Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last time you were in a physical fight?

• 07-03-2012 1:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭

I’m talking about outside of sports now so if you compete in martial arts, boxing or something then that’s completely different. It’s been years since I’ve been in a real fight. Think the last real one I had was when I was about 17 in secondary school (I cant even remember why we fought now but it was probably name calling that got out of hand or something equally stupid.) and I haven’t had an argument that resulted in a physical fight since (outside of a few punches thrown in a rugby match or two I’ve played in which I don’t count).

When I was a child and you had a fight with another kid the first one who cried was the loser and the fight ended there and then. Now I guess as an adult a fight would only end if it’s broken up by others, if the police come or if someone can’t continue the fight or runs away.

Don’t get me wrong I didn’t get into many fights as a child but I did have some. Nowadays I guess I think more about the consequences of my actions and don’t fancy getting hit if I can avoid it which you can most of the time.

I know people who go out regularly get drunk and get into fights (I’m talking every other week.) and have done since they were young.

I have often wanted to hit someone but it’s not really a very good solution to anything is it? (with the possible exception of stopping someone hitting you). You also hear stories about how one punch can kill and that’s not something I ever would want to deal with.

I’m an average height guy medium build and don’t try and get into conflicts with people also most of my friends are quite mellow so it’s rare that I even see fights on nights out with my friends and think that most of the time unless you look for trouble you can easily avoid it even in bad areas.

Having said that I have seen things that go against what I would assume is the norm like average to small guys starting fights with massively tall or well built people. I have also seen quite a lot of women fighting in recent years (some of these fight were often the most vicious things I’ve ever seen including a glassing).

So when was the last time you were in a fight and why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

Real men run away crying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Doc wrote: »
    You also hear stories about how one punch can kill and that’s not something I ever would want to deal with.

Unless your the heavy weight champion of the world punching a midget in the back of the head I really doubt your gonna kill anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

Think it was 3 weeks ago, first fight I had been in a long time. Walking up Grafton Street at around 3.30am after a night in Templebar, just me, my mate and 2 girls we were with. Group of 8 or 9 lads start slagging the girls off, can't remember what they were saying but me and my mate got into an argument and the girls got us to walk away. They followed us all the way up Grafton Street, don't know if they were trying to intimidate us or whatever but me and my mate were squared up with a few of them and it turned into a scrap, 2 of us against 5 of them.

Fought for a minute before the Guards broke it up, first time in a good while I've fought, usually tend to avoid confrontations but these lads were just complete and utter prats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,127 ✭✭✭✭Leeg17

I've never been in a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Leeg17 wrote: »
    I've never been in a fight.

Ya startin'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭God...

MungBean wrote: »
    Unless your the heavy weight champion of the world punching a midget in the back of the head I really doubt your gonna kill anyone.

Do you really believe that??

Actually happened in Tipperary a few weeks ago, guy got one punch, fell straight to the ground (hitting his head) and died from his injuries. The victims girlfriend is an acquaintance which makes it all the more scary to think about, so it does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

This isn't true.
    A well placed (unfortunately placed) punch to the temple can kill instantly. It happens a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

A neighbour had been giving my friend (who incidentally had previously left his flat due to the guy's carry-on which included drinking parties, fights, scumbags and general anti-social behaviour in that house), So I popped my head out the window and told him to "walk on,now".

So few nights later I heard a thud and when I looked outside I saw him walking by, Thought nothing off it till it happened again, Then the penny dropped, He was trying to break my window..

So on the next Sunday I spotted him drinking in his garden, So I parked up and went into his garden and he knew I knew, I saw the fear in his eyes and I gave him such a kick and as he fell I grabbed him, Laid two or three punches on him and throw him at the fence Then I picked up his can which got broke when I kicked him and throw it on his head, He looked pathetic with the beer all over his dazed and confused head.

As far as I was concerned that was the end of it, I have no time for him but I did help him open his door when he was so drunk one day he couldn't even fit the key in.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Actually happened in Tipperary a few weeks ago, guy got one punch, fell straight to the ground (hitting his head) and died from his injuries. The victims girlfriend is an acquaintance which makes it all the more scary to think about, so it does happen.

It also happened to a regular poster of Boards quite recently. The court case was only settled last week.

RIP :(

charlemont wrote: »
    A neighbour had been giving my friend (who incidentally had previously left his flat due to the guy's carry-on which included drinking parties, fights, scumbags and general anti-social behaviour in that house), So I popped my head out the window and told him to "walk on,now".

So few nights later I heard a thud and when I looked outside I saw him walking by, Thought nothing off it till it happened again, Then the penny dropped, He was trying to break my window..

