ties are ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

guppy wrote: »
    Oh dont be so silly, my machete skills class dealt with that.

But, when the post zombie aplocalypse era comes around, and the awards are being given out to the survivors, who will tie the ties then huh? Who? Yeah, thats right, me.

Don't be silly, put a rubber on your willy!

But seriously you think a machete will stop a zombie?

Well sister, have I got something to tell you...

(insert €2 to continue this post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭SugarCoat

Ties aren't ****e,for that you need to add an extra letter.

TIES->SHITE

There now thies are ****e!

wohoo just found a loophole around the censor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

I have to wear suit to work, I used to complain about it a lot but I'm used to it at this stage. It remains a bit annoying, but I accepted my fate. If I had a choice I'd stay in jeans and a hoodie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

I love suits and ties. It's ever so handsome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Ties are man-tools, carefully developed over centuries to fulfill manly, practical duties, a little like a Swiss army knife:
    · Instantly available tourniquet or bandage;
    · Alternative J-Cloth, screen-wipe or serviette;
    · Emergency dog-lead, bridal reins or oven glove;
    · Ninja headband;
    · Skinny ties – dental floss, emergency G-string or shoe lace.

And, if unimpressed with these examples, just think how dull and humourless life would be without the sight of that special Premiership footballer knot. Or Culchies with nothing to tuck inside their belts.
    No, some more thought required before banning ties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The suit makes the man OP

If you want to look scruffy go work with the IT monkeys :p

Nothing like wearing a great suit, top shirt and silk tie, strutting like a boss

Just imagine yourself as Pierce Brosnan or whoever you think looks well in a suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,231 ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I dunno, I've very much enjoyed wearing ties on occasion...
    A tux is where it's at. Ever see Bond wearing a poxy tie?
    He was in Mamma Mia. Bond licence revoked.

Ahem...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v409/xshellofamanx/AffordableBond/Gf_grey3piece5.jpg

You need to start looking more closely at Bond films ST! I'd wager he wears a tie in every one of them at least once. The bottom button of the waistcoat left undone really gets me, I love it.

Suits and ties are awesome when done right.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Just imagine yourself as Pierce Brosnan or whoever you think looks well in a suit
    just don't pass a mirror as you're more likely to look like Wayne Rooney.

To be fair the suit does the portly among us more favours than jeans and a tee shirt. Can cover up a multitude of sins(if a well fitted suit).

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

If I have to wear one I'll go for one of the skinny ones a la Jamie Redknapp. Triffic. But I'd rather go without, a la Michael O'Leary (and that means pulling funny faces everytime theres a photo shoot :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

I ****ing hate these things.
    In schools it's just even more of a ridiculous idea. For lads anyway. There will always be fights, and people always use the other persons tie against them.

Clip on Tie..problem solved!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not 15, I'm not defined by clothes.

If somebody wants me to wear certain clothes for 8 hours a day in return for a nice wage to spend on my life outside of work, then I'm all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Ahem...

I stand corrected!!

Yeap you can't beat a nice fitted suit and tie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Domitius Felix Invictus Aurelianus

I ****ing hate these things.
    Why are people still being forced to wear them as part of a dress code in so many jobs/schools?
    I hate having my shirt buttoned that high up for a start anyway, so usually I can leave the last button undone because the tie will be covering it anyway.
    It's like putting a noose around your neck.
    In schools it's just even more of a ridiculous idea. For lads anyway. There will always be fights, and people always use the other persons tie against them.
    Where did the idea of wearing them even come from?
    Surely they can be done away with at this stage.

Its called a dress code, style. something which IF you are required to do means u probualy are ina half decent job. I can understand ur frustration though if ur stuck working in mickey D's, a flexy tracksuit should suffice there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Its called a dress code, style. something which IF you are required to do means u probualy are ina half decent job. I can understand ur frustration though if ur stuck working in mickey D's, a flexy tracksuit should suffice there

It's called "txt spk". Something that you're required not to use here on boards as it's considered rude. Unlike mobile phone operators boards.ie don't charge by the character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I'm probably one of the few women on the planet who doesn't find a man in a suit sexy. Ties prevent men revealing their chest hair (which I like thick and hairy like a Brillo Pad). It must be a pain in the arse to have to wear one everyday....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭mongoman

If they are part of a workplace dress code then they are a necessary evil. I will always take someone more seriously when they are suited up. There is nothing worse than a guy wearing a suit with no tie imo. Especially if they have several buttons on their shirt undone.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    If you want to look scruffy go work with the IT monkeys :p
    I work in IT and, as stated before, I wear a suit to work on a daily basis.

PS: Funny enough, it's the "IT monkeys" who made boards and your virtual character exist and shine now, have you ever bothered thinking about that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i bet OP's tie is one of those elastic band type ties... like the ones kids in primary school wear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

wolf moon wrote: »

PS: Funny enough, it's the "IT monkeys" who made boards and your virtual character exist and shine now, have you ever bothered thinking about that?

I work in IT too... man your overdressed :D

Part of the dress code, not much I can do about it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

It makes you feel better than the tie less around you...
    or so I guess...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Does the OP realise that getting a loose fitting shirt collar is half the battle against the choking sensation? Or else he should not let his other half drag him around by it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm the only person in my department who doesn't wear a tie. And I get away with it, like a boss. A dashing, rogue boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

I work in IT as well and also wear a suit and tie on a daily basis.

However, I understand that there is a strong practical argument against wearing ties. As far as I know many hospitals in the UK habe banned ties as they're considered unhygienic and carry germs in that they're rarely if ever washed. I've seen some horrendous looking stains on ties in the past, they might be on to something.

boobar wrote: »
    I work in IT as well and also wear a suit and tie on a daily basis.

However, I understand that there is a strong practical argument against wearing ties.
    I understand it as well and I am not a huge fan of ties myself. The only reason I posted this was because I disagree with calling all IT people "scruffy-looking IT monkeys"...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

I understand it as well and I am not a huge fan of ties myself. The only reason I posted this was because I disagree with calling all IT people "scruffy-looking IT monkeys"...

Fair point Wolf Moon, I think too many people are watching the IT Crowd, from my experience most people working in IT now have to spend a large amount of time dealing with clients so it's important that they're well presented. The stereotypical image of a scruff in the corner with his laptop not engaging with any other person is outdated and inaccurate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I don't own a suit nor do I intend to

Really? Not being funny here, but as an adult male, how do you not own at least one dark suit?