Last time you were in a physical fight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

God... wrote: »
    Do you really believe that??

Whats the chances of the OP who has never been in a fight killing another person with one punch ?

Very very very unlikely. It would probably be more likely that the other guy dies of a heart attack at the precise moment he punched them than die as a result of the punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Abou three years ago I started a fight with four lads bigger than me. It didnt end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Abou three years ago I started a fight with four lads bigger than me. It didnt end well.

I hope you paid their hospital bills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Stumbled drunkenly onto my road a while back to find 3 lads trying to kick the wing mirror off the side of my gf's car. Later found out they'd smashed up a few other cars on the road for no apparent reason. They were late teens early twenties, I was 22. Ran at them to chase them off but two of them stayed back. Got smashed in the head with a can and before I knew it I was rolling around the ground with one of them while the other was trying to kick me. Gave as good as I got for a while before the missus and a few neighbours who heard the commotion came out and pulled us apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Sauve wrote: »
    This isn't true.
    A well placed (unfortunately placed) punch to the temple can kill instantly. It happens a lot.

I got quite a strong box to the temple once. I guess I'm lucky I'm still here.

I rarely get into fights as whenever I've ever had the misfortune to be in one I have usually overwhelmed my opponent before he can hit me. It just seems like good sense. Put them on the ground and out of action as quickly as possible if possible and you don't get hurt.

That would be an account of most of the fights I've been in but I have no wish to assault or fight any one. I'd walk away. It's just much simpler and I have no wish to hurt anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Maybe she was rude and wanted to keep all her curry to herself and didn't offer him some?

Ha, I was in a flat below her one night having a quiet smoke with a mate, Telly wasn't loud but I heard a load of banging noise upstairs so I thought she was telling us to be quiet, So my friend started laughing and explained it was her making food with those big wooden thingys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Leeg17 wrote: »
    Yea it was.

Who were they?

charlemont wrote: »
    Ha, I was in a flat below her one night having a quiet smoke with a mate, Telly wasn't loud but I heard a load of banging noise upstairs so I thought she was telling us to be quiet, So my friend started laughing and explained it was her making food with those big wooden thingys.

Chairs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

Chairs?
    haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Chairs?

http://www.dreamstime.com/crush-spices-tool-thumb14665457.jpg

Something like that,:eek:

Good night..

charlemont wrote: »

Jaysus!

I ain't sitting on that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

MungBean wrote: »
    Whats the chances of the OP who has never been in a fight killing another person with one punch ?

Very very very unlikely. It would probably be more likely that the other guy dies of a heart attack at the precise moment he punched them than die as a result of the punch.

You are away with the fairies if you believe that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Was about 2 years ago. Was out and some lads gf (according to him in anyway) came over and started chatting away to me while he was off at the bar or the jacks or something. He came over and just went mental at me. He was absolutely hammered drunk though which I was grateful for 'cause he was a monster, had about 5 stone and a foot in height on me from the look of him... but yeah he was clumsy as fuck and didn't really land anything anywhere important, I hit him a couple of times and he fell in a heap.

Come to think of it most fights I've been in have been from drunken gob****es thinking I was after 'their women' and swinging for me. Nightclubs huh? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

Never I run!, I always manage to get away cos i'm quick just like a bunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Unless your the heavy weight champion of the world punching a midget in the back of the head I really doubt your gonna kill anyone.

Happens quite a lot actually.
    Usually down to falling and hitting your head on something like a kerb rather than the actually punch in the first place. My bosses son had to have major surgery only a few months ago for this very reason, didn't even get punched just pushed over, banged his head and developed a blood lot on his brain. He's lucky to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Drunk guy was fighting with a family member when my friend was asked by one of their girlfriend's to break it up. This friend had never been in a fight or trouble in his life.

He didn't touch anyone but one of the fella's was pushed by the other, fell back and hit his head off the ground leaving him in a coma and life support for weeks.

My friend, who was asked to help, was suddenly looking at attempted manslaughter since the bickering family accused him of pushing the guy. The scumbag girlfriend who asked for his help specifically told the Gardaì that my friend nailed him across the head.

Wasn't until someone looking out their window went to the Gardaì and told them he didn't do anything that the case was dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Last month actually.

I typically ignore people when they start talking **** because you accidentally bumped into them but I had a "fuck it" moment, undoubtedly fueled by the drink.

Was buzzing for days after it, it's like a drug... man.

Before that it must've been at least 3 or 4 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

OP I reject your question as being illogical and presumptuous as it's built on a false premise.
    By phrasing your question thus, you make the false presumption that all of us at some stage in our lives have been in some kind of physical altercation or combat.

You would be wrong. :p
    Never have and I hope never will be involved in a fight as I abhor violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 champski

Red21 wrote: »
    Never I run!, I always manage to get away cos i'm quick just like a bunny.

I wish I could run away but I'm just not fit enough, no point being caught up with 50 yards down the road and take a beating cos im tired from running. I'd rather give them my best 30 seconds of punching than my best 30 seconds of running. ;)
    As for the question it was last year when some drunk was giving my gf a load of abuse....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

I always end up in fights but have no idea how they started or why I'm involved.

From the fights that I do know how they started it is nearly always caused by a woman egging a man on to fight someone else. These are the kind of women that need a bit of drama on a night out and will usually wind up a stranger then get a huge male friend to finish it off.

And no, I'm not the guy that the girl would be winding up, I usually just get dragged in somehow.

