If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Border controls in Irish Ports are a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

hurler14a wrote: »
    By keeping records of non-EU nationals entering Irish ports, It would help make it clear that any non-EU nationals who came into the country without proper visas for entry into Ireland would have come in by Northern Ireland and questions could be asked of the Northern Ireland authorities.

It would cut down on fraud as it would help to see who these people are and what is their true identity.

I think it should go further. Cooperation and sharing entry info North and South, and also with ports in Great Britain.

If we have a common travel area, information should be common.

Or we could take the lead from this guy...
    http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/16853 :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

djpbarry wrote: »
    There are no border controls between the UK & Ireland.......

True.

Yet ironically, All passengers arriving at Dublin Airport, even those coming off domestic flights have to queue at passport control.

A ridiculous set up. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Have met the gardai on the Belfast Dublin route a few times

And they will take people off it and then to the local station, either Ardree or Dundalk to be questioned.

Main issue is people with valid UK visas but it doesn't give them the right to cross the border.
    One Fillipino couple were going to straight to Dublin airport to leave Ireland, Dublin clearly have more international flights then Belfast.
    Doesn't matter, taken off the bus, rules are rules

It's all very random, you might never meet the gardai or you might get stopped three days a week
    I used to get the bus along that route as a daily commuter

You don't need a passport, driving license is grand and if you've no ID well just tell them your name and where you're going to.
    No mistaking my bogger accent :pac:
    They focus on the Asians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

In March, 2004 I got the National Express bus from the UK to Ireland. On arrival into Dublin Port, we were told to have our passports ready for inspection. Most of the people on the bus were non-Causcasian, the woman behind me had an Angolan passport and the man across from me had an Algerian passport. The garda who boarded the bus had no paperwork with him and spent one second max glancing at each passport. He didn't note the passport numbers of non-EU nationals or names, just waved everyone through. I witnessed this scenario between 15-20 times as I arrived in Ireland on the bus.

Coming into Rosslare from the UK, there was almost never passport control. Anyone could walk in and I rarely saw a garda.

Is this safe?
    Why were the gardai not keeping such records?

I disagree with you.

There are regular immigration checks between both countries, I am from a Non-EU country and I have travelled from Ireland to the UK numerous times and on each occassion I have had to produce a valid UK entry visa to the GNIB officers. Interestingly,I have never been screened or asked any questions when I get to the Uk. My reckoning is that they assume I would have been screened by their Irish counterparts and vice versa.

Ireland and the UK have a common travel agreement that allows for UK,Irish and EU nationals with a valid travel document or ID cards to move freely between both countries. Most Non-EU nationals have to produce a valid visa to travel within the common travel area, the obvious exceptions are nationals from countries which have free travel agreements with both the UK and Ireland e.g. US, Japan, Australia, Canada etc.

You stated that an irish Immigration officer told you he was concerned about the lack of effective policing of non-EU nationals coming into the country and that he was instructed to let them in? I can categorically tell you that's Bull*cks. Ireland has a far stricter approach in this regard both in terms of policy and implementation. I know a friend that has lived legally in Ireland for over 5 years and was refused entry into Ireland because he didnt have his GNIB card on him despite the fact he had his passport that was stamped with his residency details, re-entry visa and a finger print check confirmed his residency status, his family had to bring his residence card before he was allowed in.

I will actually reword your thread title to " Irish border controls are quite stringent".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Lapin wrote: »
    True.
    Yet ironically, All passengers arriving at Dublin Airport, even those coming off domestic flights have to queue at passport control.

A ridiculous set up. :mad:

I've never had to queue at passport control in Dublin.
    Myself and my partner are always in stitches when we arrive back in Ireland.
    She is from Lithuania and we tend to visit her country once or twice per year.
    She gets checked going into Lithuania but I practically get interrogated.

Coming back into Dublin, it's a totally different experience.
    The guy on the passport desk always has a big smile and just waves everyone through.
    I had just assumed they always checked the flight register in advance??
    Only time we ever get stopped is when they search our hand luggage for cigarettes, but they search everyone on the plane in these cases, not spot checks.

For the people who seem to think there are no illegal immigrants in Ireland - you're deluding yourselves.
    I have a number of Georgian friends who are here on fake Lithuanian passports, but I'm not sure that they'd even be able to catch them if they did stop them anyway. You can fairly easily acquire a fake passport in Warsaw for small money.
    You should briefly acquaint yourselves with the sounds of the Lithuanian vs Georgian languages for the craic;).
    The only people who ever seem to catch them are revenue.
    They get jail for a few weeks, then they usually get some kind of deal where they are allowed to travel between Georgia and Ireland, but no other country - I presume they are sorted out with some type of Visa.

There are also a lot of Algerians and Albanians in Cork, and many of them are here illegally. I wouldn't have any contact with these communities, nor I would have known they were even here only that a friend introduced me. They mind their own business and seem to police their own communities.

I'm sure plenty of you know illegal Irish in America, and know that you basically only come home if your mother dies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Tea_Bag

Dannyboy83, you do realise you just admitted to knowing quite a serious crime on a public Internet forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Dannyboy83 wrote: »
    For the people who seem to think there are no illegal immigrants in Ireland...
    Who has suggested there are no illegal immigrants in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

JustinDee wrote: »
    They don't know.
    Fake quotes, wiki-wagging, alarmist tosh with only generalisations to 'justify' and an irrational disdain for anyone who happens to be a of different race or ethnicity is all I'm reading from these people.

Wiki wagging or not, it doesn't change the facts, which is that just because a person is entitled to be in the the UK mean they're entitled to be in Ireland.

Given the open nature of the border, it would make sense for a more unified immigration policy between the two countries. However in practice this would mean that Irelands immigration policy would be dictated by Westminster. Politically this would not be easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 hurler14a

Thousands of people from all over non-EU nations have just walked into Ireland without any checks. They are from nations like Nigeria, Angola and many other nations.

Do we know who these people are?
    What they did do in their own country?
    Do they have passports and are these passports legitimate? How is the legitimacy of these passports checked?
    Is this safe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Thousands of people from all over non-EU nations have just walked into Ireland without any checks. They are from nations like Nigeria, Angola and many other nations.

You've some source for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Thousands of people from all over non-EU nations have just walked into Ireland without any checks.
    Prove it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭al28283

Do we know who these people are?
    What they did do in their own country?
    Do they have passports and are these passports legitimate? How is the legitimacy of these passports checked?
    Is this safe?

You keep asking the same question over and over, do you have anything else to contribute?

al28283 wrote: »
    You keep asking the same question over and over, do you have anything else to contribute?

I think not, locked