Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you go to the pub by yourself?

• 23-01-2012 4:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭careymary

Hi

I know lots of male friends who would happily go to the pub on their own for a few drinks if the urge took them, in fact some go quite regularly sometimes with the paper other times they just get chatting to someone there.

But I dont know any women who would do that, alot say they dont want to look like a loner/alco/desperate

So I was thinking what would I think if i saw a woman on her own having a few drinks and I amnt sure to be honest.

Curiosity got the better of me so last sat afternoon I went to a pub with a book and had a few drinks
    In all honesty I enjoyed it, I got a few funny looks from other women but none from men, in fact the only problem I had was having to bring everything to the loo with me when I needed to go!

Thing is I still amnt sure did I strike a blow for feminism or alcoholism???

I would be interested to hear what others think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

This comes up every so often. I've no problem going for a drink/something to eat on my own at all. And I just ask the barman/someone at the next table to keep an eye on my stuff if I've to nip to the loo.

I wouldn't. But that's because I don't really like drinking anyway. I only really go to bars to meet friends. I've been to the cinema by myself. And do most things alone like shopping//going to the gym/often take trips around the country alone.

I have often seen women go for drinks alone, nothing wrong with it!

Some girls are weird about doing social things alone. I know a lot of girls who won't even step into a bar/club alone and they text or call their friends to meet them outside. :/ What's that all about! Some girls won't even go shopping alone because it makes them look like a "loner". I personally hate shopping with other people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭chickenbutt

I would and have, depending on the pub and time of day. I wouldn't if there's a million people around and it was super loud. I've brought my laptop and things to work on assignments, resume, job applications, etc. The pint(s) help with the stress of all those responsibilities! I over think about what people think about me and I'm trying to stop that bad habit and just do what I want without worrying so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sambuka41

I've done it before while I was waiting for my car to be fixed in the garage next door (drinking 7up the whole time, I swear :p) But i got some really funny looks from the men in the pub. I figured people would probably do this a lot seen as the pub is right next door but with the way they were looking at me I'm not so sure!! I think there is still a stigma about women on their own in pubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

No-one would look twice at a woman alone having a coffee in a cafe by herself. Pubs are still seen to be the preserve of the menfolk, I find.

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I have gone to the pub on my own and quite enjoyed it, with a book or whatever to keep me occupied.

It wrecks my head when girls drag me off to pee with them. Like the ones who insist you have to accompany them, because they wont go alone. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Yeah I don't understand girls like that, at all. Why the HELL would I need someone to escort me through a pub, seriously?

I live by myself, love going to the cinema by myself, love getting coffee by myself... don't get me wrong, I like other humans :pac:, I just think that if you aren't comfortable in your own company, then you're just not comfortable with yourself, full-stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Storminateacup

Yeah I'd go to my local by myself.
    I'd go eat by myself and I'd go to see a movie by myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭lisasimpson

i havent gone to a pub on my own at night but if there was a match on the telly which i want to see and dont have the chanell id pop into one alright. i leave straight away though. id feel the looks eventually

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I wouldn't. But that's because I don't really like drinking anyway. I only really go to bars to meet friends
    This ^^^
    I just wouldn't really be going to a pub unless it was to meet people for a night out really.

I know a girl who will get to the pub, then call her boyfriend and have him come and meet her at the door because she would never walk into a pub alone.
    I think that's going a bit far, personally. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

I do most things by myself , even go to the toilet :)
    I don't really drink much so wouldn't really go to a pub by myself.
    My next step for me is to go on holiday on my own !!

Neyite wrote: »

It wrecks my head when girls drag me off to pee with them. Like the ones who insist you have to accompany them, because they wont go alone. :confused:

^ Yeah I hate that! It's bizarre. And I hate queuing for the toilets for ages because there are two girls in a cubicle crying about their boyfriends/getting sick/drinking naggins/gossiping for 20 minutes.

Not the biggest fan of girls in general if ye haven't guessed already :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

I'd go into a pub on my own in the daytime or early evening but not at night.

