Can't believe this sh!t still goes on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,384 ✭✭✭gbee

greimorm wrote: »
    Unrelated to Irish native. .

True, the victim was not Irish nor is the suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

If this happened in Europe or the US I'd be a bit more shocked. But other than 'Western' countries and small pockets elsewhere, most people never left the Dark Ages. A lot of the time talking about respecting culture means accepting barbarism. Islamic regimes kill for sport. Public executions, floggings, killing women when they don't do what you like. Africa's not a lot better. As a girl in South Africa, you're more likely to get raped than finish school. It's so common, they have to educate youth to tell them why it's wrong. Even the ex President Jacob Zuma was tried for rape. You shouldn't be shocked it's a f***ed up society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭greimorm

token101 wrote: »
    If this happened in Europe or the US I'd be a bit more shocked. But other than 'Western' countries and small pockets elsewhere, most people never left the Dark Ages. A lot of the time talking about respecting culture means accepting barbarism. Islamic regimes kill for sport. Public executions, floggings, killing women when they don't do what you like. Africa's not a lot better. As a girl in South Africa, you're more likely to get raped than finish school. It's so common, they have to educate youth to tell them why it's wrong. Even the ex President Jacob Zuma was tried for rape. You shouldn't be shocked it's a f***ed up society.

Personally i am always shocked when someone dies in anyway shape or form irrespective of country.Especially in this day and age like this.
    Like that poor kid murdered by own sister and brother in law from the congo for being a witch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

fedor.2. wrote: »
    This and much worse happens every day. We are animals and the planet is a kip because of us

Is that you Dunphy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

ironically, before the dark ages, being gay was ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Wattle wrote: »
    I've never really understood homophobia. They're gay and you are not gay. If you hate gays so much shouldnt the fact that you're not gay be a cause of relief and celebration?

Indeed, more gay men = more womens for the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭jomc

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/africaandindianocean/nigeria/4325377/Nigerian-police-hold-magic-goat-over-attempted-car-theft.html
    Nigerian police hold 'magic' goat over attempted car theft

The black and white animal was turned in to police by a vigilante group, which claimed it was an armed car thief who had used black magic to transform himself into a goat to escape arrest after trying to steal a Mazda 323.

"The group of vigilante men came to report that while they were on patrol they saw some hoodlums attempting to rob a car," Tunde Mohammed, a spokesman for Kwara state police, told Reuters.

"They pursued them. However, one of them escaped while the other turned into a goat," he said. While Mr Mohammed said he could not confirm whether a man had, in fact, turned into a goat, he did admit that the animal was in police custody. A photo of the goat, resting on its knees next to a pile of straw, was published in Nigeria's Vanguard newspaper.

Reports citing a different police spokesman said the animal was being held at the station until its owner came to claim it.

Belief in witchcraft is widespread in parts of Nigeria. Many communities in Africa's most populous nation rely on vigilante groups to patrol neighbourhoods that are not served by police at night

Africa eh? :rolleyes:

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 kissthesky

Maybe the police over there can keep u in the cells for a night the same way the Guards can keep u in a cell here for 'actin da goat'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Jack_Russell

maybe they dont like queers............?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

smash wrote: »
    We're not living in the dark ages. Other countries are!

Its hardly a million years ago since a judge allowed four men walk free after murdering a gay man in Fairview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 MGHOW

Absolutely barbaric. But, you can understand the wisdom in Muhammad's teachings; he wanted to ensure people remained morally pure on a spiritual level. The only way of achieving this is to be absolutely vigilant in pushing for moral purity, which includes severe consequences for certain behaviors.

Christianity in modern times has been far too meek in enforcing influence onto people's lives, which is clearly evident in the resulting spiritual death and material worship rampant in Ireland and the West today.