Severe Social Shyness - How Much Of A Problem Is It??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

Azureus wrote: »
    I always wondered how to handle someone with this type of shyness/social awkwardness actually. Dont get me wrong-Im certainly not perfect in sociable situations and Im sure many people have thought 'god shes a bit weird!' with me aswell, but in general Im fairly sociable, very outgoing and enjoy being in larg groups of people.

However, I have had a friend since childhood who is literally the polar opposite. Its very difficult being around him (Im sorry if this offends anybody) because he will only give yes and no answers to questions, will never elaborate on anything conversationally, is very quiet and looks really nervous all the time about everything. Im the only person he will really speak to, and even then its limited. Ive tried everything to get him out of his shell a bit, but years and years later its still the same... Maybe that suits some people, but I would have thought that social deficiency cant possibly be a choice (again not meaning to offend) but I'd genuinely like some tips on people who suffered from this as to how a friend could help, as he seemingly wont help himself.

tbh if he won't open up around his closest friend he sounds like a lost cause. depends if it's affecting his own happiness? if it is, see a doctor or psychologist

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Adamantium wrote: »
    +1 to the poster who mentioned the whole section, regarding shyness or lack of it, in primitive societies

I'd imagine its pretty hard to feel depressed after you've jumped a five foot stream, after being chased by a boar or beer though the countryside; you are starving and need to eat RIGHT NOW.

Its only when you've got a full belly; that you can can worry about existential issues, which were a wonderful luxury

Solution: more real living = less thinkng, less doubt.
    Kinda, however most primitive societies have quite a lot of time to think. EG hunter gatherers can have more daily leisure time than primitive farmers. Where the main difference might be is the lack of alone time by comparison to much of modern life. Plus a lot of together time in modern life can be very fast paced by comparison, so can come down to a sink or swim scenario socially. Add in the sense that communities may be fracturing and are less solid(which can have its negatives as well as it's pluses) and a fair few cases of delayed emotional/social maturity.
    Whoa... whoa... there.

It is already a medical condition called "social anxiety disorder". I was diagnosed with anxiety disorder with agoraphobia years ago after the death of my roommate, friend, and grandfather all within a six month period.
    You had an incredibly taxing set of strong emotional insults in a very short period of time. Very few people wouldn't have reacted negatively to such insults. Clearly in your case and others like it an anxiety disorder is completely understandable and even to be expected to some degree or other. It is no way bogus a reaction or condition you found yourself suffering. I certainly did not mean to suggest a very real and valid set of reactions was in any way bogus KW. However projecting such a valid condition onto all of those diagnosed, especially self diagnosed as "social anxiety" is what I was getting at. The spreading of the net to the degree where it can become farcical, even demeaning to folks like yourself.
    I am glad that the OP believes that he suffered from "extreme shyness" and a not a mild case of social anxiety disorder.
    +1 and I think we actually agree funny enough :) There is a vast difference. My argument would be that your experience is less common than some are now positing for the range of normal human experience.
    I think shyness has a lot to do with too much ego. Shy people IMO are very identified with their self image so end up not saying much for fear of their self image being invalidated. They think far too much.
    There would be something to that IMH too. Teamshadowclan expands on it more.
    I kind of agree but with a difference; I'm often afraid that by talking, I'll confirm their problems with me are true; its the idea of saying nothing and letting them think you're weird as opposed to speak and proving to them you are. :P
    But yes it comes down to internalising oneself in externalised situations like social interaction. In some(I emphasise some) people it can be quite self centred. It's all about them not the group/community/society.
    I think its moreso to do with the fact that past experiences of rejection/bullying lead a shy person to view other humans as potential threats, hence its a defence mechanism against real or perceived threats.
    Good point and it makes good sense N.
    I hear this phrase "you're thinking too much." I think if anything society, people in general don't think enough. I'm not taking issue with your use of the phrase here, it can be the case that shy people build up a world of imagined scenarios and it would be better to not do this, to act rather than think, but I sense that in mainstream society there is an open hostility towards thinking and introversion, because those qualities of course represent a threat to the consensus/the status quo, perhaps it is imported from American culture which favours extroversion and action. In Asian societies introversion seems to be much more accepted, however there is still a hostility towards independent thinking. I think both of these qualities should be celebrated rather than hated because its through independent thinking and a focus on academic/scientific/artistic disciplines rather than on socialising/conforming that great achievements have been made which have pushed human socities forward.
    Agreed. However...
    Extrovert party animals should be grateful to introverts for having given them facebook where they can socialise away etc.
    Yep. And it's getting worse and worse, I think. Being loud, obnoxious, shallow, unreliable and arrogant makes you a 'social butterfly', while being reserved and thoughtful makes you a weirdo, a snob, standoffish and rude. People these days don't seem to appreciate people who are actually decent, they just want to be entertained, IMO. With a few notable exceptions, the 'popular' people I've met have all been pretty horrible underneath their fake 'look at me, I'm so friendly and bubbly and fun!' facade.
    With respect IMHO these two positions are just as daft as generalisations aimed by extraverts against introverts. You're mirroring those you seek to generalise. Indeed beyond the schoolyard and into adulthood I've heard more self described introverts bitch about who they perceive as extraverts than the other way around. Not unlike the "nice guy" type of man who whines about "bad boys" getting all the girls.

