Door to door religion peddlers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭mistress_gi

toexpress wrote: »
    I get Jehovas (sic?) now and then there is a commune of them around here somewhere.

I just say things like "sorry I am setting up my own religion, Gay Witches for Abortion, would you be interested?"

Usually sees them off fast enough
    to be fair my motivation is the tax free status that setting up a religion enjoys

I'd totally sign up for your religion!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

I've said it before and I'll say it again......tolerance is not exactly your strong suit, is it??:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

When the Pope John Paul II died (jesus, my polish pals took that very badly), I was door stepped that morning by Jevoha's witnesses. Sadly, i stayed too long chatting to them, slagging them off about trying to get us when we are down, the feckers came back only for my mates to slag me off when they were looking for them. I had not the heart to tell them to feck off the first time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,762 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

I always invite them in, by the end of their visit they're converted to my religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭angry kitten

Pandora2 wrote: »
    I've said it before and I'll say it again......tolerance is not exactly your strong suit, is it??:rolleyes:

I'd forgotten about you. Clearly I made an impression on you though. Have you nothing better to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Yeah, I do....

Note to self: Angry Kitten AKA Gufnork.....Add to ignore list;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭starch4ser

Pandora2 wrote: »
    Yeah, I do....

Note to self: Angry Kitten AKA Gufnork.....Add to ignore list;)

Er I never quite understood what annoyed you most. You're the sterotypical oppressed single mother. I made it quite clear at the time that I was talking about a specific type of awful parent. Now you decided to take offence at that which leads me to think that you are either a proffessional moaner who delights in taking offence where none is intended or you identify yourself with the kind of bad mother I described. Either way I truly don't care. You bore me so I'm leaving this thread, its what people do when they're bored, they leave. Whether its for fake boobs or not. You might want to think about that. Might help you in the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭forfuxsake

token101 wrote: »
    You got two well hung black lads at the door on international womens' day, I think you should be grateful. Just saying.

Now that is racist, just because they are black doesn't mean they have big angry looking cocks, does it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Two knocked at my door the other day and the woman said "Do you know about Armageddon" in an African accent, I said "Yeah good film, Bruce Willis and Aerosmith did the sountrack" and closed the door on them.

If people want spiritual enlightment they will find it themselves not by being coerced on your door step

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

forfuxsake wrote: »
    Now that is racist, just because they are black doesn't mean they have big angry looking cocks, does it?

Well, that's interesting. Do you often see cocks as being angry (or happy, or sad)?

Ah don't try and tell me you've never seen an angry looking cock!ye know - sweaty with the bulging veins and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Ah don't try and tell me you've never seen an angry looking cock!ye know - sweaty with the bulging veins and all
    How can you see the veins under all the feathers.

Doc Ruby wrote: »
    How can you see the veins under all the feathers.

no I am talking about a penis, not the avian cock

I think the fact that people automatically assuming that I was racist because I used the word black is very sad. It's a huge leap. My rant is about having religion brought to my door. The fact that the men were foreigners annoyed me because I perceive it as arrogance. Being annoyed at a persons arrogance does not make me a bigot. For me the colour of someones skin is completely irrelevant. It was merely part of a story.

Well said, my wife is a foreigner and I too perceive being a foreigner as a sign of arrogance.

Nicolas Sarkozy, Adolf Hitler, The Queen, Americans - all arrogant and all foreigners - coincidence?

I always give a person's skin colour when telling a story, it just help aid a better visual perspective.

I fear that's an image which will stay with me until my dying days.

Really, I find it very easy not to think about cock

You must have an ability to separately communicate and process thoughts. I do not have this ability.

Well said, my wife is a foreigner and I too perceive being a foreigner as a sign of arrogance.

Nicolas Sarkozy, Adolf Hitler, The Queen, Americans - all arrogant and all foreigners - coincidence?

I always give a person's skin colour when telling a story, it just help aid a better visual perspective.

My husband is a foreigner and is not a Christian he also has a black grandfather, Jeebus I must definitely be a racist bigot so. Funny how I never noticed that. When I said arrogance I meant that I think it is arrogant of people to go to a country and try to persuade others in that country that their own religious beliefs are wrong. Its an opinion of people going door to door with religion not a blanket criticism of foreigners in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Brian_Zeluz

I ask to see the last page of any of their literature and then enquire as to why there are no references. When they reply with "the bible is our reference" ask them why is it that much of the stories in it vary greatly even though all of the people who wrote them were there at the same time. I enjoy annoying them, try it next time.

