Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I was threatened by an Irish Traveller there >:

• 01-03-2012 8:34pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭

I was outside Centra after doing my groceries, waiting for the bus. I didn't get much sleep last night so was a bit drowsy and had my head down a bit.

This person gets out of a car, I dunno the exact model but one of those "work cars", they are 2 seated with space at the back. He approached me and said "give me 50 cents". I said no and he then shouted at me "I'LL BREAK YOUR FACE". He then passed me into the shop. It was a verbal threat, plus he got real close up to me and shouted.

I know he was a traveller because of his very thick traveller accent and his attire. (Paddy cap, etc.) What can I do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

There's nothing you can do, and nothing you need to do.

At least it wasn't a foreign traveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Could of just been from mulingar to be fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

And the moral of the story is ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Was it a big red hiace van?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

I was outside Centra after doing my groceries, waiting for the bus. I didn't get much sleep last night so was a bit drowsy and had my head down a bit.

This person gets out of a car, I dunno the exact model but one of those "work cars", they are 2 seated with space at the back. He approached me and said "give me 50 cents". I said no and he then shouted at me "I'LL BREAK YOUR FACE". He then passed me into the shop. It was a verbal threat, plus he got real close up to me and shouted.

I know he was a traveller because of his very thick traveller accent and his attire. (Paddy cap, etc.) What can I do?
    Have a Cup of Harden-the-Fúck-up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭RiseToTheTop

Was it a big red hiace van?

http://images-2.drive.com.au/2010/03/11/1213954/vwCaddyM_m-420x0.jpg

It was like the above car, but red and no windows.

A bit smaller, the doors at back open up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

What can I do?

Man up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Its easier spot them in the summer with their vests.
    Did the van have alloy wheels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

I'm shocked and appalled that you would commit such an anti traveller act in a public place.

Pavee point will have a field day.

Dont you know that travellers are a distinct and unique cultural entity and your refusal to hand over 50cent is an affront to their heritage and traditions.

Post reported, I hope boards report you to the guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Go to his halting site and burn down his caravan I suppose. You could report him to police, you could grow a deap hatred towards travellers and be a bit of a racist based on your one experience . Or you could just pretty much forget it happened.
    Id hire a bigger traveller to break his face for about 100 quid. But I know some travellers desparate for a 100 quid. You probably dont based on the fact you were shocked he was Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

This incident didn't happen in New Ross did it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Are you sure it wasn't Postman Pat ?

Do ye guys think I was crying or something afterwards? I showed no fear to him. I said I didn't get much sleep, had my head down and wasn't aware of my surroundings. I was only aware of him in full till he was close.

I'm just saying should I report him for doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭mar48

not a lot you can do now since he's long gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭200yrolecrank

EGAR wrote: »
    What can I do?

Man up?
    Irish Traveler is there any other kind here
    I didn't know we had foreign travelers as well and I don't mean tourists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

doing your groceries? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Should have followed him home and burned his house to the axels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭alandublin33

travellers wouldnt do that there lovely people , salt of the earth , theres even programs on Tele showing how nice they are so I dont believe u ,

aw crap , I just broke my sarc-o-meter :(

Bide your time.

Wait, and be patient.

You might be tempted to take some action in a fit of rage, but resist the temptation.

No, wait.

Do nothing.

Wait until his daughter has her first communion, and then point and laugh at her ridiculous outfit, and gesture to other people to look at her and laugh too.

Her tears will only add savour to your revenge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

You should've said:

"You're no good! There's no point sending for me cause I'm no good too, but no Joyce will ever beat me for 50c. I put my hands in the petrol to make them as hard as stone.."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Should have followed him home and given him all of your money, clothes, even your pants.

Fixed for the bleeding heart liberals.

I wonder did you say no in a snooty little I dont get shopping I get groceries sort of way.
    That upsets people . Makes them wanna break your little snooty face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Pacifist Pigeon

It's fun the way some travellers acts as though they're so poor and deprived. Like hell they are. Loads of them go on the nixers making a fortune and hid it all from the taxman. Then they calm thousands in social welfare. Some travellers probably earn more than the average settled person in Ireland.

<in before the PC brigade and probably ban>

It's fun the way some travellers acts as though they're so poor and deprived. Like hell they are. Loads of them go on the nixers making a fortune and hid it all from the taxman. Then they calm thousands in social welfare. Some travellers probably earn more than the average settled person in Ireland.

<in before the PC brigade and probably ban>

If they can calm the social welfare I say they deserve every penny they get . Its probably the angriest welfare of them all. Its not very social.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

Could of just been from mulingar to be fair.

Says the man from Tallaght :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

I think you misheard him, he was merely telling you of his fondness for supermarkets... "I LIKE MACE!!"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭puzzle factory

Maybe he just has one of those faces that gets people angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

what do you be at,seriously.....

Probably walks around noticing things. Totally deserves all the sh!t he gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

What would Trent have done?

try living up to your username for starters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

You could have written him a cheque.
    A traveller's cheque.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

He probably needed the change as he was bursting for a slash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

what did he smell like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

You could have taken down the number of his car and called the Gardai to say the driver of that vehicle was acting aggressively at such and such a place ----:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭Alan 1990

Do ye guys think I was crying or something afterwards? I showed no fear to him. I said I didn't get much sleep, had my head down and wasn't aware of my surroundings. I was only aware of him in full till he was close.

I'm just saying should I report him for doing it?

No one is saying you were crying afterwards just the fact that your now winging about it! He didn't hit you all he did was shout in your face, what can you do besides grow a pair! How are you so certain he was a traveller? Maybe hes just not as upper classed as you think you are and you turned your nose up to him. "groceries" just says it all! Stop discriminating and being judgemental towards people just because you think your better than them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Maybe he was trying to cash a travellers cheque...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

did it happen in wicklow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

these are generally referred to as "vans"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

You probably had it coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

What can I do?

I believe the done thing is to round up loads of your friends and arm yourselves with slash hooks.

You probably had it coming.

I thanked that post because I never seen a traveller spell before. Well done Frank good on ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

In before this anti traveller rant thread gets locked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Dr Expired

Give that dirty knacker both barrels if he comes near you again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

You should have just given him a quick Raping.

Ah sorry that's no laughing matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭JoeGil

You should have offerend him a bare knuckle fight for the 50 cents - winner takes all. Maybe then you'd be writing this evening to tell us how you made 50 cent today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Travellers in Sligo drive Range Rovers and BMW's(on UK reg plates)....its a well known that travellers(and members of westlife:D) in Sligo are exempt from paying VRT.....F@uk your honda civic i have Range Rover outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

furiousox wrote: »
    You could have written him a cheque.
    A traveller's cheque.
    You forgot to put on your sunglasses while saying that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

cloptrop wrote: »
    I thanked that post because I never seen a traveller spell before. Well done Frank good on ye.
    Appreciated.

OP was this in Dublin ,? Where did it happen?

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Have a Cup of Harden-the-Fúck-up?

Oh yes, i'll attack him so is what you're insinuating?