I've gone on holidays on my own and loved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I don't mind it, and I've done it before, but generally not late or when it is super-crowded. Sometimes it's nice to stop into a pub on the way home for a drink and maybe an early dinner if the food is good. And on nice days, I would skip out of the office early and take some reading to a beer garden - lovely.

The one thing that used to drive me nuts about doing this in Ireland though was the fact that a lot of pubs are really dark! I used to feel like I was going blind trying to read the paper and whatnot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Only time I ever did was a couple of times when I got stood up by friends :(

I went to the campus pub alone the other night, but very quickly made friends, it was a student event :)

I wouldn't judge any girl that did though. I eat alone and I go to the cinema alone. I hate shopping with other girls. Don't mind travelling alone at all, pretty easy to make friends along the way and sightseeing is often better on your own schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 coffeeandshoes

Since I moved to Dublin last year with my partner I’ve really started to enjoy my own company and I have to say I highly recommend picking up a book and having some relaxing “me time” in Starbucks or a pub. It started off that I didn’t have anyone to call to go to cinema with so one day I decided to pop in on my own and I really enjoyed myself. Great opportunity to clear your head a bit, tomorrow for example I’m going vintage shopping on my lonesome :D x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭Caraville

Snoopy1 wrote: »
    My next step for me is to go on holiday on my own !!

Oh do it! I did it last summer and was so nervous but it was one of the best things I've done in my life. Felt like a bit of a saddo at first but then got so into it and soaked up every minute. Looking back I am so proud of myself that I did it. Just plan everything well and you'll be fine . Holidays with other people seem quite hellish since!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭careymary

wow, its great to see so many posters are comfortable with going to the pub by themselves, I really havent experienced that amongst my friends
    Like many other posters have said I have gone on holiday by myself, actually a few times now - which i really enjoy
    I also go to the Cinema, shoppping and anything else that crosses my mind by myself, the pub has always been a bit of a taboo though, glad to see not evryone thinks that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,417 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I wouldn't. But that's because I don't really like drinking anyway. I only really go to bars to meet friends. I've been to the cinema by myself. And do most things alone like shopping//going to the gym/often take trips around the country alone.

I have often seen women go for drinks alone, nothing wrong with it!

Some girls are weird about doing social things alone. I know a lot of girls who won't even step into a bar/club alone and they text or call their friends to meet them outside. :/ What's that all about! Some girls won't even go shopping alone because it makes them look like a "loner". I personally hate shopping with other people!

I'm afraid that's me:o I hate going into pubs on my own - usually cos when I'm due to meet my friends they're never there on time so I'm left standing there waiting for them and I just feel uncomfortable!

Everything else is fine though!

i wouldn't be going into a pub unless i was meeting people to be honest

don't mind the cinema on my own, it can be quite fun

wouldn't see the point in going to a restaurant on my own, i'd view that more for socialising as well - would eat in a cafe or whatever myself if i was in town and hungry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

bluewolf wrote: »
    wouldn't see the point in going to a restaurant on my own, i'd view that more for socialising as well

Table for one with a book and a glass of wine (or several) is one of life's little pleasures.

Honey-ec wrote: »
    Table for one with a book and a glass of wine (or several) is one of life's little pleasures.

Fair enough... I don't drink wine, and I'd rather be curled up at home with my book :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I know plenty of ladies who drink in pubs on their own. They go there to relax and socialise just like us menfolk do. Fancy that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,114 ✭✭✭doctor evil

I went to cafe and read the paper and had a lovely sandwich, it was bliss.

