Munster Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,406 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Riskymove wrote: »
    well, we'll see if he agrees if he is in the stands watching some southern hemisphere emergency loan play for Munster in the HC Final!

eh stringer agreed to go out on loan (chances are he was the instigator of the move) so he knew what the repercussions were when signing for saracens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,595 ✭✭✭✭phog

Stringer has no choice now, he played with a team in the H/C so he's tied there for the season. He could return and play PRO12 for us.

I can't see where the H/C could allow players move around clubs as temp replacements and play for different teams in the same competition - if you think bloodgate was bad try managing temporary replacements for injuries in the same competition/season :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭ongarite

IRFU update:
    POC out for 3-6 weeks with knee ligament damage
    Murray out for 2-4 weeks with bruising to knee joint

ongarite wrote: »
    IRFU update:
    POC out for 3-6 weeks with knee ligament damage
    Murray out for 2-4 weeks with bruising to knee joint

Wow Huge Loss for Ireland and Munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,397 ✭✭✭budhabob

ongarite wrote: »
    IRFU update:
    POC out for 3-6 weeks with knee ligament damageMurray out for 2-4 weeks with bruising to knee joint

When did that happen? He walked off at the end of the game looking grand.

**** ****ity ****eroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

5 weeks would see POC fit for Ulster so hopefully the 6 weeks is just precaution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Heard POC is out for the season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

5 weeks would see POC fit for Ulster so hopefully the 6 weeks is just precaution
    Jaysus never thought of that.

Muller/Tuohy are a lot better than Ryan/MOD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaghhhhhhhh!! :eek::(:mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Flincher

Looks like a big race against time for Murray and Paulie, 5 weeks to recover.

I'd be at lot less confident without either of those 2. Hopefully Wally will come back into the mix. If he doesn't make it back (and Leamy and Ronan are out), we'd probably have to play Micko and O'Callaghan in the second row, with a back row of POM, Ryan and Coughlan.

Fingers crossed lads.

Well the injuries continue to hit us hard, it will be some achievement to get to a final this season not to mind silverware. Any hopes of sending McGahan off with a success seems low at the moment.

Circle the wagons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

I seriously hate Ireland and the Lions. All they do is break our best players. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Disaster for Munster...

Great news on the other hand on Murray. It would have been horrible to see such a talented youngster get a serious injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,393 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

To be honest it could have been a lot worse.

While Paulie has been tremendous, and inspirational as a leader, If it was ROG, we'd be fúcked!

We have Micko, DOC, Nagle, Dave Foley to come in and all are impressive.

If it was ROG, i'd be doubtful that Keatley could help us to victory over Ulster.

/trys so hard to look on the bright side :/

DDC1990 wrote: »
    To be honest it could have been a lot worse.

While Paulie has been tremendous, and inspirational as a leader, If it was ROG, we'd be fúcked!

We have Micko, DOC, Nagle, Dave Foley to come in and all are impressive.

If it was ROG, i'd be doubtful that Keatley could help us to victory over Ulster.

/trys so hard to look on the bright side :/

We do have more options but POC makes the whole team tick :( If he's missing for the Ulster game, we're completely fcuked. Runs our lineout, manages the pack and just brings an overall intensity, passion and aggression to the team that is often absent when he's not on the pitch.

Totally agree, but we have experienced guys in the pack who could at least pick up some of the slack.

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Totally agree, but we have experienced guys in the pack who could at least pick up some of the slack.

True but I'm just going to hope and pray he makes it back.

Might sacrifice a goat tomorrow...

The Bull is Sacrificing a whole herd as we speak in Bruff :P

To be honest I think it'd be hard for anyone to gain superiority up front again Munster in Thomond Park BUT without POC I think Ulster would be comfortably better in every unit on the field apart from at half back (and even then... if it's Pienaar at 10 he'll be looking for a shot at ROG).

It will be a hell of a match. Can't wait for it. I still think the Thomond crowd will carry Munster to the final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Somebody must have a Voodoo doll out for Munster and you have to wonder whether we will ever break out of the cycle of key players being injured? :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,787 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It will be a hell of a match. Can't wait for it. I still think the Thomond crowd will carry Munster to the final.

Semi will surely be in Lansdowne no?

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Semi will surely be in Lansdowne no?

Munster fans won't let it go without a fight, but I think you're right.

It's the ERC's decision.

Won't stop the Munster fans fighting!

Ha, indeed. I don't doubt that they might be able to get the IRFU to listen, but the ERC ain't gonna care.

Wait a minute are Munster even allowed play it in Thomond?

I didn't think so... doesn't it have to be a certain number of miles away from your home stadium?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Nope. A minor detail!

It cannot be their home ground but it has to be a ground that can hold over 20k in Ireland. It's Lansdowne by default.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I didn't think so... doesn't it have to be a certain number of miles away from your home stadium?

Nah, just another stadium. Leinster played in Lansdowne which is literally about 800m away from the RDS.