Winning Streak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Dubs are too busy watching BBC and ITV, West Brits the lot of them

Queen visits Dublin
    http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01311/SNN1808DD-6821_1311910a.jpg

Queen visits Cork
    http://www.indymedia.ie/attachments/jun2011/queen_in_cork_may2011.jpg

Also, Corkonians go on about being the second city of Ireland, apparently forgetting about Belfast. Typical partitionist mindset. Rebel County indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

mossyc123 wrote: »
    Don't get the hate for Winning Streak myself.

Bunch of random punters go into a TV studio and come out an hour later with a 5/6-figure sum each... obviously not the most original or stimulating piece of Television but what's not to like?!

It's certainly better then some other options for Saturday night TV, e.g. The X Factor which seems to amount to the humiliation of deluded people and ridicilous hyperbole surrounding mediocre talents.

But it's a gameshow with zero skill. It makes Deal or No Deal look like University Challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

It's a game of chance. Like hurling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Its not called Winning Freak for nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

goose2005 wrote: »
    But it's a gameshow with zero skill. It makes Deal or No Deal look like University Challenge.

True.

But people buy tickets because they know if you get 3 stars and picked out your guaranteed a 5-figure sum.

I'd imagine the sales would fall through the floor if you had to answer questions in order to get the €€€'s.

Almost every other game show relies on the "drama" and "tension" of watching a Joe Soap win or fail... personally I reckon watching a bit of guaranteed win and the joy that brings to people is good for a change.

There's so much over-wrought, over-emotional BS on TV these days that Winning Streak is actually quite unique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Half the population doesn't live in dublin. And to be honest their are a fair few howaya's on it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭patwicklow

I got 3 stars on a ticket i was given for my birthday threw it in the bin.
    would not go on that silly show for no money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

I remember watchin this a few years ago with family home from england and i was telling them home much irish tv has came on in the last few years, marty whelan then intrudced 'shooting spuds in space' to get to spin the wheel...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

davet82 wrote: »
    I remember watchin this a few years ago with family home from england and i was telling them home much irish tv has came on in the last few years, marty whelan then intrudced 'shooting spuds in space' to get to spin the wheel...

Ah jaysus, give the inferiority complex a rest.

It's only a gameshow, i'd take it over some of the muck ITV churns out anyway (Family Fortunes anyone?!) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I know i'm probably gonna get alot of stick here for culchie (anyone outside dublin imo) bashing but how is that there are very few dubs on winning streak but with nearly half the population in dublin should there not be at least 2 dubs a week on it by averages?

is this a culchie conspiracy? ;)

It's because it's such a small sample. Say there were 50,000 tickets sent in from all round the country and 20,000 of them were from Dublin.Then select 100 which is what they do (to make sure people haven't left them blank etc) maybe 40 of them would be Dubs maybe 25 maybe 60. Then select 5 and you could easily get no Dubs.

If you want to see a draw in which Dublin is properly represented look at the Prize Bonds draw every Friday at 12.30pm. Dublin and Cork between them get around half of the prizes every week but that is because there are 7700 prizes or so drawn, a big enough sample to reflect the bonds held in each county.

http://www.prizebonds.ie/livedraw/drawresults.asp?0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

Fart wrote: »
    I think the show has to cater for the different dialects. No point in having most contestants from Dublin as most of the country folk would be like: :confused:.

I don't think you understand what a lottery is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Arpa wrote: »
    I don't think you understand what a lottery is.
    I don't think you know what a joke is:pac:

I always liked Winning Streak. As a kid I'd spend all my Saturday outside playing war or farm and then come in, settle down to plate of dinner, stick on the tv and watch the best lineup in the whole world, Superman and Winning Streak.

Until RTE started putting them both on different channels at the same time:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I know i'm probably gonna get alot of stick here for culchie (anyone outside dublin imo) bashing but how is that there are very few dubs on winning streak but with nearly half the population in dublin should there not be at least 2 dubs a week on it by averages?

There were 3 Dubs picked out this week, 3!
    Marty and his cohort were sure to stress it numerous times.

We have obviously rumbled them and they're making a very poor attempt to cover their tracks.