Plus just as many extroverts along that scale have added to all those disciplines. Do you think Picasso was a shrinking violet? Hardly. DaVinci was apparently the life and soul of the party and was mad for theatre nights and entertainments. Raphael was a bloody party animal and Caravaggio? Bleedin hell! :eek: :) Einstein was no wallflower. Religious types like Jesus, Muhammad and Buddha while reflective people were hardly classic introverts. Facebook and Zuckerberg? He's hardly a social wallflower. Was very well known around campus and was plugged into many social groups. Someone like Steve Jobs? Good god no. The very defintion of extravert bordering on phsycopathic. The list of average to extravert individuals that changed the world is a terribly long one. It's not unlike this idea we have of the "tortured artist". Blame Van Gogh for that one. Most great artists in history were jobbing professionals with few skeletons in their mental/emotional cupboard and a helluva lot of them were major extraverts.
    Jaxxy wrote: »
    Fair play to you OP. It's not easy to do what you did and I personally think you're very brave.
    +1000.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Its not shyness with me. I like being with people but too much of it just zaps me. Some people would call it loneliness which assumes that there is a problem but I've just evolved to a place where I prefer the peace of solitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭jammstarr

OP, I'm definitely one of those socially inept people you've described - I often got given out to for not smiling as a child. I wouldn't like to be called a freak however I'd probably be the first to call myself such. Being a miserable bastard probably isn't helping either :D

I'm still socially awkward and have been all my life. Like the OP I was bullied at school and I only had a couple of friends at school. I'd isolate myself as a defence mechanism and only converse with family or the small number of friends I had. I was sometimes given out to by teachers for being too quiet and not helping with questions in class.

Nowadays I'm very comfortable in my own skin. I've lived alone for the past four years and quite like it but can get lonely at times. I've never had a girlfriend but have managed to have some very awkward sexual experiences.

Generally I can speak to someone if they approach me first but I find it really difficult to make the first move. Was at the Gentlemen's Club beers last week and while I did feel out of place at times, everyone was sound. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Having been that shy, awkward, possibly immature person for most of my teens ( thanks to being bullied and having school mates who would rip you to shreds for being another than 'cool' and 'in') I totally sympathise OP.

Today I am still a quiet person, can maybe come across as shy when I first meet people, but it's just who I am and I am not ashamed of it.

Because now that I am in my twenties my confidence has grown more than I could tell you since my teenage years. I have a good job, good friends and a happy family life. I simply happen to be some-one who is comfortable in my own company too.

I wish we could all just let eachother be who we are instead of who society says we should be. We'd all be much happier imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

I think the only problem with me is I cant think of anything to say. I dont feel awkward or nervous around people. I just have absolutely nothing to say, and usually I dont share the same interests with people.
    Its more annoying than anything. Usually just ends up with them talking about something and me responding with "yeah...yeah..yeah..yeah" over and over, not contributing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

cocoshovel wrote: »
    I think the only problem with me is I cant think of anything to say. I dont feel awkward or nervous around people. I just have absolutely nothing to say, and usually I dont share the same interests with people.
    Its more annoying than anything. Usually just ends up with them talking about something and me responding with "yeah...yeah..yeah..yeah" over and over, not contributing.
    I'm quite sure you've a lot more to say and contribute than some beige lower middle management type whose narrow focus of interests are up there with watching paint dry. Grey paint at that.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

oh I suffered with it badly, not going to get into how badly but trust me it was painful. Now I wouldn't call myself shy so much, I'm just a quiet person, I don't like big groups of people, I get on with people better on a one on one basis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'm quite sure you've a lot more to say and contribute than some beige lower middle management type whose narrow focus of interests are up there with watching paint dry. Grey paint at that.

