Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ties are ****e

• 20-01-2012 12:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭

I ****ing hate these things.
    Why are people still being forced to wear them as part of a dress code in so many jobs/schools?
    I hate having my shirt buttoned that high up for a start anyway, so usually I can leave the last button undone because the tie will be covering it anyway.
    It's like putting a noose around your neck.
    In schools it's just even more of a ridiculous idea. For lads anyway. There will always be fights, and people always use the other persons tie against them.
    Where did the idea of wearing them even come from?
    Surely they can be done away with at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

Damn, thought Toys R' US had a dyslexic critic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Why are people still being forced to wear them as part of a dress code in so many jobs/schools?

Totally agree.

Why should we wear something that feels uncomfortable, cuts off air supply and is a nightmare to do up when you are in a hurry?

Cut the ties now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Ties look deadly.

What are you? 15?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭RickRoll

Dickybow ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

they point at your dick... it's a power thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Why is it called a tie...?

Sindri wrote: »
    Same reason an orange is called an orange. Or a fly is called a fly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Damokc

That cowboy kinda thing the Judd Trump wears playing snookerball is kinda cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Domo230 wrote: »
    I like wearing ties as it usually means I am wearing a suit

AND I NEVER FEEL MORE BADASS THAN WHEN I'M WEARING A SUIT

I immediately become Al Pacino's character in the Godfather when I put one on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Lovely part of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

I find suits in general in the workplace to be pretty pointless now.

I can understand wearing one on a formal occasion that's a break from the routine that doesn't happen often, as it can heighten the sense of it being a special occasion, and make it worth it not being 100% comfortable.

But the idea of wearing one to work to make an impression and stand out is basically redundant now, as you'll a train full of gormless eejits wearing them every morning if you're going to Connolly station in Dublin.

It's a shame: the suit's really become devalued now.

RickRoll wrote: »
    Same reason an orange is called an orange. Or a fly is called a fly.

No the colour orange gets its name from the orange, and the fly gets its name from flying.

So you're way off.

Lovely part of the country.

It's A hyyy in Kildarian.

And it's a shit hole. I live 20 minutes away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Junior Jacon Jeese Jurger

Sounds like you need one that looks like a fish to spice **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

A tux is where it's at. Ever see Bond wearing a poxy tie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

Everytime I put on a suit, I play the James Bond theme in my head...

It's A hyyy in Kildarian.

And it's a shit hole. I live 20 minutes away.
    Ohh me too :D

Where abouts you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

I'm a girl. I had a wollen dickie-bow as part of my uniform in primary. Nasty, itchy thing it was, bane of my life till I made my mother buy the polyester one.

Had a tie in secondary, actually kinda loved it. Mind you, I knew it was for 5 years only (and now I know how to tie a tie for life)

He was in Mamma Mia. Bond licence revoked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

A guy in a suit and tie is hawt!

Ohh me too :D

Where abouts you from?

Two Mile House, West Side.

The biggest gaff in Kildare.

Two Mile House, West Side.

The biggest gaff in Kildare.
    Had many a battle up there in the GAA pitch, damn hatchet men!

guppy wrote: »
    I'm a girl. I had a wollen dickie-bow as part of my uniform in primary. Nasty, itchy thing it was, bane of my life till I made my mother buy the polyester one.

Had a tie in secondary, actually kinda loved it. Mind you, I knew it was for 5 years only (and now I know how to tie a tie for life)

Well what a valuable life lesson you learned.

When the zombie apocalypse comes around, you'll be well equipped to deal with the impending undead wishing to eat you.

Had many a battle up there in the GAA pitch, damn hatchet men!

WBU?

And we beat ye in the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Ties are meant to cover and conceal the buttons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Uck, formal wear. Had to wear a tie in my last job. At least now it's just shirt n slacks. I don't own a suit nor do I intend to, fair play to you guys that feel like bond when you wear one but it just doesn't do it for me I always preferred the shirt and jeans combo and t-shirt and track bottoms when I'm dressed "down". To each their own is the important thing here though. The one thing I really do hate is people telling you oh you have to wear this or that etc. (excluding when you're paid to represent someone's business)

WBU?

And we beat ye in the GAA.
    Not saying on here, a lot of stalkers around :D

That's okay, BTW I'm not from TMH I'm a Guatemalan bank owner wishing to offer you a loan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

Well what a valuable life lesson you learned.

When the zombie apocalypse comes around, you'll be well equipped to deal with the impending undead wishing to eat you.

Oh dont be so silly, my machete skills class dealt with that.

But, when the post zombie aplocalypse era comes around, and the awards are being given out to the survivors, who will tie the ties then huh? Who? Yeah, thats right, me.

Oh dont be so silly, my machete skills class dealt with that.

