Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

800,000 Viagra pills paid for last year by Taxpayer for Medical Card Holders.

• 24-01-2012 1:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭

Just heard that on Newstalk, Surely I didn't hear correctly :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

At last the gubberment is giving people pleasure. Anyway, it's a drug, it has a use and floppiness is a recognised medical condition. What's the problem?

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭Attabear

A2LUE42 wrote: »
    Just heard that on Newstalk, Surely I didn't hear correctly :confused:

That was just for one bloke in the midlands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It's all part of Fianna Fails' erection promises.

Well.

That's a hard fact to swallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

Some people are really hard up.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Hope they can all stand up and be counted

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

The government has been screwing us for years, its only fair they should facilitate us screwing each other.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

It's not only used to give people the horn you know!

I know a girl who's on a Viagra prescription to keep basically keep blood flow to her bits following complications after childbirth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 lemme

You'll have medical card holders cuming on here saying they are too hard-up to take their hands out of their pockets and pay for viagra themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jackal

The Government really has a hard-on for people on the dole.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

What about Cialis, is that included?

Approx cost per tablet = €15, Max of 4 per person per month. So basically a person can get €60 worth every month which equates to €720. The amount of people doing this is ridiculous. Highlights the abuse of the medical card system in Ireland. I know of people that get drugs on the card to sell to people without a card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

< ERECTION JOKE HERE >

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Isn't it a prescription drug?

If so, one could assume it is being prescribed by a qualified doctor.

And one could thus infer it is for medicinal reasons.

Should we discuss how many medical card holders are receiving antibiotics? Or does that not conjure up a gross enough image?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Warper wrote: »

Approx cost per tablet = €15, Max of 4 per person per month. So basically a person can get €60 worth every month which equates to €720. The amount of people doing this is ridiculous. Highlights the abuse of the medical card system in Ireland. I know of people that get drugs on the card to sell to people without a card.

Is Viagra out of patent?

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Warper wrote: »

So squeal on them then.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Gareth2011 wrote: »
    Some people are really hard up.

BAH!! damn you!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,398 ✭✭✭cml387

Attabear wrote: »
    That was just for one bloke in the midlands.

Willie Power?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

It's all part of Fianna Fails' erection promises.

Brilliant :D

Think it was a €6 million odd spend according to the radio. To be fair - it is an actual medical condition which (so I hear....) can cause great distress.

The whole drug procurement strategy of the HSE is badly in need of a shake-up alright. We can do better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

smash wrote: »
    It's not only used to give people the horn you know!

I know a girl who's on a Viagra prescription to keep basically keep blood flow to her bits following complications after childbirth.

....good divine jaysus.....

Them wimmin is awful complicated things.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

< *INSERT*ERECTION JOKE HERE >

chuckle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

ah bollix i cant think of a joke :(

• Registered Users Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Viagra today, child benefit tomorrow!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Seachmall wrote: »
    Isn't it a prescription drug?

If so, one could assume it is being prescribed by a qualified doctor.

And one could thus infer it is for medicinal reasons.

it can be used for the treatment of angina. causes blood vessels to dilate.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

davet82 wrote: »
    ah bollix i cant think of a joke :(

Aye, in times like these it can be hard to get the juices flowing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

< ERECTION JOKE HERE >
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Don't see the problem.

Far better than ramming people full of anti-depressants and valium because they're stressing out about not being able to get a stiffy and their marriage is going down the tubes. If the government can facilitate people getting their jollies, that will serve society's benefit more than anything.

I remember talking a psychiatrist in the pub one night who only took patients on the public health schemes. He was frank, more frank than a psychiatrist should be about his patients. I'll never forget one of the thing he said though: "Most of the people who come into me just need a good ride. Nearly all they talk about when they come in, is sex. If the HSE paid for them to go see a hoor instead of giving me €80/hour, it would sort out all their problems".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

AeoNGriM wrote: »
    So squeal on them then.

Squeal like a liddle piggy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Gareth2011

Watching Top Gear the other week and the boys were in the andies mountains. Jeremy gave them Viagra as it was to get the blood flowing wetc cause they were so high up and the air was very thin. James comes up with " Give me some of that water or im going to have a massive neck" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

It's also a vital life saving drug if one wants to take a jeep over the highest parts of the Andes.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,950 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Seachmall wrote: »
    Should we discuss how many medical card holders are receiving antibiotics? Or does that not conjure up a gross enough image?

You can't sell unused antibiotics for €20 a pill.