Maybe. Maybe its because Im also terrible and phrasing things correctly. I often think of how to say something for a long time before I actually do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭namelessguy

Mainly this for me too. But it's gotten to the point were I know this will be the case which makes encounters awkward and me nervous.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭paddyandy

Western popular culture is loud and rude and subtlety and modesty have little place because they demand too much attention and patience which people often lack . People want life in garish banner headlines a lot of the time .Modest subtlety is too taxing on people's attention span these days .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Ghandee wrote: »
    Check out the two doctor Phil's, off the beer since Wednesday, up bright and early Saturday ^^

I'm off the beer for lent and I still only went to bed at 7.30 am

I'm the very same(not sharing the same interests with people). I don't follow sports at all so that rules me out of a lot of chat even among some old work pals. Even with strangers if they start talking and say "Ya watching the match?" and I tell them no that's the end of the conversation then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭HUNK

Maybe. Maybe its because Im also terrible and phrasing things correctly. I often think of how to say something for a long time before I actually do.

I'm a bit similar in this respect. I'm not the best at phrasing things either, and sometimes I might become slightly flustered because of it.

It happens to me mainly because my thoughts get a bit rushed. I found just slowing down my speech slightly helps as it calms me a bit, and then I can articulate what I want to say. Oddly people never seem to notice I'm talking slowly at all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,324 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I am terribly shy and have been since the late 1970s, mainly due to bad school bullying that affected my self esteem badly. I have had a few relationships in my life, the first being with my cousin when I was 23 years old, I didnt care I was grateful that she gave me the chance to experience intercourse. But lately Ive not had a girlfriend nor a relationship since 1995 which is a very long, long time. I have some great friends but none of them have been able to help me break my approach anxiety and I am just becoming increasingly desperate and isolated, my age of 47 makes it a seriously ****ed up case. I mean FFS I dont know where to even start. When I learnt how to keep a decent rhythm on the bodhran I thought this would help me meet some nice female trad musicians but it was basically just the same old story. Having left school in 1982 with one O level I was at the time in an all time low, so when I learnt to play traditional music that upped my confidence some more. It probably didnt help that I was unskilled in other areas and unemployed for a long time. By the late 1990s I realised I had a lot to say about music and I took a print journalism (VEC) course when I was living in Galway, then BTWA as a self employed musician. By the noughties I was doing a Fetac course in print journalism which qualified me for third level. Got my BA in journalism at Edinburgh after 4 years in 2010. Now you would think that by then I would have got the confidence to pull a girl I fancied, not so. Guess what, still unemployed, still single and none the wiser. Have done all the things one does, go to the appropriate nightclubs, pubs even push myself to go to one of the Oxegens and 6 of the Electric Picnics, as many parties as one could imagine. Have done the Smooch, Plenty Fish in the Sea on line dating thing and all this stuff and still I am like a complete stranger in a packed pub, none the wiser and still ****ing single. Now Im trying the haircut wearing cooler than scruffier jeans, trying to loose the rock - festival t shirt look and more wearing nice shirts. WHAT THE FCUK DO I DO NOW, HOW DO I BREAK THIS FCUKING ATROCIOUS LONELY SITUATION.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭DevilsBreath

jammstarr wrote: »
    I'm the very same(not sharing the same interests with people). I don't follow sports at all so that rules me out of a lot of chat even among some old work pals. Even with strangers if they start talking and say "Ya watching the match?" and I tell them no that's the end of the conversation then.

Same here. I'd almost start watching it to try come up with something to talk about. Nearly every conversation starts with "so the match".
    I've pretty much given up to be honest. I can only associate with computer nerds and gamers, Ah well.

Just opened up my heart there, will it shatter now into a thousand fragments. Apparently when god made us we had a perfect match to each of us, so maybe he should be put to death again for shattering many good peoples allusions of a perfect life with a perfect lover. Why was social shyness not taught at school, instead of fecking religious education we should have been taught how to talk to and attract girls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

Shyness is hard, but shyness is nice is it an oxymoron that I ask of you to join me in loneliness, tonight.

Same here. I'd almost start watching it to try come up with something to talk about. Nearly every conversation starts with "so the match".
    I've pretty much given up to be honest. I can only associate with computer nerds and gamers, Ah well.

