TV Licence???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

ebixa82 wrote: »

I'd sooner pay double the household charge!

Funny you should say that, I was only thinking the other day, would people pay €100 (80 if you have sky) a year if it allowed them to :

Watch what they liked on tv
    Download as much content as they wanted
    Have the freedom to share media on various social networking sites, create new content using existing media, basically negating the big argument against the Sopa law?

It would be like IMRO collections but from the public rather than businesses. The revenue collected could be distributed ala IMRO, artists and content creators get royalties if they register.

I'd be all for abolishing the licence for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

How do you know it's a stranger if you haven't opened the door?

Strangers don't call ahead, or call you while you're outside to see if you're in. My doorbell rang today and I wasn't expecting anyone so I didn't answer it. My phone didnt ring so it wasn't anyone important. Anyone who knows me knows to call ahead, and I do the same.

If you're gonna call someone on the phone then wtf is the point of standing outside their house to do it?

You lot are gonna put doorbell makers outta business :p

If you're gonna call someone on the phone then wtf is the point of standing outside their house to do it?

You lot are gonna put doorbell makers outta business :p

Typo, I meant they're outside. You know: ring doorbell, no answer, ring me- are ya home? Yeah I'll let you in.

It's not effing rocket science missus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

slimjimmc wrote: »
    When you have to get one make sure you put it in an imaginary name
    All future correspondence regarding licences will go to Rupert T. Bear or Mary Murphy
    You're in the clear for years :)

And when they find that Rupert T. Bear or Mary Murphy hasn't renewed the licence next year, they'll come knocking to see why. The onus is on everyone at the address, not just fictional characters, to ensure the TV has a licence. Just make sure you're not the one answering the door.

I've done this and nobody has called.
    I live in an apartment block - you can't get in :)

I've got a lot of letters for Mary but I've binned them all.
    Easy money!

Typo, I meant they're outside. You know: ring doorbell, no answer, ring me- are ya home? Yeah I'll let you in.

It's not effing rocket science missus.

I think I'll pop over to 120 minutes gaff, I'm feeling horny.

<Ding dong>

Well if you can't be arsed answering the door to me I sure as hell aint gonna phone ya!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

<Ding dong>

Well if you can't be arsed answering the door to me I sure as hell aint gonna phone ya!!!!

Why would you not just text him to be sure he was there first?

ebixa82 wrote: »
    Why would you not just text him to be sure he was there first?

French Maids are not allowed phones!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

The inspector called to us in December. I got a letter a few weeks ago saying that unless I get a tv licence within seven days of the date on the letter I would be brought to court.

Anyway, I just remembered the letter there now, possibly a month after I got it. So if I get a licence now will that do or can I drag another few weeks out of it & expect a few more letters?

Pay the licence you ****in sponger ....quit trying to make other people pay from your entertainment.

Yeah ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 323 ✭✭emigrate2012

Wouldn't worry bout it too much, I stupidly anwsered the door to the inspecor with two telly's blaring(sure how would I know?) said yes hadn't a licence,gave me 6 weeks to get one,didn't cos broke got a few reminders,blah blah,got a summons a few months later,didn't go to court, got ANOTHER summons didn't go,got fined in my absense 600 yo-yo's didn't pay that either got reminders from a collection agency threw them in the green bin(gotta recycle that sh!t ye know?) then got a reminder from the inspector that "our records show you haven't had a licence for 2 years now" crap. Just ignore it,what can they do lock you up?Prison's are full,they keep fining you repeatedly they might say a week inside in lieu of the fine(s) but the way it is,show up to the joy,sign your name,go home.I know people that have done just that for motoring fines,in the grand scheme of things just be cool and ignore them,going to court,even to plead that your broke just draws attention to yourself. And if you do get dragged in on a warrant(bloody unlikekly) play dumb."tv licence?reminders?never seen the letters your honour!" F*ck them they get enough money off us as it is. P.S. this all happened in the past eighteen months and I haven't heard anything whatsoever.

