I was threatened by an Irish Traveller there >:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭furiousox

You could have written him a cheque.
    A traveller's cheque.

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

He probably needed the change as he was bursting for a slash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

what did he smell like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I was outside Centra after doing my groceries, waiting for the bus. I didn't get much sleep last night so was a bit drowsy and had my head down a bit.

This person gets out of a car, I dunno the exact model but one of those "work cars", they are 2 seated with space at the back. He approached me and said "give me 50 cents". I said no and he then shouted at me "I'LL BREAK YOUR FACE". He then passed me into the shop. It was a verbal threat, plus he got real close up to me and shouted.

I know he was a traveller because of his very thick traveller accent and his attire. (Paddy cap, etc.) What can I do?

You could have taken down the number of his car and called the Gardai to say the driver of that vehicle was acting aggressively at such and such a place ----:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Alan 1990

Do ye guys think I was crying or something afterwards? I showed no fear to him. I said I didn't get much sleep, had my head down and wasn't aware of my surroundings. I was only aware of him in full till he was close.

I'm just saying should I report him for doing it?

No one is saying you were crying afterwards just the fact that your now winging about it! He didn't hit you all he did was shout in your face, what can you do besides grow a pair! How are you so certain he was a traveller? Maybe hes just not as upper classed as you think you are and you turned your nose up to him. "groceries" just says it all! Stop discriminating and being judgemental towards people just because you think your better than them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I was outside Centra after doing my groceries, waiting for the bus. I didn't get much sleep last night so was a bit drowsy and had my head down a bit.

This person gets out of a car, I dunno the exact model but one of those "work cars", they are 2 seated with space at the back. He approached me and said "give me 50 cents". I said no and he then shouted at me "I'LL BREAK YOUR FACE". He then passed me into the shop. It was a verbal threat, plus he got real close up to me and shouted.

I know he was a traveller because of his very thick traveller accent and his attire. (Paddy cap, etc.) What can I do?

Maybe he was trying to cash a travellers cheque...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

http://images-2.drive.com.au/2010/03/11/1213954/vwCaddyM_m-420x0.jpg

It was like the above car, but red and no windows.

A bit smaller, the doors at back open up.

did it happen in wicklow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

http://images-2.drive.com.au/2010/03/11/1213954/vwCaddyM_m-420x0.jpg

It was like the above car, but red and no windows.

A bit smaller, the doors at back open up.

these are generally referred to as "vans"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,401 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

You probably had it coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

What can I do?

I believe the done thing is to round up loads of your friends and arm yourselves with slash hooks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

You probably had it coming.

I thanked that post because I never seen a traveller spell before. Well done Frank good on ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

In before this anti traveller rant thread gets locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Dr Expired

Give that dirty knacker both barrels if he comes near you again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

You should have just given him a quick Raping.

Ah sorry that's no laughing matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭JoeGil

You should have offerend him a bare knuckle fight for the 50 cents - winner takes all. Maybe then you'd be writing this evening to tell us how you made 50 cent today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭bonzos

Travellers in Sligo drive Range Rovers and BMW's(on UK reg plates)....its a well known that travellers(and members of westlife:D) in Sligo are exempt from paying VRT.....F@uk your honda civic i have Range Rover outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

furiousox wrote: »
    You could have written him a cheque.
    A traveller's cheque.
    You forgot to put on your sunglasses while saying that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,401 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

cloptrop wrote: »
    I thanked that post because I never seen a traveller spell before. Well done Frank good on ye.
    Appreciated.

OP was this in Dublin ,? Where did it happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭RiseToTheTop

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Have a Cup of Harden-the-Fúck-up?

Oh yes, i'll attack him so is what you're insinuating?

Where did it happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

Have you rang Joe Duffy yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭GASMANN

one assailant wants 50c the other says "slow brain", them baddies sound like real under achievers to me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Did this incident happen in Rathkeel???

Report it to the guards, you can exagerate for effect but for gods sake make sure you tell the guards, theyve been trying to get those traveller folk for some time and will be very interested to hear your story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

You just gotta rise to the top OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Tell him he has insulted your family's honour and that you challenge him to a bare knuckle boxing match to settle this once and for all. then sell the DVDs for a tenner a pop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Ever notice you never hear a word from a traaaavler in front of the shops if they are on their own.

GASMANN wrote: »
    one assailant wants 50c the other says "slow brain", them baddies sound like real under achievers to me....
    he either just has one of them faces or else he makes it all up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭Feisar

Could of just been from mulingar to be fair.

Says the lad in Tallaght! And it's the Gar thank you very much.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Do ye guys think I was crying or something afterwards? I showed no fear to him. I said I didn't get much sleep, had my head down and wasn't aware of my surroundings. I was only aware of him in full till he was close.

I'm just saying should I report him for doing it?
    you should have gone home to a safe place and told your parents, maybe get them to call the school principal to worn other students to be careful on the streets