Irish dating culture vs. American??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

dhayashi wrote: »

I know a lot of my fellow American ladies have no problem approaching a man with the sole purpose of getting the ride, but asking them on a date is totally different!

Well, you've got the lingo down anyway. That's a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Liam Byrne, I am confused! So you are saying the equality only exists in the dating scene, but not committed relationships? Where does chatting someone up or simply looking for a one night stand tie into this?!

It's OK - I have that effect on people!

What's this "one night stand" yoke that you're on about ? Sounds like it's more fun than most of our cultural American imports!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Liam Byrne, I am confused! So you are saying the equality only exists in the dating scene, but not committed relationships? Where does chatting someone up or simply looking for a one night stand tie into this?

I know a lot of my fellow American ladies have no problem approaching a man with the sole purpose of getting the ride, but asking them on a date is totally different!

Hey, just watch this to get to know some of the Irish Colloquialisms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

getting the ride

You don't sound too American to me...

Also, me will only court women on the third full moon of each season. Or if you bring along an offering of fine potatoes.

Liam Byrne, I am confused! So you are saying the equality only exists in the dating scene, but not committed relationships?

I actually meant the "jumping bones", not the "equality" ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭dhayashi

stupidusername:

Getting the ride, no commitment...low chance of rejection! Typically, a woman would only approach a man and the situation knowing she's going to execute her desired transaction successfully. However, getting him to go on a formal date is a different story. Any man would take NSA sex!

Liam Byrne: Classes on what, dating or contraception...or both?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

stupidusername:

Getting the ride, no commitment...low chance of rejection! Typically, a woman would only approach a man and the situation knowing she's going to execute her desired transaction successfully. However, getting him to go on a formal date is a different story. Any man would take NSA sex!

ah yes, good point.

stupidusername:

Given the American definition of dating, I'd do both classes, with the contraception one first and a proficiency exam prerequisite for the dating class! :-D

Mind you - on my first serious note - I take exception to the "Any man would take NSA sex!" comment - very sexist and stereotypical and has probably cost you a date! :-P

@Dr. Poca:
    I've spent a good amount of time in Ireland. I know what's up and I will be glad to supply a fresh bag of potatoes! hahaha.

"Is that a 'poca fon' in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?"

"Pocket phone" ?

Hahaha okay so next question:
    as an American woman living in Ireland, am I expected to adopt this 'equality' rule? I have a feeling playing the stupid card won't help me much here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

@Dr. Poca:
    I've spent a good amount of time in Ireland. I know what's up and I will be glad to supply a fresh bag of potatoes! hahaha.

ಠ_ಠ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭BOHtox

as an American woman living in Ireland, am I expected to adopt this 'equality' rule? I have a feeling playing the stupid card won't help me much here.

Just stay in the kitchen and you'll be grand

@Liam Byrne:

It's quite a bad joke I came up with when I was on the lash like. Just trying to pick up a bit of Irish and thought it would be funny to incorporate 'poca fon' into a cliche.

@BOHtox:
    I happen to enjoy every moment I spend in the kitchen, seeing as I'm a fatty and don't share with anyone else! Thanks for the sound advice. :p

@Liam Byrne:

It's quite a bad joke I came up with when I was on the lash like. Just trying to pick up a bit of Irish and thought it would be funny to incorporate 'poca fon' into a cliche.

"on the lash like" ?

Arú frum Cawrk ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

It's quite a bad joke I came up with when I was on the lash like.

This sentence is very, very suspicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Spoonman75

Hahaha, so is it really commonplace for the women to go jump the man's bones then? Interesting!

I/ we fookin wish!

I speak for Irish men every where and make no apology.

Hahahaha oh dear gosh no... I'm from California! I did spend a good amount of time with some Corkonians though. I guess it just starts rolling off the tongue after awhile

It's AH, so that "equality rule" was a ball-hop........it's actually the one area where Irish women refuse to want equality.

So if you adopt it, you'll have an advantage over the natives!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

Culture has everything to do with the people. I've met plenty of laid back (AH joke imminent) North Americans when it comes to dating..here...not so much.

That's not a slight on Irish women, it's just different here and I find the N.A. attitude a bit more fun/less 'playing games' type - eg. who cares if he does/n't call/text for a few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Spoonman75 wrote: »
    I/ we fookin wish!

I'm waiting on at least one male poster to come in and say 'I don't wish' :)

Good man, Spoon man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I learned my dating rules from Frank TJ Mackey :cool:

Hahaha this is endlessly amusing. I will wear my equality badge on my sleeve so!

Next: Please tell me some really good old fashioned Irish pickup lines!

Spoonman75 wrote: »
    Hahaha, so is it really commonplace for the women to go jump the man's bones then? Interesting!

I/ we fookin wish!

Enda! What did we tell you last week about silly generalisations!

Put Mary Harney into that equation and see if you still think it reads right!

Hahaha this is endlessly amusing. I will wear my equality badge on my sleeve so!

Next: Please tell me some really good old fashioned Irish pickup lines!

"PM me" ;)

Hahaha is that the only one you can come up with? FFS. =p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

BOHtox wrote: »
    The thoughts of another Obama term adding more debt in his one term than all previous presidents combined before him. America need to cut spending, reduce tax and cut public sector workers. Get rid of unnecessary laws that are hindering the free market and let the market stabilise. Let's keep America the best economy in the world and reduce its ridiculously high debt!

The thoughts of the alternative are either uninspiring as in Romney or scary as in Paul and that conservative, evangelist guy! I quite like Paul though.

Anyway, the slow set was a great way to start dating OP, basically consisted of 2/3 80's ballads and lads asking girls out for "a dance", which really meant a good ould kiss and embrace. These days, the young girls just wear bracelets indicating whether they've knickers on.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭whatsamsn

There IS a big difference between Irish women and American women.

Irish women:
    "I dont have sex on the first date!" - few minutes later knickers off.

American women:
    "I dont have sex on the first date!" few minutes later panties off.