Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Found out the colour i want can't be got in the cheaper paint, so the whole job is going to cost €800 to do instead...

Slightly tempted to leave it in it's primer guise for a while...

i'll see how my week pans out.

Ah g'won and paint it sure, you're keeping us all in suspense waiting to see how the TDI turns out... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

166man wrote: »
    Ah g'won and paint it sure, you're keeping us all in suspense waiting to see how the TDI turns out... :D

if i make the call Monday it'll be done for Sunday. TBH i'm not gonna mention it again until it's done, i'm driving people mad :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

750 quid poorer. 3 new tyres and 1 hardly worn one, fully aligned. New pads on rear etc. Time for the NCT. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Changed the Clutch on one of the lads Integras today, what an easy car to work on.

Brought my Civic to be tracked. I also popped in the steering wheel from my Integra into the Civic, makes a huge difference to the ****e on that was in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

MugMugs wrote: »
    750 quid poorer. 3 new tyres and 1 hardly worn one, fully aligned. New pads on rear etc. Time for the NCT. :(

Did you get the Bridgestone swopped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Careful, I may have to take you up on that.

I have to own one before I die:o

C&C tomorrow in Cherrywood - you're welcome! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Sold the Bora. Gone to Thurles. Great car for the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

E39MSport wrote: »
    Sold the Bora. Gone to Thurles. Great car for the money.

How much was it up for? It was one seriously clean motor,

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    C&C tomorrow in Cherrywood - you're welcome! ;)

:mad:I would love to but she has planned my day already:P

Are you going to bring it to the motors meet?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

How much was it up for? It was one seriously clean motor,

3950. Gone for 3600 with some 'good luck' money back his way. That's what ahem.... 'stands me' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Didn't touch the car today, but it past it's first NCT last night without a bother :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Just ordered a rake of smd 501s for all the interior, long overdue. And bought a 5000k hid kit. I better not change my mind about this car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Just ordered a rake of smd 501s for all the interior, long overdue. And bought a 5000k hid kit. I better not change my mind
    about this car!

5000k is good but 4200k is better light

Oh i know but i didnt want fully oem colour and i didnt want 6000k so as to stay away from that look. 5000k still gives practically the same output. Plus 5000k match led sidelights and 6000k matches smd :D

4300k ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

So.... eibachs settled in...

817B74F3B64141B98BB36C429B338EE6-0000315821-0002727528-00800L-109AC19CA4E04737A8018984DE181F4A.jpg

Negative clearance, woo! :D

400 miles done since friday evening (above was with 2 people in the back seats) - time for a wash tomorrow if weather allows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Are you going to bring it to the motors meet?:)

Not sure if I'm gonna make it yet - hopefully will. :)

Gave the rice rocket a good clean and adjusted the coilovers (sounds difficult but actually is just twisting a knob on the top of each one lol)

431150_10150546114372825_744852824_8933933_762742388_n.jpg

I switched on the fogs just for you shower of ****es lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Went out to give the Alfa a run battery is flat and I noticed the interior passenger seat/floor is covered in mould. Dont think the sunroof is sealing properly.

Check the roof lining around the sunroof.See if is stained or damp.
    We used to open the sunroof and pour some water into the channels to check if the drains were blocked, Process of elimination. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭stimpson

CR-X passed the NCT retest after cleaning up the supposedly rusty brake lines and replacing anti roll bar bushings. She failed on wiper linkages last month. I never touched them (as there us feck all play in them) and they pass this time. Go figure.

Next up is getting the wheels balanced. Horrible shake in the steering wheel at 110kph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Gary ITR wrote: »
    I switched on the fogs just for you shower of ****es lol

And parked obnoxiously too..:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I should have got more pictures, ah well...

Got our little winter project finished earlier today :)

Binned!
    Image1761.jpg

Image1762.jpg

Image1760.jpg

Better :)
    Image1763.jpg

Image17681.jpg

Image1778.jpg

Image1859.jpg

Image1860.jpg

She runs like a clock :D

Wow,that is cool! Wish i could do that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Fiona

Did she leave you a list :confused::confused:

I love lists :D

mrs crilly wrote: »

If I was left a list I'd wipe my arse with it. Could explain why I'm single though lol

Wow,that is cool! Wish i could do that :o

Hope you don't have to:P

No list, just orders:P I have to stay in the good books to be allowed to the motors meet...:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Gary ITR wrote: »
    If I was left a list I'd wipe my arse with it. Could explain why I'm single though lol

Yeah... That the reason Gar :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

and lube by the looks of it.... :p

Lists and lube, every womans dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭Fiona

No list, just orders:P I have to stay in the good books to be allowed to the motors meet...:eek:

Ah yes good behaviour in return for a golden ticket :D

Your the one with the obsession with the lube you keep bringing it up :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Your the one with the obsession with the lube you keep bringing it up :P

You sound like my missus. :D

Anywho, in your honour I've renamed the OT thread as this is going way off topic.