NFL Playoffs Thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,819 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

when are you joining the madden league paully :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I can't see it happening to be honest mate. I haven't even turned the Xbox on in about 3 weeks now. Maybe for Madden 13 :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,819 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

youll change your mind once the super bowl is over youll need your fix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

What free teams are there in the league?

post in the thread and someone will reply. on mobile so will be a while before i can check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I didn't realize Tynes was originally from Scotland

The British media have found out and claimed him in today's papers :D

Nice to see a European over there anyway.
    Maybe that makes no sense, just my first reaction anyway :)

They'll be claiming Umenyiora next.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Keno 92 wrote: »
    They'll be claiming Umenyiora next.

Why not? He's a London (Hackney) boy born & bred. Only moved to the US as a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

There's another English boy (Sooner) who's declared for the upcoming draft. Forgot his name, but he's a LB and is from Crawley, Sussex.

Tom Wort?

I'm almost sure on Sky Sports he was saying he'd be playing college football next season with the hope of playing NFL the following season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

Paully D wrote: »
    Skip Bayless will **** himself into a coma over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Steve weatherford was pretty happy last night..

MFING-SUPER-BOWL.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

He's got a serious amount of criticism over the year for his punts so can see why he's be so overjoyed! He was pretty top notch yesterday in awful conditions! And who doesn't like lip reading that kinda happiness :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Still sickened about last nights result.

As Cundiff himself has said, he's made that exact kick ''a thousand times''. It's just such a shame that the miss had to come at such a crucial time. In fact, he hadn't missed a 4th quarter kick all season before last night!

Pressure. You live and die for moments like this in your career.
    Plain and simple bottled it. You can't account for nerves as a coach or fan.
    I was very impressed with Flacco. He stood up when he needed to and should get the credit that he craves for that, even if it was against a poor defense.

Can the likes of Reed and Lewis recharge the batteries and give it another good go next year? Lewis seemed to be targeted a lot by New England and I noticed a lot of teams doing it during this season too. It'll be interesting to see what happens.

Like many Ravens and 49ers fans, the Super Bowl is a bit ''meh'' for me now, but I fancy the Giants to take it. The Patriots defense is poor and Manning has a lot of good receivers to hit.

All said and done it's been a very enjoyable first season for me as an NFL fan so thanks to all who have

I would say you will have plenty more years of enjoyment with the Ravens ahead of you. Great season this year behind you's now; Lewis said he will stay next year(not sure how much more effective he will be but he'll be a huge lockerroom influence and you'll get some great plays and drive outta him), Flacco will sign a new contract and with the Steelers and Colts in decline, no sign of the Chargers doing anything dramatic and Bronco's and Texans still with a bit to prove this could see be the Championship match plenty over the next few years and I'm sure the Ravens will come out on top next time.

As for the Superbowl being 'meh'; I'm sure thats just the view through the pangs of defeat and your outlook in a couple of days when the misery has lifted away will shift and you start to look at the match-up on hand for a neutral this is gonna be a stonker of game!! Enjoy it!!

Anyone hear about scoreboardgate at foxboro? After Boldin's 9-yard reception the scoreboard read 1st and 10, and the Ravens looked at that rather than the chains. Big mistake on both parts (and the Ravens thought it was a 3rd down field goal) but very likely didn't affect the end result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,067 ✭✭✭tallaghtoutlaws

matthew8 wrote: »
    Anyone hear about scoreboardgate at foxboro? After Boldin's 9-yard reception the scoreboard read 1st and 10, and the Ravens looked at that rather than the chains. Big mistake on both parts (and the Ravens thought it was a 3rd down field goal) but very likely didn't affect the end result.

When websites like Deadspin and TMZ get involved it shows another classic example of the Media trying turn human error into a scandal. Had the spygate thing never happened you yourself wouldn't be calling it scoreboardgate. simple fact they missed a simple field goal. Looking for excuses after the loss is pathetic especially when players and the team seemed bitter with other reports.

http://espn.go.com/blog/afcnorth/post/_/id/41167/ravens-cant-blame-scoreboard-gate
    Years after New England's reputation took at hit in Spygate, the Patriots find themselves in another controversy.

