Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to go primal (without really trying) - join me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭noworries

What do you all usual have for lunch in work?

This is usually where I fall down when doing low carb

Mixed salad leaves, half tin of tuna or salmon, cucumber, pepper, red onion and an avocado - maybe an olive oil based dressing if the avocado is not at its ripest mushiness. Toasted nuts and seeds for topping. Takes nearly 20 minutes to eat as there is so much and it is delicious.

This is currently my favourite thread on boards, thanks all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭Dotcomdolly

I'm a stay at home mum gummy panda so not much helps as I have taken to having a cooked lunch - most often, spinach, mushroom, tomatoes & fried egg (+bacon sometimes)
    Your salad sounds lovely noworries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭LoTwan

I just lost a post on my phone. :-(

I have last nights dinner for lunch. I have a microwave/plates/cutlery in work 2 days a week & am at home the rest of the week so the food doesn't have to be cold.

I just checked my freezer & I have enough cooked protein for 7 dinners... Cheap grocery week in the Twan house this week. YAY!

I cant wait for my dehydrator to arrive. I am sure there are a million websites that i can trawl for ideas now :-) I just keep thinking of when Tesco have peppers or tomatoes on special that I can buy and dry :-)

My health food shop didn't get any coconut in yesterday so I checked in Nourish in Omni & they have 2 x 250g bags. I got them to put it to one side for my mother and she is bringing it down tomorrow. I am getting withdrawals from it :-). So for future reference Nourish stock unsweetened coconut chips.

DCD... you said something recently along the lines of "if you are going to break paleo don't do it with wheat cause it takes weeks to get over it". I can testify to that fact. My head is clear and my emotions have settled right down but man alive my guts aren't happy :-(

I'm going to make a rogan josh with the lamb for dinner. Thankfully my kids like spicy food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭Doolee

What do you all usual have for lunch in work?

This is usually where I fall down when doing low carb

I always cook a double din dins and have that, or the salad/tin of salmon thing too. Always end up eating half my lunch on my morning break too, as im usually starving especially if ive been in the gym before work. Breakfast is beginning to bore me a bit though. Eggs/salmon/veg are great but have been having 10-12 a week since trying paleo and dont want to turn intolerant as they've been a staple for the last few years.
    I'm a bit afraid of overdoing my omega 6 intake too as nuts are flipping amazing and have been using them as nibbles a bit much too.
    What do ye suggest for a take to gym/work breakfast that doesn't involve bacon/eggs and another left over dinner.....or is it a stupid question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,362 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Aldi have 400ml cans of pure Coconut milk if anybody doesn't realize, for under a euro each

Fantastic source of Saturated fats, Usually I have 200mls in the morning mixed with about 40 - 50 grams of linseed, Gojiberry ground mix( Aldi again, Gluten and wheat free, bout 2.50 for 250g), another fantastic source of omegas. mix them both together and it creates a lovely yogurty texture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Redisle

How is the Coconut milk packaged? The usual tin? I would be quite wary about BPA exposure. I am generally trying to stay away from tinned goods as much as possible. A recent study of plastics has shown that even if things are certified BPA free they can still leach EA (estrogenically active) compounds which can mess up the endocrine system among other things. There is specific mention here of cocnut milk as a particular risk due to its fatty nature.

Not to be a downer on your bargain or anything but it just may not be a great idea to consume the stuff every day! I do have a tin myself at home that I am meaning to try.

I also ordered a stainless steel water bottle yesterday to get away from all that plastic..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,362 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Normal tin,

tbh i'd say any transfer contamination would be negligible, at the end of the scale your really pushing 99.999% primal if thats your concern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

Is coconut milk any good for blending with veg to make a smoothie-type effort? Would be a great way to up the veg and fats without much effort... though I'm wondering if it would taste terrible. Any tried it?

I'm having yummy paleo hot chocolate right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I think I'll give paleo/primal a go tomorrow. I just need to make sure I plan my meals for the week

Aldi have 400ml cans of pure Coconut milk if anybody doesn't realize, for under a euro each

Fantastic source of Saturated fats, Usually I have 200mls in the morning mixed with about 40 - 50 grams of linseed, Gojiberry ground mix( Aldi again, Gluten and wheat free, bout 2.50 for 250g), another fantastic source of omegas. mix them both together and it creates a lovely yogurty texture.

I still havnt gotten onto the whole coconut milk thing yet, just sounds too good to be true...just...need...more...time. Maybe it's like girls who think they'll get all muscly and bulky if they lift weights type thing...if I have coconut milk a few times a week I'll get fat!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Animord

Susie_Q wrote: »
    Is coconut milk any good for blending with veg to make a smoothie-type effort? Would be a great way to up the veg and fats without much effort... though I'm wondering if it would taste terrible. Any tried it?

Coconut milk makes a magnificent smoothie - I used to do it regularly, but you are taking in quite a lot of calories and I found that I prefer to eat my calories than drink them - but coconut milk with a few vegetables, and a couple of eggs thrown in and whizzed makes a great breakfast on the run.

