Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can't believe this sh!t still goes on

• 01-02-2012 2:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,526 ✭✭✭✭

Makes me feel like we're still living in the dark ages!
    Four South African men have been sentenced to 18 years in jail for stabbing and stoning to death 19-year-old lesbian Zoliswa Nkonyana in 2006.
    The court found that the men killed Ms Nkonyana because she was living openly as a lesbian.
    A crowd outside the court in Khayelitsha, a Cape Town township, cheered and danced at the sentencing.
    The constitution protects people on the grounds of sexual orientation - but homophobia is widespread.
    Lubabalo Ntlabathi, Sicelo Mase, Luyanda Londzi and Mbulelo Damba - who were convicted in October - were each given 18 years.
    Their jail terms were each suspended for five years.
    Five other people were acquitted.
    Ms Nkonyana was stoned and stabbed nine times in February 2006, just metres from her home in Khayelitsha.
    The magistrate said it was clear the motive for the killing was hatred and homophobia - and Wednesday's sentence was meant to send out a signal that violence based on sexual orientation will not be tolerated, the South African Press Association reports.
    In December, the global rights group Human Rights Watch said in a report that South Africa is "desperately failing lesbian and transgender people" - despite the country's liberal laws.
    The BBC's Pumza Fihlani in Johannesburg says violence against gay and lesbian people is common.
    Lesbians are often subjected to "corrective rape" by men who think this will "cure" them of their homosexuality.
    Three years ago, a man was sentenced to life in prison and another to 32 years for the gang rape, robbery and murder of Eudy Simelane, a lesbian activist who had been a midfielder on the national football team.

Full story Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

We're not living in the dark ages. Other countries are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

This and much worse happens every day. We are animals and the planet is a kip because of us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

no nothing surprises me anymore on this sick planet we live on :(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

The difference is, we have electricity and they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

As far as I know, there are still people around in several European countries, who believe, Homosexuals are 'sick' and have to be locked away, cured, treated, whatsoever :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Ireland is not as bad as living in some Afican country's, we can pretty much get on with our lives here and thank god there is not as much gay bashing as their used to be, fair enough you still have some uneducated ignorant people but it's a small minority and groups like Belong 2 helping out schools, things can only get better

Lars1916 wrote: »
    As far as I know, there are still people around in several European countries, who believe, Homosexuals are 'sick' and have to be locked away, cured, treated, whatsoever :(
    They get their rule from Rome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Yakult wrote: »

and being stoned here has a COMPLETELY different meaning....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Dey eat da poo poo.

gcgirl wrote: »

I know, but I didn't want to offend anybody, just by mentioning, that an opinion like this seems to be very popular among conservative members of the Roman Catholic Church...or Neo-Nazis :mad:

From one extreme to another :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

smash wrote: »

A recent story of a body in a suitcase was where?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Now now, some of The Church of England (some, not all) (ok, many might say it's no different to Rome) and our Free Presybitarian brothers in the North (Paisley's lot, not the ordinary Pres) share some common attitudes towards the auld gays as our Glorious leader in Rome. What was Iris Robinson's excuse? Ian Junior told us that they could be "cured" (Yeah yeah, I know that sounds like the usual bash the Brits or Northerns, it is not intended to be)

But hey, don't like the new trend of Catholic bashing get in the way of contradictions.As in all branches of religiousness congregation, Ireland as an island has come a long way, and most , if the polls suggest, are not remotely bit bothered about the Pope when it comes to social issues like Divorce, abortion (not necessarily a religious issue) and Gays. Same thing with them "goddless" English and the people in the north.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

gbee wrote: »

In Africa they would leave you at the side of the road. We gift wrap our victims at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

What pricks! When I read the article I was happy to see that at least they are handing out stiff sentences for that kind of thing in South Africa. An eighteen-year sentence - even if they only have to serve half of it - should help straighten them out.:)

But then I read this: "Their jail terms were each suspended for five years."

What does that mean?:confused:

From one extreme to another :)

As I said, I don't want to offend anybody, but I those who I met, having an opinion like this, could either be identified as Neo-Nazis (I admit, this happened in Germany), or described themselves as 'proud Catholic' (which happened in Ireland)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I've never really understood homophobia. They're gay and you are not gay. If you hate gays so much shouldnt the fact that you're not gay be a cause of relief and celebration?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

corrective rape

*shudder*

Quite ridiculous trying to pin homophobic violence on the roman catholic church. Convenient, but wrong.

*shudder*

Quite ridiculous trying to pin homophobic violence on the roman catholic church. Convenient, but wrong.

Since I brought this up, please let me explain: I was not talking about violence against people with a homosexual orientation (eg. what happened in South Africa), but labeling Homosexuals as 'sick'...which does not automatically indicate violence against them, imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I would believe anything that goes on in that country, I suppose its what years of conflict does to a people.

But the perps were convicted, and they will serve hard time. But there are other countries on that continent that will execute people for having a consensual and a loving union with a person of the same sex, which in my mind is barbaric, backward and utterly beyond my comprehension.

But even in Ireland, I sometimes read it here, "gay is not natural" "its not what nature intended" blah blah blah as if they have some kind of hardwired understanding of nature, which off course they don't. There is and never has been anything wrong with being gay.

Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Since I brought this up, please let me explain: I was not talking about violence against people with a homosexual orientation (eg. what happened in South Africa), but labeling Homosexuals as 'sick'...which does not automatically indicate violence against them, imo

Fine. But, as you seemed to have predicted, implicitly linking the roman catholic church with neo-nazi's is offensive and hysterical.

Even the most basic grasp of either christianity or humanism would have told those south african beasts that what they were doing was beyond awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

implicitly linking the roman catholic church with neo-nazi's is offensive

To Catholics or Nazis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Its a sad statement to say, but is it that shocking ... its africa.

Anyone with the smallest knowledge of Africa knows how it treats homesexual people. Some countries honestly come out and say how it deals with homosexual people. Other countries hide behind an official law that 'its illegal' (while in reality, much worse happens to a person than being arrested)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Was she hot like an internet lesbian or rank like a real life lesbian, this will sway my emotion on this topic.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

In fairness these men were tried, found guilty and given very long sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Tell that to the girl in Listowel who was sexually abused/assaulted, and who had to put up with large numbers of locals including the local priest all turning up to back her attacker even after he was found guilty in court and caught on CCTV.

Or the rape victim from Ennis who after being brave enough to stand up in court against her attacker, an attacker that was found guilty, then ended up on the same train home as the rapist that evening.

We don't have to look to other countries for backward thinking and backward mentalities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Hey at least its not leitrim

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭greimorm

Vicxas wrote: »
    Makes me feel like we're still living in the dark ages!

Full story Here
    It happens all the time unfortunately for the victims.
    Yakult wrote: »
    The difference is people bitch and moan about other people here but they dont murder them.
    gbee wrote: »
    Unrelated to Irish native.
    fedor.2. wrote: »
    In Africa they would leave you at the side of the road. We gift wrap our victims at least
    Again unrelated to Irish natives,in past cases also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

greimorm wrote: »
    Unrelated to Irish native. .

True, the victim was not Irish nor is the suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

If this happened in Europe or the US I'd be a bit more shocked. But other than 'Western' countries and small pockets elsewhere, most people never left the Dark Ages. A lot of the time talking about respecting culture means accepting barbarism. Islamic regimes kill for sport. Public executions, floggings, killing women when they don't do what you like. Africa's not a lot better. As a girl in South Africa, you're more likely to get raped than finish school. It's so common, they have to educate youth to tell them why it's wrong. Even the ex President Jacob Zuma was tried for rape. You shouldn't be shocked it's a f***ed up society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭greimorm

token101 wrote: »
    If this happened in Europe or the US I'd be a bit more shocked. But other than 'Western' countries and small pockets elsewhere, most people never left the Dark Ages. A lot of the time talking about respecting culture means accepting barbarism. Islamic regimes kill for sport. Public executions, floggings, killing women when they don't do what you like. Africa's not a lot better. As a girl in South Africa, you're more likely to get raped than finish school. It's so common, they have to educate youth to tell them why it's wrong. Even the ex President Jacob Zuma was tried for rape. You shouldn't be shocked it's a f***ed up society.

Personally i am always shocked when someone dies in anyway shape or form irrespective of country.Especially in this day and age like this.
    Like that poor kid murdered by own sister and brother in law from the congo for being a witch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

fedor.2. wrote: »
    This and much worse happens every day. We are animals and the planet is a kip because of us

Is that you Dunphy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

ironically, before the dark ages, being gay was ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Wattle wrote: »
    I've never really understood homophobia. They're gay and you are not gay. If you hate gays so much shouldnt the fact that you're not gay be a cause of relief and celebration?

Indeed, more gay men = more womens for the lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭jomc

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/africaandindianocean/nigeria/4325377/Nigerian-police-hold-magic-goat-over-attempted-car-theft.html
    Nigerian police hold 'magic' goat over attempted car theft

The black and white animal was turned in to police by a vigilante group, which claimed it was an armed car thief who had used black magic to transform himself into a goat to escape arrest after trying to steal a Mazda 323.

"The group of vigilante men came to report that while they were on patrol they saw some hoodlums attempting to rob a car," Tunde Mohammed, a spokesman for Kwara state police, told Reuters.

"They pursued them. However, one of them escaped while the other turned into a goat," he said. While Mr Mohammed said he could not confirm whether a man had, in fact, turned into a goat, he did admit that the animal was in police custody. A photo of the goat, resting on its knees next to a pile of straw, was published in Nigeria's Vanguard newspaper.

Reports citing a different police spokesman said the animal was being held at the station until its owner came to claim it.

Belief in witchcraft is widespread in parts of Nigeria. Many communities in Africa's most populous nation rely on vigilante groups to patrol neighbourhoods that are not served by police at night

Africa eh? :rolleyes:

R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 kissthesky

Maybe the police over there can keep u in the cells for a night the same way the Guards can keep u in a cell here for 'actin da goat'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Jack_Russell

maybe they dont like queers............?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Its hardly a million years ago since a judge allowed four men walk free after murdering a gay man in Fairview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 MGHOW

Absolutely barbaric. But, you can understand the wisdom in Muhammad's teachings; he wanted to ensure people remained morally pure on a spiritual level. The only way of achieving this is to be absolutely vigilant in pushing for moral purity, which includes severe consequences for certain behaviors.

Christianity in modern times has been far too meek in enforcing influence onto people's lives, which is clearly evident in the resulting spiritual death and material worship rampant in Ireland and the West today.