Would you like to see Ireland leave the European Union?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

Im not sure about the whole thing. I know we have come along way since joining the EU with regards to "everything". But I don't like the way merkozy is trying to literally take control of our little island. Now they want to do greece's budget for them so they can get it how they want it. I don't want to see that happen to Ireland or else there will be riots literally because the poor can't take anymore between the government, troika, germany, france. I think we prob would be better off out of it but id say its certain we would notice the difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

We should leave the Euro anyway. I wouldn't mind leaving the EU completely, but I definitely think we should be distancing ourselves instead of trying to get in even further. I really don't like where the EU seems to be going. It's becoming more and more controlling, which doesn't sit well with me at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

TroikaBox wrote: »
    Mostly, yes. There are exceptions, but these EU wide laws are eroding our own Constitution. Ireland has become a shadow of it's recent free state past.

Why do we require the EU for these regulations though? Why not write and maintain our own regulations. What the hell is the LRC for? If I don't like working, I would leave. Private Enterprise should not be chained down by too many anti competitive laws and regulations.

Free state? Who the hell calls Ireland the Free State anymore?? :confused:

When Ireland joined the EU, EU law superseded Irish law, and guess what? It had modernised, educated and improved Ireland in many many areas. It has it's weaknesses of course, but does everything. You have obviously never studied or lived in Ireland pre-EU membership and I think you have not a clue.

Why do we need the EU for these regulations? Because that's their job, our Government was not bringing in these laws, we needed the EU to do that.

The LRC concentrates on industrial relations :confused: They are not a legislative body.

Anti-competitive laws? You do know the EU forced the Irish governments to be competitive, we had lots of monopolies before the EU, it was them who made it competitive.

You don't know much do you?

Fact is. You can say Ireland was a poor country during the free state era(before 73) but at least the Economy was stable. A moderately rich but very stable economy will always trump a very rich but extremely unstable economy. Look at where the EU has lead us too. A complete economic failure of catastrophic proportions. Slow and steady wins the race as they say.

Stability > Economic expansion

Yes, pretty clear you are talking out your ass here now. Go back to history class, come back when you learn a few things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Fact is. You can say Ireland was a poor country during the free state era(before 73) but at least the Economy was stable. A moderately rich but very stable economy will always trump a very rich but extremely unstable economy. Look at where the EU has lead us too. A complete economic failure of catastrophic proportions. Slow and steady wins the race as they say.

This has to be a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

As regards Ireland pre 1973, your opinion is more than laughable.

This has to be a joke?

It's not, and sorry if it offends people, but this is the standard of intelligence from groups like occupy dame street and Dana-esque anti EU people.

They are like our version of the Tea Party. Absolutely mad, hysterically stupid and constantly checking their tyres as they believe everyone is out to kill them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Gareth2011 wrote: »
    Im not sure about the whole thing. I know we have come along way since joining the EU with regards to "everything". But I don't like the way merkozy is trying to literally take control of our little island. Now they want to do greece's budget for them so they can get it how they want it. I don't want to see that happen to Ireland or else there will be riots literally because the poor can't take anymore between the government, troika, germany, france. I think we prob would be better off out of it but id say its certain we would notice the difference.

You should literally only used the word literally when something literally is going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭TroikaBox

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Ireland would be nuts to leave the EU, in the same way that it would be nuts for the UK to pull out.

I would argue Britain would be ok without the Union. They are without a shadow of a doubt the most anti-EU country within the EU. Only Switzerland and Norway come to mind.

The arrogance of these people is shocking. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-2087874/Martin-Schulz-new-European-Parliament-president-says-eurosceptics-mentally-weak.html

I would argue Britain would be ok without the Union. They are without a shadow of a doubt the most anti-EU country within the EU. Only Switzerland and Norway come to mind off the top of my head. Lets not forget, most British Islands are ultimately the responsiblity of the Crown, but they are not governed by the European Union. And for good measure.

Why don't you argue it then. I reject your claim that the UK would be okay if it chose to leave the Eurozone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Free state? Who the hell calls Ireland the Free State anymore?? :confused:

You don't know much do you?

He said at least the economy was stable during the free state, even though we engaged in a Tariff War with Britain and our currency was pegged to the sterling.

It's not, and sorry if it offends people, but this is the standard of intelligence from groups like occupy dame street and Dana-esque anti EU people.

They are like our version of the Tea Party. Absolutely mad, hysterically stupid and constantly checking their tyres as they believe everyone is out to kill them.

As long as they don't notice the pool of brake-fluid, we'll be okay.

Ah lads he's only a misinformed troll. Stop feeding him.