Just pay it and be done with it. it can be easily avoided in the U.K but not here seeing as it's law and part of the broadcast act of 2009 that we all have to have a licence and can be brought to court in which we receive a fine of 1000 euro and then 2000 euro for subsequent offences.

Just pay it and be at peace. If you can not afford it then give your teles to someone else for the time being until you can.

Just so you know it's not law "broadcast Act" an act isn't a law it only comes into force if you recognise it i.e. go to court,just like the household charge wise up people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Wouldn't worry bout it too much, I stupidly anwsered the door to the inspecor with two telly's blaring(sure how would I know?) said yes hadn't a licence,gave me 6 weeks to get one,didn't cos broke got a few reminders,blah blah,got a summons a few months later,didn't go to court, got ANOTHER summons didn't go,got fined in my absense 600 yo-yo's didn't pay that either got reminders from a collection agency threw them in the green bin(gotta recycle that sh!t ye know?) then got a reminder from the inspector that "our records show you haven't had a licence for 2 years now" crap. Just ignore it,what can they do lock you up?Prison's are full,they keep fining you repeatedly they might say a week inside in lieu of the fine(s) but the way it is,show up to the joy,sign your name,go home.I know people that have done just that for motoring fines,in the grand scheme of things just be cool and ignore them,going to court,even to plead that your broke just draws attention to yourself. And if you do get dragged in on a warrant(bloody unlikekly) play dumb."tv licence?reminders?never seen the letters your honour!" F*ck them they get enough money off us as it is. P.S. this all happened in the past eighteen months and I haven't heard anything whatsoever.

Good man, We're singing off the same hymn sheet.

Were we separated at birth ??

You is a ****inbell end pal ...spongin orf them that pays teir dues.

Should **** you in the Joy fer a couplr of weeks ....soften your fuckin cough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

I haven't had a TV since 2002, I decided to watch dvds on the PC on the large monitor instead. I also joined the library to access their dvd documentary collection. Then when Youtube and documentary sites became more accessible in the last few years, I watch those. Way more interesting than the rubbish people are paying €600+ per annum to multi-channel companies.
    We get a letter once every year to say 'we notice your address doesn't have a TV license..' blah blah. They have yet to call to the door in almost 10 years. We dont have an ariel or dish outside.
    If I were you Id pay it off month by month as was suggested earlier, then I would dump the TV and get a large LCD screen that you could hook up to your PC and watch online content.
    I know that there is a new proposed 'broadcast charge' the government are talking about introducing. This money will probably go straight to RTE, even though most of us dont watch it.
    With the improvements to online content recently, I dont see why people have a TV in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Would outstanding court fines affect your credit record?

<Ding dong>

My wife would just love you. (I hope)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭bubbuz

Dunny! wrote: »
    What is this "tv license" you speak of??

^^^^^^^^^^^^^ Haven't a clue :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭BackScrub

Tell the inspector to feck off before you set your equally unlicensed dog on him.

We have a TV for the playstation that we got about two weeks ago and that's it. There is an old connection for UPC for analog but we never checked if it works. sometimes old rented houses could have connections like that working. Our situation is a little strange. my mate answered the door and was on the phone to me at the same time and the tv guy there just asked for his name and said he'd send him out something and when I asked him what yer man said afterwards he didn't know and said he didn't even ask us about having a tv just for his name.

I'm not getting fined for having a tv for playing the playstation. Should I check if the upc connection works and if so could we be caught for it? Actually my mate was playing pro ev now that i think of it and the music from the menu must have been blaring in the background as it always is the guy must have presumed we had a tv with channels.

it should do,I stopped my ntl/bout two years ago cos i was smashed,plugged the cable into the telly and bingo! 17 channels for nowt,but then they ran the fibre optic round my way and disconnected it :mad: solution?up a ladder plug the shagger back in. Result? free telly. And I don't pay for a no licence either. ;)

You is a ****inbell end pal ...spongin orf them that pays teir dues.

