can i put shoplifters on Youtube?

• 19-02-2012 12:45AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭

The Mrs has a clothing shop in a small town in the country,long story short she copped on she got robbed,i looked back on the CCTV and have them recorded stuffing clothes down their knickers,and they are locals
    Thing is would it come back to haunt me if i put them up on Youtube to embarrass them ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,169 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Leave it to the cops....firstly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭vard

I'd say go for it.

I can't think of any legal ramifications... are the scumbags going to contact the police and complain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭MiseryCat

The Mrs has a clothing shop in a small town in the country,long story short she copped on she got robbed,i looked back on the CCTV and have them recorded stuffing clothes down their knickers,and they are locals
    Thing is would it come back to haunt me if i put them up on Youtube to embarrass them ?

**** that! :eek:Stick it on youtube to embarrass them,The cops won't do anything anyway .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Curva Sud

I think you should,expose the scumbags.

And then send me the link :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I'd not only put them on You tube, but i'd get screens and have it running in a loop all day in the shop (and in the shop window).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

only if there is a sign saying they are being recorded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

Liveleak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Dr. Manhattan

Yes, please do show us all how easy it is to steal from your Mrs, for which the only penalty we will suffer is public exposure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭buyer95

In a word " Yes ." Its quite likely a load of board yobs will tell you no, but I have yet to see anybody in Ireland prosecuted for uploading a video to youtube, the worst thing that will happen is that it will get remove

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I'd go with McStuffin's suggestion - if you have irrefutable proof that they are scumbag thieves, use it whatever way possible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

People may be incorrectly identified which would be grossly unfair on them and lead to hassle for you, possibly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

Best of all. if they are fit, you might get a few quid from all the views you get, what with knickers being visible and all that. I'd go for it, could be a profitable sideline. Unless they are munters, then, meh, yesterdays news. Anything goes on tinterned, just don't say they bunked it out of a taxi without paying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Go for it. They had no respect in doing what they did so show them up for the scum they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭MiseryCat

KKkitty wrote: »
    Go for it. They had no respect in doing what they did so show them up for the scum they are.

:DI So Agree with this,I do Indeed:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I do not give you permission to post video footage of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I do not give you permission to post video footage of me.

I don't think anyone gave the scumbags any permission to steal stuff, so how come "permission" is a one-way issue ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    I don't think anyone gave the scumbags any permission to steal stuff, so how come "permission" is a one-way issue ?

Shoplifting is a victimless crime, like punching someone in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

don't put them on YouTube

Deal with it yourself, that's a sly thing to do

Sure look at that crap with that guy that was meant to have legged it on a taxi and he wasn't in the country at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

MiseryCat wrote: »
    KKkitty wrote: »

:DI So Agree with this,I do Indeed:D
    Hope the cctv has a perfect picture so they can be seen clearly too so there's no mistaking who they are. It's a bad dog that will sh1t on their own doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

Don't bother. This is the kind of uncharted territory that could end up landing you in a bit of trouble. You won't get locked up but is it even worth risking the Gardai knocking on your door and giving you a bollocking?

If you crossed the line, and again you're treading a thin line here so mightn't even realise what crossing it is, you could end up done for interfering with the course of justice and so on.

Not to mention have lads target your wife's shop as revenge...that's if your plan succeeds and these go viral!

Plus, at the very least, you'll just advertise techniques people can use to successfully shoplift making life difficult for traders like your wife. Thieves would love to knick ideas from other thieves.

As a retail security guard by day, I know the feeling of wanting revenge and to embarrass the scumbags, but don't do it this way trust me.

madma wrote: »
    don't put them on YouTube

Deal with it yourself, that's a sly thing to do

Sure look at that crap with that guy that was meant to have legged it on a taxi and he wasn't in the country at the time

Lol!

Yeah, you shouldn't be sly towards these people who stuffed your belongings into their knickers. Be up front with them and ask them to confess their sins to the local parish priest!

leggo wrote: »
    Don't bother. This is the kind of uncharted territory that could end up landing you in a bit of trouble. You won't get locked up but is it even worth risking the Gardai knocking on your door and giving you a bollocking?

I can't imagine they would be breaking any laws. If there are signs saying you're being monitored, what's the problem?

In almost every Spar I go into, there's a monitor showing live feed of the security camera as you walk in, If that's allowed, I can't imagine why showing a tape of your own CCTV footage would be. As long as you didn't personally name the people in the video!

The last thing the offender is gonna come in and do is say "Hey, I don't want you showing my image in that video anymore........... that's not me by the way!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭leggo

MrStuffins wrote: »
    [I can't imagine they would be breaking any laws. If there are signs saying you're being monitored, what's the problem?

In almost every Spar I go into, there's a monitor showing live feed of the security camera as you walk in, If that's allowed, I can't imagine why showing a tape of your own CCTV footage would be. As long as you didn't personally name the people in the video!

The last thing the offender is gonna come in and do is say "Hey, I don't want you showing my image in that video anymore........... that's not me by the way!"

No but they will steal more stuff out of spite and deliberately target the shop, along with their mates.

The problem is that so many people regard law with a "well if that is legal, then this MUST be legal" attitude. That assumes that there is decent logic to Irish law, which there simply isn't a lot of the time!

I know of security firms that have gotten in serious trouble for sharing CCTV among themselves in private, that's illegal in itself, so broadcasting it online definitely is. And we are seeing more and more these days how the law is cracking down on online activity that it previously wouldn't have bothered with.

Like I said, it's asking for trouble and there are so many possible pitfalls from different avenues. Every day I hear people having ideas of how to find loopholes to 'get' thieves that just don't stand up to tough scrutiny. These kind of ideas are best just saying "aw I'd love to do this..." in the pub then doing it the right way instead, trust me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LostCorkGuy

I would think that you could be sued for libel as you're accusing people of being theives even though they havent been brought to court yet , so I'd advise against it

leggo wrote: »
    No but they will steal more stuff out of spite and deliberately target the shop, along with their mates.

Lol! Sorry man but this is an incredibly wild presumption!
    The problem is that so many people regard law with a "well if that is legal, then this MUST be legal" attitude. That assumes that there is decent logic to Irish law, which there simply isn't a lot of the time!

Well i've no reason to believe it is actually illegal to show your own CCTV footage inside your own store so...........
    I know of security firms that have gotten in serious trouble for sharing CCTV among themselves in private, that's illegal in itself, so broadcasting it online definitely is. And we are seeing more and more these days how the law is cracking down on online activity that it previously wouldn't have bothered with.

What if you own the footage? I mean, if I hold up my iPhone and catch these dudes doing what they're doing, no big deal. But if it's on CCTV then it's illegal? I get where you're coming from but still!
    Like I said, it's asking for trouble and there are so many possible pitfalls from different avenues. Every day I hear people having ideas of how to find loopholes to 'get' thieves that just don't stand up to tough scrutiny. These kind of ideas are best just saying "aw I'd love to do this..." in the pub then doing it the right way instead, trust me.

Well, "the right way" is following the legal processes of Irish Law, which you have already said holds no logic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭colly10

I would think that you could be sued for libel as you're accusing people of being theives even though they havent been brought to court yet , so I'd advise against it

He's not accusing them, he's just posting some footage of something that happened in the shop and it's up to the public to decide what they were doing.
    If you post it up feel free to send on the link

How exactly would showing CCTV on You Tube consist of libel? Nobody has accused anyone in this scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Exactly what I came in to post. Well, one that worked, anyway.