But, when the post zombie aplocalypse era comes around, and the awards are being given out to the survivors, who will tie the ties then huh? Who? Yeah, thats right, me.

Don't be silly, put a rubber on your willy!

But seriously you think a machete will stop a zombie?

Well sister, have I got something to tell you...

(insert €2 to continue this post)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭SugarCoat

Ties aren't ****e,for that you need to add an extra letter.

TIES->SHITE

There now thies are ****e!

wohoo just found a loophole around the censor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

I have to wear suit to work, I used to complain about it a lot but I'm used to it at this stage. It remains a bit annoying, but I accepted my fate. If I had a choice I'd stay in jeans and a hoodie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

I love suits and ties. It's ever so handsome :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭BrensBenz

Ties are man-tools, carefully developed over centuries to fulfill manly, practical duties, a little like a Swiss army knife:
    · Instantly available tourniquet or bandage;
    · Alternative J-Cloth, screen-wipe or serviette;
    · Emergency dog-lead, bridal reins or oven glove;
    · Ninja headband;
    · Skinny ties – dental floss, emergency G-string or shoe lace.

And, if unimpressed with these examples, just think how dull and humourless life would be without the sight of that special Premiership footballer knot. Or Culchies with nothing to tuck inside their belts.
    No, some more thought required before banning ties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

The suit makes the man OP

If you want to look scruffy go work with the IT monkeys :p

Nothing like wearing a great suit, top shirt and silk tie, strutting like a boss

Just imagine yourself as Pierce Brosnan or whoever you think looks well in a suit

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I dunno, I've very much enjoyed wearing ties on occasion...
    A tux is where it's at. Ever see Bond wearing a poxy tie?
    He was in Mamma Mia. Bond licence revoked.

Ahem...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v409/xshellofamanx/AffordableBond/Gf_grey3piece5.jpg

You need to start looking more closely at Bond films ST! I'd wager he wears a tie in every one of them at least once. The bottom button of the waistcoat left undone really gets me, I love it.

Suits and ties are awesome when done right.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Just imagine yourself as Pierce Brosnan or whoever you think looks well in a suit
    just don't pass a mirror as you're more likely to look like Wayne Rooney.

To be fair the suit does the portly among us more favours than jeans and a tee shirt. Can cover up a multitude of sins(if a well fitted suit).

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

If I have to wear one I'll go for one of the skinny ones a la Jamie Redknapp. Triffic. But I'd rather go without, a la Michael O'Leary (and that means pulling funny faces everytime theres a photo shoot :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Endaaaagh

In schools it's just even more of a ridiculous idea. For lads anyway. There will always be fights, and people always use the other persons tie against them.

Clip on Tie..problem solved!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not 15, I'm not defined by clothes.

If somebody wants me to wear certain clothes for 8 hours a day in return for a nice wage to spend on my life outside of work, then I'm all for it.

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Ahem...

I stand corrected!!

Yeap you can't beat a nice fitted suit and tie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Domitius Felix Invictus Aurelianus

I hate having my shirt buttoned that high up for a start anyway, so usually I can leave the last button undone because the tie will be covering it anyway.
    It's like putting a noose around your neck.
    Where did the idea of wearing them even come from?
    Surely they can be done away with at this stage.

Its called a dress code, style. something which IF you are required to do means u probualy are ina half decent job. I can understand ur frustration though if ur stuck working in mickey D's, a flexy tracksuit should suffice there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Its called a dress code, style. something which IF you are required to do means u probualy are ina half decent job. I can understand ur frustration though if ur stuck working in mickey D's, a flexy tracksuit should suffice there

It's called "txt spk". Something that you're required not to use here on boards as it's considered rude. Unlike mobile phone operators boards.ie don't charge by the character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I'm probably one of the few women on the planet who doesn't find a man in a suit sexy. Ties prevent men revealing their chest hair (which I like thick and hairy like a Brillo Pad). It must be a pain in the arse to have to wear one everyday....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭mongoman

If they are part of a workplace dress code then they are a necessary evil. I will always take someone more seriously when they are suited up. There is nothing worse than a guy wearing a suit with no tie imo. Especially if they have several buttons on their shirt undone.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    If you want to look scruffy go work with the IT monkeys :p
    I work in IT and, as stated before, I wear a suit to work on a daily basis.

PS: Funny enough, it's the "IT monkeys" who made boards and your virtual character exist and shine now, have you ever bothered thinking about that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i bet OP's tie is one of those elastic band type ties... like the ones kids in primary school wear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

wolf moon wrote: »
    I work in IT and, as stated before, I wear a suit to work on a daily basis.

PS: Funny enough, it's the "IT monkeys" who made boards and your virtual character exist and shine now, have you ever bothered thinking about that?

I work in IT too... man your overdressed :D

Part of the dress code, not much I can do about it :)