Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winning Streak

• 24-01-2012 4:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭

I know i'm probably gonna get alot of stick here for culchie (anyone outside dublin imo) bashing but how is that there are very few dubs on winning streak but with nearly half the population in dublin should there not be at least 2 dubs a week on it by averages?

is this a culchie conspiracy? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Only culchies watch it/would be caught dead appearing on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Bring back Mike Murphy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Maybe rural people buy more tickets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Maybe rural people buy more tickets?

damn you chuck, you just ruined my thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

davet82 wrote: »
    damn you chuck, you just ruined my thread

Sorry! :o

It was actually a question cos I don't know the answer!

But it does seem likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I think the show has to cater for the different dialects. No point in having most contestants from Dublin as most of the country folk would be like: :confused:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭quietriot

'Cause the city folks are too busy, you know, running the country while you country folk play scratchcards, beat one another at bog-ball matches with handbags and argue over the price of cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

quietriot wrote: »
    'Cause the city folks are too busy, you know, running the country while you country folk play scratchcards, beat one another at bog-ball matches with handbags and argue over the price of cattle.
    Is "running the country" code for injecting heroin and begging for change?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Dubs are too busy watching BBC and ITV, West Brits the lot of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

then why do you bastards give it to us so. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

mikemac1 wrote: »

because rte is that good

Nah, just the business, political and tourism capital of the country, besides being the actual capital and only noteworthy city. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

quietriot wrote: »
    'Cause the city folks are too busy, you know, RUINING the country while you country folk play scratchcards, beat one another at bog-ball matches with handbags and argue over the price of cattle.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Fourteen

lol OP, I was thinking the exact same thing the other day.

isn't Marty Whelan from Dublin, though? why isn't he sorting this out?

Judas!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 145 ✭✭bordsie

I'd rather not appear on a TV show where most contestants are toothless simpletons with eyebrows on their cheeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Winning streak threads = boring.

Streak FAIL = so much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Yes, they weight it. It's not proportional or 'fair'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

bordsie wrote: »
    I'd rather not appear on a TV show where most contestants are toothless simpletons with eyebrows on their cheeks.

I wouldn't give a flying f**k what i looked like on TV if i was getting a near guaranteed €30,000 for buying a scratchcard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Robus

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Proof Please!

Seriously? Where is this written?

I could understand if from a marketing point of view but essentially rigging a game of chance in favour of some people based on location would be worthy of it being shut down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭muracan

Whatever about the contestants the wheel is rigged.
    Watch the ball "shiver" as it slows down.It certainly doesn't fall naturally.
    Magnets I reckon!

If you don't believe me,watch it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

with nearly half the population in dublin should there not be at least 2 dubs a week on it by averages?
    [Quibble starts]

Not that it affects your point much but Dublin is just over a quarter of the population, not nearly half (1,187,176 out of 4,581,269 in the 2011 census, apparently).

If you include Kildare, Meath and Wicklow in the Greater Dublin region you get 39.3% of the state's population.

[Quibble finishes]

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

The Culchie state of mind

Buy 2 tickets for €4
    win €2
    WINNER!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

But you're west of Britain too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

pmcmahon wrote: »
    The Culchie state of mind

Buy 2 tickets for €4
    win €2
    WINNER!!!

Yeah. We're an awful shower of fuckin eejits, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

Saw an explanation for this some years ago. One bag of tickets is selected for each county irrespective of how many bags per county there are. Then the five tickets are randomly selected from these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Better West Brits than old Brits, you lot pretend to be the real Irish but are really the dregs of the old British landowners enjoy your dead no value lands and ****e b/w TVs while we live it up in civilization.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Saw an explanation for this some years ago. One bag of tickets is selected for each county irrespective of how many bags per county there are. Then the five tickets are randomly selected from these.

so i'd be on every week if i lived in roscommon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

Don't get the hate for Winning Streak myself.

Bunch of random punters go into a TV studio and come out an hour later with a 5/6-figure sum each... obviously not the most original or stimulating piece of Television but what's not to like?!

It's certainly better then some other options for Saturday night TV, e.g. The X Factor which seems to amount to the humiliation of deluded people and ridicilous hyperbole surrounding mediocre talents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Arnold Layne

pmcmahon wrote: »

so i'd be on every week if i lived in roscommon?

How so? There would still be tickets from 25 other bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Queen visits Dublin
    http://img.thesun.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01311/SNN1808DD-6821_1311910a.jpg

Queen visits Cork
    http://www.indymedia.ie/attachments/jun2011/queen_in_cork_may2011.jpg

Also, Corkonians go on about being the second city of Ireland, apparently forgetting about Belfast. Typical partitionist mindset. Rebel County indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

mossyc123 wrote: »
    Don't get the hate for Winning Streak myself.