Should we call it Scoreboard-Gate?

The Ravens say an error on the Gillette Stadium scoreboard factored into one of the most memorable field-goal misses in NFL playoff history and now has gotten the likes of Deadspin and TMZ involved. Wait, TMZ? Was Paris Hilton operating the scoreboard?

With the Ravens trailing 23-20 in the final minute of the AFC championship game, Billy Cundiff was seen rushing onto the field before hooking the 32-yard field goal. The reason: the Ravens contend the scoreboard showed it was third down when it was actually fourth down. Ravens public relations director Kevin Byrne told Deadspin that the team has video that confirms the "scoreboard malfunction." Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs mentioned the problem with the scoreboard on ESPN's First Take, too.

After the game, Cundiff told reporters that "the timing seemed a little off." One unnamed Ravens player told TMZ on Monday that the Ravens coaches called for Cundiff at least six times and were "furious" that he was not immediately ready after the failed third down play.

The confusion started when Anquan Boldin caught a first-down pass and ran to the New England 14-yard line before fumbling the ball, which rolled forward and out at the New England 10. The Ravens thought the ball was spotted where it went out of bounds, which would have given them a first down. But the ball was spotted at the Patriots 14, making the Ravens one yard short and leading to second down.

If all of this is true, the Ravens still can't blame the Patriots for that field-goal miss, which would have tied the game with 11 seconds left in regulation. The Ravens only have themselves to blame for not sending the AFC championship game into overtime.

Someone on the Ravens, whether it was Cundiff, Suggs or coach John Harbaugh, should've called a timeout. With a trip to the Super Bowl on the line, you don't want to leave anything to chance. Not even an easy, 32-yard chip shot.

Remember, Cundiff was 11 of 20 on field-goal attempts on the road during the regular season. He has a history of struggling away from home even when he's not rushed. And the Gillette Stadium scoreboard was right about one thing -- the Ravens had one timeout remaining.

Asked if he thought about using a timeout in that situation, Harbaugh said after the game, "That never occurred to me. I didn't think that. You know, looking back at it now, maybe there was something we could have done. But in the situation, it didn't seem like we were that rushed on the field. thought we were in pretty good shape."

Harbaugh might not have been aware that the Ravens were rushed, but Patriots coach Bill Belichick certainly did. That's why he didn't call a timeout to ice Cundiff.

“I thought they were a little late making the substitution," Belichick told a Boston radio station. "I thought they sent it out a little bit late. It was fourth-and-2, something like that. I thought well maybe they might have even lost track of the downs."

Belichick added, "It just seemed to me like they were rushing a little bit. I felt we were better off letting them go, letting them rush and handle it under pressure rather than give them a chance to settle down and get it all lined up properly.”

A Ravens spokesman said he wasn't sure whether the team made the NFL aware of the situation because the coaches immediately left for the Senior Bowl on Monday. The league didn't immediately respond to an email.

When websites like Deadspin and TMZ get involved it shows another classic example of the Media trying turn human error into a scandal. Had the spygate thing never happened you yourself wouldn't be calling it scoreboardgate. simple fact they missed a simple field goal. Looking for excuses after the loss is pathetic especially when players and the team seemed bitter with other reports.

http://espn.go.com/blog/afcnorth/post/_/id/41167/ravens-cant-blame-scoreboard-gate
    This is where we get the idea of overly sensitive Patriots fans. Stupid posts like this. I said it very likely didn't affect the end result. You make it seem like I said it was crucial to the outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

I noticed Cundiff being late out to the field for the FG and honestly think that had a factor in him missing. There must have been about 7 seconds left on the clock when he got to the area for taking the FG. Surely the Ravens should have seen this and called their last TO. I was baffled by it.