My husband is a foreigner and is not a Christian he also has a black grandfather, Jeebus I must definitely be a racist bigot so. Funny how I never noticed that. When I said arrogance I meant that I think it is arrogant of people to go to a country and try to persuade others in that country that their own religious beliefs are wrong. Its an opinion of people going door to door with religion not a blanket criticism of foreigners in Ireland.

So why mention his skin colour? It really is racist to believe that a black man going door-to-door peddling fantastical nonsense is any different than a white man doing likewise.

Personally I would shoo the black Christians and the white priests with equal vigour.

I'm not saying your a bad person, just a product of your environment. If we confront our racism then it is easier to address it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Ireland exported Christianity, I really don't think we need it sold back to us.

Revenge ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

I've just had 2 black gentlemen at my door trying to sell me religion. Now I've got nothing against religion although I'm not religious. But it bugs me that I have foreigners of any race, colour or creed calling to my home trying to save me or whatever it is they want. I didn't answer the door but I could hear them at the next door neighbours. Ireland exported Christianity, I really don't think we need it sold back to us.

Tell them that you're a paedophile and ask could they have a word with someone about getting you off the hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

I had 2 asian ladies knock at my door a few months ago who asked me to take a look at this video they had on their laptop. Being the nosey fooker that I am I obliged. Watched 2 minutes of it then said I'm not interested. It was some god loves you always video. My mam reckons they were trying to brainwash me:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

You want to be careful, I knew this guy who got offered religion in the local carpark of his supermarket. Turned out he purchased a carton of milk instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

An annual sacrifice every Friday? :confused:

Not sure what you're confused about, the fact I said they sacrifice goats or the fact I used annual in a weekly term :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭fatboypee

I recounted a story of 2 black gentlemen, whom I assume are foreigners, calling to my home to try to convert me to their religion. To me the fact that they are black is nothing more than a part of the story. I am not biased against their religion, I don't even know what their religion is. I would find it arrogant of anyone calling to people's homes to convert them. I just think that it is particularly arrogant to move to a country or visit it, and feel that you have the right to try to convert people.
    If people disagree with my opinion that fine, but it is childish to assume that everybody who mentions somebody's colour or religion is either racist or bigoted.

There was no assumption made. I was merely pointing out that in the context of the post, their skin colour, or the fact that you identified them as 'foreign' has no place. Even going to the lengths of making the point of moving to a country and trying to convert people as very often those attempting the converting are from the USA or Canada and are white I have also encountered my fair share of Irish people door stepping...

FWIW I personally think that everyone is innately racist, its part of nature to be that way and everyone, me included makes assumptions based upon skin colour, appearance etc. We go to great lengths to be aware of this and modify our behaviour accordingly but for me anyway, sometimes I make a statement or assumption that to others may appear racially prejudiced.

I'm not calling you racist and I never mentioned bigotry, as for me being childish, or assuming ? Hardly...

ziggy23 wrote: »
    I had 2 asian ladies knock at my door a few months ago who asked me to take a look at this video they had on their laptop. Being the nosey fooker that I am I obliged. Watched 2 minutes of it then said I'm not interested. It was some god loves you always video. My mam reckons they were trying to brainwash me:pac:

Did the video have a happy ending?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭rgmmg

fatboypee wrote: »
    There was no assumption made. I was merely pointing out that in the context of the post, their skin colour, or the fact that you identified them as 'foreign' has no place. Even going to the lengths of making the point of moving to a country and trying to convert people as very often those attempting the converting are from the USA or Canada and are white I have also encountered my fair share of Irish people door stepping...

FWIW I personally think that everyone is innately racist, its part of nature to be that way and everyone, me included makes assumptions based upon skin colour, appearance etc. We go to great lengths to be aware of this and modify our behaviour accordingly but for me anyway, sometimes I make a statement or assumption that to others may appear racially prejudiced.

I'm not calling you racist and I never mentioned bigotry, as for me being childish, or assuming ? Hardly...

Is it a learned behaviour? When my sister was 4 or 5 she was having her birthday and my Mum, who taught at the school, was asking her who she wanted to invite from her class. She made a list of about 10 girls and couldn't remember the name of the last girl. My Mum was asking questions like "What colour is her hair? Where does she live? Does she have any sisters?" etc Eventually, after 30 mins of interrogaion, she found out the girl she meant was the only black girl in the school, but it never occurred to my sister that the colour of skin differentiated her pal from everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ziggy23

Did the video have a happy ending?

Didnt get that far. They started tutting and saying what about your little boy then when they seen my son:mad: