Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What things do you do unknownst to yourself that make you feel old?

• 10-02-2012 4:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

For me:

1) Nip up my pants (about mid-thigh) before I sit down, so the knees won't go out of them.

2) Tap the head of my cigarette (Major obviously) on the box before I light it.

3) Put my hand on my knee, and point my elbow out perpindicularly (All-Ireland position.:o), whenever I'm discussing something serious.

So AHers, any others?

Love when a trendy,hipster, Diesel-clad wimminz takes a tissue out of her sleeve.:pac:

Choco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Make that "ah jaysus" effort sound when I go to stand up. Same sound on last two steps of stairs.

Don't trust me farts.

I'm only 28 haha. I'm an old 28 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Reading the paper on the jacks.

Blaming the youth for all the problems of the world.

Blaming foreigners.

Sitting quietly, for enjoyment, it's pleasurable (apparently).

Dying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭SheFiend

Tolerate large volumes of alcohol :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

seanybiker wrote: »
    Make that "ah jaysus" effort sound when I go to stand up. Same sound on last two steps of stairs.

Don't trust me farts.

I'm only 28 haha. I'm an old 28 though.

Genuinely LMFAO.:pac:

Sindri wrote: »
    Reading the paper on the jacks.

Blaming the youth for all the problems of the world.

Blaming foreigners.

Sitting quietly, for enjoyment, it's pleasurable (apparently).

Dying.
    Do you die often?

The jacks is the best place to read the paper. I go there to read the paper and might not even fart in the 30-45 minutes I'm there for. That's how I roll.

Do you die often?

The jacks is the best place to read the paper. I go there to read the paper and might not even fart in the 30-45 minutes I'm there for. That's how I roll.

You'd want to get that looked at, that's a serious problem.

I'm not at the age for people to be poking me arse yet. Oh Jesus I don't wanna get old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Queue up to collect my pension. Regret the loss of my youth. Eat werthers original. I'm 24.

I'm not at the age for people to be poking me arse yet. Oh Jesus I don't wanna get old.

You're never to old for a bit of anal jabbing.;)

That wink on the end of your post has left me wordless. I dunno what to say. :s

Say whatever feels right. :)My sweet :pac:

So........ Lovely weather. :)

I don't know if your male or female. Even though I don't think it really matters cos nobody making me a finger puppet haha

Queue up to collect my pension. Regret the loss of my youth. Eat werthers original. I'm 24.

There's nowt wrong with Werther's Original young man. Many's the day I fed a family of four on one wrapper, aye, and we were glad to have it.

That's after walking 14humdered miles with nothing on your feet but the dirt from the milking parlour. God be with the days. Young people these days have it so easy.
    Sure didn't I go to castrate the bull when I was 4 and he kicked me bollox off, left him keep his. Can't be two unics walking the fields.

Calling KFallon...Calling KFallon....Come in KFallon.

This is KFallon do you read me DannyBoy? I repeat, do you read me DannyBoy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

I noticed recently that when i take out my phone to look at it, i pull it away from me a little more AND kind of look down my nose a little at it. Like a granddad.....oh dear..

shedweller wrote: »
    I noticed recently that when i take out my phone to look at it, i pull it away from me a little more AND kind of look down my nose a little at it. Like a granddad.....oh dear..
    Hahaha I do that the odd time.
    I mainly do it with the paper but I also shake the paper to get it into "standing" mode so I can read it properly.

I also noticed I'm starting to know more people in the death pages than in the court pages. Wtf like. I'm gonna have nobody to call if a group of Indians decide to attack my house and make my leg into the bottom of a totem pole :(

I also feel bad if a new user comes in here and gets slagged. Damn you empathy damn you to hell

Hahaha I do that the odd time.
    I mainly do it with the paper but I also shake the paper to get it into "standing" mode so I can read it properly.

I also noticed I'm starting to know more people in the death pages than in the court pages. Wtf like. I'm gonna have nobody to call if a group of Indians decide to attack my house and make my leg into the bottom of a totem pole :(

I also feel bad if a new user comes in here and gets slagged. Damn you empathy damn you to hell

Yup. Got called a pinko-liberal-black-loving-white-hating anti-establishment tree-hugging gaylord recently, just for wishing a (noobie) polite young lad well.

Sentiments of good will expressed towards a young'un?:eek:

You sir are worse than Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Exactly Sindri, they should be hit with a yard stick and courted by christian brothers like we were as kids. God be with the days when you used be able to do proper damage to a lad on the hurling pitch, now they're all gays with helmets. They need to bring back corporal punishment in my opinion. Ireland just isn't the same since the emergency.

ah sure we all started off in life knowing the ins and outs of everything. I started walking and never bothered with crawling. Pfft feck that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Shake my head and tut tut to myself as I walk in the local town and see the footpath jammed outside the local school.
    God forbid little Johnny and Mary should have to walk a little to get to school. These parents would drive into the classroom if they could

Why in my day we walked to primary school in all weathers. Ask the parents for a lift as it was raining and you'll get a sharp remark for your cheek.
    Walked two miles to school every day, uphill both ways

Oh and in before setting aside a stick for mixing paint with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Mom said I've started making 'old man noises' when I sit down/get up.

