Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish dating culture vs. American??

• 04-02-2012 12:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭

Hiya!

I'm an expatriate living here in Ireland and wondering what the dating culture is, in general. I've heard that it's nearly nonexistent, but I want more opinions! I realize that there isn't one universal rule, but how do fellas most often court a lady here?

In America, usually it's beginning as friends or being formally asked on dates and later establishing so-called exclusivity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

maaaaaaaaaaaaaaan, are you asking in the wrong place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

It normally boils down to meeting while drunk, then meeting up for drinks a few times then spending the rest of the relationship in a pub.

Personally my only rule is that i don't kiss until the 3rd date.

But it tends to make the sex on the first two dates a bit impersonal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

dhayashi wrote: »
    Hiya!

I'm an expatriate living here in Ireland and wondering what the dating culture is, in general. I've heard that it's nearly nonexistent, but I want more opinions! I realize that there isn't one universal rule, but how do fellas most often court a lady here?

In America, usually it's beginning as friends or being formally asked on dates and later establishing so-called exclusivity.

We've equality here, so it's up to the ladies to do the courting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,290 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Hiya!

There's a film called The Quiet Man. It's very instructive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Go to this place called Coppers.

Sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭dhayashi

Hahaha, so is it really commonplace for the women to go jump the man's bones then? Interesting!

yeah, that is common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭empacher

Bottle of Buckfast. Feed of pints. Wonder up to the strange girl struggling to stand. Fall forward till lips connect. Share a kebab. Bundle her in a taxi. Have some sloppy sex. Hope she looks good in the morning, and is willing to give out her number.
    Wing it for the next few months .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Hiya!

Firstly, we say 'realise' and secondly are you a republican or Democrat?

It's okay I know what to do, I saw this American film one time about dating and everything turns out well in the end. I think it was called Friends.

Ron Paul 2012!!!!!!

Hiya! Prepare to be met with our orange skinned "blonde" "beauties". The ego game awaits you.

Also, welcome to AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Invite her for a drink.
    If she gets drunk you've clicked. . .

Alright, follow up question so! Liam Byrne said you operate on a system of equality. So who does the chatting up, most of the time? Equality in theory, but not in practice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭FunkSoulSista

Funny I just had a similar discussion this evening. when I was in America guys would talk to you for ten minutes then ask you out on a date, here you kiss first then swap numbers.

Equality in theory

In theory, communism works.

@ BOHtox. I am a Democrat. I do realize that I made the mistake of spelling realise the American way. =p

Sacramento wrote: »

Incorrect, Sir
    @ BOHtox. I am a Democrat. I do realize that I made the mistake of spelling realise the American way. =p

I edited my post and now noone will know what we're talking about. What do you make of Ron Paul's chances?
    edit: It's back now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

I'm an expatriate living here in Ireland and wondering what the dating culture is, in general.

de irish women are not supposed to take de contraception, so unless ye want to marry one keep yer american ideas to yerself.

if ye want to date an irish cailin ye ask her at the ceili in the crossroads, and den ask her fadder.

@FunkSoulSista,

To be fair I think the latter is an effective trial run! It is awful to chew much fat with someone, exchange numbers and keep in contact and go on a date only to find out that they are a horrible kisser! It's like having your dessert first...kind of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

I hope you're not a Ron Paul supporter.

The thought of a drag queen in the White House is too much to bear.

BOHtox wrote: »
    Sacramento wrote: »

Incorrect, sir

I agree with you, in theory.

Only if we let them.....we're not sluts!

But you were talking about dating, not committed monogamous relationships, so that doesn't come into it.

I hope you're not a Ron Paul supporter.

The thought of a drag queen in the White House is too much to bear.

The thoughts of another Obama term adding more debt in his one term than all previous presidents combined before him. America need to cut spending, reduce tax and cut public sector workers. Get rid of unnecessary laws that are hindering the free market and let the market stabilise. Let's keep America the best economy in the world and reduce its ridiculously high debt!

BOHtox wrote: »

Firstly, we say 'realise' and secondly are you a republican or Democrat?

Ron Paul 2012!!!!!!

Should that not be "Ron 2012 Paul" or something ?

Okay for the record, I am a woman, not a man! So I won't be worrying about whether or not the Irish ladies can take contraception or not.

Secondly, @FunkSoulSista:
    I think the latter is a fantastic idea! Best to find out if the shifting is worth all the trouble, then go through the formalities and find out you ended up with a horrible kisser! Like having the dessert first...kind of! LOL

In America, usually it's beginning as friends ...... and later establishing so-called exclusivity.

Oh Jaysus no! Irish girls have this concept called "friendzone" which basically involves getting earfuls about how her date was a prick/had a girlfriend/etc and getting nothing else.