I have no problem doing anything on my own. I don't really understand those that can't bear to go anywhere by themselves, I kind of get it if your a young teen but a grown woman, come on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

I used to do it loads at uni... During the summer, our house didn't get the net connected till we all came back in the autumn, so I used to pop down to the local pup which had free wifi, and have a few cokes, maybe lunch, and surf the net. I think I got more odd looks for the laptop than being a girl, though It may be different in a studenty area vs a normal town vs the country. I certainly wouldn't like to walk into a 'village' pub on my own...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,351 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Been to the pub on my own a few time for a quick and quiet drink. Just for the buzz but generally go to the pub with friends or meet them there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I think the pub is one of the few places I wouldnt go to alone. Cinema no problem, dont mind eating alone, shopping is definately a one person affair, but the pub? No thanks. I dont mind sitting there on my own for an hour if friends are running late or something but I wouldnt intentionally go for a pint with a book or something-like bluewolf said I'd much rather by curled up at home with a book, and if I wanted a drink with it I could crack open a bottle of wine or have a beer for a third of the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

I'd like to think i'm quite happy in own company. Often gone for food and a glass of wine. But now i think of it i always have to have something to read and i'd never go somewhere people might recognise me cos they might think me a saddo so i still have steps to take to be entirely comfortable

Ach, who cares what other people think? If you were dancing on the tables singing Jedward, then they might have cause to scrutinise you ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭doriansmith

I've gone to the pub alone once or twice while travelling abroad but that was in backpacker areas where you knew there'd be other solo travellers looking for someone to chat to. Wouldn't really have any interest in going to the pub alone at home. I've no problem going in alone & waiting for other people though. I find it strange that a lot of girls won't do that.

And I hate shopping with friends, I almost always go shopping alone. You'd have to be seriously insecure to be scared that people thought you were weird for shopping alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

I often head to my regular on my own for a cup of joe after work but usually end up meeting people along the way. Not sure I would do it if I was going for a drink, much rather be in company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 coffeeandshoes

The fantastic thing about not knowing anyone in Dublin is that I know for sure no one will recognize me lol! Large glass of vino for one? Yes please :D xx

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

Yes and I did so last night.

I finished work after 8 and didn't want to go straight home because that's all i've been doing the past few weeks as it's been so crazy. It all just felt like a bit of a drudge.

The coffee shop was wedged and closing in half an hour so I headed into the local and sat up with my book and a lovely glass of red and had some time to myself to breathe. It was delightful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 fuglywugly

I wouldnt go in the evening for a drink but i do go for lunches in pubs on my own, it doesnt bother me as long as i have a newspaper or magazine but if i didnt have something to keep my occupied i would probably feel a bit bored or wouldnt know where to look!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

When I was younger I would have said no, but then I started to travel alone a lot for business. I quite like reading a book and having a drink or a snack in a pub.

It gets me out of the house and you can usually have some good people watching :)

Maple wrote: »

I finished work after 8 and didn't want to go straight home because that's all i've been doing the past few weeks as it's been so crazy. It all just felt like a bit of a drudge.

The coffee shop was wedged and closing in half an hour so I headed into the local and sat up with my book and a lovely glass of red and had some time to myself to breathe. It was delightful.

Snaps, decided to have a beer tonight after work and went on my own..and met someone very interesting in the smoking area.. :)

does little girly dance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭The Niece

Maple wrote: »

+1 100% ...was in the same position a couple of times, and enjoyed the same but more in the sense of 'I have to catch my train in 45 minutes' :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

Wouldn't go to the PUB by myself, as for me drinking is a social thing. Would, and have, gone to restaurants, cafés and the cinema by myself, as these are activities that can easily be enjoyed alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Sagesilver4

I'd have no problem going to pub by myself, with my laptop or a good book, since I prefer to be left alone anyway in most social settings (nothing against people, I'm just terribly shy in person towards people I don't know!) :o

I suppose it would just depend on the pub. Some pubs would be grand to sit in, especially with a book or magazine and a drink, but there are pubs where you get stared out of it in even if there's a few of you- "who are the blow-ins" type thing, so I wouldn't go to those pubs on my own.

I wouldn't like to go drinking on my own anyway though- as in for more than 2 or 3 drinks- I don't really see the point, it's supposed to be a social thing, and besides, drink or no drink I definitely don't have the balls to strike up a conversation with a randomer without the safety net of some friends around to rescue me if it all goes horribly wrong!