So on the next Sunday I spotted him drinking in his garden, So I parked up and went into his garden and he knew I knew, I saw the fear in his eyes and I gave him such a kick and as he fell I grabbed him, Laid two or three punches on him and throw him at the fence Then I picked up his can which got broke when I kicked him and throw it on his head, He looked pathetic with the beer all over his dazed and confused head.

As far as I was concerned that was the end of it, I have no time for him but I did help him open his door when he was so drunk one day he couldn't even fit the key in.

Had he also tried to steal your Gran Torino?

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Ya startin'?

Are ya cruisin' for a bruisin' hey? Cos I'll have you in an arm-bar in about 20 seconds if ya want :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Are ya cruisin' for a bruisin' hey? Cos I'll have you in an arm-bar in about 20 seconds if ya want :pac:

You learned that outside the 4lights didn't you? :pac:

Sauve wrote: »
    You learned that outside the 4lights didn't you? :pac:

I plead the fith.

I don't go out enough here to be engaging in fisticuffs :p

It also happened to a regular poster of Boards quite recently. The court case was only settled last week.

RIP :(

Was that the lad in Australia? Can't remember the details, I think it happened outside a chipper? Just remember hearing he was a regular poster here.

Yea it was.

Good luck with that! I bought Meisha Tate's arms on eBay!

*backs away slowly*

I wonder what the odds on first round sub were :pac:

Yea it was.

Very sad alright, this type of thing happens a lot more than we think. RIP.

*backs away slowly*

I wonder what the odds on first round sub were :pac:

ABout the same odd as AC Milan were to go through tonight!

I'm just raging I never put money on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Leeg17, MrStuffins just get a room and hug it out.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

PrettyBoy....tell us a fighting story.

WHA'????

ARE YOU STARTIN' NOW AS WELL????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

About 5 years or so ago when I was in the old Dorans in Temple Bar with a trouble magnet old friend of mine.He got into a argument outside so I went to drag him away and got jumped on by three or four lads he was arguing with.I wouldn't even call it a fight,I got punched square on the jaw,semi-consciously fell to the ground and then got kicked and apparently got my head stood on a few times by them until the guards came.I couldn't chew solids for a month,had a concussion and had to pay doctor and hospital bills.

I avoid fights like the plague now,and if any of my friends get into one I just call the guards and leave them to it.Not worth the risk of getting involved at all.

PrettyBoy....tell us a fighting story.

I already did. Highlights are here.

Reminds me of this

Probably not helping the situation :pac:

Reminds me of this

Probably not helping the situation :pac:

If you need a shave i've got a new Japanese razor..............

Had he also tried to steal your Gran Torino?
    :confused::confused:

I'm not proud of it by the way but I know his type and if he got away with it and tried again and then broke my window, I'd be in hassle with my landlord.

So I just had no choice but to lay into him as violence is the only thing his kind knows, I'v been subjected to lots of violence in my youth/teens so I'm no stranger to it but I'm not going to take shít from bullies..

He was out roaring "Nígger Fúck off and eat your curry"one day at a very nice quiet African woman who lives here, She is a very nice person who works as a cook in the city and never bothers anybody. I wasn't there that day but if I was I would have kicked him up and down the street for roaring at her like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

A good few years back, a random scumbag, probably mistaken me for somebody else, headbutted me out of the blue outside a nightclub in Galway. Fell forward, and in hindsight, by good fortune, landed on my face rather than back of my head...caused enough damage as it was, but could have been worse. And, honestly, had no idea who the guy was, why he attacked me, never did. As it turned out, and what he probably didn't realize, that I had about 7 friends in the vicinity, and they both witnessed the incident, and beat the crap out of him. In hindsight, could've been them on trial, but yeah, point remains, you're never free of danger, regardless.

:confused::confused:

I'm not proud of it by the way but I know his type and if he got away with it and tried again and then broke my window, I'd be in hassle with my landlord.

So I just had no choice but to lay into him as violence is the only thing his kind knows, I'v been subjected to lots of violence in my youth/teens so I'm no stranger to it but I'm not going to take shít from bullies..

He was out roaring "Nígger Fúck off and eat your curry"one day at a very nice quiet African woman who lives here, She is a very nice person who works as a cook in the city and never bothers anybody. I wasn't there that day but if I was I would have kicked him up and down the street for roaring at her like that.

Maybe she was rude and wanted to keep all her curry to herself and didn't offer him some?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

God... wrote: »
    Do you really believe that??

Whats the chances of the OP who has never been in a fight killing another person with one punch ?

