Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

xsiborg wrote: »
    msthe80s wrote: »
    wow- hot stuff.
    I'll have him. wuffffffffff

definitely the standard of guys this week has picked up! :D
    Men are grand, the women are braindead. Some of their comments are mortifying

• Registered Users Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Dear single Irish men,
    I feel so so sorry for you.
    Trust me,there are some fantastic Irish girls out there who don't mind men who like shoes,men who have stubble, men who are ....men.
    There are real women who like men,and don't humiliate you,
    keep looking,
    regards me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

eternal wrote: »
    Men are grand, the women are braindead. Some of their comments are mortifying

awfully... oh jesus, i was just about to say awfully scripted, when that girl made the comment about turkey and sounded like she struggled to remember the line! :D

ariana though? yes please! :o

it's the scripted lines and calling the guys "boys" is killing me... :(

Dear single Irish men,
    I feel so so sorry for you.
    Trust me,there are some fantastic Irish girls out there who don't mind men who like shoes,men who have stubble, men who are ....men.
    There are real women who like men,and don't humiliate you,
    keep looking,
    regards me

hmm, do real men wear skinny jeans though with the belt half way down their butt?

just sayin, but i know plenty of women, sorry, "real" women, that'd be put off by that too! taste is subjective is all... :o

• Registered Users Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

xsiborg is this you? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭noveltea

What wrong with Patrick....I cant believe he only had 9 nights left

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

I sense a blackout is coming.

Raekwon wrote: »
    xsiborg is this you? :D

oh har dee har.... lol :D;)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,390 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So they dont like cos he has brown shoes and hair on his body. Guess that rules out 99.9% of men in the world so.

Id have gone out with all three guys and im fussy. Maybe im getting old.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

xsiborg wrote: »
    hmm, do real men wear skinny jeans though with the belt half way down their butt?

just sayin, but i know plenty of women, sorry, "real" women, that'd be put off by that too! taste is subjective is all... :o

Absolutely,taste is subjective.
    But if a guy walked on ,walked up the ramp and started to complain,
    "You're too fat,you're fatter still,you're plain,you're dress is too tight....etc...." and then walked off without waiting,the girls would be horrified.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,601 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Do the ladies not realise clothes, shoes and boots can be taken off :rolleyes:

Wooo, hes well able. To be fair they shouldnt be allowed go on like that. This guys getting killd.

Absolutely,taste is subjective.
    But if a guy walked on ,walked up the ramp and started to complain,
    "You're too fat,you're fatter still,you're plain,you're dress is too tight....etc...." and then walked off without waiting,the girls would be horrified.

but the guy walks up the ramp voluntarily, hoping to get a date with one of the girls?

the last guy in all fairness though had a lucky escape cora turned off her light, the image of the pair of them trying to manage a single bed- *shudders*... :o

• Registered Users Posts: 17,835 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

That American girl appears to have no idea about boots.

What song did this guy have?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Quick question to the lads. How much to go on this show?

I'll start at 3k.

You Know My Name by Chris Cornell from Casino Royale

• Registered Users Posts: 13,331 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Didn't hear it that well but I think it was "You know my name" by Chris Cornell.

Tina is angry with Ray

It's a nice tattoo.

now i know that it is about tina, she's the head off declan buckley (presenter of telly bingo, aka shirley temple bar).... :eek:

declan-buckley.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 16,390 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Its hard to please that blonde one Melissa, the first guy was a "bogger" and this lad was a dub and he was still wrong. He was well able for her though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

every now and then, a thread will pop up on boards.ie having a pop at Irish women and how the behave in nightclubs/dating scenarios, their insecurities, lack of grace/elegance, little interest in the big issues, being a bit dull, bland, superficial etc etc

the debate usually gets heated and the guy gets called bitter, sexist, misogynist etc by the right-on internet posse - but this show really is horrifying evidence that internet guy x may just be onto something, I'm just glad I'm out of that

I will concede however that the format of the show makes it incredibly difficult for any lady to seem half-way interesting/classy etc. but the British show certainly paints their ladies in a better light, they seem funnier and more at ease with themselves and up for a laugh which is strange because that's what we are supposed to be famous for

therefore could it be said we are just not suited to the tv genre and our sense of craic and gift of the gab just doesn't translate to tv, our ladies are too self-conscious, too low on confidence, too insecure to let their real personalities shine through.....i'd also suggest that the casting directors haven't done a great job or perhaps we just have less of that show-off eager for attention mindset that others have...or maybe just maybe I am taking all this far too seriously and reading too much into what is essentially a low-brow piece of tv junk

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭Ice87

This show is hilarious.

Foley in an over sized shirt.

Girls turning off the light who wouldn't get a look at in a nightclub.

"My granny knows someone from there and I don't like your accent"

No you're a wreck and he wouldn't give you the time of day anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Have they chosen the roughest women they could possibly find for this show?

I don't even mean looks (although - my God!), but their manner is so off putting, why on earth would any guy actually willingly date any of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

donfers wrote: »
    every now and then, a thread will pop up on boards.ie having a pop at Irish women and how the behave in nightclubs/dating scenarios, their insecurities, lack of grace/elegance, little interest in the big issues, being a bit dull, bland, superficial etc etc

the debate usually gets heated and the guy gets called bitter, sexist, misogynist etc by the right-on internet posse - but this show really is horrifying evidence that internet guy x may just be onto something, I'm just glad I'm out of that

I will concede however that the format of the show makes it incredibly difficult for any lady to seem half-way interesting/classy etc. but the British show certainly paints their ladies in a better light, they seem funnier and more at ease with themselves and up for a laugh which is strange because that's what we are supposed to be famous for

therefore could it be said we are just not suited to the tv genre and our sense of craic and gift of the gab just doesn't translate to tv, our ladies are too self-conscious, too low on confidence, too insecure to let their real personalities shine through.....i'd also suggest that the casting directors haven't done a great job or perhaps we just have less of that show-off eager for attention mindset that others have...or maybe just maybe I am taking all this far too seriously and reading too much into what is essentially a low-brow piece of tv junk

Good post. A lot of more measured than "This show proves that Irish girls be bitches!" A few things to consider though would be a) there's only a certain type of person that would go on a show like this and in Ireland, the pool to chose from would be much smaller than in the UK and b) different production companies might operate differently, even using the same format. Maybe the Irish girls are told to be cruel if they want decent airtime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Just watching it now. Christ that last guy got some awful comments directed at him about his clothes, hair etc.

The blonde one who had a pop at his hair got really bitchy when he gave it back.

As a side note: The American one is really annoying.

Emily seems like a bit of craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭Jarren

What's wrong with Limerick accent?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

I watched it The take me out ireland version ever week and I found that a lot of the girls on it don't have much personality although there are some that do. The uk one is good. Paddy McGuiness has a great personality, is down to earth and makes you laugh. Is is sad that Ireland cannot produce good tv people. No offense to Ray foley, he was just picked for the wrong job because they probably could'nt find anyone else because there is a lack of personality in the Irish media.
    I also watched the uk take me out, it's enjoyable. Most of the girls have good personalities, they have a bit of elegance, spice and self respect I couldn't say the same about the Irish version, it makes me feel embarrassed to be an Irish woman. Could they not pick more women with personalities or is that all they could get. They probably don't know the difference because many if not most Irish media presenters don't have much personality anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Jarren wrote: »
    What's wrong with Limerick accent?

Nawthin, sure it's only gorgeous!