You are away with the fairies if you believe that.

I'm away with the fairies if I think someone who has never been in a fight wouldnt be likely to kill someone with one punch ? lol

Your a bouncer right ? Seen lots of fights and scraps ? How many people have you personally seen die as a result of one punch ?

Not me who's away with the fairies is it ?

Happens quite a lot actually.
    Usually down to falling and hitting your head on something like a kerb rather than the actually punch in the first place. My bosses son had to have major surgery only a few months ago for this very reason, didn't even get punched just pushed over, banged his head and developed a blood lot on his brain. He's lucky to be alive.

Well thats not killing someone with one punch its hitting your head. You dont need to be punched to fall over and hit your head and being drunk and unable to control your landing would have a awful lot to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Greentopia wrote: »
    OP I reject your question as being illogical and presumptuous as it's built on a false premise.
    By phrasing your question thus, you make the false presumption that all of us at some stage in our lives have been in some kind of physical altercation or combat.

You would be wrong. :p
    Never have and I hope never will be involved in a fight as I abhor violence.

Do you have siblings? If so you never had a fight with them as a child? No one has ever hit you even as a kid?

I have never had a fight would have been an adequate answer though no need to be so pretentious.

I actually don't regret having been in any fight i was in when I was young. I was never a bully but I didn't let myself be bullied either and stood up for myself and I guess I like that. I've been hurt but never badly in fights and I cant remember ever being the one that started it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Last night.

He was all over the place. Constantly annoying me and getting too close for comfort. Eventually, he tried to steal some of my sandwich, and I lost it. Whack!

Me: 1
    Housefly : 0

I'm away with the fairies if I think someone who has never been in a fight wouldnt be likely to kill someone with one punch ? lol

Your a bouncer right ? Seen lots of fights and scraps ? How many people have you personally seen die as a result of one punch ?

Not me who's away with the fairies is it ?

Who said I had never been in a fight? Even if I had never been in a fight and punched someone who fell and hit their head are you telling me there is no way they could die? There are lots of cases of one punch killing people which is why I said it in the OP. The fact that it doesn't happen all the time dose not mean that it doesn't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭batman_oh

A well placed punch in the temple is unlilely to kill anybody unless you are Mike Tyson. What kills from one punch is falling on your head somewhere when you are knocked out.

Doc wrote: »
    Who said I had never been in a fight? Even if I had never been in a fight and punched someone who fell and hit their head are you telling me there is no way they could die? There are lots of cases of one punch killing people which is why I said it in the OP. The fact that it doesn't happen all the time dose not mean that it doesn't happen.

You said in the OP the last time you were in a scrap was school. So you have never been in a proper adult fight.

And falling and hitting your head isnt getting killed by one punch, that can happen to many people without getting touched. Alcohol is the biggest factor when that happens as you cant control your fall and dont protect your head.

Of course it happens I never said it doesnt happen I only said its not something you really have to worry about seeing as its a freak occurrence and not something thats likely to happen. Using it as a reason not to throw a punch is like saying "I'd like to go to the shop but my car might explode". Cars do explode but the probability of it happening is so low it doesnt factor in to reasonable thought.

You said in the OP the last time you were in a scrap was school. So you have never been in a proper adult fight.

And falling and hitting your head isnt getting killed by one punch, that can happen to many people without getting touched. Alcohol is the biggest factor when that happens as you cant control your fall and dont protect your head.

Of course it happens I never said it doesnt happen I only said its not something you really have to worry about seeing as its a freak occurrence and not something thats likely to happen. Using it as a reason not to throw a punch is like saying "I'd like to go to the shop but my car might explode". Cars do explode but the probability of it happening is so low it doesnt factor in to reasonable thought.

I play rugby and do weights in the gym I have not had a fight off a pitch since I was 17 but that has no impact on the fact that if I did have a fight I could possibly hurt someone. The thing is the probability is not as low as you think and just because you don't kill someone dose not mean you cant do a hell of a lot of damage with just one punch. The fall is a result of the punch as without it the person would not have fell so it is relevant and people do get knocked out with one punch (I have seen that) and you cant protect yourself when you fall unconscious. You should Google "one punch can kill". I don't want to hurt anyone anyway.

Doc wrote: »
    I play rugby and do weights in the gym I have not had a fight off a pitch since I was 17 but that has no impact on the fact that if I did have a fight I could possibly hurt someone. The thing is the probability is not as low as you think and just because you don't kill someone dose not mean you cant do a hell of a lot of damage with just one punch. The fall is a result of the punch as without it the person would not have fell so it is relevant and people do get knocked out with one punch (I have seen that) and you cant protect yourself when you fall unconscious. You should Google "one punch can kill". I don't want to hurt anyone anyway.

So you have thrown punches during games but think you'd kill someone outside a game ?

Theres a hell of a lot of punches thrown round here every weekend and has been for as long as I can remember and not one of them has killed anyone. Its a freak occurrence and isnt something that is likely to happen (unless you have statistics to prove otherwise).

I'm not trying to convince you to go beat the head of anyone by the way just commenting on the low possibility of killing someone with one punch seeing as theres so many fights and so many punches thrown every weekend and maybe you'll hear of one or two people that die as a result of falling and hitting their head. Its not likely to happen. You probably just as likely to kill someone with a tackle on the rugby pitch. Does happen, has happened but not enough to put you off tackling someone.