This is where we get the idea of overly sensitive Patriots fans. Stupid posts like this. I said it very likely didn't affect the end result. You make it seem like I said it was crucial to the outcome.

Over sensitive? what are you talking about. I was merely giving my opinion as to the so called scoreboardgate nonsense. What did you expect would happen when you brought it up and called it scoreboardgate yourself? And I never said you were looking for excuses. I was making the point the Ravens were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

SantryRed wrote: »
    I noticed Cundiff being late out to the field for the FG and honestly think that had a factor in him missing. There must have been about 7 seconds left on the clock when he got to the area for taking the FG. Surely the Ravens should have seen this and called their last TO. I was baffled by it.

Yea i picked up on that too. Irregardless of what happened they should have seen he had no time to settle and prepare and they should have used their time out. I'd be laying the blame on harbaugh for not giving his kicker the best chance. (also on Lee Evans!!)

What do you all think of the overtime rules lads?

Personally it just seems like complete luck to me, something which generally just comes down to a coin toss as whoever wins it has a massive advantage. Also, many players, coaches etc don't seem to understand it properly.

There should be college overtimes rules in the NFL IMO, that's much fairer, or else just play a full 8 minutes with each team getting 1 timeout or something.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Talk about clutching at straws.

And you have the 'story' arseways as well. Apparently, cundiff, and only him, was relying on the scoreboard. The ravens knew what down it was. Now if your kicker, in the last few seconds of a championship game doesn't know what down it is, it's his fault, and his alone. And if your coach who has a time out doesn't call it for a game tying kick to get everything set, then that too is a huge error. I'm not talking freezing him, but when the ball went dead, call a time out and get it set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭D.R Adams

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Yea i picked up on that too. Irregardless of what happened they should have seen he had no time to settle and prepare and they should have used their time out. I'd be laying the blame on harbaugh for not giving his kicker the best chance. (also on Lee Evans!!)

The ESPN Football Today podcast talked about this point yesterday and they said it was a no win situation for Harbaugh, if he called the TO and then cundiff missed they would say he iced the kicker, now some people say he should have called the TO, hard to know really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

D.R Adams wrote: »
    The ESPN Football Today podcast talked about this point yesterday and they said it was a no win situation for Harbaugh, if he called the TO and then cundiff missed they would say he iced the kicker, now some people say he should have called the TO, hard to know really.

I think he should have called it before Cundiff even lined up. It was obvious he was rushing out big time.

D.R Adams wrote: »

The mad thing is Harbaugh himself said this after being asked about a time out:
    Asked if he thought about using a timeout in that situation, Harbaugh said after the game, "That never occurred to me. I didn't think that. You know, looking back at it now, maybe there was something we could have done. But in the situation, it didn't seem like we were that rushed on the field. thought we were in pretty good shape."
    SantryRed wrote: »
    I think he should have called it before Cundiff even lined up. It was obvious he was rushing out big time.

Yup he should have called it when they realised Cundiff was taking so long in my eyes.

Seeing as we're talking about it, does anyone else think the Ravens should have gone for it on 4th and one? Tbh the Patriots were likely winners if the kick went through.

What made them likely winners exactly?! That's a huge assumption on a game where the two teams were pretty even and realistically the Ravens could have won at the end!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

John Harbaugh clearly learned about the use of timeouts in critical situations from Andy Reid :pac:

kmart6 wrote: »
    What made them likely winners exactly?! That's a huge assumption on a game where the two teams were pretty even and realistically the Ravens could have won at the end!

Because it's the Patriots. If the Ravens were the underdog going into the game, they were also the underdogs in a potential OT scenario.

I'm not so sure about that. It's all about the coin toss really.

Flacco had marched us down the field twice at critical times (the 90 yard drive after the Patriots TD and the drive for the missed FG attempt).

On saying that, I'm sure Brady would have fancied his chances of marching the Patriots down the field in such a situation too.

I think it would have had more to do with who received the ball first than the odds before the game kicked off.