If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What made you smile/frown/mad/sad/cry today-thread for all your emotional needs! V4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Acoshla

EmilyO wrote: »
    That stuff is craaazy, it'd put anyone off getting married!

If I was getting hitched, all I'd want would be a small ceremony with close friends and family (as in 80 people max), then a nice meal and a brilliant party. I would not be ar$ed with favours, professional photographers, seat covers and all that jazz. Nobody's going to look back on your wedding and think "Weren't they lovely centrepieces?" :rolleyes:
    Getting married abroad would be amazeballs, but my Dad manages a hotel that does lots of wedding business, I'd feel terribly guilty not having it there.

Three things stand out at weddings:
    1. The bride's dress
    2. The meal
    3. The craic afterwards

The rest is forgotten by breakfast the next day.

I think the 3 are the music, the meal and the craic, everything else is just extra fun bits. We're having just close friends and family....and that's 190 people because of boyfriend's GIANT family, 143 family members! It's not normal. Luckily I have 14 family members so it evens out some bit :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Ophiopogon

Acoshla wrote: »
    I think the 3 are the music, the meal and the craic, everything else is just extra fun bits. We're having just close friends and family....and that's 190 people because of boyfriend's GIANT family, 143 family members! It's not normal. Luckily I have 14 family members so it evens out some bit :rolleyes:

Holy Crap :eek: I'd only have four members that could go...obviously I do actaully have a few more but the rest would be liable to kill each other if they were in the same room together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

EmilyO wrote: »
    That stuff is craaazy, it'd put anyone off getting married!

If I was getting hitched, all I'd want would be a small ceremony with close friends and family (as in 80 people max), then a nice meal and a brilliant party. I would not be ar$ed with favours, professional photographers, seat covers and all that jazz. Nobody's going to look back on your wedding and think "Weren't they lovely centrepieces?" :rolleyes:
    Getting married abroad would be amazeballs, but my Dad manages a hotel that does lots of wedding business, I'd feel terribly guilty not having it there.

Three things stand out at weddings:
    1. The bride's dress
    2. The meal
    3. The craic afterwards

The rest is forgotten by breakfast the next day.

The only thing I'd disagree with there is the photographer. Anyone I've ever spoken to who didn't bother with a professional photographer has really regretted it afterwards.

It might be ten years before I can bring myself to look at my wedding album again, but I'll always have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Actually met the person I've been chatting on twitter/facebook to for the last two months in person today when he came in to hand in a CV - he's dotey! :)
    Am supposed to be doing my assignment on my lunch hour but it can wait.... :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I only ever remember how late the residents bar stays open at a wedding.

Barely remember the dress, only remember the food if it's not nice, would have a vague idea of the colour of the bridesmaids dresses, so yeah, the bar extension is the only thing I tend to remember.

Neyite wrote: »
    the bar extension is the only thing I tend to remember.

The irony!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

See thats the thing about weddings, worry about the big stuff, nobody remembers the tiny things you hear people freaking out about

krudler wrote: »
    See thats the thing about weddings, worry about the big stuff, nobody remembers the tiny things you hear people freaking out about

But see a lot of brides genuinely think guests care about all the little crap, yeah right like, but they got all tunnel visiony and it's the only thing they think about. So many threads on wedding forums about the disappointment after the wedding when they have nothing to plan and miss being the centre of the engagement/wedding excitement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

There was a thread in PI some months ago where this deluded bride came on and complained that her maid of honour didn't want to come over some evening and look back through the photos.

Not content with havnig the 'one day' she wanted other people to relive the experience over and over and over again and was annoyed that they didn't feel the same way she did.

The mind boggles!

I just got an email from someone saying the article on me in the Indo a while back was lovely, honest and gave them hope :eek::o So sweet, but quite a sad email at the same time, the person seems very down on themselves.

There was a thread in PI some months ago where this deluded bride came on and complained that her maid of honour didn't want to come over some evening and look back through the photos.

Not content with havnig the 'one day' she wanted other people to relive the experience over and over and over again and was annoyed that they didn't feel the same way she did.

The mind boggles!

Ah ha ha ha! I should have done that to my sisters. And made them wear their bridesmaids dresses while we did it.

I must have been the most unsentimental bride ever. I gave my wedding shoes away, I washed the dress at home in the washing machine, I couldn't tell you what happened to the top tier of the cake and we never put a single photo from the wedding up in the house.

On reflection, maybe STBEH had a point about me being "hard". Fukkim, he knew what he was marrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

But see a lot of brides genuinely think guests care about all the little crap, yeah right like, but they got all tunnel visiony and it's the only thing they think about. So many threads on wedding forums about the disappointment after the wedding when they have nothing to plan and miss being the centre of the engagement/wedding excitement.

One of my friends sisters and her fiance took two witnesses on holiday, got married while there with just the 4 of them present, had a small party to celebrate when they came back, thats what id do, she had no time for the self indulgent lavish stuff, people get so caught up in the wedding thry forget about the marriage once it all settles down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Ophiopogon

I've never been to a wedding, not even an afters. Not sure if I'm missing out but don't think I am.

I made an absolute balls of something I was doing this morning, I'm desperately trying to keep my good mood from earlier but I'm getting increasingly annoyed at myself.

The only thing keeping me happy is the amazing weather today, I'm working in shorts, feels great to get a bit of sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

@Honey-ec.........

I never got the chance to say sorry to hear all the stuff you've been going thru with STBEH........