We should hang :D

I know the feeling. Little or no interest in sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭eth0

A mate keeps telling me this but where can I find prostitute in Galway?
    Not sure but if you did find one it wouldnt do you much good. It has to be an unpaid raw passionate upsexing session

eth0 wrote: »
    Not sure but if you did find one it wouldnt do you much good. It has to be an unpaid raw passionate upsexing session

What I was told though is that woman can sense a happy and content man, a hormone that is only released from sexual pleasure that attracts women, I dont know if its the same as masturbating and ejaculating. But even if you pay for it, it still might help to inject some interest. Totally fcuking fed up at this stage really, oh, thank bloody god for the internet otherwise I would be spending a fortune on porn in the sex shops.

Wibbs wrote: »

With respect IMHO these two positions are just as daft as generalisations aimed by extraverts against introverts. You're mirroring those you seek to generalise. Indeed beyond the schoolyard and into adulthood I've heard more self described introverts bitch about who they perceive as extraverts than the other way around. Not unlike the "nice guy" type of man who whines about "bad boys" getting all the girls.

Nope.

Who's making generalisations about all extroverts? Nobody. It's just a personal observation of mine that for some reason, extroverted people are preferred over introverts, even if many of them have none of the qualities we expect to find in a 'nice' person (kindness, loyalty, tact, consideration...). As I said, it's because a lot of people seem to want to be entertained. I work with loads of different people of all age groups and I've noticed that the younger students in particular just completely ignore anyone who isn't an 'in your face' type. I have a lovely 18-year-old student who hasn't made a single friend since he started the course in January, because he's quiet and people just can't be bothered with him. Nobody seems to appreciate the great qualities he has, which I find really sad.

I was pretty reserved and quiet until I hit my twenties and I definitely think people saw it as a defect. I was constantly being told to talk more and asked what was wrong. Society in general just can't seem to accept introverts - being an extrovert is the default and anything else is 'weird', IMO. It's as if some people think you can't possibly be happy and having a good time if you're not constantly talking. I used to have the 'if I have nothing worth saying out loud, I'm happy just to listen' philosophy, but most people just don't get that because they need to verbalise every thought that comes into their heads and can't understand why everyone doesn't do the same.

BTW, I'm certainly not bitter about extroverts. I'm more of an extrovert myself these days and nobody would believe I was ever quiet or shy. But I really do think introverts get a hard time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭LH Pathe

What I was told though is that woman can sense a happy and content man, a hormone that is only released from sexual pleasure that attracts women, I dont know if its the same as masturbating and ejaculating.

and thus gave wind to "all the best ones are taken!" .. It's not the same..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

You've got to stop obsessing and start transgressing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I prefer quiet people. People that are loud and talk all the time get on my nerves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭chirogirl

I would have been the quiet, reserved type during my school years. However, uni changed that for me. My job enables me to work with the public so I consider myself to have good communication skills, to the extent I've been told I'd talk a glass eye to sleep :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Well if you don't drink, don't have interest in football and aren't very good at small insignificant talk, then that's your social life pretty much fecked in this country.

I find it pretty sad how people try to stick to their own kind. I often see it in parties where a group of people talk among themselves while a person sitting next to them is completely left out and ignored just because he is slightly different or has different interests to them. Like I try and make an attempt to talk to everyone if I ever go to a party and try and have a conversation with the people who are quite and left out cuz I personally feel awkward when I see someone being ignored at a social gathering. But this is still the reality that most people will not make any attempt to try to mingle with and involve the slightly more introvert and shy person in their class/group just because they're too comfortable with their own little comfort group and have no problem totally ignoring the outsider person like they don't even exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

Well if you don't drink, don't have interest in football and aren't very good at small insignificant talk, then that's your social life pretty much fecked in this country.

I find it pretty sad how people try to stick to their own kind. I often see it in parties where a group of people talk among themselves while a person sitting next to them is completely left out and ignored just because he is slightly different or has different interests to them. Like I try and make an attempt to talk to everyone if I ever go to a party and try and have a conversation with the people who are quite and left out cuz I personally feel awkward when I see someone being ignored at a social gathering. But this is still the reality that most people will not make any attempt to try to mingle with and involve the slightly more introvert and shy person in their class/group just because they're too comfortable with their own little comfort group and have no problem totally ignoring the outsider person like they don't even exist.

i can't deal with house parties cos i'm always that person. i usually end up sneaking out the front door and heading home. it's not even that i'm weird, i just don't have a clue how to make small talk in those situations.