Babybuff wrote: »
    Snaps, decided to have a beer tonight after work and went on my own..and met someone very interesting in the smoking area.. :)

does little girly dance

That's one of the things I so miss about Dublin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Caraville wrote: »
    I suppose it would just depend on the pub. Some pubs would be grand to sit in, especially with a book or magazine and a drink, but there are pubs where you get stared out of it in even if there's a few of you- "who are the blow-ins" type thing, so I wouldn't go to those pubs on my own.

Perhaps it's because I've lived and worked in some totty little places and I've worked in some pretty hectic bars but I love those kind of pubs - and I love getting chatting to the locals and working out the dynamics of the place. :D

In answer to the question, yes, I would and do go to pubs by myself - I've lived in places where the pub was the social hub of the island/village and spent most of my student days working in pubs and clubs, so I don't find them intimidating and I'm quite comfortable striking up a conversation or asking someone for a game of darts or pool...or just relax, sip my drink and people watch. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I can understand why some women would feel uncomfortable going to a pub on their own. I think its an Irish thing though. When I was in NY last year there were lots of women sitting at the bar own the own sipping a glass of wine.

There is nothing nicer than a quite mid-afternoon or early evening drink on your own with the paper or a book.

Being honest, as a man, I do take a second glance when I see a women in a bar on her own but purely because it is unusual. After that, I disappear into my own book.

However, the feeling uncomfortable on your own extends to men too, it depends on the pub and the day. Quite suburban pubs are fine but Temple Bar on a Sat night would be a no no.

py2006 wrote: »

There is nothing nicer than a quite mid-afternoon or early evening drink on your own with the paper or a book.

However, the feeling uncomfortable on your own extends to men too, it depends on the pub and the day. Quite suburban pubs are fine but Temple Bar on a Sat night would be a no no.

Actually yeah I think time of day issues are relevant in all this- well, for me anyway. A mid afternoon or early evening tipple alone would be ok for me but later at night not so much.

Also, I think I would be more likely to go into a place on my own where people are less likely to know me, whereas if I did that in a bar in my home town, once people asked whereabouts I am from they would probably know my parents or family immediately and I would feel a bit self conscious then. I'm from a pretty big town but there seems to be no more than two degrees of separation between anyone!

old hippy wrote: »
    That's one of the things I so miss about Dublin :D

I'm not even in Dublin :) not sure I would have the neck to do it there, unless of course it was my hometown and I knew where I was at. I kinda feel safe enough in my regular, there's a handful of people who have a coffee after work there so I wouldn't feel intimidated going there alone as I'd always know someone. It just happened to be one of those nights Wednesday and there were a few new people around and things got interesting. Best part of it is that they now know where we all go after work so the chances are good for bumping into each other again.
    *we hopes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Currently in the Skeff pub in Galway alone waiting for the train home.... Mmmmmm..........Budweiser!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I have but it was during the day, i wouldn't do it at night time with a full pub. Though most pubs are fairly quite in the evenings, im not sure about weekends.
    My reason was that it had wifi and i needed the internet. It made things easier that they served food also, so i was fine drinking tea. I would probably get some strange looks if i sat down with a pint and nothing else to occupy myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭chirogirl

I've been in the pub on my own a good few times, but its usually at tea-time, when I can get a meal. I like my own company, have travelled around the world solo and even had a baby on my own last summer. So, now I take the baby in the pub with me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

I have gone into a put on my own when I wanted to have a sandwich or something to eat and would have had a glass of wine. Would just have taken a book with me.

Also have no issue with arriving before a friend and sitting down alone with a drink but would not go out for a couple of drinks on my own in the evening. Nothing wrong with it but don't drink a lot so just would not do it. When I lived in Dublin used to the very odd time walk down to Gleeson's in Booterstown on a sunday afternoon, have a beer and read the paper for a half hour, so I have done it and felt fine about it.

I have no problem with my own company and go shopping, walking , for lunch on my own. In fact really enjoy shopping on my own.

Currently in the Skeff pub in Galway alone waiting for the train home.... Mmmmmm..........Budweiser!!:D

Thumbs aloft but... but... Budweiser? :eek: