Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Road Rage incidents. Any experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,935 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I'm generally not TOO angry, but bad driving makes me turn the air pretty blue in the car. For example, people not using roundabouts properly.

I'm a fairly well built guy, so I've not had anyone try to approach me or anything yet, which is a bonus :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭silly

lemme wrote: »

btw lol at your location :)
    I'm on my phone, so no idea what my location says... Didn't even know boards did the whole location thing...
    What does my location say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭garysully1986

silly wrote: »
    I'm on my phone, so no idea what my location says... Didn't even know boards did the whole location thing...

silly
    blue_star_3.gif

Adverts | Friends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Trevor Kent

blackwhite wrote: »
    FYP

You sure about that?

I'm not. Its not a penalty point offence to not use them.

silly wrote: »

silly
    blue_star_3.gif

Adverts | Friends
    Oh yes.
    God, wrote that yrs ago.
    Very apt now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,703 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

You sure about that?

I'm not. Its not a penalty point offence to not use them.

It's illegal, is a summons offence, and can be used in conjunction with Driving without due care and attention/careless driving/dangerous driving. They're not there for the fun, you have to use them. Unless you drive a BMW or Merc, then you obviously own the road and can do what you want. [/sarcasm]

I've had my fair share, most recently driving along a 2 lane part of an inner city road shouting abuse at a driver in the right lane. He went to overtake me with oncoming traffic on a single white line but i had to swerve to avoid the tit parked on the left just pulling out, and he had the nerve to give out to me for not indicating!!! I called him everything under the sun, and ended with that lovely Limerick phrase: "You haaaaandicap!". So, the idiot (in the right lane for turning right btw) waited until i had gone through the junction, and went straight, and then, right then, i saw the disabled sticker in the window! I smiled!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,206 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I haven't had much experience of road rage, except one that was too funny to get annoyed about. I approached a junctiion in Waterford (bottom of Bridge Street if anyone cares). This was a good few years ago and the road was in very bad condition, and there was building going on on the left.

I had to pull round a big vehicle which was parked almost at the lights, and when I got past it I realised that the lights had turned red as I was passing, so I braked. The road condition was so poor that the lines had gone but I pulled up where it seemed appropriate, though in fact I was about half a car length over the stop line. No drama, not speeding, nothing behind me.

An elderly man with a dog was waiting to cross but because I was a bit forward of the line he had to walk round the front of the car. As he walked across he started waving his walking stick at me and shouting, apparently because I was over the line. I ignored him so he came round to my window to do more stick waving and shouting. Eventually the lights changed and I had to start moving very very slowly to give him chance to move away from the car, he was still in the middle of the road giving out as I drove off. Pedestrian rage!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

This one time coming off the m50 onto the roundabout at Sandyford/Leopardstown and this cock (after speeding down the outside lane) realises he needs to get across. Comes across in front of me pushing me against the kerb, than slams on the brakes to not hit the car in front if him. He was in a convertible merc and laughing his head off. As we stop at the lights, out I hop, pull the keys from his ignition and threw them across the road :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Galtee

There are 3 things that really piss me off enough to get angry on the road and the same 3 keep popping up,

1) People who can't use roundabouts annoy me in general but especially, people who drift from one lane to another whilst going through the roundabout, Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

2) People who pull out in front of you from a side road and as a result you have to hit the brakes, and you look in your rearview mirror and there isn't another car on the road :confused: yet they just HAD to pull out in front of you??
    GGGRRRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

3) When you're happily driving along and the person in the lane next (to the right of you travelling in the same direction) to you is turing right and they drift into your lane to make a wider ARC for themselves. GGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

A friend of mine was driving to mallow from cork city. There was a woman driving the over taking lane for ages, my friend was stuck behind her...my friend eventually flashed her lights at her, and just gestured for her to get into the proper lane so she could over take her, eventually she did and as my friend passed her out, she looked into the other car, and the woman had her window open and she threw a SHOE at my friends car, it actually went over the car and knocked off her drivers side mirror, she then turned left off the main road. My friend couldn't follow her as there are barriers up on that road.
    The guards laughed at her when she rang them. Well, she kinda laughed herself too.
    Crazy bitch though....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Yellow boxes drive me feckin demented.
    There is one in the middle of Rock St. in Tralee.
    Every day it is full of stationary traffic. Nobody will let you out when the lights go green.
    Not once have I seen a guard giving a ticket there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭blackwhite

antodeco wrote: »
    This one time coming off the m50 onto the roundabout at Sandyford/Leopardstown and this cock (after speeding down the outside lane) realises he needs to get across. Comes across in front of me pushing me against the kerb, than slams on the brakes to not hit the car in front if him. He was in a convertible merc and laughing his head off. As we stop at the lights, out I hop, pull the keys from his ignition and threw them across the road :D

Were you not stuck sitting behind him until he retrieved the keys? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Summary - rednecks record themselves hassling a guy. Best ending ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭dipper.meath16

Galtee wrote: »
    There are 3 things that really piss me off enough to get angry on the road and the same 3 keep popping up,

1) People who can't use roundabouts annoy me in general but especially, people who drift from one lane to another whilst going through the roundabout, Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

2) People who pull out in front of you from a side road and as a result you have to hit the brakes, and you look in your rearview mirror and there isn't another car on the road :confused: yet they just HAD to pull out in front of you??

3) When you're happily driving along and the person in the lane next (to the right of you travelling in the same direction) to you is turing right and they drift into your lane to make a wider ARC for themselves. GGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Ohh All the above, And Indicators!! Do people not know that they are for??
    Gardai on the phone when driving! Drives me nuts!!
    People who will overtake a que of cars coming up to an obvious blind bend, are you trying to kill us all??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Flaker

Galtee wrote: »

God, all of the above do my head in too. How did these people manage to pass driving tests?

I was at a roundabout one day, one with the 2 very obvious lanes. There was a woman on the left side waiting (I thought) to take one of the first two exits. I was going all the way round, so I pulled up on the right. So when we were able we both pulled off at the same time and the car beside me basically followed me all the way raound the roundabout and follwed me out of the same exit. She then proceeded to follow me to where I was going, park up her car and tap on my window to tell me I'd cut her up on the roundabout! I have to say, I went absolutely mental and started shouting at her to buy a rules of the road book and to resit her bloody test. I had to expalin to her that she was totally in the wrong and how dare she follow me to give out to me when she was in the wrong. She just said "oh right I didn't know" and walked off. Mad yoke!

And once, my friend had some sort of an altercation with another bloke on the road and they both gestured to each other that they should pull over so they could "sort it out" I suppose. Anyway, my friend pulled in and hopped out of his car to confront the other guy and saw him pull a tyre iron or something from his boot! My mate fairly ran to his car and drove off like a bat out of hell I can tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Boro

Had a couple of incidents, none started by me though! I'm a beep the horn and drive off gesticulating type :D

In Dublin a couple of years ago, near the long mile road, i was driving in the outside lane and some van driver wanted to get out of the inside lane and into my lane. He was indicating so I flashed the lights to let him out. We drove to the lights and then he ran back to my window waving and shouting in Polish or something similar. I had to explain that I was flashing to let him out, not because i was mad at him pulling out. Bizarre but it had me flustered at the time so Im not entirely sure he got the message.

In Cork city there turning from Washington street right onto grand parade, I was driving along and some van just pulls straight out in front of me from outside the english market. I braked of course and didnt think too much of it. Some old lad in a car behind me went spastic though and started waving his arms, beeping his horn and flashing his lights at me. This went on until the next lights when I got out and had to explain very slowly to him that I didnt fancy driving into a van in front of me. I think he was asleep at the wheel or something and just didnt notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,858 ✭✭✭take everything

stoneill wrote: »
    I'm more of a passive rage causer than a rage victim.
    I drive a poxy oul pick up so I couldn't give a flying fúck if someone drives into me and does a bit of damage. It'll hammer out.

Places I like to cause rage
    At the end of a bus lane coming up to a left turn junction, I will indicate and pull into the left turn lane and squeeze out taxi drivers. After all they are suppose to yield to you (see the dotted line ya prick!)

Yellow box junctions, I will always let people out of side roads into the main flow and it annoys the tits off those behind.

Stop signs. I will be stopping at the stop sign, by all means drive into the back of me.

Amber lights. I'm not gunning it - I'm actually slowing down getting ready to stop!

Left turn junctions with cycle lanes. ooh lah lah, look at me not in the cycle lane and forcing those who want to go straight out into the center of the road. Wait behind ya daft cúnt.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

blackwhite wrote: »

Were you not stuck sitting behind him until he retrieved the keys? :confused:

I made sure I had enough room between us as we went towards the lights after his idiotic manoeuvre earlier!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Boro wrote: »

Some old lad in a car behind me went spastic though and started waving his arms, beeping his horn and flashing his lights at me.

you can't use that term any more, it belongs in the 90s lets leave it there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

fryup wrote: »
    you can't use that term any more, it belongs in the 90s lets leave it there

It's okay to say spazz/ing though.

For example.

He thought he was a good dancer but really he was only spazzing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,388 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Motorcyclists. In my opinion the last part of the driving test for these guys is to swear to under no circumstances obey the rules of the road.

It is unfortunate when anyone dies on the road. My first thought when I hear a motorcyclist has been in an accident is that it was probably his/her fault.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Motorcyclists. In my opinion the last part of the driving test for these guys is to swear to under no circumstances obey the rules of the road.

It is unfortunate when anyone dies on the road. My first thought when I hear a motorcyclist has been in an accident is that it was probably his/her fault.

The statistics tell a different story to your prejudices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭quietriot

CatFromHue wrote: »

Statistically speaking most motorcycle accidents are caused by car users, as far as I remember. I've never, ever had an incident with a motorcyclist, not even near to one.

I get pissed off on the roads on a regular occasion. I've a number of roundabouts between my house and the locations I regularly visit and find that almost every single day a woman will pull out on top of me when I'm going around the roundabout. The behaviour of Irish people on roundabouts is absolutely astonishing, it's as though right of way does not exist. The amount of times it happens is unbelievable and it's always women.

In fact, to be honest, I've never had an incident on the roads involving a man. I've had hundreds of near misses, I've been driven into, I've had to do evasive maneuvers, etc. at the hands of woman drivers driving carelessly or recklessly. I'm glad I've managed to avoid hitting them or similar when these incidents have arisen though as I wouldn't handle it very well.

Another thing that I find extremely annoying is a lot of cyclists. The first bunch are those who cycle on the road, right beside a cycle lane. I usually try and drive right up beside them quickly to give them a bit of a fright, and if there's traffic ahead I'll pull into the curb so they can't cycle past and have to hop into the cycle lane. Those lanes cost money, they're there to be used so either use them or get off the f-ing road. When we start taxing cyclists like we do motorists, then they can have a say on how the roads are used. For now, follow instructions.

The second bunch are those who feel they shouldn't wear reflective gear or lights, and then get cranky when you almost hit their cloaked self when they're on the roads in the dark.

These things can get me pretty pissed off, most of the time I'll get their attention and give them a choice gesture, coupled with the horn and lights going off :) I was considering buying a motorbike recently, more for recreation than anything, however the state of Irish drivers (particularly women and the elderly , although interestingly elderly women seem to be no worse than elderly men) put me off. I can't imagine how frightening and frustrating it would be to be on the roads on a bike with some of the people I encounter daily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

The statistics tell a different story to your prejudices.

My instinct was telling me that. I'd imagine a motorcyclist has to be hyper vigilant because there are so many useless fuck drivers who shouldn't even be allowed use a wheelbarrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

People who hog the outside lane of a dualcarriageway really, really annoy me. Don't like undertaking, dangerous like but sometimes when they don't move it has to be done. I don't understand how people can drive so slow e.g. 50km on a road clearly marked 100km and hog the outside lane.

Also, pedestrians in Galway, learn to use traffic lights!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 160 ✭✭My_left_leg

Back in the days when i used to cycle into TCD from Rathmines i was deliberately cut-off by some idiot. Naturally I slapped his passenger window and gave him the mandatory hand gesture. I overtook him slipping through the lanes in slow heavy traffic. He overtook me as the traffic freed up, and to my surprise he again attempted to deliberately block my passage.

I held back and waited. I stayed behind a Dublin bus. He probably assumed I had turned off. My chance came when again he got stuck on a red. I cycled through and with my lovely new mountain boots I aimed the heel at his wing mirror.

BANG! BULLSEYE! I nailed it. Oh! My joy. The whole thing came off, and was left hanging by a few wires.

As i looked over my shoulder he was screaming & waving furiously.
    Hehe! 20 years later I still smile when I think of that fool's face.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭histories

My road rage is fairly excessive although I am trying to be more zen while out and about.

