurt by this situation. But u will in time!!!
    Ur obviously deaf,blind and oblivious if u don't recognise ur fellow citizens pain!!
    If you think that what we are seeing now is what a real default looks like, you honestly haven't got a clue. Have you ever travelled to a country that has defaulted? This point isn't actually up for debate - what we are seeing is a continuing recession, not the carnage of a default.
    As far as the bit u didn't understand..it means being part of the EU for trade purposes and that alone. Not them dictating to us how we run our shop and bullying us for mistakes that they are fundamentally and unequivocally responsible for.
    If u lend money to muppets and they fail to repay it..then the lender and the muppets are responsible for it. Not the country as a whole.
    But you do understand how we became liable for the debts, right?
    The Gay Mitchell bit is in reference to ur attitude toward SF etc and ur rambling nonsense in support of a government that epitomises the dumb paddy image!!
    Would you like to give an example of this 'rambling nonsense'? Please not that just because you don't understand something, it does not mean that it is nonsense - it may just be that you are too stupid to follow it.
    And yes.. Our electorate have installed monkeys in power once again. May even have been better to leave FF there(perish the thought)
    Fortunately the current monkeys are rather more competent than the last lot. It's basically a centrist coalition with the advantages and disadvantages that brings.
    The whole political system needs to be changed. It's broken beyond repair..and a thing of the past.
    I agree that we need to do politics differently in this country. Do you have any specific proposals for the changes that should be made?

As for what policies would need to be implemented? Well that would have to be discussed and thrashed out at length. Ya know..a bit of graft..something that the overpaid and lazy oul ones that are in the Dail etc at the moment are incapable of doing.
    That's a very harsh way to speak about Gerry Adams and the lads!

It was actually aimed at the government and their cronies..but ur infatuation with SF seems to come out at every oppertunity.

Current monkeys more competent than the last? More dellusion. U must be drinking plenty of tap water to get so tripped out!! Any fracking going on in ur area?

And I also stated that we haven't hit rock bottom yet but ur inability to follow what is being said(aside from what suits ur agenda)adequately explains that.

It was actually aimed at the government and their cronies..but ur infatuation with SF seems to come out at every oppertunity.

Current monkeys more competent than the last? More dellusion. U must be drinking plenty of tap water to get so tripped out!! Any fracking going on in ur area?

And I also stated that we haven't hit rock bottom yet but ur inability to follow what is being said(aside from what suits ur agenda)adequately explains that.
    Listen, if you are going to attack another poster's intelligence it would help if you could write coherently and did not misspell basic words. You haven't made a single intelligent criticism of any point I made and you immediately resorted to insulting me.

That might work very well in your primary school, but people here can see through that bullsh!t so unless you have an actual coherent argument to make, I think we are done here.

Listen, if you are going to attack another poster's intelligence it would help if you could write coherently and did not misspell basic words. You haven't made a single intelligent criticism of any point I made and you immediately resorted to insulting me.

That might work very well in your primary school, but people here can see through that bullsh!t so unless you have an actual coherent argument to make, I think we are done here.

Considering u think it's a spelling contest it is amusing for u to accuse me of being in primary school.
    And im not listening to u I'm reading the drivel that u spew and I don't see anyone jumping to ur defence.
    U can continue to take this conversation to the depths of depravity but I'll leave it to u.
    I've made my points and it's up to others to
    decipher who the monkey is in their own opinion(and that is all it is).
    Thank u for displaying ur childishness and lack off wit. Ur a credit to urself!!

Considering u think it's a spelling contest it is amusing for u to accuse me of being in primary school.
    And im not listening to u I'm reading the drivel that u spew and I don't see anyone jumping to ur defence.
    U can continue to take this conversation to the depths of depravity but I'll leave it to u.
    Thank u for displaying ur childishness and lack off wit. Ur a credit to urself!!
    What a load of rubbish. I feel sorry for Sinn Fein that people see ignorant fools like you supporting them.

If SF are calling for a default based on the idea that if it does happen they can trash out a solution it is plain wreckless. Also there are some problems that graft alone can not solve. We need people with the necessary experience and knowledge to handle the situation, if you feel FG/lab do not fair enough but why do you feel SF do?

In fairness I think if your posts contained less of the hyperbole/metaphors your point would be a lot clearer, I have read all your posts in this thread and quite often the point seems to get lost.

What a load of rubbish. I feel sorry for Sinn Fein that people see ignorant fools like you supporting them.

Good man. SF rant again. U should change ur name to rumpelstiltskin. It will help excuse ur tantrums considering u keep throwing them!

Fair point about the geniuses in the DoF, but to be fair they are now dealing with people who do know what they are talking about. FFail and company just ignored the warnings from experts previously, only listening to those who told them what they wanted to hear. (remember Bertie Ahern telling Morgan Kelly to commit suicide?)

Who are the people they are dealing with that do know what they're talking about? From what I can see there's little divergent thought with regards to mainstream economics, with most settling on the 'freer-the-better' side, and a small group of 'more-regulation' types. I could be wrong about that, though (and probably am).
    Or FG? Presumably they would be in a position to tear up the ridiculous Croke Park agreement to help balance the budget but can't due to Labour.

Indeed, I was making the point at Labour because they fit with a theoretically leftist smaller partner in coalition with a more traditional centre-right party. I wonder if FG did have a majority, would they go after Croke Park? Did they ever mention it in their pre-election literature?

As an aside, regarding your use of the 'ULA/SF' tag, I'd be surprised if the ULA would ever go into government with SF (I'd also be surprised if the groups that make up the ULA would ever go into government with each other. And I'd be REALLY surprised if the ULA ever went into government full stop).

If SF are calling for a default based on the idea that if it does happen they can trash out a solution it is plain wreckless. Also there are some problems that graft alone can not solve. We need people with the necessary experience and knowledge to handle the situation, if you feel FG/lab do not fair enough but why do you feel SF do?

In fairness I think if your posts contained less of the hyperbole/metaphors your point would be a lot clearer, I have read all your posts in this thread and quite often the point seems to get lost.

Jaysus. I never said SF do. I thought u read all my posts. That's monty and his jibber jabber.

Ok. If not FG, Lab, FF, SF or the ULA then who?

A whole new system. Curren one needs to be demolished and a new one built from the ground up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭TreesAreCrowd

People such as bababullshít are the norm in crowds like SF. I'm surprised you bothered entertaining their nonsense for so long tbh. You'll never achieve anything with a non-achiever is what I say, so don't even bother trying.

Good man. Another fracking fluid drinker. Must have gotten into the roots of the tree u fell out of!!