So, I tried the bulletproof coffee this morning - it tastes fine but I did have what you might call quite a cleansing experience - so I won't be doing that again - its good, but not that good!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Redisle

Animord wrote: »
    So, I tried the bulletproof coffee this morning - it tastes fine but I did have what you might call quite a cleansing experience - so I won't be doing that again - its good, but not that good!:o

There is a large % of MCT oil in coconut oil which can have that effect on people. Especially if you aren't used to digesting a lot of fat. I was eating Primal so lots of Bacon/Eggs for breakfast for a few weeks before attempting this.. probably not a great idea for anyone to do this coming straight off a carb-heavy diet.

Personally I think it's going to be a regular thing for me.. I had 2 cups this morning and was extremely alert all day again. Although I was particularly hungry today for some reason so I also included bacon and eggs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭tinner777

I did the coffee as well. Took it at 8:30 wasn't hungry til 4pm. Stomach was fine but have been primal for a while. It made a change from primal banana cake

I just made these without almond meal (forgot it):

Going to be great as pre workout meal

They look good gummy panda! I might try them myself, but omit the honey.

Very hard to eat a large amount due to so much fat but very filling.

Redisle wrote: »
    There is a large % of MCT oil in coconut oil which can have that effect on people. Especially if you aren't used to digesting a lot of fat. I was eating Primal so lots of Bacon/Eggs for breakfast for a few weeks before attempting this.. probably not a great idea for anyone to do this coming straight off a carb-heavy diet.

Personally I think it's going to be a regular thing for me.. I had 2 cups this morning and was extremely alert all day again. Although I was particularly hungry today for some reason so I also included bacon and eggs.

Yeah, I am actually pretty primal - I gave up wheat and sugar (mostly) a few years ago without knowing that I was being primal if you see what I mean - and I have never eaten 'spreads' and very little processed food - quite possibly the 'cleansing' could have been due to the glasses of red wine I had the night before :o - that can do it to me too.

It was good, but as I say, I think I will stick with eating my calories - also I lead a fairly sedentary lifestyle - stuck behind a desk all day so I really don't need a huge amount of food/calories/fats - I can keep going most days fairly happily until about midday just on black coffee and water. I tend to have one very strong coffee first thing which kick-starts my day and then drink it weaker and weaker as the day goes on. If I am starving and have no time I will whizz some spinach, avocado, coconut milk with a couple of eggs and drink that - it keeps me going for hours.

It was certainly interesting to try though.

The Rogan josh was fantastic! The kids ate it and the tall boy came back looking for more.

I am tempted to make a scaled down version of the energy bars and cut them into bite size bits for the tall boy to take to school. Do I need to transcribe the recipe or is it on a website somewhere?

LoTwan wrote: »
    The Rogan josh was fantastic! The kids ate it and the tall boy came back looking for more.

I am tempted to make a scaled down version of the energy bars and cut them into bite size bits for the tall boy to take to school. Do I need to transcribe the recipe or is it on a website somewhere?

I could find it on their site. So you would have to write it down while watching

Tummy feels a bit dodgey. I don't think it's use to so much fat

Well afterabout 4 weeks doin a sort of paleo type thing...not by the book but totally grain free I've gained 2.5lbs of muscle (and lost 1lb of fat which I wanted to keep to be honest!) and did an easyish 70kg x 3 deadlift (pb of 72.5 but happier doing less with better form:) so...might keep goin with this craic for a bit longer:)))

Doolee wrote: »
    Well afterabout 4 weeks doin a sort of paleo type thing...not by the book but totally grain free I've gained 2.5lbs of muscle (and lost 1lb of fat which I wanted to keep to be honest!) and did an easyish 70kg x 3 deadlift (pb of 72.5 but happier doing less with better form:) so...might keep goin with this craic for a bit longer:)))

wtg Doolee, you'll be leg pressing 160kg in no time ;)

Oh what an evening:rolleyes:Went to my nephews party at 6.30 - the food was pizza, chips, wedges, garlic bread.
    Followed by birthday cake (chocolate fudge), brownies, pavlova, choc biscuit cake, mars rice crispie cake, fairy cakes. All homemade.
    There was *nothing* I could/would eat. Luckily I ate some leftover veg & a fried egg before I left ours so I wasn't too starving.

Oh what an evening:rolleyes:Went to my nephews party at 6.30 - the food was pizza, chips, wedges, garlic bread.
    Followed by birthday cake (chocolate fudge), brownies, pavlova, choc biscuit cake, mars rice crispie cake, fairy cakes. All homemade.
    There was *nothing* I could/would eat. Luckily I ate some leftover veg & a fried egg before I left ours so I wasn't too starving.

Oh Jesus...again....you are amazing! And probably more so because of the constant "what will you have" you probably had to contend with!
    Fair play:)

Doolee wrote: »
    Oh Jesus...again....you are amazing! And probably more so because of the constant "what will you have" you probably had to contend with!
    Fair play:)

Oh yes there was plenty of that :rolleyes:
    I had the same mindset when I gave up smoking - If I have that I will feel sick. It works for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭lmmoonbeam1976

No one needs a recipe for an omelette, do they?

it wasnt necessarily the recipe for the omelette and do you have a problem with someone asking for it

differnt people cook their ommelettes different and there is no harm in trying other people methods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭thehamo

Was gonna get some of those kale crisps today. Until insaw the price 6.50!!!! My fekin a*se!

thehamo wrote: »
    Was gonna get some of those kale crisps today. Until insaw the price 6.50!!!! My fekin a*se!

:eek: my bag was bad enough at 2.45! Was it a large bag?