I'm 18 :(

brummytom wrote: »
    Mom said I've started making 'old man noises' when I sit down/get up.

I'm 18 :(
    that's yer smegma rubbing off your legs bud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

My sleep pattern is 'old'.

I can't sleep past nine on a day off. Even if I head out, get hammered and don't get to sleep to six or seven, I'm up by one or two. I just can't sleep as long as you used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

I suppose it's kind of a good thing that I can't think of anything...
    I occasionally watch the news....

You watch the weather report
    And your first comment to the taximan is grand weather, not so bad, not so bad

You remember a time when the taximan didn't queue for you, you queued for the taximan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

When you say to yourself:

'What the hell is that youngfella doing in a Garda uniform?... '

I just can't sleep as long as you used to.

how do you know how long i used to sleep??:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

I sit in front of the telly and moan about every programme and every gob****e thats on it. Have the wife driven mad at this stage with my ranting about talent shows, reality shows, soaps, ads and don,t get me started on the shows that are about Jordan, Katona and that cack about shows where the spanners are supposed to be living real lives (Essex,Geordie,Tallifornia etc). Jesus my blood boiling now and i havent even gone to work yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

bluewolf wrote: »
    how do you know how long i used to sleep??:eek:
    On a day when I had nothing to do, 8-10 hours.

...? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

There were two girls on the luas beside me this morning having a chat in faux American accents.

"Like,... Oh my god, I just sooooo can't believe she, like, said that to you".

"I know like.... Does she not realise how, like, stressful it is to, you know, tag EVERYBODY in every picture on Facebook"

"I know right? It's just so, oh my god, so stressful to have to do that. She thinks she's like so, 'girl next door' but she soooooo isn't".

"I know right? She is such a bitch. Do you want to go and grab a coffee or, you know something else when we get off?"

I found myself wishing for simpler times when your only worry on the way to school on a Friday morning was if you'd get homework for the weekend and that you'd hopefully a bit of a shift after school.

School chat these days sounds so complicated.

When the mammy rings you on a Sunday evening for a chat
    And you've already gone to bed

You call everyone love.
    The women behind the checkout you say "and a bag please love" "ah thanks love"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Recently found myself exclaiming "ahfordeluvvinhonourajaysis" in moments of exasperation. Called some kid a bowsie in an non ironic manner. Watched the 9 o'clock news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

When you say to yourself:

'What the hell is that youngfella doing in a Garda uniform?... '

Watched the ould prime ministers on sky news questions there a while back and thought "jesus, when did the front benches get so young" god be with the days of tebbit, hattersley, hurd et al. Bitter ould bollixes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Say "I dunno" in that ould lad way when someone recounts a tale of woe performed by some young hoodlums!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

nobody making me a finger puppet haha

Talk to kfallon, he'll sort you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

Bambi wrote: »
    Recently found myself exclaiming "ahfordeluvvinhonourajaysis" in moments of exasperation. Called some kid a bowsie in an non ironic manner. Watched the 9 o'clock news.
    Yeah, I've taken to saying 'Mother of God' a lot.

I'll get worried when I move onto 'Jesus, Mary & Joseph'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Adding "when I was your age" to a conversation.

Complaining about the crap music of today.

Listening to BBC Radio 2.

Complain about fast drivers.

Watching what I eat.

Watching what I drink.

Wearing glasses for reading.

Generally just complaining and watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Was genuinely thinking of buying Bovril the other day to make before I go to bed :(

A couple of nights last week I would have loved a hot water bottle too.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Moaning about the music my teenage daughter listens to. I don't mean to sound like a fuddy duddy, but the chart music in the 80's was so much better (so I keep telling her).

This also applies to the music videos she watches. I find myself tut-tutting about the scantily clad likes of Rihanna and Lady GaGa, forgetting of course that I was a huge fan of Madonna back when I was her age :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭wrmwit

I listen to the wireless and read the broadsheets while eating my oven cooked porridge! I'm only 30!

Young ones today bitching about computer games

I remember SNES games costing fifty punts, not far off seventy euro.
    A lot of money at the time

And you, yes you complaining about loading times on your playstation?
    I remember tapes on the Commodore and it took ten minutes or so to load a game

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Stupid thread. Age is but a state of mind, it really annoys me when people go on about age. I don't really feel any different to when I was a teenager.

That's after walking 14humdered miles with nothing on your feet but the dirt from the milking parlour. God be with the days. Young people these days have it so easy.
    Sure didn't I go to castrate the bull when I was 4 and he kicked me bollox off, left him keep his. Can't be two unics walking the fields.

Aye, what we wouldn't have given to be terrorised by a bull!

We had to hide behind mushroom, and god knew whether it were poisonous or not.

We had to send someone out to lick it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I say Aye and T'is a lot and have recently taken to walking with an invisible zimmer frame every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

When i piss myself in public:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭shantolog

John Doe1 wrote: »
    When i piss myself in public:)

Sure I've been doin that since I was a baby:D

Seeing my niece's friend at a nightclub...man that was awkward the next morning...