Should **** you in the Joy fer a couplr of weeks ....soften your fuckin cough.

Not my fault your a thick f#ck,go pay your household charge,sorry ye probably already have. government as5licking fool.

Would outstanding court fines affect your credit record?

Dunno, don't care I prefer cash,could trust ANY bank in this country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭GamesDontSuck

....anyway, I just remembered the letter there now, possibly a month after I got it. So if I get a licence now will that do or can I drag another few weeks out of it & expect a few more letters?

You are better off buying a tv license asap. Its better to say "well hold on, i have a tv license!" (Even tho they know you didnt when they knocked) than more letters or potentially another license inspector knocking on your door again. Aka, play the 'I paid it!' card.

But I am suprised people get caught these days :o I remember being 10 years old and hearing people I know say 3 things that still holds true today... apart from the obvious of paying it, lol:

1, Careful who you open your door to. Especially be careful if you are opening up to some dude with a clipboard etc.
    2, Dont be foolish. If you have a subscription with UPC but don't pay the license? That stuff is cross checked (you really think inspectors knock on every door in the country?)
    3, satellite dishes or aerials. Some inspector knocks at your door and you say you dont have a tv. what are they doing on the roof?

You have to pay it. Its just one of those things that you can easily be caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

If I remember right you have 30 days from when you give your name before you get a 2nd warning. On the third warning you have to state whether or not you have a TV or go to court. I was told this by the tv snoop himself.

My wife would just love you. (I hope)

Your entire neighbourhood should be grateful to me now.

As I left your front door, guess who I bumped into? Yes, the TV licence inspector. He wanted his candlestick polished so took me to his house and completely forgot about checking the houses for TV licences.

He said he won't be back in your area for another 24 months. Your wife can thank me later ;)

Don't mean to be buttoned up or anythin but cnunts who refuse to pay fer anythin really grind my gears....

Really boils down to saying let other "fools" - as they would see them - pay for the things they enjoy.

Just the other day Airtricity were reported as having to raise their charges due to the high level of arrears !

For fucks sake !

Now we are being screwed again to pay for those gimps who refuse to pay their fair share.....spongers I calls them an I hates them vermin with a vengance.

The same bell ends who can't control their drinkin and have nanny state putting up the cost of my six pack of Kaiserdom or Grolsh in the Supermarket.

Those Greek peons ....have a name for not payin fer anythin..taxes/charges/vat/charges John Greek pays fer **** all if he can help it.

Look at the state the same cnunts are in now...an we is headed the same way ifn the level of sponging is not curtailed.

I for one would have no problem in shoppin any one of these cnunts...no problem at all.......:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    Odd - I never noticed before but my TV doesn't actually have wheels, a gearstick, brakes nor is it a mechanically propelled vehicle

Peasant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Your entire neighbourhood should be grateful to me now.

As I left your front door, guess who I bumped into? Yes, the TV licence inspector. He wanted his candlestick polished so took me to his house and completely forgot about checking the houses for TV licences.

He said he won't be back in your area for another 24 months. Your wife can thank me later ;)

wanna come polish my candlestick? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Don't mean to be buttoned up or anythin but cnunts who refuse to pay fer anythin really grind my gears....

Really boils down to saying let other "fools" - as they would see them - pay for the things they enjoy.

Just the other day Airtricity were reported as having to raise their charges due to the high level of arrears !

Not quiet the same thing, see what grinds other peoples gears is its not a TV licence its a RTE Tax, why should we pay for rte if we don't watch it.
    If you enjoy watching RTE then its only right you should pay for it, just don't ask me to subsidise it for you.

Put RTE on subscription channel and abolish the tv licence and that is that end of problem.

Chances of that happening? Fu*k All!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Has anyone ever told a TV license inspector to fúck off?