Bunch of random punters go into a TV studio and come out an hour later with a 5/6-figure sum each... obviously not the most original or stimulating piece of Television but what's not to like?!

It's certainly better then some other options for Saturday night TV, e.g. The X Factor which seems to amount to the humiliation of deluded people and ridicilous hyperbole surrounding mediocre talents.

But it's a gameshow with zero skill. It makes Deal or No Deal look like University Challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

It's a game of chance. Like hurling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Its not called Winning Freak for nothing.

goose2005 wrote: »
    But it's a gameshow with zero skill. It makes Deal or No Deal look like University Challenge.

True.

But people buy tickets because they know if you get 3 stars and picked out your guaranteed a 5-figure sum.

I'd imagine the sales would fall through the floor if you had to answer questions in order to get the €€€'s.

Almost every other game show relies on the "drama" and "tension" of watching a Joe Soap win or fail... personally I reckon watching a bit of guaranteed win and the joy that brings to people is good for a change.

There's so much over-wrought, over-emotional BS on TV these days that Winning Streak is actually quite unique.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Half the population doesn't live in dublin. And to be honest their are a fair few howaya's on it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

I got 3 stars on a ticket i was given for my birthday threw it in the bin.
    would not go on that silly show for no money

I remember watchin this a few years ago with family home from england and i was telling them home much irish tv has came on in the last few years, marty whelan then intrudced 'shooting spuds in space' to get to spin the wheel...

Ah jaysus, give the inferiority complex a rest.

It's only a gameshow, i'd take it over some of the muck ITV churns out anyway (Family Fortunes anyone?!) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,865 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I know i'm probably gonna get alot of stick here for culchie (anyone outside dublin imo) bashing but how is that there are very few dubs on winning streak but with nearly half the population in dublin should there not be at least 2 dubs a week on it by averages?

It's because it's such a small sample. Say there were 50,000 tickets sent in from all round the country and 20,000 of them were from Dublin.Then select 100 which is what they do (to make sure people haven't left them blank etc) maybe 40 of them would be Dubs maybe 25 maybe 60. Then select 5 and you could easily get no Dubs.

If you want to see a draw in which Dublin is properly represented look at the Prize Bonds draw every Friday at 12.30pm. Dublin and Cork between them get around half of the prizes every week but that is because there are 7700 prizes or so drawn, a big enough sample to reflect the bonds held in each county.

http://www.prizebonds.ie/livedraw/drawresults.asp?0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Arpa

Fart wrote: »
    I think the show has to cater for the different dialects. No point in having most contestants from Dublin as most of the country folk would be like: :confused:.

I don't think you understand what a lottery is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Arpa wrote: »
    I don't think you understand what a lottery is.
    I don't think you know what a joke is:pac:

I always liked Winning Streak. As a kid I'd spend all my Saturday outside playing war or farm and then come in, settle down to plate of dinner, stick on the tv and watch the best lineup in the whole world, Superman and Winning Streak.

Until RTE started putting them both on different channels at the same time:mad:

There were 3 Dubs picked out this week, 3!
    Marty and his cohort were sure to stress it numerous times.

We have obviously rumbled them and they're making a very poor attempt to cover their tracks.

Good work davet82.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

Whatever her name is needs to wear less clothes

Marty Whelan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

I wish we had an emoticon that adequately depicted the sensation typified by the contracting of the facial muscles where the lips are slightly pursed, a rye smile extends across the face and the atlas vertebrae in all there glory facilitate a slight shake of the head in an honest bewilderment.

Does your mother know you got your hands free from the straps on your bed again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

Only culchies watch it/would be caught dead appearing on it.

i wouldnt care as long as i won some money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Better West Brits than old Brits, you lot pretend to be the real Irish but are really the dregs of the old British landowners enjoy your dead no value lands and ****e b/w TVs while we live it up in civilization.

I hardly call a dystopia riddled with poor enunciation, junkies and scumbags on one side, and silver spooned gout riddled saxons, enjoying mouth orgasms from their avocado and fox soup on the other civilization.

There were 3 Dubs picked out this week, 3!
    Marty and his cohort were sure to stress it numerous times.

We have obviously rumbled them and they're making a very poor attempt to cover their tracks.

Good work davet82.

:D I knew it!!

Also marty must lurk on boards... pick me marty pick me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

patwicklow wrote: »
    I got 3 stars on a ticket i was given for my birthday threw it in the bin.
    would not go on that silly show for no money

You'd have to be highly unlucky to come away with no money.