Do not - under any circumstances - enter that zone, because there is no escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Its all to do with the porcelain veneers and the botox tis time the lovely americans caught up with us irish folk.:p

Liam Byrne, I am confused! So you are saying the equality only exists in the dating scene, but not committed relationships? Where does chatting someone up or simply looking for a one night stand tie into this?

I know a lot of my fellow American ladies have no problem approaching a man with the sole purpose of getting the ride, but asking them on a date is totally different!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭Underdraft

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Oh Jaysus no! Irish girls have this concept called "friendzone" which basically involves getting earfuls about how her date was a prick/had a girlfriend/etc and getting nothing else.

Do not - under any circumstances - enter that zone, because there is no escape.

Can't fathom why any straight man would enter the friendzone or willingly stay there (unless of course he's using it to get to one of her friends.)

Okay for the record, I am a woman, not a man! So I won't be worrying about whether or not the Irish ladies can take contraception or not.

Secondly, @FunkSoulSista:
    I think the latter is a fantastic idea! Best to find out if the shifting is worth all the trouble, then go through the formalities and find out you ended up with a horrible kisser! Like having the dessert first...kind of! LOL

Can you set up classes for Irish girls ?

Liam Byrne, I am confused! So you are saying the equality only exists in the dating scene, but not committed relationships? Where does chatting someone up or simply looking for a one night stand tie into this?

I know a lot of my fellow American ladies have no problem approaching a man with the sole purpose of getting the ride, but asking them on a date is totally different!

why is that completely different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Tesco Massacre

Well, you've got the lingo down anyway. That's a start.

Liam Byrne, I am confused! So you are saying the equality only exists in the dating scene, but not committed relationships? Where does chatting someone up or simply looking for a one night stand tie into this?!

It's OK - I have that effect on people!

What's this "one night stand" yoke that you're on about ? Sounds like it's more fun than most of our cultural American imports!

Hey, just watch this to get to know some of the Irish Colloquialisms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

getting the ride

You don't sound too American to me...

Also, me will only court women on the third full moon of each season. Or if you bring along an offering of fine potatoes.

Liam Byrne, I am confused! So you are saying the equality only exists in the dating scene, but not committed relationships?

I actually meant the "jumping bones", not the "equality" ;-)

stupidusername:

Getting the ride, no commitment...low chance of rejection! Typically, a woman would only approach a man and the situation knowing she's going to execute her desired transaction successfully. However, getting him to go on a formal date is a different story. Any man would take NSA sex!

Liam Byrne: Classes on what, dating or contraception...or both?

stupidusername:

Getting the ride, no commitment...low chance of rejection! Typically, a woman would only approach a man and the situation knowing she's going to execute her desired transaction successfully. However, getting him to go on a formal date is a different story. Any man would take NSA sex!

ah yes, good point.

stupidusername:

Given the American definition of dating, I'd do both classes, with the contraception one first and a proficiency exam prerequisite for the dating class! :-D

Mind you - on my first serious note - I take exception to the "Any man would take NSA sex!" comment - very sexist and stereotypical and has probably cost you a date! :-P

@Dr. Poca:
    I've spent a good amount of time in Ireland. I know what's up and I will be glad to supply a fresh bag of potatoes! hahaha.

"Is that a 'poca fon' in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?"

"Pocket phone" ?

Hahaha okay so next question:
    as an American woman living in Ireland, am I expected to adopt this 'equality' rule? I have a feeling playing the stupid card won't help me much here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

@Dr. Poca:
    I've spent a good amount of time in Ireland. I know what's up and I will be glad to supply a fresh bag of potatoes! hahaha.

ಠ_ಠ

as an American woman living in Ireland, am I expected to adopt this 'equality' rule? I have a feeling playing the stupid card won't help me much here.

Just stay in the kitchen and you'll be grand

@Liam Byrne:

It's quite a bad joke I came up with when I was on the lash like. Just trying to pick up a bit of Irish and thought it would be funny to incorporate 'poca fon' into a cliche.

@BOHtox:
    I happen to enjoy every moment I spend in the kitchen, seeing as I'm a fatty and don't share with anyone else! Thanks for the sound advice. :p

@Liam Byrne:

It's quite a bad joke I came up with when I was on the lash like. Just trying to pick up a bit of Irish and thought it would be funny to incorporate 'poca fon' into a cliche.

"on the lash like" ?

Arú frum Cawrk ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

It's quite a bad joke I came up with when I was on the lash like.

This sentence is very, very suspicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Spoonman75

I/ we fookin wish!

I speak for Irish men every where and make no apology.

Hahahaha oh dear gosh no... I'm from California! I did spend a good amount of time with some Corkonians though. I guess it just starts rolling off the tongue after awhile

It's AH, so that "equality rule" was a ball-hop........it's actually the one area where Irish women refuse to want equality.

So if you adopt it, you'll have an advantage over the natives!