Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does Ireland need a military/army?

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 deirdreom

Do you all realise that an army guy on peace keeping in the lebonan gets 1200 euro per week! 600 euro if they are here, hanging around and 1200e there!!! and there are 8500 of them in the army....multiply that out!!! Unbelieveable - they dont have the man power to fix pot holes and they have it for a gun with no bullets in it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

deirdreom wrote: »

.....Yep, the whole 8500 go over there all year, every year. Don't let the fact that UN pay the rest of that cash bother ye either.

stupid comment - sarcastic bastard.
    Unless you actually believe that 8500 of them are in the leb! maybe you do.
    Use your smarts! not your comments, that are meaningless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

*headdesk* There are not 8,500 Irish soldiers currently deployed in Lebanon, no. Nor are there ever. That was sarcasm. The UN pays the extra, and as to guns being unloaded, don't know where you got that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Why would they go to the Leb when they are still getting the border allowance even though theres no borders anymore.
    Our army are pampersd, last year they were training in the Curragh but were sent home because it started snowing, they were also sent home from Leb I think because it was going to be too hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Do you realise your "facts" are in fact.. not facts
    You have no clue what you are on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭SdoowSirhc

To guard portlaoise prison from terrorists

The secure large amounts of cash transfers

To prevent any coup attempts

To restore law and order in case it gets out of the gardas control

To assist in humanitarian relief after a natural disaster

I'm sure there are many more reasons, that's just off the top of my head.

What group of people would actually want to be in charge of Ireland?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭SdoowSirhc

OMG!!! Your exclaimation marks makes you an expert in military finance!!!

stupid comment -

Nope.
    sarcastic bastard.-

Yep, amongst other things.

Why would they go to the Leb when they are still getting the border allowance even though theres no borders anymore.
    Our army are pampersd, last year they were training in the Curragh but were sent home because it started snowing, they were also sent home from Leb I think because it was going to be too hot.

I seem to have missed those stories. You wouldn't happen to have a source for them, by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

Nodin wrote: »
    I seem to have missed those stories. You wouldn't happen to have a source for them, by any chance?

he wouldn't have a source because he's full of ****e.
    but the one I heard about them getting free socks is definitely true. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,950 ✭✭✭Milk & Honey

marketty wrote: »
    he wouldn't have a source because he's full of ****e.
    but the one I heard about them getting free socks is definitely true. :pac:

There are no free socks. Uniform socks are issued. Like most items or uniform they have a certain life before they are replaced. They have to be returned when new ones are issued or else paid for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Originally Posted by CarrickMcJoe viewpost.gif
    Our army are pampersd, last year they were training in the Curragh but were sent home because it started snowing, they were also sent home from Leb I think because it was going to be too hot

I do kind of believe that, its Europe's health and safety laws, I am not against this legislation but armies are also subjected to the legislation and why not, it is a place of employment, be it a different environment in peace and wartime. So if you have an exercise and a platoon is in a greater risk of slipping on their bollox breaking bones or injuring backs why not cancel it when the environment is at least a little safer, it is peace time.

I read a story about a Danish and French argument about a tower in some installation in Afghanistan, neither was equipped with the proper clothing and there was no heating, so they abandoned the tower. Also Clarkson wrote about wrote about British army vehicles which still had to pass the NCT equipotent while stationed in Afghanistan.

I like the war is becoming, hopilly soon the soldiers stationed in Afghanistan or any warzone will be able to sue the enemy for deafness or PTSS claims, bankrupting the victors, that would put a stop to wars and make everyone seek a peaceful solution in future conflicts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

stupid comment - sarcastic bastard.
    Unless you actually believe that 8500 of them are in the leb! maybe you do.
    Use your smarts! not your comments, that are meaningless

3 Posts in a little over 4 years? Just as well I suppose going by that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

How much does no bullets cost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

600 euro at home? I ****ing wish I was getting 600 quid a week into my bank account. I work with lads who are currently claiming FIS, I'll have to inform them that in reality they're pulling in the money.

Overseas Allowance isn't paid by the Government, it's paid for by the UN.

Fixing pot holes isn't out job. If you have a problem with pot holes, I'd suggest you contact the Local Authorities.

The only people still getting Border Allowance are those who have been getting it for years upon years, the Government went to court about it and were told they couldn't take it off those troops as it was now considered part of their weekly pay. Any new troops in the past few years who've gone to a border unit don't recieve Border Allowance.

I've trained in the snow. I've been sent into rivers where I've had to break the ice as I moved through it. We're not pampered at all.

As for the Leb story... You're full of ****e. I could just imagine the Irish Batt CO going to the Force Commander of UNIFIL and saying "Sorry Sir but it's getting awfully warm out here so the whole Battalion is gonna pack up and we're heading home. Gimme a shout when it cools down a bit and we'll head home".

So many people talk utter ****e when it comes to the DF. It's unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

There are no free socks. Uniform socks are issued. Like most items or uniform they have a certain life before they are replaced. They have to be returned when new ones are issued or else paid for.

I know that, I was taking the piss out of the other post!
    As for the Leb getting too hot, they've obviously never heard of Chad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭facemelter

bb1234567 wrote: »
    The government is trying to find ways to cut back so why not scrap the army, I'm sure it costs a lot to run and maintain.We dont even have an airforce/submarines/missiles etc so its not like wed even be able to deal with a full on attack from another big country like England,Germany or China almost any country really, we'd be defeated within a day or two maybe less.
    And since the IRA have given up their campaign we now have even less of a reason to retain an army. The only reason we need one is to help out with the UN, but we could pull out our army and maybe pull our weight by supplying the UN with a specialised garda force instead, that way we wouldnt need to maintain barracks around the country and that would be a better use of manpower and resources. I know we already have a problem with unemployment and this wont help, but maybe make the soldiers that didnt make into the specialised garda force for the UN normal gardai, we definitely do need a few more gardai patrolling our streets. That way unemployment wont go down but the government wont have to pay near as much to maintain an army thats of no use to us.

I know its only one small specialised section of the Army but the Eod does more than alot of people know !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

I spent a serious amount of time on the border through the late '70's & '80's and NEVER received a penny border allowance and nor did anyone I knew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

If anything I feel the DF needs more investment. Particularly when it comes to more ships for the Navy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Topper7

Am I not right in saying that the the DF has suffered huge cutbacks before any other department? It is probably one of the most efficient departments especially when you consider it to the Dept of health (more senior managment than employees) or local goverment (where council workers are being sent to 'repair' roads with no tar, stones etc because the council cannot afford the extra expenditure). Granted they may not be able to hold off a major attack but they could at least buy time while waiting for help from other EU forces. And they provide services that any other organisation would struggle to supply to the same standard and at a reasonable cost (Bomb disposal, cash transfer, back up to fire brigade & ambulance service, engineering corp-who build and maintain bridges in different parts of the country). Other vital services from the air corps include marine patrol, S&R, patient/organ tranfare, etc. & the above are examples of services that the DF provide in this country and does not include all the humantarian & protection work they do abroad!

Criticise them all you want but you will be glad they are there if/when you need these men & women...