Tailgating drives me (har har) into a demonic rage. I worry somes days that I might actually get out and kill someone. It used to really annoy me when turning into my house, (the turn is a bit awkward so I have to really slow down and kinda swing wide), and the car behind me would be right on top of me. It makes me laugh now though to catch sight of them in the rearview mirror angrily staring out their window at me.

Had a fella once try and overtake me on the inside, while trying to turn into my driveway. WTF?! I just stopped and stared at him and did the palms up thing and he got the message.

People who go slower than the speed limit especially on the motorway.:mad: Was flying along one day doing the 100, car in front doing the same when they suddenly swerve into the lane next to us and in front of me is a car doing, at the most, 30. Nearly put my foot through the floor trying to brake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

quietriot wrote: »

Another thing that I find extremely annoying is a lot of cyclists. The first bunch are those who cycle on the road, right beside a cycle lane. I usually try and drive right up beside them quickly to give them a bit of a fright, and if there's traffic ahead I'll pull into the curb so they can't cycle past and have to hop into the cycle lane. Those lanes cost money, they're there to be used so either use them or get off the f-ing road. When we start taxing cyclists like we do motorists, then they can have a say on how the roads are used. For now, follow instructions.

Pedant note: Actually a lot of the cycle lanes (probably most) are built in contravention to general safety standards and drop cyclists into junctions at dangerous angles, facing into on-coming traffic or into blind-spots and causing them to lose priority which leads to a massive increase in collisions (off-road/footpath cyclepaths common in Ireland have a 30% higher rate of fatal accidents compared to riding on the road). Also, many of the signs and markings used to designate cycle-lanes are non-standard so often it's technically illegal to cycle in them. Inexperience cyclists often more feel more comfortable and politicians like them because it makes them look like they're doing something but there's no reason for anybody to actually use them (Unless they're properly designed, like in the Netherlands for example, not the case in Ireland).

EDIT: My pet road-rage peeve is drivers who think all cyclists should be in cycle-lanes all the time, even when there isn't one for miles around. This morning I had a taxi driver lean on the horn at me and skim past me with about three inches to spare for driving in the BUS AND CYCLE lane rather than the illegally sign-posted death-trap cycle-lane on the footpath.

Back in the days when i used to cycle into TCD from Rathmines i was deliberately cut-off by some idiot. Naturally I slapped his passenger window and gave him the mandatory hand gesture. I overtook him slipping through the lanes in slow heavy traffic. He overtook me as the traffic freed up, and to my surprise he again attempted to deliberately block my passage.

I held back and waited. I stayed behind a Dublin bus. He probably assumed I had turned off. My chance came when again he got stuck on a red. I cycled through and with my lovely new mountain boots I aimed the heel at his wing mirror.

BANG! BULLSEYE! I nailed it. Oh! My joy. The whole thing came off, and was left hanging by a few wires.

As i looked over my shoulder he was screaming & waving furiously.
    Hehe! 20 years later I still smile when I think of that fool's face.:D
    You're actually proud of that, really? You took something non-physical and made it physical, twice in one incident, the second time causing criminal damage to the car of someone who paid tax on it, to provide the road that you were cycling on (and paid no part of)?

I'd be embarrassed if I were you. That behaviour is absolutely pathetic.

Pedant note: Actually a lot of the cycle lanes (probably most) are built in contravention to general safety standards and drop cyclists into junctions at dangerous angles, facing into on-coming traffic or into blind-spots and causing them to lose priority which leads to a massive increase in collisions (off-road/footpath cyclepaths common in Ireland have a 30% higher rate of fatal accidents compared to riding on the road). Also, many of the signs and markings used to designate cycle-lanes are non-standard so often it's technically illegal to cycle in them. Inexperience cyclists often more feel more comfortable and politicians like them because it makes them look like they're doing something but there's no reason for anybody to actually use them (Unless they're properly designed, like in the Netherlands for example, not the case in Ireland).

EDIT: My pet road-rage peeve is drivers who think all cyclists should be in cycle-lanes all the time, even when there isn't one for miles around. This morning I had a taxi driver lean on the horn at me and skim past me with about three inches to spare for driving in the BUS AND CYCLE lane rather than the illegally sign-posted death-trap cycle-lane on the footpath.
    Is it not illegal for cyclists to not use the cycle lanes designated with solid white lines?

I'm sure I read that in the Rules of the Road book recently.