Very very very unlikely. It would probably be more likely that the other guy dies of a heart attack at the precise moment he punched them than die as a result of the punch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Abou three years ago I started a fight with four lads bigger than me. It didnt end well.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Abou three years ago I started a fight with four lads bigger than me. It didnt end well.

I hope you paid their hospital bills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Stumbled drunkenly onto my road a while back to find 3 lads trying to kick the wing mirror off the side of my gf's car. Later found out they'd smashed up a few other cars on the road for no apparent reason. They were late teens early twenties, I was 22. Ran at them to chase them off but two of them stayed back. Got smashed in the head with a can and before I knew it I was rolling around the ground with one of them while the other was trying to kick me. Gave as good as I got for a while before the missus and a few neighbours who heard the commotion came out and pulled us apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Sauve wrote: »
    This isn't true.
    A well placed (unfortunately placed) punch to the temple can kill instantly. It happens a lot.

I got quite a strong box to the temple once. I guess I'm lucky I'm still here.

I rarely get into fights as whenever I've ever had the misfortune to be in one I have usually overwhelmed my opponent before he can hit me. It just seems like good sense. Put them on the ground and out of action as quickly as possible if possible and you don't get hurt.

That would be an account of most of the fights I've been in but I have no wish to assault or fight any one. I'd walk away. It's just much simpler and I have no wish to hurt anyone.

Maybe she was rude and wanted to keep all her curry to herself and didn't offer him some?

Ha, I was in a flat below her one night having a quiet smoke with a mate, Telly wasn't loud but I heard a load of banging noise upstairs so I thought she was telling us to be quiet, So my friend started laughing and explained it was her making food with those big wooden thingys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Yea it was.

Who were they?

Ha, I was in a flat below her one night having a quiet smoke with a mate, Telly wasn't loud but I heard a load of banging noise upstairs so I thought she was telling us to be quiet, So my friend started laughing and explained it was her making food with those big wooden thingys.

Chairs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭_AVALANCHE_

Chairs?
    haha

Chairs?

http://www.dreamstime.com/crush-spices-tool-thumb14665457.jpg

Something like that,:eek:

Good night..

Jaysus!

I ain't sitting on that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Whats the chances of the OP who has never been in a fight killing another person with one punch ?

Very very very unlikely. It would probably be more likely that the other guy dies of a heart attack at the precise moment he punched them than die as a result of the punch.

You are away with the fairies if you believe that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Was about 2 years ago. Was out and some lads gf (according to him in anyway) came over and started chatting away to me while he was off at the bar or the jacks or something. He came over and just went mental at me. He was absolutely hammered drunk though which I was grateful for 'cause he was a monster, had about 5 stone and a foot in height on me from the look of him... but yeah he was clumsy as fuck and didn't really land anything anywhere important, I hit him a couple of times and he fell in a heap.

Come to think of it most fights I've been in have been from drunken gob****es thinking I was after 'their women' and swinging for me. Nightclubs huh? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

Never I run!, I always manage to get away cos i'm quick just like a bunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Happens quite a lot actually.
    Usually down to falling and hitting your head on something like a kerb rather than the actually punch in the first place. My bosses son had to have major surgery only a few months ago for this very reason, didn't even get punched just pushed over, banged his head and developed a blood lot on his brain. He's lucky to be alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Drunk guy was fighting with a family member when my friend was asked by one of their girlfriend's to break it up. This friend had never been in a fight or trouble in his life.

He didn't touch anyone but one of the fella's was pushed by the other, fell back and hit his head off the ground leaving him in a coma and life support for weeks.

My friend, who was asked to help, was suddenly looking at attempted manslaughter since the bickering family accused him of pushing the guy. The scumbag girlfriend who asked for his help specifically told the Gardaì that my friend nailed him across the head.

Wasn't until someone looking out their window went to the Gardaì and told them he didn't do anything that the case was dropped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Last month actually.

I typically ignore people when they start talking **** because you accidentally bumped into them but I had a "fuck it" moment, undoubtedly fueled by the drink.

Was buzzing for days after it, it's like a drug... man.

Before that it must've been at least 3 or 4 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

OP I reject your question as being illogical and presumptuous as it's built on a false premise.
    By phrasing your question thus, you make the false presumption that all of us at some stage in our lives have been in some kind of physical altercation or combat.

You would be wrong. :p
    Never have and I hope never will be involved in a fight as I abhor violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 champski

Red21 wrote: »
    Never I run!, I always manage to get away cos i'm quick just like a bunny.

I wish I could run away but I'm just not fit enough, no point being caught up with 50 yards down the road and take a beating cos im tired from running. I'd rather give them my best 30 seconds of punching than my best 30 seconds of running. ;)
    As for the question it was last year when some drunk was giving my gf a load of abuse....