Also, only realised earlier today what STBEH stood for. God, I can be incredibly slow at times:o:D

Ophiopogon wrote: »
    I made an absolute balls of something I was doing this morning, I'm desperately trying to keep my good mood from earlier but I'm getting increasingly annoyed at myself.

I've done the square root of fcuk all today. And I can't even use the whole "well they're getting it out of me for free" excuse, cause I get paid hourly... ah well.

2pm appointment didn't show up, I called her, her fella answered and says "Oh yeah, she mentioned something about that alright"....did she mention that she WASN'T COMING?? And wasn't going to tell me? Dealing with the public is a nightmare I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Having the worst week I have had in a long time :(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

2pm appointment didn't show up, I called her, her fella answered and says "Oh yeah, she mentioned something about that alright"....did she mention that she WASN'T COMING?? And wasn't going to tell me? Dealing with the public is a nightmare I tells ya.

That's really annoying when people do that. I've turned down new customers for on the day appointments who never called back because I couldn't fit them in and then people don't turn up and never come back. The person I turned down might have come back and I'd have had a chance to woo them if the no show had had the courtesy to call me. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

The disrespect the general public can show for appointments and people's time is astounding. It's my number 1 bugbear of self employment, along with people not paying on time or at all.

Ugh, feeling really crappy the last two days. Have this virus that's doing the rounds in Galway, headache, sore neck, sick tum, no energy at all! Reminds me of mono. Poooo. Feel like poo.

@honey-ec, just want to say *hugs*. That situation truly sucks and I can't imagine what you're going through.

Eviledna wrote: »
    The disrespect the general public can show for appointments and people's time is astounding.

I used to work in a large & well-known car dealership. I once spent over an hour with a couple who were looking at a particular model - went into huge detail about it with them, took them on a test drive, went through all the options, etc. They asked about a particular colour and I showed it to them on another car, as we didn't have one of their model in it. Went back to my desk to get down to business with them to be told "Oh, we've already ordered one from <Main Competitor>, we just wanted to see it in our colour cause he didn't have a car in it".

How they didn't leave the dealership with the imprint of my shoe on both their arses, I will never know.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

I HATE that. My number one pet hate. At least have the decency to ring and cancel!:mad:

Eviledna wrote: »
    The disrespect the general public can show for appointments and people's time is astounding. It's my number 1 bugbear of self employment, along with people not paying on time or at all.

Ugh, feeling really crappy the last two days. Have this virus that's doing the rounds in Galway, headache, sore neck, sick tum, no energy at all! Reminds me of mono. Poooo. Feel like poo.

Yep it really annoys me, she can feck off now, I rearranged things to meet her, I don't just sit at home waiting at the window for customers to grace me with their presence, contrary to what they think!!

That sounds sucky Edna, you're lucky I didn't catch it from you or you would be in SO much trouble :p

Despite two massages in the last week my back and neck are killing me, awesome. After the first one last week I felt great for 2.5 whole days, that's a record, but after the second one on Monday it was back to pain yesterday and agony today, sigh :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

I got an Indian head massage awhile ago and felt rotten the next day. It was like there was pressure on my head or something.

Made me sad because I love massages.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

I went for a Thai massage last week, well holy God whatever I had been expecting wasn't what happened. It was amazing and I felt a million times better after it but she climbed all over me like a little spider monkey. Worked like a charm though, all aches and pains gone.

Maple wrote: »
    I went for a Thai massage last week, well holy God whatever I had been expecting wasn't what happened. It was amazing and I felt a million times better after it but she climbed all over me like a little spider monkey. Worked like a charm though, all aches and pains gone.

I just laughed out loud.

Irish SOPA signed into law today. Sean Sherlock should be ashamed of himself. He's basically saying "Yes, we listened to everyone's concerns and decided to ignore them anyway."

http://www.thejournal.ie/sherlock-confirms-that-%E2%80%98irish-sopa%E2%80%99-has-been-signed-into-law-369634-Feb2012/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Irish SOPA signed into law today. Sean Sherlock should be ashamed of himself. He's basically saying "Yes, we listened to everyone's concerns and decided to ignore them anyway."

http://www.thejournal.ie/sherlock-confirms-that-%E2%80%98irish-sopa%E2%80%99-has-been-signed-into-law-369634-Feb2012/

Oh FFS :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Eviledna

That sounds sucky Edna, you're lucky I didn't catch it from you or you would be in SO much trouble :p

Despite two massages in the last week my back and neck are killing me, awesome. After the first one last week I felt great for 2.5 whole days, that's a record, but after the second one on Monday it was back to pain yesterday and agony today, sigh :(

Lol, glad not to pass it on, I've been washing my hands incessantly to avoid passing it to the OH, glad to say it's worked so far :) (feel quite the leper so I do)

Re:sore back, is it anything a nice long soak in the tub with some radox muscle soak could help at all? I always go there for my sore back which results not from activity, but from too much sit-on-my-fat-assery :p occupational hazard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

My grandma's sister and my aunt's sister both passed away yesterday. I feel sad but I feel like I should not because they both were old (98 and 88 respectively) and had lived long, full lives. Both had been ill for a while so it was expected, but it is still sad when the moment comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Honey-ec wrote: »

Its madness - he's living in my local area, and there is definately a lot of goodwilll towards him gone from what I've heard about that act!

Been having a very up and down time lately, way more downs than ups, but I think I've hit as low as I can possibly reach, which was extremely low, been tough but I think I'm starting to find my way through things. Never hit that low before, and it was scary. Had a chat with a friend, so things hopefully look up!

Facebook blocked again in work - didn't use it much tbh though