Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TV Licence???

• 24-02-2012 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭

The inspector called to us in December. I got a letter a few weeks ago saying that unless I get a tv licence within seven days of the date on the letter I would be brought to court.

Anyway, I just remembered the letter there now, possibly a month after I got it. So if I get a licence now will that do or can I drag another few weeks out of it & expect a few more letters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Go on a murder spree.

Take the heat off this whole "TV License" thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

a week before the court date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

Does the inspecter have your name? one thing you should know...NEVER give your name to anyone on your doorstep. unless it is a Garda investigating a crime..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

Just pay it and be done with it. it can be easily avoided in the U.K but not here seeing as it's law and part of the broadcast act of 2009 that we all have to have a licence and can be brought to court in which we receive a fine of 1000 euro and then 2000 euro for subsequent offences.

Just pay it and be at peace. If you can not afford it then give your teles to someone else for the time being until you can.

Make a photocopy of the old one(as all we watch on RTE are repeats) and show it to the fcuker next time he calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its sickening having to pay it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

its a pity RTE wasn't listed on the state's assets for sale list. then we could finally scrap pat kenny's allowance fund

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

I dont know why people give out about the licence and yet never do anything about it. ya can moan all ye want but you'll still have to pay your fine of 1000 euro. and your moaning aint going to get rid of the T.V licence. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭girl in the striped socks

Does the inspecter have your name? one thing you should know...NEVER give your name to anyone on your doorstep. unless it is a Garda investigating a crime..

Yep.
    I normally don't open the door to anyone like that but would you believe I caught myself out. I opened the door just as he was walking up to it so I essentially caught myself out.

So, will I chance it for another few weeks or what? Do you get more than one warning letter?

Or...Tell them that you are unemployed and poor and had to sell your TV to make money, Tell them that you have bought a second hand black and white TV and would like to purchase a black and white TV licence....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

did you actually let him in? or just talk to him at the door?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

You can pay by monthly direct debit at thirteen yoyos a month if you're strapped for cash

Yep.
    I normally don't open the door to anyone like that but would you believe I caught myself out. I opened the door just as he was walking up to it so I essentially caught myself out.

So, will I chance it for another few weeks or what? Do you get more than one warning letter?

purchase a black and white licence then, they are far cheaper..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't pay, go to court.
    Report back here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Just move address, preferably somewhere abroad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Should have kidnapped the bast*rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭what a day

Should have kidnapped the bast*rd.

Yeah like bottom.... knock him out with a pan and then seloptape him to the ceiling were no one will find him!

Yeah just dont pay it and let us know what happens, i got a letter through the door about a month ago but i just chucked it in the bin.
    Iv only just purchased the house and dont even have a TV yet!!
    The house is a building site FFS!!!

220px-Bottom001.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 zara flower

if i was you i would get ricky bobby or someone to buy a tv license for the house as the op moved out. it is the person who has the use of the tv who has to pay, start fresh and let ricky deal with it next year :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

biko wrote: »
    Don't pay, go to court.
    Report back here.

Can the OP post from an 8' x 4' Cell?

God forbid Lottie Ryan would have to emmigrate like the rest of ye. These people have to be given jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭jackal

If they don't have your name - i.e. It is addressed to "The Occupier" then you can just ignore it. Have received 3 or 4 of them over the past 2 years. We don't answer the door to anyone, which is a pain I suppose.

The TV licence inspector should team up with dominoes and they would clean up! "Here's your pepperoni passion, oh and is that eastenders, you're knicked you slaaaaaaaaaaaag"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Just say to the TV licence inspector you fancy a break in jail were you can watch the tv all day in the cell for free:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

The inspector called to us in December. I got a letter a few weeks ago saying that unless I get a tv licence within seven days of the date on the letter I would be brought to court.

Anyway, I just remembered the letter there now, possibly a month after I got it. So if I get a licence now will that do or can I drag another few weeks out of it & expect a few more letters?

They'll back date it to December anyway so there's no point dragging it out for another few weeks if you intend to pay it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

They stuck a letter through my door last year about it. Paid it off that week. I'm going to do the same this year probably. Wait for them to tell me to get one, then I will. I squeezed an extra 6 months out of the last one and it wasn't backdated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

We pay it, in our house.

Reluctantly though, it's just not worth the botheration not to.

Even if the constant Adverts on RTE which they get revenue commission on sickens my p1ss!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭Unavailable for Comment

So if I get a licence now will that do or can I drag another few weeks out of it & expect a few more letters?

Don't get a licence now. As it stands you can claim that you never received the letter. However, if you comply with the terms of the letter you're admitting you ignored it until now.

Personally I'd ignore their communications until they summonsed me to court and only then comply with their demands before the date. It's very expensive to run a case so the chances of you actually appearing in court are very small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Take the TV off its stand, take a photo and send them back a letter saying you no longer have a TV with the photo evidence attached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

What is this "tv license" you speak of??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

I would rather pay the household charge than the tv license. What a joke. A license to watch tv.