Good work davet82.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Whatever her name is needs to wear less clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Marty Whelan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I wish we had an emoticon that adequately depicted the sensation typified by the contracting of the facial muscles where the lips are slightly pursed, a rye smile extends across the face and the atlas vertebrae in all there glory facilitate a slight shake of the head in an honest bewilderment.

Does your mother know you got your hands free from the straps on your bed again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Only culchies watch it/would be caught dead appearing on it.

i wouldnt care as long as i won some money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Better West Brits than old Brits, you lot pretend to be the real Irish but are really the dregs of the old British landowners enjoy your dead no value lands and ****e b/w TVs while we live it up in civilization.

I hardly call a dystopia riddled with poor enunciation, junkies and scumbags on one side, and silver spooned gout riddled saxons, enjoying mouth orgasms from their avocado and fox soup on the other civilization.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

The-Rigger wrote: »
    There were 3 Dubs picked out this week, 3!
    Marty and his cohort were sure to stress it numerous times.

We have obviously rumbled them and they're making a very poor attempt to cover their tracks.

Good work davet82.

:D I knew it!!

Also marty must lurk on boards... pick me marty pick me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

patwicklow wrote: »
    I got 3 stars on a ticket i was given for my birthday threw it in the bin.
    would not go on that silly show for no money

You'd have to be highly unlucky to come away with no money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭liptonvillag

quietriot wrote: »
    'Cause the city folks are too busy, you know, running the country while you country folk play scratchcards, beat one another at bog-ball matches with handbags and argue over the price of cattle.

Running the country ?? Are you joking. All Dublin people seem to do is drive taxi's. Sure it's Culchies that run Dublin and Run the country. Enda kenny is a Mayo man and is Taoiseach. Eamon gilmore is a Galway man and is Taniste. The attorney General is a Galway woman. Micheal D Higgins is the President of Ireland and he's another adopted Galway man although Clare and Limerick would also have claim to him. In reality, I think there's only about 15 Dublin Born T.D's in Dail Eireann. Many of the T.D's in elected in Dublin are not even Dublin born.
    It's the culchies that run the country now. Last time we let a Dub run it we ended up withe IMF in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

They probably end up dumping all their winning scratch cards because they can't see them through the smog. Plus, Dubs have better things to be doing like smack and shooting each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,784 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Another good week for the Dubs in the Prize Bonds.

http://www.prizebonds.ie/livedraw/drawresults.asp?0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Bit of an old thread but curious to see what people think, if you saved up over time and managed to collect say...100 tickets with 3 stars on them and sent them all in, in one go.. Would you have a better chance of getting on the show than if you sent 1 ticket in each week for 100 weeks?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

It's not even a gameshow, there's zero skill involved in it. If I ever got a chance to go on it I'd send my mam on and give her a share of the winnings :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Bit of an old thread but curious to see what people think, if you saved up over time and managed to collect say...100 tickets with 3 stars on them and sent them all in, in one go.. Would you have a better chance of getting on the show than if you sent 1 ticket in each week for 100 weeks?!

100 tickets all at once definitely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

100 tickets all at once definitely.

Your chances of winning are the same. The only difference between the two is that if you enter multiple times there is a very minor chance you could win more than once while if you enter all tickets in one draw you are limited to only one win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

love winning streak , one of the few programs id watch on a Saturday night.

contestants make it , they cant pick the plastic people so you get a realistic representation of the people of Ireland.

some great characters and some great supporters in the crowd

i used to save the tickets and fire them all in at once , never came close to getting on the show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Your chances of winning are the same. The only difference between the two is that if you enter multiple times there is a very minor chance you could win more than once while if you enter all tickets in one draw you are limited to only one win.

Yea but i mean your chances of getting picked out for the show.
    100 in one go it is so....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,103 ✭✭✭Tiddlypeeps

Yea but i mean your chances of getting picked out for the show.
    100 in one go it is so....

I was talking about chances to get picked out for the show. Your chances are the same if you put in 1 ticket every 100 weeks or 100 tickets in 1 week.

Lets just say for easy maths that there is on average 1,000 entries each week (the real number doesn't matter). Your odds of winning if you enter 1 ticket in one draw are 1 in 1,000. If you enter 1 ticket in the draw every week for 100 weeks the probability of you winning is 100/1,000.

If you enter 100 tickets in one draw then your chances of winning are 100/1,000.

So your probability of winning once either way is the same.