What things do you do unknownst to yourself that make you feel old?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

link_2007 wrote: »
    There were two girls on the luas beside me this morning having a chat in faux American accents.

"Like,... Oh my god, I just sooooo can't believe she, like, said that to you".

"I know like.... Does she not realise how, like, stressful it is to, you know, tag EVERYBODY in every picture on Facebook"

"I know right? It's just so, oh my god, so stressful to have to do that. She thinks she's like so, 'girl next door' but she soooooo isn't".

"I know right? She is such a bitch. Do you want to go and grab a coffee or, you know something else when we get off?"

I found myself wishing for simpler times when your only worry on the way to school on a Friday morning was if you'd get homework for the weekend and that you'd hopefully a bit of a shift after school.

School chat these days sounds so complicated.

Ooh. Little miss goody-two-shoes.:pac:

The main worry was that you didn't have Thursday's stuff done.:):D

kfallon wrote: »
    Say "I dunno" in that ould lad way when someone recounts a tale of woe performed by some young hoodlums!

Hoodlums is a great word! ...Hoodlums

Honestly, I'm not drunk.

Luxie wrote: »
    Yeah, I've taken to saying 'Mother of God' a lot.

I'll get worried when I move onto 'Jesus, Mary & Joseph'.

Pfft. Amateur.

You need a child to walk out into a road with traffic coming from both sides.

"God between us and all harm"

"Oh! For the love of Mary"

and, my own personal favourite,

"In the name of Jesus, Allah, and all that's holy.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Making a loud fart finishing up a piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I find myself needing to get up to pee in the middle of the night now. Must be 23 going on 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭LambsEye

Being genuinely baffled at the "get up," (i.e. hairstyles and clothing,) of youths, to the point that I have to squintilly stare at them in the hope that the meaning will reveal itself.

Sighing heavily when boisterous young men do or say anything.

Saying, quite often "Arrah shur, what harm?"

Looking up old RTE ads

Being unable to communicate with anyone who says "I LITERALLY couldn't do it..etc," without saying "Oh so could you FIGURATIVELY do it?"....then feeling really snobby.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Stupid thread. Age is but a state of mind, it really annoys me when people go on about age. I don't really feel any different to when I was a teenager.

Good man. You're getting there. What else annoys you? :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Telling the kids "ah thats not a new song,that was out yeeears ago when I was going to .....DISCO's"

Saying "MTV me bollix, I remember when the M stood for music!"

Wondering if it's still ok to wear jeans n trainers or should I be wearing slacks n shoes?!

Picking things up in the supermarket and saying "jaysus thats not bad for that price" ....then putting them back!

Increased levels of moaning & grumpiness,impatience and intolerance,everything seems to pose a problem these days

Listening to BBC Radio 4 ....... and knowing whats coming on next! (shipping forecast anyone?) :o

Everything becoming more of a routine than spontaneous or random.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

EarlERizer wrote: »

Picking things up in the supermarket and saying "jaysus thats not bad for that price" ....then putting them back!

Guilty of that meself. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭LambsEye

Guilty of that meself. :D

Those yellow price tags and "reduced" sections in Tesco are the making of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭cycocycle

I,ve started to notice some albums that "might not be too bad" for a fiver in Tesco. Im building an impressive resume of ailments to discuss with others in an effort to get one up on them. I listen to Newstalk because there is no danger that I will have to endure any of the vanilla flavoured muck the skinny jeaned youth call music. (Dont get me started on my opinions of the youth and music of today.:rolleyes: Im still incensed that Robbie Williams headlined Slane. I mean,ROBBIE WILLIAMS. In the same breath as Bowie,Dylan,Springsteen and Young!) I refuse to answer texts which consist of the slightest hint of textspeak. Im 37 going on 67. :D

(And then to add insult to injury they also had Stereophonics and Kings of Leon! I can feel an extended "anti hipster" rant coming on,time for some cocoa and an early night!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Giving out about annoying of 15-year-olds on the Luas/at gigs/online, etc.
    "For fecks sake, we weren't as bad as them at that age! We never talked like that!"

(I'm 20.... :o)