Even the stupid aussies abolished it.

Half the fee goes to RTE which is unfair to other commercial broadcasters.

Dunny! wrote: »
    What is this "tv license" you speak of??

It's a piece of paper that stops you occupying a rapists cell while he waits for you to get out so he can go in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

RVP 11 wrote: »
    It's a piece of paper that stops you occupying a rapists cell while he waits for you to get out so he can go in.

So your saying if you don't pay your license you can get free sex ?

Yes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭0066ad

A friend of mine is court for the tv license tomorrow, she bought one a few weeks ago so has it, a friend said you can ring their hq and pay E67 euro so it wont go to court. She rang up today to see if she can get it out of court but was told to bring a postal to court tomorrow and pay the inspector outside, she asked what was the money for the reply was it's for the inspector for wasting his time, surly that can't be right can it? is that legal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

A friend of mine had been receiving letters and warnings to his apartment about his not paying his tv license for ages, but he ignored them as he doesn't have a tv. A guy eventually called at his door, my friend simply told him he doesn't have a tv, the inspector didn't even look around. No more letters.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

0066ad wrote: »
    A friend of mine is court for the tv license tomorrow, she bought one a few weeks ago so has it, a friend said you can ring their hq and pay E67 euro so it wont go to court. She rang up today to see if she can get it out of court but was told to bring a postal to court tomorrow and pay the inspector outside, she asked what was the money for the reply was it's for the inspector for wasting his time, surly that can't be right can it? is that legal?

He may also be the wallet inspector.

If you're looking for legal advice contact a solicitor.

Somebody has to pay for all those ads on the radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Don't pay it OP. A few days in in the Dochas Centre in Mountjoy and you'll have way more interesting material for your AH threads.

Trust me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

biko wrote: »
    Don't pay, go to court.
    Report back here.

Due to your legal advise, I ended up in jail.
    As a result I have now remembered why I reported your post.

I'm not going to post the reason for the report here because it would get me banned, but suffice to say I am now going to send my minions to Galway to take you out.

Best 6 hours of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,106 ✭✭✭SpannerMonkey

stupid question but if you dont have a tv do you need a TV licence ????
    only asking because im looking at buying a doer upper house and i wouldnt have a tv in it for a long time possibly 1-2 years do i need a tv licence ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

RTÉ is so ineffective, it can't even form a coercive state run monopoly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

only asking because im looking at buying a doer upper house and i wouldnt have a tv in it for a long time possibly 1-2 years do i need a tv licence ??

No, you don't.

My TV licence was up on January 31st, think I didn't get around paying it 'til June last year. Not sure when I'll pay it this year, will give it a couple more months anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

If you have any device capable of picking up a television signal, then you have to have a licence.

If you have a dog then you need a licence.

If you are a drugged up skanger you don't need a licence to bring a child into this world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭0066ad

They have you two ways there, the new broadcast fee they are going to introduce and esb for not using enough electricity. This place has gone mad:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    I would rather pay the household charge than the tv license. What a joke. A license to watch tv.

A license to continue owning your own house. what a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Terry wrote: »

I'm not going to post the reason for the report here because it would get me banned, but suffice to say I am now going to send my minions to Galway to take you out.

Best 6 hours of my life.

You should be permabanned for taking the advice from someone in AH.

Especially a mod.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

patwicklow wrote: »
    Just say to the TV licence inspector you fancy a break in jail were you can watch the tv all day in the cell for free:D

He won't even spend a day in prison and anyhow holding/committal cells don't have TV but yes prison is the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

Bring him in tie him to a chair and make him watch the late late show! he will forgive you,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sometimes they have your name even though you never give them your name. Baxtards.

patwicklow wrote: »

Might have some interesting cell mates to watch it with.
    Terry wrote: »

Best 6 hours of my life.

They booted you out after 6 hours?? Sure that's a tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

I had an inspector call to my door a few days ago. I told him I don't own a TV (which is true) and he just went on his merry way after verifying I was the occupier and staring at me in bemusement for a few seconds.

Sometimes being an odd duck can work in my favour :D

Though sadly I'll eventually be dragged into the net too when this fcuking "Broadcasting Licence" is introduced because I'm presumed to have some device capable of receiving public service broadcasting programmes.
    Which I have obviously but that's not the point...:p

This annoys the hell out of me-

Pat Rabbitt said a while ago: “People were on email in five or ten minutes to tell me what a dreadful idea it was and they had never had a TV in their lives. You can only conclude they are accessing public service content on the RTE website,” he said.

How the hell does he know for sure they are accessing public service content?? surely you can't introduce a licence based on the on the presumption (or spurious "conclusion") that everyone, regardless of the fact that they may have no TV or computer is watching RTE! surely legislation like that couldn't stand up in law?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭jackthelad321

I have an honest question about all this. If you tell the inspector at the door ' I have no TV' and then say 'goodbye' what can he do.

Seriously. If he can't see a tv, and you say you don't have one, isn't that it?