Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go to the pub by yourself?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭twirlagig

I have often done it, but it depends on the pub I think. I have a great local here, usually go after work on a Saturday evening for a couple with the gang from work. But I've often gone in on my own if the others couldn't make it.
    I kinda know the staff, and a good few of the regulars, not as friends now mind.
    A great mix goes in there, anything from 20's to people in their 70's....
    Used to love going in when X Factor was on, the aul lads would be giving out about the acts, the comments were only mighty! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

memind wrote: »
    Pub on your own???? not sure as I've never done it! Why would you go alone anyway????:confused:

Try it and see?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 jano6

I generally enjoy going to the pub with friends but cant for the life of me imagine going alone. Hubby would go alone the odd time, generally to watch a match.
    Whats the best that could happen, get stuck small talking to some old fella!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

Well this is something I would never have done... however as someone who made no new years resolutions this is going to my thing to try in 2012.

Come the summer I'm going to take a trip some Sat or Sun afternoon. Not sure why I feel it has to be the summer... maybe cos I'm on an economy buzz at the moment!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

jano6 wrote: »
    I generally enjoy going to the pub with friends but cant for the life of me imagine going alone. Hubby would go alone the odd time, generally to watch a match.

Try it and see?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 MsLaura

What's the problem here? A guy will chat to you anyway so you never have to be alone as a girl in a pub I find in Dublin anyway. Actually depends when your talking, if it's early in the day then I wouldn't because I'd feel like a loner. But I've have no problem doing it at night or anytime on the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Raditub

MsLaura wrote: »
    What's the problem here? A guy will chat to you anyway so you never have to be alone as a girl in a pub I find in Dublin anyway. Actually depends when your talking, if it's early in the day then I wouldn't because I'd feel like a loner. But I've have no problem doing it at night or anytime on the weekend

Exactly!! Whats the harm! dont do it all the time...but it can be lots of fun actually! ;)

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Its funny because I thought before you never really see women in the pub where I'm from. Only maybe the odd older couple, and a few on a Saturday. Certainly younger women I never see in a pub unless its for a hour before a nightclub on a Saturday.

Maybe it's different in Dublin etc I don't know. I suppose pubs seem to be viewed as more mens places, but really I think if more women went to the pub even on their own they would enjoy it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

jano6 wrote: »

And what's wrong with that, or do you only speak with people from a particular age group or demograph?
    In the pub I drink in alone regularly, I've made friends there who are from all kinds of backgrounds - gay, black, spinsters who run knitting clubs, etc.
    You'll find that most people are interesting in one way or another!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭BaileyPants

I would & have something to eat perhaps or bring a book, but the other half wouldn't like it ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,189 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Yeah I did it yesterday. I was hungry and bored so went to the pub for food. Dunno anybody where I'm living at the moment so have no choice to go on my own but it doesn't bother me too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

I was off work on Thursday and had work to do for an essay. The internet at home is too much of a temptation for me so I packed up all and headed to the pub for 2 hours. It was great- I got a big sunny table, spread out all my stuff, had lunch and a pint of cider and got lots of notes made! It's been too long since I've done that- I'll definitely be going back for lunch with a book the next day I'm off midweek. It felt like a treat, weirdly enough. My only problem is what to do when I needed to go to the toilet- I packed up again and brought my bag with me but had there been people sitting any nearer I would have asked them to keep an eye on my books. Do it- it's great (I wasn't the only one there on my own either btw)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭fallen01angel

2 years ago I'd have balked at the idea of going into a pub in my ownsome:eek::eek:....then a gig I really wanted to go to was announced in Dublin,none of my friends could make it so I booked the hotel jumped on the train and off I went-had a few drinks(ok I maybe a teeny bit self conscious having the 1st drink:o),later a meal on my own and headed down to the 02 to enjoy the gig,it was so refreshing.....met loads of great people,plenty of craic and it was great not having to worry about anyone elses enjoyment except my own.Now I have no hesitation about eating out,going for a glass of wine on my own,it really is total me time-I love it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭Missmiddleton

I would imagine the only thing about women sitting in bars alone is men might assume they're there on the pull. Not great if you genuinely just want to have a few quiet ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭_petulia_

careymary wrote: »
    Hi

I know lots of male friends who would happily go to the pub on their own for a few drinks if the urge took them, in fact some go quite regularly sometimes with the paper other times they just get chatting to someone there.

But I dont know any women who would do that, alot say they dont want to look like a loner/alco/desperate

So I was thinking what would I think if i saw a woman on her own having a few drinks and I amnt sure to be honest.

Curiosity got the better of me so last sat afternoon I went to a pub with a book and had a few drinks
    In all honesty I enjoyed it, I got a few funny looks from other women but none from men, in fact the only problem I had was having to bring everything to the loo with me when I needed to go!

Thing is I still amnt sure did I strike a blow for feminism or alcoholism???

I would be interested to hear what others think

I wouldn't go to the pub by myself.

It's not that I would care what anyone there could think of me drinking alone. It's more that, for me, the pub is a social place that I like to go to with friends, I like to have a conversation while having a drink otherwise I don't see there being much point.

So I guess I'm on the fence, I don't think it makes you look like an alcoholic but I don't think it's exactly a sign of feminism either.

Just a little unusual imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

It can be really lovely to sit with a book or newspaper and a glass of wine and watch the world go by. I find it very relaxing and freeing. Relaxing because I don't have to suit anyone but myself and freeing because once you get over the original fear of looking like billy no mates, you realise that you can do it no probs :)

Funnily enough I think that it does strike a blow for feminism (though thats not the reason I do it, but even if it was, what harm? we have to stop thinking of feminism as a bad word, anyway I digress)

Its about time that a woman should be able to sit in a bar by herself and not be judged for it in the way that a man wouldn't be judged, or have people think (like my really enlightened ex) that she was there to be picked up:rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

2 years ago I'd have balked at the idea of going into a pub in my ownsome:eek::eek:....then a gig I really wanted to go to was announced in Dublin,none of my friends could make it so I booked the hotel jumped on the train and off I went-had a few drinks(ok I maybe a teeny bit self conscious having the 1st drink:o),later a meal on my own and headed down to the 02 to enjoy the gig,it was so refreshing.....met loads of great people,plenty of craic and it was great not having to worry about anyone elses enjoyment except my own.Now I have no hesitation about eating out,going for a glass of wine on my own,it really is total me time-I love it:)

Hi guys
    First post here! enjoying the post so far....I really like the idea of the post above. Two years ago I wouldn't have gone to a pub on my own for the simple reason my o/h loved his pint too much/watching the match so I would have had a pub buddy. Now he's no longer around I found that being on your own you have no choice but to decide that you can do all these things or sit at home - I was nearly all my life as "part of a couple" so I never really thought about going solo!

This year I am making the decision to go on holiday alone for the first time ever and I'm looking forward to it. I decided to go at Christmas as I get the sympathy kick from the family and that is a pain in the proverbial's.......Btw, I know it's a little bit off the tread but if anyone has any suggestions they would be welcome! I'm late forties so bare that in mind...I won't be clubbing in Ibiza (though I did that in my twenties!)..Sun and fun?

Going into a pub as opposed to sitting at home actually means you drink less....(tried and tested!) and the book/laptop is a great idea. The choice of pub is imperative too. The younger the crowd the better - There is still the slight stigma among the older established crowd of staring when a woman goes in for a pint!....

Go forth and enjoy!