Batsy wrote: »
    Nope. Businesses have been attracted to Ireland because of your low corporation tax rate. Nothing to do with the EU.

I should point out, though, that the EU wants stricken countries like Ireland to INCREASE their corporation tax rate. So it's fair to argue that the Eu is actually trying to take away the incentive for foreign firms to go to Ireland.

Ireland would have none of its multinationals without the EU. If corporation tax rates are the determining factor, why don't they locate in India, which has far lower rates then us. Ireland having the second lowest in the EU is a factor, but the important point is the access to the EU market.

Why don't you argue it then. I reject your claim that the UK would be okay if it chose to leave the Eurozone.

That is ultimately the responsibility of their own Parliament. Will be interesting to see how the situation pans out. I hope the EU is eventually consigned to the dustbin. http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukpress/article/ALeqM5ivJVDejz-lFl-BcWuHt603cTwzfA?docId=N0183901327753870958A

I would argue Britain would be ok without the Union. They are without a shadow of a doubt the most anti-EU country within the EU. Only Switzerland and Norway come to mind.

The arrogance of these people is shocking. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/debate/article-2087874/Martin-Schulz-new-European-Parliament-president-says-eurosceptics-mentally-weak.html

It doesn't take a genius to know that the Daily Mail is the the most anti-EU doom-mongering rag in the UK, to be taken with a pinch of salt at all times.

Even the UK can't survive on its own in this world.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It doesn't take a genius to know that the Daily Mail is the the most anti-EU doom-mongering rag in the UK, to be taken with a pinch of salt at all times.

Even the UK can't survive on its own in this world.

As far as I know, the Daily Mail aren't calling euroskeptics "weak". Slate the source of the information, not the medium. I treat the Daily mail as a medium only. If you can't be bothered to refer to the original source, well more luck to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

We should leave the Euro anyway. I wouldn't mind leaving the EU completely, but I definitely think we should be distancing ourselves instead of trying to get in even further. I really don't like where the EU seems to be going. It's becoming more and more controlling, which doesn't sit well with me at all.

Exactly my opinion on the matter:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Stinicker wrote: »
    I voted no but I would like Ireland to leave the EU and and remain a part of the EEA and EFTA like Norway giving us access to European markets without the regulation of interference from Brussels Germany.

So we can sit by the fax machine waiting to be told what directives we have to adopt with no input into them in order to stay in said market?

Sindri wrote: »
    He said at least the economy was stable during the free state, even though we engaged in a Tariff War with Britain and our currency was pegged to the sterling.

The EU would never allow Protectionism without their own approval. The country was poorer. But it was also more fiscally stable. You don't need to be needlessly rich to have a stable banking situation. EU is similar to a pyramid scheme. Those at the top will always benefit the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Lads, I wouldn't bother responding to TroikaBox. In his other thread when he came up against arguments he couldn't explain away he just ignored them.

Don't waste your breath.

The EU would never allow Protectionism without their own approval. The country was poorer. But it was also more fiscally stable. You don't need to be needlessly rich to have a stable banking situation. EU is similar to a pyramid scheme. Those at the top will always benefit the most.

Your talking shite, I've already reported you for trolling.

Sindri wrote: »
    Your talking shite, I've already reported you for trolling.

You're. I wish I was trolling. The poll speaks for itself.

with the 55% support for staying in the EU it does. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

All patriots should say no the EU. I know I do.

Excellent, hopefully that will mean Irish peoples voting in Fianna Fail in the future won't be so damaging to us again.

The ECB originally lent the Irish Politicians this money. Therefore they are the source of this economic mess. You don't lend a child a scalpel. Likewise, you do not give clown Politicians Billions of euro without some heavy verification. Somebody was asleep at the wheel in Brussels.

I agree, we as a people can't seem to run our own country properly at all so the more outside help we get the better. So staying in the EU is obviously a good thing for us and It's good that you're coming around to seeing that, fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Originally Posted by Da Shins Kelly viewpost.gif

This may happen, if the euro fails, but believe me you don't want it to happen, exactly what would be leaving the euro for. We have a tiny reserve of gold and the bond markets are closed to us.

So we would virtually have a Zimbabwe a worthless currency I go as far to say you would see starvation here, that is how bad it would be.

As for leaving the EU it really is not the time for it, but again if the currency fails it may break up anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

I'm not in favour of leaving the EU as it stands but I do consider us to have reached a point where further integration is not needed. Unfortunately the major powers in the EU don't think this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

KeithAFC wrote: »
    All patriots should say no the EU. I know I do.

Patriot I always hated that word, but if I was a patriot and I am not, I could still be a patriot and be in the EU.